Reviewer: SilverNight92
Date: 12/02/11 4:00
Chapter: Chapter 16 - 'Feeble Girls'

so far I dont like rich soule.

Author's Response: No one likes Rich Soule - *sigh*. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: SilverNight92
Date: 12/02/11 1:05
Chapter: Chapter 9 Journeys to King's Cross

awwwwww!!! theyre on a first name basis!!!!

Author's Response: Yay, they are! But it's only the beginning of sixth year. There's a long way to go .... Thank you.~Carole~

Reviewer: BlueClaw
Date: 12/01/11 1:28
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Puzzles

This website and Lions of Gryffindor have MADE my life. Your OC's, characterisation and story are wow. I just read all 21 chapters in one sitting! Keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. There are lots of amazing stories on this site, so I hope you settle in and find some others to read. (I've got quite a few more - hee.) I will keep writing this, but progress is a bit slow as I tend to work on a lot of other things as well., Thank you, again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 11/14/11 2:45
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Puzzles

I don't like Rich. At all. Ever. The end.

Sorry - I hope I'm not supposed to. He lied to Lily about being a Muggle-born and he's so obviously casing the school for something! And even if he's not, which he is, he's still incredibly cocky and so, so rude to James at the Quidditch pitch. Bah. You've inspired strong feelings in me - which is a good thing, I suppose. Just don't let me down: get rid of him. Please.

Okay, now that's out of the way, I can say it was good to read an update! James and Sonia are very sweet and I loved the end when he did the right thing by her and admitted everything. Wow, Sirius was a real jerk there for a bit. The only problem with James standing up for her was that it was obviously harsh for Peter, and I feel a bit bad for them both and what that might mean for their friendship. Well done on that twist as well. I also like Phyll.

I hope the next chapter is coming along well… and that Rich goes back to his stupid Quodpot game in America asap.

Just kidding…sort of.

*hugs*
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I'm giggling that one of my OCs is inspiring such hatred - hee hee hee. Trouble is, I usually write them and then start liking them (sigh Sonia) but with Rich there is a very, very clear story with him which will become apparant. yeah, he was pretty rude to James, but he'd see it as showing interest. Phyll wasn't impressed. Bear in mind that Lily really hasn't had a boyfriend before, so she's going to be a bit bowled over no matter how savvy she usually is.

Thank you very much for the review. Made my day. >br>
~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 11/10/11 0:49
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Puzzles

YAY A LIONS UPDATE! :).

I hate Rich and his 'little white lies'. I hope Lily catches him in one that isn't so little next time.

And Sonia…I hate that I know she and James have to break up eventually, which has never happened before because Lily/James is one of my favorite ships. I"m so glad her and James's relationship is in the open now, though I do feel bad for Peter :(. Poor guy always seems to get the short end of the stick.

Also, I love the idea you've come up with for Sirius to make money - it's totally original firstly, and secondly I love the 'friendship' clue at the end (you should write crosswords).

xx Ariana

Author's Response: I could take this AU ... heh heh. Harry would have a blonde mother. Mind you, then Snape wouldn't have tried to bargain with Voldy and ... very AU. Um, yes, splitting up James and Sonia is probably going to be very hard ... but there is a plan ... of sorts. I do a lot of crosswords, and had some help from Jim, - hee hee. I'm not sure this plan of Sirius' will work, but he has a few more ideas. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 11/09/11 20:16
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Puzzles

Oh noooo. Things are getting worse for James, and I think the "bad" side of Rich is coming out. He's such a twat, though, Rich is. I thought it was really mean and sexist of him to say that a boy would be better suited as a Beater. But I can also see how much Lily likes him, so I hope he doesn't try to take advantage of her or anything. We'll see...

And I'm glad James came out with it, though how long Peter won't talk to him for is anyone's guess. Aww, I feel sorry for him now, even if he is a rat >.>

I'm interested to see where this will be going! Sonia, Phyllida, Mary and Martha are some of the best OCs I've come across in fanfic and I think you characterised all of them really well. An excellent chapter as always, Carole. :) 

~Soraya~

P.S. I did notice a few errors ("ion" instead of "in") and a couple of missing full stops.



Author's Response: Thankieees. OOH, yes I can see the ion, now. I shall have to check through again for the fullstops. I hate editing though - it screws things up. Nooo.

Thank you for the review, and I'm really pleased that you like the OC's. I'm rather fond of those three as well. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/09/11 17:07
Chapter: Chapter 21 - Puzzles

ZOMG LOG IS BACKKKKK! :D:D:D:DExciting chapter! I loved the Crossword clue at the end. But more than anything, I want to know what that Soule is up to. And poor Peter. :/

Author's Response: Soule is about to elope with Lily. They have a child called Gropius, who is the same year as ... um ... the Twins. He's a Ravenclaw, and no one noticed him before because ... er ... well you'll have to read the next chapter. Thankxxxxxxx!!

Reviewer: starduske
Date: 09/25/11 0:55
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Are you going to update this? *sniffle*

Author's Response: Yes, I will. I'm very busy at the moment finishing other things and RL work etc, but I'm planning to devote a large chunk of October and November to getting this moving again. Sorry for the wait, but something had to give. ~Carole~

Reviewer: redvines
Date: 09/14/11 22:09
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

i love this story, its my favourite fan fic, please update soon!

Author's Response: I will get back to this asap. I'm just trying to sort out some other stories. Thank you for readinga nd reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: phoenixbolt_cj
Date: 09/01/11 0:00
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I'm truly, really, most sincerely looking forward to the next chapters of the story. I think that the characterization and your understanding of the Marauders are the best among other MNFF authors.
I especially like your interception on James' character and the dilemma that he was facing (always being the one doing the pining). Allow me to say this, but I don't quite think that Remus would let his guard down on his being a werewolf and I don't think that he would open up his mind merely because of the Dumbledore's words (sorry, but this is rather like a review on the overall story)
Anyway, I think that the story had won a most well-deserved prize and I reeeeaaallly look forward for new stories on the marauders and updates on this one (I'm checking daily!)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I wouldn't check daily, as I'm rather busy, but if you add me to favourites then you should get an email when I update. I hope to have a new chapter up at the end of September, but I'm currently trying to finish some other things.

Regarding Remus, I would respectfully disagree because I think teenage Remus at Hogwarts and still safe with his friends around him, is VERY different from the man who first appears in POA having been battered by the deaths of his friends and the imprisonment of another.

As far as Marauder stories go, I have a few more, but another author you will love is Gmariam, who writes beautiful and funny James/Lily stories.

Thanks again and I will try to update soon. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Sirius_Forever_94
Date: 08/18/11 18:55
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I really really hope you finish this story. The characterization is brilliant. The Marauders are hard to capture, but I definitely think you've succeeded. Plus, your OCs do not blend into the background, as they do in so many fics. Pleeeeease continue this wonderul story!

Author's Response: I will continue. It was my first ever story on MNFF and I still love it, but I'm trying to finish other things first. Thanks for your patience. ~Carole~

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/11/11 10:08
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

Ah, I take it that silvery version of James was Harry in the pensieve? Interesting! Makes ya wonder how the pensieve actually works then, huh? (:

Author's Response: Yes, he sees Harry but thinks it's himself. This will get mentioned again at the end of the story. My theory on that point was that because of the genetic connection and the emotions both were feeling at the time caused Harry to become slightly visible. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: lilyginnylily
Date: 06/21/11 16:18
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

luv it please update soon!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I will be updating and finishing the story, but I'm focussing on something else at the moment. Then I shall come back and concentrate on this. Glad you're enjoying the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: silvertree
Date: 05/08/11 11:40
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

I love this fic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When are you going to publish the next chapter? I am so excited for it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you. I'm taking a small break from it because I'm trying to finish other things, but I will return at some stage.I love this story too much to dump it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: silvertree
Date: 05/01/11 12:43
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

I

Author's Response: U

Reviewer: redvines
Date: 04/20/11 2:38
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

This is defiantly one of best fan fictions I have read! I just love it! The characters are so great, it makes me feel sad to think most of them end up dead. I can't wait for the next update, its getting so interesting. I really want to know what will happen with Rich and with James and Sonia.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. yes, I want to know what will happen with James and Sonia. Don;t worry, I do know, I'm just having trouble finding time to write it all. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ariannaanabella
Date: 04/12/11 20:32
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Wow... I really adore this story. I've been reading a lot of Marauders' Fanfiction, but this is the only fic that I think that matches the characters J.K Rowling created. I love how you portray the Lily/James relantionship because is believable; it couldn't happen over night, they both had to mature enough to develop the love that would have Harry as a result.
James, Sirius, Remus and Lily have always had a special place in my heart, and this story is making me love them even more.
This story is even making me love Peter!! Well, the Peter of this story anyway. It's going to be very difficult to read when or if you write the part about the betrayal. I think that's the bittersweet part about writng or reading a story about the marauders' era; read about this beautiful and amazing frienship knowing that it ended in such a horrible way.
All the same, I can't wait for your update!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the lovely review. There may be a bit of a wait for the next chapter whilst I get on with some other fics and an original fic, but I will get this finished. I am glad you're enjoying the story and am especially pleased you think my version of the Marauders is close to JK's. ~Carole~

Reviewer: eagtha
Date: 04/08/11 11:49
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

I LOVE this story! Are you planning on updating soon?

Author's Response: Hi there. Yeah, sorry about the delay. I have some other things I need to get on with and then I'm going to concentrate on Lions. Although, I love this story rather a lot, so perhaps it will be sooner rather than later. Thanks for reviewing ~Carole~

Reviewer: Potty4Weasley
Date: 03/29/11 2:34
Chapter: Chapter 1 Turning Point

Wow. I love it. I read all 20 chapters in under 24 hours and I am hooked. I spent the whole day at school waiting to get home to finish it. I love the characters, and the interactions between james and lily. I read it with a massive grin on my face. I also think the Sirius/poppy part is great. I like how you put Rich in there, although on behalf of James I hate him. please please please write another chapter soon. You have left me on tenterhooks. It is awesome!!!!!

Author's Response: Awww thank you. I will certainly update and finish this fic, just not totally sure when (soon, I hope) Oh, watch out for Rich ... ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/26/11 10:42
Chapter: Chapter 20 - Restricted

Oh. My. ROWENA!!! Wow, Carole. I've finally finished reading this, after months of fitting in a chapter wherever I could. I'm sorry I haven't reviewed any of the chapters but I've already committed myself to reviewing every chapter of another story and I didn't have enough time. I adored every bit of it, I can assure you. And this was your first ever fic, wasn't it? I'm incredibly impressed, even though I know just how good your fics are anyway. Still, I saw how your writing simply got better and better the further I read.

The characterisations of the Marauders was fantastic. The little hints of Peter (which would later lead to his betrayal) were subtle yet at the same time just noticeable enough for me to smile knowingly. I'm glad you didn't make Peter cliched like most Marauder writers do -- making him Loser!Peter or Loner!Peter or whatever. Because, at the end of the day, he was one of the four Marauders and James and Lily trusted him, a hell of a lot in my opinion, to be Secret Keeper. That must mean something, surely. So clearly Peter's got to be a good enough friend of James' and Lily's (and I like how Lily is friendlier with Peter than she is Sirius and Remus) for them to put so much trust in him -- even if, later on, he abused the trust, the point is, he must've been a decent person to begin with, in my opinion.

Sirius -- well, what can I say? Martha Macdonald is a lovely character, along with Mary Macdonald, so I liked how you've paired Martha with Sirius. I'm relieved you didn't go overboard with SexGod!Sirius because that would've ruined things; instead, you watered it down a bit so it was made far more believable, and for that I commend you. Sirius still has the arrogance that all members of the Black family have, no matter what house they're in, but it's almost completely drowned out by the goodness in his heart which we know he has.

James and Lily's relationship is also intriguing. I don't know if I've just been ignoring the non-James/Lily parts in Lions, but if you ask me, this has a lot more James/Lily in it than I anticipated because a lot of it is written from James' point of view (even though it's written in third person). Lily's characterisation isn't too uptight, yet she manages to retain her prefect image and self-righteousness while still having fun and bending/breaking the occasional rule. I'm glad that you haven't made her too Hermioneish, at any rate. James' characterisation is delightful -- he's thoughtful and good-hearted, a tiny bit jealous, but he still has the mischievous persona to him, with a touch of arrogance which, if this is possible, is maturing over time.

Onto the story! You've set it up so well, right from the beginning. I was on tenterhooks during the suspenseful chapters and while reading the more emotional ones, I cried and laughed in equal measure. If I could give you more than 10 out of 10 for this, I would. If I had to give a grade for this, it would bypass even A* -- it would be A galaxy! (Or, if you want a named star, A Sirius has a nice ring to it :D)

I'm hoping that James and Sonia break up soon, but I'm guessing this won't be for a few more chapters at least. Once Lily finds out, I'm sure she'll get annoyed and fingers crossed, the two of them will bloody well get together, which is what I'm shouting at them to do. (Not really, of course. Then I would be mad, and I'm not :P)

Seriously, I have read a lot of stories on MNFF that have rendered me speechless, made me cry, made me laugh my arse off, made me smile and made me feel like punching someone/something. Lions of Gryffindor, you'll be pleased to hear, has done all of the above, and that's something that -- other than Harry Potter itself -- no other story has managed to do. You can't hear me but I am applauding you right now for writing such a wonderful story, Carole. I'm waiting eagerly for the next chapter!!

~Soraya~

Author's Response: I've taken my time replying to this because I'm really not sure Ican do your review justice. Wow, just wow and thank you so much. This story has been (and still is) a labour of love. I do love the Marauders, but sometimes they make me work hard - ha ha. Now, let me reassure you that I'm a canon girl at heart, so James and Lily are bound to enbd up together ... but I like the journey as well, so it won't be plain sailing. I also hate the James-moping-over-Lily-since-first-year cliche, so I wanted them both to have other people in the meantime. Sirius and Martha could get a bit rocky. Originally, I was going to kill her off, but then I liked her too much and she appeared in Apparently Asleep, so I couldn't kill her - hee hee. You are so right about the arrogance of the Black boys. So similar in some ways, yet so different.

Thank you again fo such a great review. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES