Reviewer: Ascendio
Date: 07/22/11 0:47
Chapter: The Rat, the Stag, the Werewolf, the Dog.

I think my favorite part in this is the poem about Sirius and Remus, it really stood out to me and I just think it's so utterly perfect.

The nitpick I have is the last line of this chapter, "It was bleeding as much as Sirius had bled in his entire life." It seemed a bit...extravagant for something that wasn't really that bad. I'd imagine that Sirius had definitely done worse things to get worse punishments, so saying that was the most he'd ever bled seemed a bit odd.

Well done in making Sirius's mother give me the willies...she is definitely not someone I'd like for a mum, VERY eerie and cruel.

You may have noticed I'm sort of stalking your page...it's four o' clock in the morning, so as I struggle to keep my eyes open, congratulations on being my procrastination towards sleep. Also, you have a lot of good fics, so I am very glad I stumbled across them.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the story. That last line was written five or six years ago-- I was a kid. Now go to sleep.

Reviewer: ladymischief
Date: 08/11/10 20:33
Chapter: Time Flies

Wasn't Ted Tonks a Muggle? I remember specifically that in the fifth book, Sirius told Harry that his mother disowned Anromeda, for marrying a muggle. The muggle's name was Ted Tonks.

Author's Response: No, he was a Muggle-born. Sirius says Muggle-born in book five, and the fact is reiterated in book seven. On the Black family tree pull-out key, Ted is listed as a Muggle because the Blacks considered Muggle and Muggle-born the same thing.

Reviewer: Summer Highland Falls
Date: 01/17/10 17:35
Chapter: The King of Hearts

thanks

Reviewer: Summer Highland Falls
Date: 01/03/10 14:27
Chapter: The King of Hearts

Not really the place to ask, but what's a Beta, and what's a mod? If they are something like editors, how do I become one?

Author's Response: A beta is a person who proofreads your story before submission. A mod is the person who decides if your story is posted. Both offer suggestions for improvements. Mods are hired periodically (look for an announcement on the main page.) I don't know how you can become a beta. You'll have to check the beta forums.

Reviewer: Summer Highland Falls
Date: 12/31/09 18:03
Chapter: The King of Hearts

I very much enjoyed the story, and am looking foward to The Marauders next year at Hogwarts. I usally hate Fan Fiction because I compare it to the original, but with your story, there was not much in place to compare it to, and that helped me to enjoy it. A couple of things however, I did not like:
1) During the last chapter, what James says about the plot, "There didn’t even seem to be an overall plot for the year”, really breaks down the fourth wall, as do many of his prophecies.
2) What you try very hard to do with your story is copy J.K. Rowling's writing style, but when you drop that, the story becomes a lot better and stands alone from the Potter books, and finnaly,
3) Could you try and build Peter up a bit more, nothing so far suggests his betrayal, I know it's just th first year, but it would be great if you could do that in the second one.
Don't take the criticsim the wrong way, I loved the story, and have read the first two chapters of the second one, I'm really looking foward to more-
Marlon Ettinger

Author's Response: Thank you for all your advice. I am glad to have written a story you actually enjoy. My answers to the things you suggest: 1) I realize that breaking the fourth wall is not generally accepted. However, it can often lead to great comedy, or, in the case of the discussion of a plot, a major life lesson. 2) You're right, I did at a few points try to write like our darling Jo. That was in the early days of the story, when I was young and not yet confident in myself. Now that I have matured a bit (and written other stories beside fan fiction) I can write on my own terms. 3) Yes, I need to build Peter more, but I'm having to do it in a way that keeps Peter in the group. After all, it was a huge shock to Sirius to realize that sweet, scared little Wormtail was evil. I don't take your criticism the wrong way, in fact I enjoy hearing it. Don't take my responses the wrong way, this is how I talk to the mods as well. Thank you for reading.- armagod679

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 09/10/09 20:03
Chapter: The King of Hearts

Great end to the year. Can't wait to see who the new DADA professor will be. And what kind of mischief our young friends will get into.

Author's Response: You'll see, Captain. You'll see. I am very glad you have enjoyed my story. Thanks for reading all 21 chapters! Part two is coming... very soon!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 09/10/09 19:56
Chapter: If Quizzes are Quizzical...

Still having fun with this story. I like the boys who will be Marauders and their antics.

Reviewer: Dumb Brunette
Date: 09/09/09 16:15
Chapter: The King of Hearts

Great story!!! I can't wait until he next one comes out!

Reviewer: Dumb Brunette
Date: 09/08/09 16:11
Chapter: If Quizzes are Quizzical...

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update soon!!!!! I'm dying to know what happens next!!!!

Reviewer: Dumb Brunette
Date: 08/31/09 16:39
Chapter: If Quizzes are Quizzical...

I LOVE THIS STORY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is sooooooooooo good!!!!! Update soon!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you for the positive review! Chapter 21 is in the queue.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 07/25/09 23:34
Chapter: Small Victories

Neat. Wonder if Remus calculations already included Sirius confunding the Hufflepuff Keeper? Interesting concept.

Author's Response: No, they didn't, although it certainly helped. Incidentally, Sirius did not Confund the Keeper. He poured a Confusing Concoction in her morning pumpkin juice. Thank you for reviewing.

Reviewer: stillwaitingformyletter247
Date: 07/23/09 21:44
Chapter: Small Victories

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you.

Reviewer: BeeKayBee
Date: 07/10/09 17:27
Chapter: Grease!

Well armagod679, you did it again. You nearly reduced me to tears with your Star Trek reference!! And as to your last A/N in chapter 17, it is my personal opinion that you should NOT split the story. The title of this story is so fitting for their entire Hogwarts career! Please just keep on writing!

Author's Response: Thank you for both of your reviews. I have decided, based on marketing research consisting of me sitting on facebook asking my HP-centered friends some questions, to split the story so you don't have to read over a hundred chapters on one post. Just think of it as having another series of Harry Potter books! Star Trek is a very important part of my life, as it was back in the 1970s when this story takes place. James Potter just reminds me of William Shatner for some reason. As per your last review, pre-teen and teenage boys tend to be snappish with each other, and for boys fighting is just as much fun as hugging and gossiping are for girls. There will be good times, don't worry, but the way this story is set up, there will also be quite a bit of bad. And as for Jimi Hendrix, well... metaphors are hard to come up with if you don't want to use cliches, you know?

Reviewer: BeeKayBee
Date: 07/10/09 17:08
Chapter: Time Flies

Oh my goodness armagod679, that line "Tensions were higher than the late Jimi Hendrix" made me laugh so hard, I literally fell off of my bed. Comic genius! However, I have a question about the Mauraders... Why does is it seem like they are always snapping and fighting with eachother? I have yet to see any of the fun, happy times that Sirius and Remus were always describing whenever they were reminiscing about James and their "glory days" at Hogwarts. I would really like to see more of that! Keep on truckin' armagod679, you have a fantastic story on your hands. =]

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 07/02/09 23:22
Chapter: Grease!

Nice chapter. The Marauder era is about to burst onto history, lol! Lily reminds me of a more recent Gryffindor and best friend of her son, lol. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: She's not that bad... I don't think. Chapter nineteen is being written!

Reviewer: iamlordvoldemort
Date: 07/01/09 22:36
Chapter: A Cat Called Spunky

I'm only on Chapter 2 and it's great so far but I'd just like to say that it makes me really happy that you named Harry's grandmother "Anna" (because it's the best name ever). XD

Author's Response: Thank you for writing in. I do try to please my readers. You're going to love Anna Potter, guaranteed.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/24/09 14:34
Chapter: Remus's Easter Nightmare

Fenris is a slimey evil git and his teaching methods leave a lot to be desired. Hope he's gone by way of the curse, lol. Chocolate is always good, and it is one of the four basic food groups.
Story seems to be going well. A lot of the stories are written by the year. Guess it makes them more manageable for the people reading. Doesn't matter to me, I'm going to read it anyway.

Author's Response: Fenris is based off every mean teacher I've ever had (most specifically, my ninth grade choir director.) Chocolate isn't a food group. It has all four of the basic food groups: fat, salt, sugar, and caffine. Based on marketing research, I am splitting the story by year.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/24/09 14:17
Chapter: Time Flies

First, this is your story. This is not JKR's books and you can put people anywhere you want. Hello, that's why it's called Fan Fiction!!!
Good match, too bad Gryffindor lost. Maybe Alice just needs to be a little more aggressive. Sirius does know his family.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/24/09 14:01
Chapter: Underneath the Willow Tree

Boys will be boys. Bit insensitive playing the game in front of Remus, but most 11 yr olds don't know or care about sensitivity.
James go to the library and learn about Animagi. That'll keep you from being bored,lol.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/24/09 13:47
Chapter: The Essay that Took Over Hogwarts

With any luck Fenris will show Sirius essay to another teacher, or to Dumbledore. Nah, Fenris is a git and will just think Sirius did cheat. The boys are learning to work as a team, this is the good part. Will be interesting to see how they learn about being Animagus and then becoming one.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES