Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/26/11 10:42
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Oh. My. ROWENA!!! Wow, Carole. I've finally finished reading this, after months of fitting in a chapter wherever I could. I'm sorry I haven't reviewed any of the chapters but I've already committed myself to reviewing every chapter of another story and I didn't have enough time. I adored every bit of it, I can assure you. And this was your first ever fic, wasn't it? I'm incredibly impressed, even though I know just how good your fics are anyway. Still, I saw how your writing simply got better and better the further I read.

The characterisations of the Marauders was fantastic. The little hints of Peter (which would later lead to his betrayal) were subtle yet at the same time just noticeable enough for me to smile knowingly. I'm glad you didn't make Peter cliched like most Marauder writers do -- making him Loser!Peter or Loner!Peter or whatever. Because, at the end of the day, he was one of the four Marauders and James and Lily trusted him, a hell of a lot in my opinion, to be Secret Keeper. That must mean something, surely. So clearly Peter's got to be a good enough friend of James' and Lily's (and I like how Lily is friendlier with Peter than she is Sirius and Remus) for them to put so much trust in him -- even if, later on, he abused the trust, the point is, he must've been a decent person to begin with, in my opinion.

Sirius -- well, what can I say? Martha Macdonald is a lovely character, along with Mary Macdonald, so I liked how you've paired Martha with Sirius. I'm relieved you didn't go overboard with SexGod!Sirius because that would've ruined things; instead, you watered it down a bit so it was made far more believable, and for that I commend you. Sirius still has the arrogance that all members of the Black family have, no matter what house they're in, but it's almost completely drowned out by the goodness in his heart which we know he has.

James and Lily's relationship is also intriguing. I don't know if I've just been ignoring the non-James/Lily parts in Lions, but if you ask me, this has a lot more James/Lily in it than I anticipated because a lot of it is written from James' point of view (even though it's written in third person). Lily's characterisation isn't too uptight, yet she manages to retain her prefect image and self-righteousness while still having fun and bending/breaking the occasional rule. I'm glad that you haven't made her too Hermioneish, at any rate. James' characterisation is delightful -- he's thoughtful and good-hearted, a tiny bit jealous, but he still has the mischievous persona to him, with a touch of arrogance which, if this is possible, is maturing over time.

Onto the story! You've set it up so well, right from the beginning. I was on tenterhooks during the suspenseful chapters and while reading the more emotional ones, I cried and laughed in equal measure. If I could give you more than 10 out of 10 for this, I would. If I had to give a grade for this, it would bypass even A* -- it would be A galaxy! (Or, if you want a named star, A Sirius has a nice ring to it :D)

I'm hoping that James and Sonia break up soon, but I'm guessing this won't be for a few more chapters at least. Once Lily finds out, I'm sure she'll get annoyed and fingers crossed, the two of them will bloody well get together, which is what I'm shouting at them to do. (Not really, of course. Then I would be mad, and I'm not :P)

Seriously, I have read a lot of stories on MNFF that have rendered me speechless, made me cry, made me laugh my arse off, made me smile and made me feel like punching someone/something. Lions of Gryffindor, you'll be pleased to hear, has done all of the above, and that's something that -- other than Harry Potter itself -- no other story has managed to do. You can't hear me but I am applauding you right now for writing such a wonderful story, Carole. I'm waiting eagerly for the next chapter!!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: I've taken my time replying to this because I'm really not sure Ican do your review justice. Wow, just wow and thank you so much. This story has been (and still is) a labour of love. I do love the Marauders, but sometimes they make me work hard - ha ha. Now, let me reassure you that I'm a canon girl at heart, so James and Lily are bound to enbd up together ... but I like the journey as well, so it won't be plain sailing. I also hate the James-moping-over-Lily-since-first-year cliche, so I wanted them both to have other people in the meantime. Sirius and Martha could get a bit rocky. Originally, I was going to kill her off, but then I liked her too much and she appeared in Apparently Asleep, so I couldn't kill her - hee hee. You are so right about the arrogance of the Black boys. So similar in some ways, yet so different.

Thank you again fo such a great review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: LuhvMuffin33
Date: 03/20/11 10:54
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

I really like this story! Pleeez update asap cuz there is nothin I luhv more than an update on one of my fav stories!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I will hopefully update soon, but I have a bit of a backlog. Sorry. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Kaati
Date: 03/13/11 13:00
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Ahh I love this story! Really hope you can update soon.

Author's Response: I will try and update soon. I'm having trouble with some other things, but this story is very dear to my heart, so it will get written.

Reviewer: blueowl
Date: 03/07/11 5:16
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

I read part of this fic before.. so i decided to give it a shot and re-read it. I had forgotten how wonderfully amazing it is! please, i know that you have many fics at the same time, update this one soon!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you for re-reading. I will get to this one soon, it's just that I'm trying a new system so I can get some other things out the way and then concentrate on this *phew* Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: StarsApartlover
Date: 03/06/11 14:01
Chapter: Chapter 16 - 'Feeble Girls'

Ya rich he seems odd.......

Author's Response: He's mysterious, but so far only Lily and I see to like him ....

Reviewer: StarsApartlover
Date: 03/06/11 10:27
Chapter: Chapter 16 - 'Feeble Girls'

I knew It! I just knew there was something about him i knew i knew it!!!!!!!

Author's Response: who? Rich? Avery? Um ... who? Actually, I think you mean Rich - ha ha. ~Carole~

Reviewer: StarsApartlover
Date: 03/03/11 15:08
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

Great story so far! I like it. :3)

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope you enjoy the rest. ~Carole~

Reviewer: LuhvMuffin33
Date: 03/02/11 16:10
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I'm hooked! Its such a good story, but I like lily and James together! I hope they get together soon...

Author's Response: Well ... according to Sirius and Remus. they didn;t get together until seventh year... Glad you like the story, and thanks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Emily Erised
Date: 02/28/11 14:53
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I really love this fic (I'm completely obsessed with Harry Potter; the extent of my obsession almost threatens to interfere with everyday life - and for me to sometimes forget that this isn't J.K. Rowling makes this story especially wonderful!) You've really captured the characters from Dumbledore to Sirius's mother, and I really appreciate how you haven't reverted to the one dimensional boring Lilly and the predicatble James. I think that where this fic really succeeds is the fact that while stricly adhering to canon, you've established you own distinct plots ( Bowtruckle challenge was brilliant!) so it really is a strong story in its own right. You are a very talented writer and I can see from how long this fic has been ongoing that every chapter is crafted with considerable care and deliberation. Sorry for the rambling review, but I'm really loving this- especially looking forward to when Lilly finally falls for James though! Update soon please! X

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely review. This fic is very close to my heart for various reasons, but particularly because I love the Marauders - hee hee. I realise I need to update a bit more often though, so maybe I'll have a month dedicated solely to Lions ... that might work. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Athena91
Date: 02/15/11 14:12
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I really love this fic, and I have to admit I keep forgetting you aren't actually JK!

Also, whilst I know you have that stupid thing called 'real life' to deal with, I hope you update soon-ish, as I spent the whole evening re-reading the whole story again :D

xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. Mmm, I need to update more regularly. Unfortunately as well as RL, I have other chaptered fics to update. Once I've finished two of them, then I'll concentrate on Lions and Apparently Asleep (my Remus/Tonks fic, if you're interested). G;ad you're enjoying the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lily_death_flower
Date: 02/13/11 10:16
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

i just found this fic and its absolutley wonderful! i like how you switch point of views so we get to here form all the characters. you're oc's are also really well written. please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. Um ... update. Ah, well, I will update, but I have only just updated so iy's now at the back of the queue *sigh*. It will get written and completed though, so don't hex me. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: sarahfrey8
Date: 02/12/11 11:04
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Yay!! More of my Favorite Marauder Tale!!

I liked this Chapter a lot. Personally, I don't like Sonia. I find her just as annoying as Sirius does. But, I am probably the only one, seeing as I dislike anyone who gets between Lily and James :o) But I do however like how you show James in a way where its easy to believe he is just a teenager, letting his emotions and hormones rule.

As for this Brackenfen, I admit I had to go back through all the other Chapters to find it, because I am impossibly impatient and needed to know if my suspicions were correct. And I really like the way its playing out. Poor Lily though, just like with James, you make it really easy for me to see her as just another teenager. Letting her attraction for the cute older boy blind her. (because I have thought he was a bad guy ever since the Forbidden Forest incident. not saying he is, just saying I don't like him, again cause he got in the way of Lily and James) I can imagine a huge blow up fight coming up between Lily and James over it. Ooooohhh Maybe that will cause James and Sonia to split!! and Peter to get all mad... oh man now I am letting my imagination run away with tself. lol

I really like how you show us a side of Sirius that we don't see very often. I liked that very much.

Did I tell you how much I love your story? Cause you just made my weekend by posting the new Chapter! Hopefully, I could have another really good weekend sometime in the very near future? *wink*wink*

P.S. As for Mary - in A.A. I am rooting for them to break up. But in L.O.G. I like them together, it seems like its one of Remus' only ways to feel like a normal teenager, like the rest. I like that. So that's a yay for Mary in L.O.G. and a boo to Mary in A.A. :o)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Now, I like Sonia, but only because she's fun to write. I'd probably find her quite irritating in RL - ha ha. Ah, Brackenfen, yes I admit I didn't want it to appear obvious where James had heard the name before, but I'm glad you've worked it out. Not everything you've said is correct though ... heh heh heh. Thank you so much for all your reviews, it's much appreciated. Oh, Mary/Remus ... watch this space (and the one in AA) Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: queen_of_stars
Date: 02/12/11 9:06
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Yay! Thanks for writing more. I love Lily and James, but what will happen to Martha and Mary. I know Sirius iss't married and Remus marries Tonks but I love Sirius and Remus with them. This is one of my favorite mauderer fics. Can't wait for chapter 21!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I like Martha, Mary and Sonia, too. I do allude to Martha and Mary in another fic (Apparently Asleep which is about Remus and Tonks) so not all hope id gone for them - hee hee. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/11/11 18:01
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I love it when there is a mystery involved. I'd look up the Brackenfen reference if I felt like trolling through 19 other chapters, but I don't so I shall settle for own my as-yet-unfounded theories regarding the flash git.

I love your dialogue here, the casual slang reads so easy I'm envious. Of course, I'm also American so I have to translate half of it, but it's brilliant.

Sectumsempra, huh? I wonder why that popped into Sirius's head first. Nice reference to the WW incident.

I like Sonia, and knowing James is going to end up with Lily before they graduate already makes me feel sort of bad for her.

Lovely chapter so don't stop! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: You love the dialogue! Wow! Not too much for you, then? *gigglysnort* Thank you for reading and reviewing, Gina. With the Sectumsempra curse, I used it in an earlier chapter (when they found Snape's wand) and the fact that it popped into Sirius' head was because I always see him as somewhat attracted to the dark side of life. The fact that he's also strongly repulsed by it shows his innate difference to Snape. It was a bit of a foreshadowing for Harry using it on Draco, too.

I like Sonia, too. I know she's giggly and rather self-obsessed, but unless I truly jump ship and turn this AU, it's not going to end well for her. :( Thanks again, and I won't stop ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 02/11/11 13:31
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

You...cannot torture me like this.

This is brilliant, and going well. I can sort of picture Peter being very hurt by the Sonia affair. James really should stop being a coward.

Brackenfen! Hmmm...wonder where that was. Things seem to be coming together, and can't wait for what you're going to do with Soule.

Great chapter as always. Really loved the Marauderiness of the beginning.

~Natalie

Author's Response: Things are, I hope, coming together. Ah ...Brackenfen - what mysteries does it hold? Glad you liked the 'Marauderiness' hee hee - great word. I do love writing my boys. Thank you so much for R&R'ing ~EQ~

Reviewer: tonkzie
Date: 02/11/11 12:09
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Oooooh! I kind of like Sonia, a little bit, but I love Lily... As you know, I don't like Mary but I cling to the fact that Remus won't be with her for long. Yeah, it's nasty, but it's my way of dealing with it. Great chapter

Author's Response: OOOh, hmmm, Mary is lovely ... really. Sonia makes me giggle because I think a lot of us are like her (except she is very pretty *sigh*) Thank you for reading and reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: mudblood1124
Date: 02/11/11 2:57
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Slythy Fen.

Good job on shedding some light on the [still-quite-vague-despite-all-that's-been-said-in-DH] Lily and Snape relationship!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you're enjoying the story and the attempt at resolving the Lily Snape dynamic. ~Carole~

Reviewer: mudblood1124
Date: 02/11/11 1:45
Chapter: Chapter 7 - Treacle Tart and Quidditch.

Hi! I absolutely love this fanfic! I love the way you write, capturing the essence of the characters. I also love where the story's going. :) The exploring-the-foundes'-birthplaces and body-language bits were brilliant.

Keep up the good work! :D

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. I hope you keep reading. The plot's not even started yet.

Reviewer: Blinkdawg
Date: 02/08/11 18:47
Chapter: Chapter 19 - Dangerous Detention

Lovin' it! Quite possibly my favorite fan-fiction I've read. its certainly in my top 5. There was a typo here and there,but then again everyone makes the occasional mistake that gets looked over. You really should look into a career as a professional author. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I shall amend the typo's (fell free to point any out when you find them). Ah, I;d love to be a professional author, just need to finish the blovkbuster, find an ageny, and a book deal. ~Carole~

Reviewer: RemusGirl_tonks
Date: 02/05/11 22:31
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

i am seriously speaking
why don't u start writing professionally
!!!!!
u r so good
this is one of the best fiction i have read
it have the perfect blending of language and harry potter history
u are the best fan fiction author i have
read
thank u for creting so many special moments for me
when i was in awe reading your version of events
u ROCK!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am trying to write professionally. I have this huge OF in front of me that spans three books. I just need to get it finished and then to an agent and keep my fingers crossed... etc etc. I'm really glad you like this story. I've tried to keep it as authentic as possible and true to JK Rowling. There should be a new chapter soon. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Blaise Inglorious by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
Ginny is stuck at Hogwarts while Harry, Ron, and Hermione are on the run. Blaise...
A Sackful of Holiday Horsefeathers by Piwakitt 3rd-5th Years
This story has a bit of everything in it. Humor, romance, Slytherin schemes...
Get Older by ellie oh 6th-7th Years
Lily is having something of a breakdown, unsure of where she fits as graduation...
FEATURED
Tarot by DeadManSeven 3rd-5th Years
A reading that consists of only cards from the Major Arcana indicates the destiny...
Rat by DragonDi 6th-7th Years
The Potters' Secret Keeper, Sirius Black, is presumed dead. Remus Lupin wants...
The Ruin by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Even in its abandonment and slow disintegration, it retains its power to destroy...
CATEGORIES