Reviewer: MuggleJean
Date: 08/08/13 14:01
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

What have we here, another chapters of Marissa and the Wizards. I have a good time reread your story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying the story and hope to have another chapter ready soon. Thank you for your review :)

Reviewer: fallennxstarr
Date: 07/12/13 0:18
Chapter: Chapter 14 - She Has An Air About Her

Wow can't really believe Marissa is back! Inha long since given up on ever seeing this story finished, which was especially disappointing since your story along with the Alexandra Quick series is by far the best fan fiction I've ever come across. So needless to say I am beyond thrilled that the story is back and I'm hoping we'll see some regular updates in the future!

Also, a note on the chapter itself, I loved Tiq's prank definitely Fred and George worthy.

Author's Response: Thank you for your comments and I'm certainly happy for Marissa to be held in company with Alexandra Quick, which I have always enjoyed too. As evidence shows, 'regular updates' is not my strength, but there is a next chapter in the works!

Reviewer: alaskadad
Date: 07/07/13 3:10
Chapter: Chapter 14 - She Has An Air About Her

So, its been a while, to say the least. I've retired, I have grandchildren now to whom I anxiously await the introduction to Harry's world. And another 2 chapters of Marissa have appeared. Marissa still engages me, her problems seem huge, her abilities "huger", just not visible yet. Obviously I've had to reread the older parts and they hold up well. I do not know what blocked your hand these past years but I thank you for coming back to us with this story. I have a "host daughter" from Belgium who is multi-lingual enough that her work is moving her to Brazil where she invites us to visit. My oldest daughter speaks Portuguese from her foreign exchange to Lisbon, so it might happen. I know there is absolute truth in the background you create for Marissa in the slums but I hope we can see a better future for our brave little wildflower. Thanks for coming back to us.

Author's Response: Wow. It is very humbling to hear from yet another of Marissa's early readers again. Honestly, after all this time I truly expected the original fans of this story to have forgotten or given up on it and that Marissa could at most hope to find some new readers with the new chapters. That you remember it after years and still have strong praise for the story is simply wonderful. That your own life has found a connection to the source locations of Marissa's tale is an uncanny coincidence too. How amazing that is. Congratulations on the grandchildren and I hope we might add the completed story of Marissa to their reading list someday. Thank you again for your comments.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/06/13 12:32
Chapter: Chapter 14 - She Has An Air About Her

Long time since I read this story, so I had to read it all again. It would be nice to be still alive when you finish it. Marissa is one of my favourite original fanfiction characters.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review and compliment on Marissa. I certainly hope that you are alive when I finish the story! And that I am too since the finish would be problematic without that...

Reviewer: Inverarity
Date: 07/04/13 13:15
Chapter: Chapter 14 - She Has An Air About Her

Well, it wasn't a two-year wait for the next chapter this time!

I'm so happy to see Marissa's story continuing, even if I wish she'd make some progress. This chapter was very enjoyable, with more magical wonders and more of Marissa's interaction with her friends and enemies. But she's been struggling to do magic and enduring hexes from the Anacondas for several chapters now. I wonder if her magical gifts are truly "wandless," but I still remember how that one wand responded to her way back in an early chapter.

The Witness Stone teachers are as frustrating as the Hogwarts professors, with allowing all this bigotry and bullying to go on right under their noses.

It was nice to see the Condas get some payback. And a hint of romance for Marissa! Surely not a love triangle for 11-year-olds? :D

Please don't stop - it is my hope that we will eventually see this story complete.

Author's Response: Yes, I feel I'm really reaching breakneck writing speed now (or not). And yes Marissa is taking too much time to find some wand ability, but that's the fault of my story pacing. Maybe the next chapter will help her change that a bit. Thank you so much for your constant reviews.

Reviewer: Lasselanta
Date: 07/02/13 23:45
Chapter: Chapter 14 - She Has An Air About Her

Hallelujah, an update! I usually lurk on this site and don't leave a lot of comments for the stories I read, but yours is such a work of inspiration and I have to tell you how much I'm enjoying it. Getting the update notice in my inbox this evening made my day. Glad to see you're continuing Marissa's adventure - I anxiously look forward to reading the rest!

Author's Response: I'm happy to hear you're enjoying the story, though I'm not sure it's hallelujah worthy :) Thank you very much for your review. It's always nice to know a reader is awaiting a Marissa chapter.

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 09/06/12 1:50
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Smellier Still

OMG! New Marissa story was what it finally took to force me out of my fanfiction retirement. Did you ever have one of those things that you always used to hope would happen, then it just went away for so long, you forgot about it, and when it finally does come, you hit the ceiling?
THIS! A thousand times this!
I was just heading out to class when I checked my old email account and saw that Marissa had been updated. I had no time to read it then, but believe you me, I was thinking about it all day and it was what gave me the energy to get through my day with florish.
Marissa is just as charming as I remember her, and it's wonderful to see all my favorite characters again. It makes me want to start at least drawing again in the hopes that this new insperation will continue.
And, of course, if you still need a beta, you have someone more than willing.
Good to see you back!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review and the welcome back, Molly. It's great to see my favorite dedicated readers were still awaiting Marissa's return. I did promise someone I would someday finish this, I'm just very untimely at fulfilling that commitment. P.S. If you check you will find the book formatted story has been updated with Chapter 13, including an illustration which has been waiting a looong time to get added to its page :) I slightly edited it for story consistency, but thank you again! And I will need six more... eventually.

Reviewer: Inverarity
Date: 08/25/12 20:11
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Smellier Still

Holy hopping hierotapirs! An update after over THREE YEARS! I had sadly given up on ever seeing this story continued.

Marissa is as charming as ever, and her stubborn determination not to ask for help or let anyone think she's "weak" is really starting to cause her problems. I suspect that eventually, when her case is being decided, it will be her special magic that proves her fitness to be a witch, but it is so frustrating to see her trying and trying to use a wand without success.

I was happy (and sad) to see the boys from Santa Efigenia again. I don't know if Marissa will be able to remain a part of their world - as they get older, the world will only become harder for them and the gap between them more unbridgeable, but I'm sure Marissa will never lose her sense of responsibility. In fact, I would expect her to be one of those witches who begins to question WHY witches aren't allowed to use their magic to help Muggles.

It's nice to see a reminder of all the things that have been left unmentioned for many chapters - the diminishing magic among the wizard-born, and the Dementors prowling the slums.

After three years, a lot of the names are no longer as familiar as they once were, but I was able to catch up again pretty quickly.

Now please, please finish this story! And don't make us wait three years until the next update! Who do you think you are, George R. R. Martin? :P

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the first review of this chapter. Though its completion was a little delayed (okay, quite a lot), I have not forgotten Marissa and am happy you didn't either. I will try to submit further chapters in a more timely manner, but will have to plead procrastination, real world interruptions, writers block, slooooow typing, or all of the above for Marissa's long absence from updates. Thanks again.

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 03/09/12 20:16
Chapter: Chapter 12 - A Bird's Eye View

Please finish this story!

Reviewer: tbergman
Date: 09/07/10 17:23
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

I've just discovered this story and, like everyone else, am champing at the bit for you to continue.

You have a great talent. Please put up the rest of the chapters.

Reviewer: Laisai
Date: 04/25/10 17:31
Chapter: Chapter 12 - A Bird's Eye View

Oh my gosh - I read your story last year and I've been checking back ever since, but I never ONCE thought to check the reviews in the case the author seriously didn't abandon the story!

So now I read the reviews and my hopes are up and I think your story is simply fantastic - it's such a fresh view on the wizarding world, since it's not confined to just England or Europe but to somewhere as different as Brazil!

Anyways, I really hope you finish the story soon since I really really want to know what happens next and I'll be checking back every few weeks just to see if anything shows up!

Reviewer: sylviamirror
Date: 03/29/10 8:34
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

Oh, please tell me you have not abandoned this fic? It is one of the best stories i have read on this site so far...extremely sweet..and the details are lovely. Do update, please, please...

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 01/25/10 19:40
Chapter: Chapter 6 - The Journey to the Rainforest

I also going to take this review to tell you about some Marissa drawings I am working on.

I had a idea for a drawing of Anna and Sakura after seeing another drawing. I wanted to draw Sakura and Anna floating up in the air, holding onto ballons. Maybe with the floating train flying the background. Now that I think of it, there is a story behind it. Anna and Sakura miss the train, so now they are using magic balloons to try and catch up so they can climb through the window. Maybe Marissa and Rosaria are there too, though that might come off a bit too much like CoS. That is, if you do it for the beginning of the school year. If you do it for Carnival you might get away with it.

I also want to do a drawing of Tiquinho and Potira. I also want to do a drawing of Rosaria as well, but so far I don't have any insperation for it.

I'm probably thinking of this because of the flying train in this chapter. Brazilian wizards certainly are environmentally minded, aren't they? But the bubbles are certainly cool. I need to draw a freaky good drawing of that as well.

Hope you see more soon, and I hope your brain is itching from the desire to write.

Author's Response: Gee, I hope in all this flurry of artistic activity for my story that you give some others a chance for drawings too :) . I will keep your balloon scene in mind, though I envision them all as giant soap bubbles rather than latex 'balloons'. Of course you are working on the assumption of a 'second year' for Marissa at Witness Stone without knowing if her present year will lead to her return. Hmmm...

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 01/25/10 18:19
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Choosing More Teams Than Two

That's right! More reviews for JC. You poor, poor thing! Now that you have told me you plan on devoting the year to finishing Marissa's story, I am going to be posting constant reviews just so it is something that will always be in the back of your mind.

ALWAYS!

Such a cool spell with turning the cuffs on the first-year's robes. I suppose in their second year, when they get new obes after outgrowing these ones, they'll learn to do the spell for themselves. I wonder if any student has ever bought an extra robe, but turned the cuffs to match those of a different House so they could use it as a disguise. Notice how I am peppering in certain story ideas in the hopes you will write a Marissa sequel. My goal is to plant so many, that there will be so many ideas just bouncing around in your head, you will have no choice but to put them to paper just so it will stop!

Welcome to my world.

About drawings. I still have two drawings left to finish on my GIMP program, so I will take care of those before I start up any new ones, but I cannot, cannot wait to start work with my brand new Photoshop. SQUUUEEEE! Almost as big a squee as seeing a new Marissa chapter posted *hint hint*

And I am in the planning phases of some Marissa videos, meaning I am on the search for actors. And true to your requestions, I have never heard of any of the girls that will be playing possible Marissas.

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 01/23/10 22:21
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

This is my review to get Marissa and the Wizards on the Reccomend Stories thread.

This story is one of the ways I stop myself from being sad that the Harry Potter series is over. JC has reintroduced the world we all love from a new perspective, but in the style that we all come to love. I'm sure JK herself would find this to be an enjoyable read. She might even steal it to use for her own reference...but we will all know JC was the one who came up with it.

And seriously JC, what kind of Ravenclaw are you that your muse does not respond to flattery and the groveling of desperate fans? What is it going to take to see this story to the end. If it's plot issues, we do have threads for that. And we also have a lot of bored winter shutins (or just me) that are willing to do just about anything to keep the cabin fever at bay!

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 12/16/09 22:20
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

Well, I want more Marissa, and I am getting desperate, so I am going to be making a video completely dedicated to her. You better start writing soon, because the next step is going to be buying Photoshop and doing a series of truly EPIC Marissa drawings, and then live on dented-can ravioli for the next three months.

PLEASE! I really don't even like ravioli!

But at least I have a song to use now. I will have to do some experimenting with sound mixing too. I hope you're happy!

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 12/13/09 10:28
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

I have had a very recent pondering that I have been wanting to ask you. Do you have any actresses you could see as playing Marissa in a movie? Winning an RQSQ and the true QSQ hasn't helped get me my fix, so I am moving on to more radical plans of action! I am kidding, of course, but still, MOLLY NEED MARISSA!!!

Please tell me! Just how close are you to posting a new chapter? I have seen your lovely addition for chapter 13, and have even done the chapter art for it, so when are you going to share it with the rest of the site?

Of course, now Molly want chapter 14, and Molly want it now!

Author's Response: Hmmm... I really think Marissa would be an unknown child actor, just as Daniel, Rupert and Emma were when the first Harry Potter movie came out. Such a silly thing to imagine a fanfiction as a movie! Strangely though, I've always had in mind a song for the ending credits. It would be 'I'm Like A Bird' by Nelly Furtado (maybe remixed with a Brazilian beat). Chapter 13 continues to slowly struggle onto the page when I find time and motivation to write. Thanks for your prodding :) .

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 11/21/09 18:29
Chapter: Chapter 12 - A Bird's Eye View

Awh!! I do addore this story! I so wish you'd finish it!! :) Pretty please!?
BTW; congrats on making the QSQ best OC runner up! You desserved it and more!!!

Reviewer: OliveOil_Med
Date: 11/01/09 18:36
Chapter: Chapter 1 - The Tale of the Quill

Oh, looooook who just won a QSQ award! I hope this is what it is finally going to take for you to post another chapter (and I KNOW you have it!), because you can't win another one after this.

So tell me, is this what it is finally going to take for you to finish this story? Now that you have won this award, a lot more people are going to fall in love with this story now, and you are going to have just that many more people begging you.

Author's Response: Marissa is struggling to move from my mind to the last few pages of chapter thirteen. Real life, writer's block, lack of time... you know how it is. When it is complete, you will be the first to know. P.S. I don't think runner-up counts as 'won a QSQ award' as you put it, but I was very flattered by the recognition. And thank you for your campaigning on Marissa's behalf :) .

Reviewer: fallennxstarr
Date: 10/26/09 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 12 - A Bird's Eye View

So I have recently decided to reread this story a d now that I have I am once again desperate for more. I think I even forgot just how fantastic this story is. Please, please I beg of you, finish it. Marissa's story is far too good to be left unfinished. I want to see Marissa popping up on the most recent list again very very soon.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES