Reviewer: Emma Garland
Date: 01/14/14 21:54
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Sixth Sphere

Brilliant tale & wonderful insight!

Author's Response: Thanks! In many ways, I enjoyed writting this story the most as it lead me into unexplored territory. Hope you found the characterizations true to form even as new facets were presented. I really think that JKRs genius is in creatig such compelling characters, the adults as well as the children who are the main protagonsts in her tale.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/17/10 20:56
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Ninth Sphere

Just great!! I love it! I'm moving on Harry Potter and the Hero's Lament now! Can't wait!! These are great and I so wish I had discovered it before starting Pheonix!! Now it gives me the perfect excuse to start over reading it again too!! Love it!!

Author's Response: I think youíll really enjoy Heroís Lament. Itís a much more complicated story so donít let the more light-hearted tone fool you. Not having to wait for the chaptered updates, it will all fall into place without too much backtracking. I know it will enrich your reading of The Dark Phoenix. But the fact that you were able to go into the third installment and still make sense of the plot makes me feel like I gave enough information with having to summarize the two prior stories. Thanks again for all the encouragement!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/16/10 20:49
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Sixth Sphere

I think I just read the last four chapters without stopping (that is in between making cookies and other chores!!) Just wow! !!!!! Aberforth's watch was true genious!

Author's Response: Men and their gadgets! If Dumbledore had all those spindly little silver things, I expected Aberforth to have something more substantial Ė but still silver. Glad the plot has swept you along. That is a writerís most important goal.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/14/10 21:57
Chapter: Purgatory: The Ninth Terrace

This is amazing!! You take the characters outside of JK's main ones to places JK never did! Not that hers wasn't great, but you do them fantastic justice here! Incredible!! This (and Dark Pheonix) are what define my requirements for a good story! That is they capture my attention, my imagination, and I am lost so much in the words that its as if I am a mere fly on the wall watching your story play out in a full IMAX experience!! BRAVO!

Author's Response: Thanks for all the glowing words! I can't help being energized. HBP is particularly rich in untold stories. JKRís characters are so well realized that itís not difficult imaging them having outside adventures that didnít make it into the books. After all, Harryís viewpoint is such a narrow wedge of the entire pie.

Iím currently working on a behind-the-pages treatment of DH with an unexpected twist. Consider that a preview of coming attractions!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/13/10 19:59
Chapter: Purgatory: The Third Terrace

If I wasn't a Snape fan before, you've certaintly made me a bigger one! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much. Coming from a fellow Snape lover, that really means the world to me! Thereís more of him to look forward to in the upcoming chapters.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/13/10 13:06
Chapter: Part Two: Purgatory, The First Terrace

Okay I jumped over to this story as I was waiting for more Dark Pheonix and this is the first time in days I have stopped long enough to leave a review! I love it and wow I wish I had read this before starting DP!! Totally fills in the blanks for me with DP and absolutely great and this is by far my favorite chapter! I love all the talk about what happened at Tonks dance and Snape and Dumbledore sticking it to her idiot date! too funny! I'm really enjoying getting into Remus's head as far as what his thoughts were about being with Tonks and it adds so much depth to the canon stories, but don't think for seconds that I mean your stories don't stand on their own, because you have done an excellent job creating the worlds in your stories and I can't wait to finish this one, move onto the next one and then finish up with your Dark Pheonix! Thank you for writing such great stories!!

Author's Response: Delighted that youíre enjoying the story! Unfortunately, it hasnít had as many reads as my other ones. It was great fun fleshing out the adult characters that seem to get passed over in the canon series. Dumbledore gets painted as such a Machiavellian character in Deathly Hallows that I wanted to weigh in by showing some of his more charismatic moments. By delving into Remusí head, he doesnít come across as being so weak and pathetic, either. Thanks for all the glowing compliments! (blushes)

Reviewer: TonksfortheMemories
Date: 12/16/09 9:32
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Ninth Sphere

I'm sorry I haven't left any reviews, in truth I've always been rushing to the next chapter to bother.

This fic was AMAZING, everyone was in character, even Minerva, whom while is slightly different to the Minerva we se in the books still fits in perfectly well.

I loved Remus from start to finish, although his self esteem (for want of a better word) or lack thereof was frustrating at times, it worked wonderfully and was always well written.

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!

Author's Response: I am truly humbled by your gracious words. So very glad you enjoyed the story enough to be driven to the next chapter above all else. To a writer, that is truly the most sincere compliment of all.

Iíve always felt there was a softer side to McGonagall that would only peek through occasionally in canon; for instance, how she apologizes to Harry for not being able to sign his Hogsmeade permission in PoA.

As for Remus, he comes into his own in my next installment, HP and the Heroís Lament, or at least it appears so when filtered through Harryís point of view. Hope you have been inspired to read onÖ.

Reviewer: TonksfortheMemories
Date: 12/09/09 3:58
Chapter: Inferno: The Fourth Circle

Thank you! This fic is AMAZING so far.. argghh im crying!

Author's Response: So happy to know you're enjoying the story. Sirius' humble words had me tearing up as well. I was truly surprised how much I warmed up to his character once I started writing him; he will return in a number of flashbacks later.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/26/09 19:57
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Ninth Sphere

That was absolutely amazing. You really took Remus and Tonks through hell and up to paradise. I loved the description of their vacation spot and their wedding. I could almost feel the jungle heat. I loved the shaman and the fact that the village seemed to accept werewolves. The most amazing part was yet to come. How creative to have Remus transfigure into a sea turtle. That was so awesome. I actually had to read that part twice just to absorb how wonderful it was. And the job offers to both Remus and Tonks were the perfect thing. Could life get any better? Excellent job on this book. I stand in awe of your talent. Thanks for writing this. I'll see you in the next one.

Author's Response: I see Animagus forms as being very similar to animal spirit guides (please forgive me if I donít get the Native American terminology exactly right). The sea turtle is like Remusí inner spirit which is easy-going and pacific. The werewolf part is the interloper. Even though society will judge him harshly by virtue of being a werewolf (as if it were a conscious life choice), it is not who he really is deep down.

As for the jungle village, Dumbledore was able to fulfill Remusí dreams of recuperating in a tropical locale after all.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/26/09 12:51
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Eighth Sphere

This was an absolutely outstanding chapter. I found myself crying tears of joy and gratitude upon hearing that Remus was going to get the Order involved in "manipulating" Harry, Ron, and Hermione. I smiled when Remus said the Order would make Molly look like an amateur. I again loved the reference to Sirius watching over everyone from the heavens. I really enjoyed the relaxing feeling I got from reading about Remus wandering about London and getting ready for his vacation. Loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Just because Harry over-reacted out of grief during Dumbledoreís funeral is no reason why wiser adults canít interfere and help him get back on track. Having sorted out his own life, Remus is taking the words of Siriusí will to heart in this chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/24/09 19:55
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Seventh Sphere

That was a delightful chapter. I think it was just wonderful to see Remus and Tonks able to relax even if they'd just been through a hellish night. I especially enjoyed the conversation on the night sky and how Tonks' family members were named after heavenly bodies. I loved that Sirius was thought to be up there watching over them. That's similar to Native American thought of what happens to our relatives when they pass on. Thus, the importance of star quilts in our culture. This was such a rough time for our characters but I actually feel some healing is taking place. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Itís so cool that Native Americans think of the wide open sky above as housing their loved ones looking down on them. I wonder if thatís what JKR was thinking when all the Blacks named themselves after heavenly bodies.

As for me, I remembered reading that every section (cantata) of Danteís Divine Comedy ended with the word ďstarĒ. It so reminded me of JKRís original promise that the last word in the HP series would be ďscarĒ. Add to that all the celestial names peppered throughout the series and that became the inspiration for this tale.

More of Ginny and Remus to come in next section where he repays his debt to her.

Author's Response: Itís so cool that Native Americans think of the wide open sky above as housing their loved ones looking down on them. I wonder if thatís what JKR was thinking when all the Blacks named themselves after heavenly bodies.

As for me, I remembered reading that every section (cantata) of Danteís Divine Comedy ended with the word ďstarĒ. It so reminded me of JKRís original promise that the last word in the HP series would be ďscarĒ. Add to that all the celestial names peppered throughout the series and that became the inspiration for this tale.

More of Ginny and Remus to come in next section where he repays his debt to her.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/23/09 14:43
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Sixth Sphere

Although this chapter dealt with a sad topic, the death of Dumbledore, I liked it. One of the most interesting parts was hearing that Aberforth had a watch that stopped when Albus died. So Aberforth knew, without being told, that his brother had died. I also thought the conversation among Tonks' co-workers was interesting. They seemed pettily jealous that Tonks had been in on the fight and they hadn't been. Finally, the theory you had Remus and I think Sirius espousing earlier in this book took on a little more substance--i.e. Peter's plan to take out the Marauders one by one. I guess I still don't understand why Peter would do that. Did the other Marauders treat him so badly that he had to betray all of them? In my mind, Peter was a loser to begin with and was lucky to have the friends he did. Great chapter.

Author's Response: The theory about Sirius being allowed to "think" that he escaped is actually Mad-Eye's -- just edgy enough for his brand of thinking. But Remus won't reject it out of hand as he recalls the earlier conversation with Sirius (as you aptly noted). Instead Moody's ramblings get Remus thinking in a new direction.

I like including Aberforth as there is so little really known about him, even though he lived in such proximity to his brother. Seems to me that they would have interacted much more than everyone supposed on the surface.

A lot of time and theories have been proposed about Peter's duplicity. But I think that JKR had him say it all in PoA: he was convinced that Voldemort would win and he wanted to back a winner. And being a rat at heart, he was venal enough to not care who he took down in the process. (Echo Dumbledore's words about how sometimes he thinks they sort too young...)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/22/09 16:54
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Fifth Sphere

Again, this is so interesting to think of what went on from a different perspective and behind the scenes. I wonder if they'll figure some of the plot out. Remus seems to have some good ideas. I sure don't know how you wrote all of this. It's so elaborate and so well written. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed Remus' ponderings on a problem he will not be able to totally solve for quite some time. He's the type that can't just leave it alone, though. Having been inside his head for so many months, though, it was surprisingly easy to see where his thoughts would take him, i.e. not quite as paranoid a take as Moody's, but definitely views things differently from how others might.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/21/09 20:17
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Fourth Sphere

Your story is really starting to dovetail with HBP so I'm able to fill in more of the details and the timeline. It's just so interesting to me to see what happened from a totally different viewpoint. I knew that Harry had the DA patrolling along with the Order but you made that really clear in this chapter and dare I say a little more exciting. It was also interesting to realize that many of these people had other plans that night but were called in to patrol. I'm really motivated to finish this book and get into your next one. Great chapter.

Author's Response: There will be a lot more surprises about the off-stage action in the next couple of chapters. After all, JKR does not write anything at all about how Dumbledore's murder affected the Order and the power vacuum that caused. I will warn you, though, that I deviate from Rowling's vision for the seventh book entirely, so you will be leaving strictly canon territory with the last chapter of this story in order to set you up for the next installment.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/18/09 20:12
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Third Sphere

What really struck me in this chapter was when Remus seemed excited that he had to "woo" Tonks again. It seems like he's come so far when you consider that he's actually pursuing Tonks. It also seems like Remus had so many feelings that were buried so deep. He had to let them come to the surface so he could deal with them. I liked this chapter. I know what you mean about living in a warm climate--I grew up here in South Dakota and I lived in Los Angeles for a few years, but I got tired of the lack of change in the seasons. It does get cold here in the winter but we do go through all of the seasons. It's just that as I get older I feel the cold more and dream of warmer climates.

Author's Response: I'm glad you found the gradual process of Remus' change of heart to be believable. In JKR's version the abrupt change between his protests at Bill's beside in the Hospital Wing (coming up in two chapters) and his holding hands with Tonks at Dumbledore's funeral left way too much unexplained.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/17/09 19:36
Chapter: Finding Paradiso: The Second Sphere

This chapter was such a delight. Remus and Tonks are such a cute couple that I just love it when they're getting along. The spring snow in Hogsmeade sounds lovely. Just like this chapter's title, I feel more hope--like we're approaching paradise. Great chapter.

Author's Response: See, they're finally beginning to work things out. In the next chapter, you'll get a bit of Tonks' point of view that will illustrate her fears.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/16/09 18:23
Chapter: Part Three: Finding Paradiso, The First Sphere

Is this a case of absence making the heart grow fonder. It seems that Remus is chomping at the bit to see Tonks again. Maybe it will do him good to have to wait a little longer. I love the idea of a "summer veranda" in the middle of winter. If I had one of those like Dumbledore has I'd live in it. You wouldn't get me out in the cold. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Now in addition to Dumbledore and McGonagall, you have Poppy Pomfrey interferring... The precautions are more to insure that Remus had recovered more fully before venturing into the cold. After all, there's no guarantee at this point that Tonks' won't shoot him down again.

Perhaps you should move to Florida where I live; you'd get tired of summer really quick, guaranteed. I do believe that you could market magical verandas here that simulate the cool fall weather, though. Just goes to show how contrary humans are when you get down to it.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/14/09 19:04
Chapter: Purgatory: The Ninth Terrace

I really liked this chapter. I felt like there is some hope for Remus and for Tonks. My favorite parts involved the conversations between Ginny and Remus. Her comments about Ron and Hermione were very enlightening. I guess I kind of knew that Ginny was that witty but her dialogue was really outstanding. I think Snape is selling Harry short though. I can't wait to get to the next section of this book. Great chapter.

Author's Response: I so wanted Ginny to sparkle in this part as she is really going out of her way to make Remus forget his troubles. The insights into her personality also explains why she's never really lacking for a boyfriend.

I won't apologize for Snape just being Snape, lol. In his point of view, Harry's biggest sin will always be that he's James' son.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/13/09 19:52
Chapter: Purgatory: The Eighth Terrace

Aren't these two ever going to get together? I don't think I've ever seen two such stubborn people in my life--oh yeah, I forgot about my ex-husband:) I'm so relieved that Remus managed to get to McGonagall's farm. I was so worried about him. That part couldn't have worked out better. Great chapter.

Author's Response: They do make you want to bang their heads together, don't they? You'll just have to be a bit more patient though. I wouldn't want the plot to be too contrived and both of them really do have issues at this point.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/12/09 11:47
Chapter: Purgatory: The Seventh Terrace

So did Remus have a dream--I think he did, because why would he get dumped back at the barn. I think he has the flu or some such illness. He probably can't get out of the room he's in so I'm figuring the other wolves he hears can't get in either. I liked his conversation with the Lady. I think she aimed to offer him hope and to raise his self-esteem. I can't wait to get to the Paradise section of this book. I hope it lives up to its name:) Great chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, Remus is definitely having trouble separating dreams from reality, but some of his ramblings in his journal were already getting a bit out-of-hand, donít you think? I wonít spoil it for you by elaborating too much, though.

The conversation with the Lady marks an epiphany of sorts, if Remus can figure out how to accommodate it into his pragmatic view of the world. More twists and turns will come of that in the Paradise section as well.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES