Reviewer: mulligas
Date: 09/13/09 21:38
Chapter: Chapter XII: Meldungen

Your depiction of Grindelwald doesn't make him appear to be such a bad guy. It would be ironic if his defeat results in Durmstrang becoming pureblood only again.

Author's Response:

To many people, Hitler didnít seem like such a bad guy either. His personal charisma and likeability for so many Germans is exactly what made him incredibly dangerous, as history has shown us. I see Grindelwald the same way - as a widely popular, appealing figure who can get masses of people to do whatever he wants, including commit atrocities.

And yes, Durmstrang reverting to pureblood fanaticism after his defeat would indeed be ironicÖ

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Rednight
Date: 09/04/09 18:19
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

Thanks!

Author's Response:

Your welcome. Good luck on your fic!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 09/04/09 17:31
Chapter: Chapter XII: Meldungen

A very appropriate time to read this chapter!

Dieter continues to be his usual annoying self - and I'm starting to like Ernst, who at least has a bit more of a consience. I suppose in some ways that's mean to Dieter who's had all this forced into him for years, but still!

I'm intrigued by Grindlewald's lastest speech, and wondering what's going to happen next. Dieter will hardly be pleased that his new world has just declared war on his old one.

I'd like to say again how much I like the way you have portrayed Grindelwald - he is very real.

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing the story, witch1561. Iím glad youíre starting to like Ernst, and are annoyed by Dieter. I am too, but I think thatís why I like him - heís a fun character to write, being so close-minded.

Grindelwald isnít quite in the position to wage all-out war against the Muggle world (yet), but knowing him, heíll be up to something. Also, Iíll admit that it is pretty fun writing Grindelwaldís speeches, so Iím glad you like the way Iíve portrayed him.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Rednight
Date: 08/25/09 0:36
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

Me again! I was wondering if I could ask for you permission for something. I really love the way you describe Grindlewald's Reign. I'm writing a story that takes place right after WW2 ends, and I was wondering if I could use some of your ideas. Like the Plaza, wand making etc. Just ideas like that though, there isn't going to be any of your characters in it. So, can I?

Author's Response:

Hello Rednight! Sorry it took me a while to respond to this review, but here I am. Anyway, thanks for reading and reviewing, and of course, enjoying the story!

I donít mind if you borrow some of my ideas (besides, we all borrow Rowlingís ideas anyway), so feel free to write your story. However, please credit me for ideas of mine that you decide to use. Good luck on your fic.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/20/09 20:39
Chapter: Chapter VIII: Die Seeschlange

Aww..now i must say poor Lena. She's gonna end up killing herself. WAIT! She's not ACTUALLY gonnna end up killing herself, isn't she? Hmmm....Wow. That was a random theory.

“Everyone likes pie…”

very true. I, for one, enjoy randomly injecting the word Pie into conversations.

“Mein Gott – I forgot! I have to run – we’re supposed to organise a rally in five minutes, otherwise the giant mutant squirrels will give me rabies!”

haha. Muggle repelling spell.

Great chapter, of course, but who was the canon character? Or am I just completely unobservant?

H_T

Author's Response:

The canon character was the Durmstrang ship, of course! Well, just kidding. The character will be revealed in Chapter Nine, if you havenít read it yet. Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

PIE!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/20/09 20:22
Chapter: Chapter VII: Beobachter

urk. Hans was really annoying me at the beginning here. Wait; did he get in trouble?

Paul ignored Dieter’s lack of enthusiasm and continued, “Think about it – real live dinosaurs… After I go to Durmstrang, I want to study dragons!”

Awwwwww...poor Paul.

This is a cool chapter, (as per usual,) but what happened to that Schwabbe dude from the first chapter?

Are any of Dieter's siblings wizards? I hope they are.

H_T

Author's Response:

Yes, Hans did get in trouble, something he happens to get into a lot. Anyway, glad you like the chapter, and thanks for reviewing. Herr Schwalbe is a prisoner in Nurmengard, to answer your question.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/20/09 20:07
Chapter: Chapter VI: Gellert Grindelwald Platz

Great chapter.

“Where have you been? Father said that you two would be gone for a while but didn’t say where to, but you-you… you just came in through the fireplace! WHAT’S GOING ON?”

haha. That's just how i would react. :-)

“Make a wish, she said.”

That doesn't make any sense. Is it supposed to be "Make a wish," she said. ?

btw, how long is this story gonna be? I know you have 11 chapters up already!

On to chapter...7, i think?

Author's Response:

Thanks for pointing out the error, Hermiones_Therapist. It has now been fixed. Concerning the storyís length, I now have 12 chapters, but I honestly have no idea how long it would be total. At least 100K words, certainly. I also donít know whether Iíll have the entire story in one piece or split into several parts. Thanks for reading!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/20/09 19:19
Chapter: Chapter V: Der Zauberer

Awesome. Actually, I'm not hating Dieter yet. But I'm sure i will. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks. Personally, I actually kind of like Dieter, despite his numerous flaws. After writing over 60K words of this story, I'll admit he's grown on me. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 08/20/09 15:40
Chapter: Chapter XI: Angriff ist Verteidigung

I have just caught up reading this story and want to say how much I'm enjoying it: all of your characters seem very real.

I like the way you have portrayed Grindlewald and his policies, and not just copying Voldemort. In many ways it seems more sensible, especially if he is trying to control a large proportion of the population, as he would remove so many potential supporters like that.

Dieter is realistic and annoying. You have done a very good job of portraying a boy brought up to believe in Nazi ideology, and the relationship between him and Karkaroff is one I'm looking forward to reading more about.

I can't think of anything else to say except how much I've enjoyed this and I hope there'll be a new chapter soon.

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for reading, relishing, and reviewing (alliteration!) this story. Also, thank you for your comments. I'm trying to avoid the 2D screaming Nazi cliche, so I'm glad you think Dieter and the others have depth.

Concerning Grindelwald, it does annoy me when many fanfictions portray him as a carbon copy of Voldemort, but just German and having hair. To be a wizarding parallel to Adolf Hitler, I came to the conclusion that Grindelwald could not be a rabid pure-blood supremacist, at least in public. The secret to Hitler's success was that he was POPULAR, and his message appealed to every German who wasn't Jewish, a communist, a homosexual, etc. Thus, I don't think Grindelwald would be so stupid (like Voldemort) to only base his support on a small and DWINDLING portion of the wizarding population!

Lastly, as for Dieter and Karkaroff, their feud is pretty much the major plot point for this portion of the story. Anywya, I hope I'll get the next chapter out quickly too, but school starts up again for me soon. I won't have as much time to write, but I will try to update as often as I can. Thanks again for reading!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/19/09 22:35
Chapter: Chapter IV: Die Eule

This story is genius. I love the way that you write all these Nazis in such a completely unbiased way (for the benefit of the story). It's also a very interesting premise. :-)

Author's Response:

Thank you. Not many people are willing to write (or read) stories with dedicated Nazis as the central characters, and I admit that I was hesitant to start writing this. However, I am glad I did. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/19/09 22:22
Chapter: Chapter III: Schnee-Krieg

I love this chapter. The snowball fight was so...random. I guess that's why i like it! Anywho, on to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Indeed it was random, but I felt like including a chapter that showed what Dieter's life was like in the Muggle world. Glad you enjoyed!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/19/09 20:40
Chapter: Chapter II: DŁstere Nacht

Wow.....the plot thickens. This is an awesome story. I have no idea where this is going, but I'm intrigued.

Author's Response:

Finding out he's a wizard is a likely guess, as far as story directions go... Thanks for reading!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 08/19/09 20:19
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

Um. Okay. Wow. This is awesome. Not exactly the feel good story of the year, though. Oh well. I'll get over it. :-) Great start.

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and for the review, Hermiones_Therapist. It's not supposed to be a happy story, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 08/07/09 20:10
Chapter: Chapter IX: Treppen

Alright! You are really motering with these chapters now! I am very excited to see the next one, especially since ready the except you wrote up on the threads, which I will comment on very soon, I assure you!

Once again, I love the speech and the style in which you wrote it. Something I especially enjoyed about how you wrote about this story was your description of Grindelwald. DH aside, we know very little about Grindelwald's appearence or what he did to become such an infamous wizard. I wasn't even a hundred percent sure of what he looked like until now. I just think you did a great job of describing Grindelwald in general. I'm excited to see how you develop his character in the coming chapters. Is he going to be a common figure at Durmstrang event, or was seeing him akin to having the president speak at your school?

Also, I wonder if he will be mentioning Dumbledore at all, or is Dumbledore not quite such a famous wizard yet at this point in time? He is, afterall, just a lowly Transfiguration teacher at this point in history who also happened to find several new uses for dragon's blood. He might be a particularily inventive teacher, but probably not that famous yet. Is killing Grandelwald what finally does make him famous? Will we be hearing about the Elder Wand at all?

I wonder how many people were able to guess that Karkaroff was the other canon character they were going to see. Well, I am eager to see how he devolops through the rest of the story. And for all the fans you seemed to have garted on other sites, I'm begining to think you are getting just as many loyal fans on MNFF. Look at the lovely reviews you have gotten already! I think after all the tugging people along on that character thread of yours, now that the story is starting to progess, it is starting to get its well deserved attention once again. And your Fetured Story Ribbon certainly does a lot to convince people you story is worth reading as well. But I think it is the great writing that keeps people coming back for more and what is eventually going to turn them into rabid wolves while they are waiting for the next few chapters.

I can't wait to see the rest of your story!

Author's Response:

Thanks for the the review, Molly. I am actually quite surprised with my current pace of writing - Iíve never managed to write consistently like this before, so I am feeling quite proud of myself. However, school will be starting up again soon, so I donít think Iíll be able to crank out a chapter a week like Iíve done for the last month. But I will try to update as often as I can - I donít want a repeat of that five-month update gap.

Iím glad you liked my description of Grindelwald. There is some physical description of him in the books, but it is pretty sparse. We do know that he had something of a mischievous air to him, and long blond hair, but thatís about it. Though we know nothing about what kind of dark wizard he was, I am certain he wasnít someone to be in the shadows like Voldemort. I see Grindelwald as a wildly popular Hitler-esque dictator. And I suppose that answers your question about how often youíll see Grindelwald, so yes, it would be like having the president speak at your school, as you said.

Most likely, Dumbledore will not be mentioned in this story, at least till the end of the war when he defeats Grindelwald. But remember, Dumbledore didnít kill Grindelwald, as he was imprisoned in Nurmengard for the rest of his days, until Voldemort murdered him in DH. Also, the Elder Wand will never be mentioned, as I donít think Grindelwald would advertise the fact that he has it.

Thank your for your comments and for nominating this story for the QSQ 2009. Wish me luck!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: sorrow_of_severus
Date: 08/07/09 16:54
Chapter: Chapter IX: Treppen

Wow! This is an amazing story you have going here! I'd chosen not to read it for a while, as I wasn't particularly interested in the bad guys. One day, though, I was bored and tried you story, and I'm so glad I did.

You say this story is from the point of view of the "bad guys," but really, you show that the bad guys weren't so bad. I'm not saying I'm a Nazi sympathizer or anything, but simply that you show how many Germans who wholehearted supported Hitler and his policies were perfectly normal people -- people like our neighbors, our families, even ourselves. You have an amazing talent that you can make the reader like a character that holds and frequently speaks of many views we call evil.

Your research on the era has simply blown me away as well. Everything feels very real in your writing. It often feels like I'm reading a published historical fiction novel, not Harry Potter fanfiction! One question -- were those fox and rabbit books (I'm too lazy to actually check and see the exact title) for little kids, about how Aryans were great and Jews deserved to be wiped out, were those books real, or did you make them up?

My one critique is your portrayal of Durmstrang makes it almost identical to Hogwarts. Every Hogwarts tradition seems to have a recognizable Durmstrang equivalent. These are different schools founded by different people at different times in different countries, so there should be some things that are completely unique to each school and have no equivalent in the other. But hey, that's just my opinion!

Otherwise, I'm loving your story, and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response:

Iím glad you decided to read the story and ended up enjoying it. Also, I agree with you completely on the perceptions of what is good versus what is evil. Though I never intended to make a philosophical statement with this story, I wanted to show how Nazism was made up of millions of ordinary people who believed in its message, and not just Hitler and his cronies. It is very easy to pin the blame for Nazism on the leadership, and forget about the populace that supported them and made such crimes possible.

Concerning research, I have taken classes on Hitlerís Third Reich, so a lot of what Iíve learned from reading and watching Nazi propaganda and other documents has wormed its way into this story. Though I am not sure if specifically the metaphor of the rabbit and fox was commonly used, German children definitely were indoctrinated from birth in the ideals of National Socialism. There are several well known Nazi childrenís books like The Poison Mushroom and You Canít Trust a Fox in a Heath and a Jew on His Oath, which taught children to hate Jews from an early age. The Sky Captain Otto von Von books are entirely my invention, but their anti-Semitic messages would have been quite common.

I know there would inevitably be some similarities between Durmstrang and Hogwarts, but I hope to make it clear that Durmstrang is very different school. Youíll learn more about Durmstrang in subsequent chapters.

Anyway, Iím glad you enjoy the story, and I hope you like the upcoming chapters.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Rednight
Date: 08/07/09 13:37
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

I'm just going to take a wild guess here. Ernst is Jewish, isn't he?

Anyways, I really loved this chapter. The way everything was described was very unique! I hope you liked the fanart, too. Although it's no where near as good as yours!

Author's Response:

Youíll find out more about Ernst in Chapter Ten, if you havenít read it yet. Thanks for reading and reviewing, and Iím glad you enjoyed this chapter. Concerning your fanart, I am very impressed with it. Did you use some kind of 3D modelling programme or something?

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Rednight
Date: 07/25/09 0:21
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

Who did we meet from canon Harry Potter?

Author's Response:

The boat!

Well, just kidding. It was Karkaroff. Hope you enjoy the next chapter whenever it is approved!

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: voldy_is_mouldy
Date: 07/24/09 20:19
Chapter: Chapter II: DŁstere Nacht

This is amazingly good! I had the same idea of a WW2/magic story 2!

Author's Response:

Thanks for liking this fic, and good luck on your story.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: Rednight
Date: 07/20/09 1:34
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

Well yes, I do like your story that much. It's not like most fanfiction. It's very original, detailed, and creative.

Author's Response:

Iím glad you think so, Rednight. Thanks again for the fanart. It really made my day.

~ Tim the Enchanter

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 07/19/09 13:28
Chapter: Chapter I: Auf Wiedersehen, Herr Schwalbe

You see, Tim? You have a lot of people out there anxious to see the next chapter. You might even have a few people doing fanart for you once you get the Durmstrang part of the story up and running. I know that I would love to do some drawings of your story, even though I have been ignore my art a bit lately, and I can still remember feeling a bit dirty after that portrait I drew of Dieter with the swastika on his armband.

But as we have already learned from Tim, remember, Photobuck has the same rules with Nazi icons as they have with women: no full frontal. That came out sounding a lot more dirty than I would have like, but it is a very true saying. I just might have to continue to use it.

So Tim, just how is the next chapter going. Tell me that the only reason it is taking so long is because it is a major part in the story and you just want it to be completely amazing!

Author's Response:

Indeed I do have anxious fans! The ones on fanfiction dot net are especially vocal about it. But having fanart would be quite thrilling!

Hmm, ďfull-frontalĒ swastikasÖ that does sound dirty. But isnít the swastika, as the symbol of Nazism, supposed to invoke that kind of revulsion in people? Personally, I think the censorship of the swastika contributes to the image of the Nazi as some shadowy, demonic, other-worldly monster. But the trend of thinking of Nazism as something purely evil and alien removes its concreteness - it makes it something unreal that we cannot comprehend. And that is the danger, I believe. By removing Nazi images from our thoughts and thinking of Nazism as an abstract embodiment of evil rather than as a concrete, collective crime of millions of complicit human beings, we may fail to understand how such a tragedy even happened - and we risk it happening again. A lot of people forget that Hitler was elected and came to power using completely legal means - now isnít that a scary thought?

Well, I ramble. I writing Chapter Nine right now!

~ Tim the Enchanter

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES