Reviews For The Banebrewer
Reviewer: radcliffe4eva
Date: 01/01/11 22:30
Chapter: Trod by the Gallant and True

I can see that it's been over a year since anyone reviewed this story, so I don't know if you'll even read this, but I had to say something anyway.

I haven't read this last part of the series yet, because I went ahead and clicked on the last chapter, realized Remus was at Hogwarts, noted that one of the chapters was entitled "The Last Kiss", and promptly realized that despite my hopes, you'd probably killed off Ariadne. And now reading some of the other reviews (of which this wonderful series deserves far more) I know for sure what happened. I'd had the feeling that she had to die when I noticed that you'd mentioned that you'd updated your stories to be DH compatible, but I'd hoped, somehow, she wouldn't, because you managed to make such a wonderfully realistic, very human character that it is hard to let her go. I've read a lot of fanfiction and books, and I have to tell you that yours is one of the few pieces of literature that created such a real character and such real relationships that I felt almost as if *I've* quite literally lost a real person in my life.

Needless to say, you are a wonderful author. I'm sure I'm going to need to break out the tissue box when I finally bring myself to read this! In short: thank you for this wonderful story.

Author's Response: Dear Radcliffe4eva, Oh, dear, it's ages since you wrote this, and I didn't notice there was another review after all this time. I'm so sorry! Yes, I confess. I killed Ariadne. I always was going to kill her. It always was a story about the darkness hating the light. But thank you so much for telling me that you felt she was a friend. I think she is the best character I've ever created and it did hurt to stamp on her so brutally. The amazing character portrayals are one of the factors that keep drawing me back to Harry Potter. Rowling draws each one so perfectly. I am so glad to have a reader tell me that I have also brought a fictitious character to life. You won't need the tissues until chapter 19, so happy reading until then. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Logarithm and Blues
Date: 12/20/09 18:43
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

Somehow, I knew Ariadne was going to die because of the whole Remus/Tonks thing, but when I saw the appearance of the Dementor, I was like, "No! Not the Dementor's Kiss!" At the end of that chapter, I just sat there for a few moments, trying to process the information. Really shows how much of a cold-hearted bitch Umbridge is. I just never imagined that someone as sweet as Ariadne would have to die by the Dementor's Kiss (rather, at the hands of someone as cruel as Umbridge; it really reminds me a bit of the ending to Shakespeare's play King Lear as concerns Cordelia). The ending does give us a bit of hope for Remus, though.

On the whole, Ariadne is a brilliantly written character. The whole story arc, in general, was well-written; I can see why the first story got an award. The good thing, in my opinion, about posting a story arc of this length was that the character progression was so detailed, which I think helps to make the characters more realistic. Keep up the good work. I do hope to see another story arc with as much finesse and flair as this one has.

-Charles

Author's Response: Thank you for writing in. I think Ariadne was a once-a-lifetime (or at least a once-a-decade) inspiration because I've only written lightweight stories since her. Yes, she had to die, because the Darkness hates the Light, so of course she was undone by her own idealism. I am so happy that you liked her enough to resist that final Dementor. BTW, what is the significance of your very interesting user-name? GhV

Reviewer: Fat_Bottem_Girl
Date: 12/17/08 0:06
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

im parchel to this story i have bawled for the last 2 and a half chapers. I hope there is more

Author's Response: Dear FBG, I'm glad the story has pleased you enough to make you cry. But that was the last chapter. There is no more, as all the rest is told in canon. Thanks for reviewing, GhV

Reviewer: BrierRose17
Date: 09/11/08 22:07
Chapter: Trod by the Gallant and True

First, -regarding the entire Moon-Cursers series- I am so sorry that I never managed to review any of your chapters until the last. I always intended to but found myself too eager to continue reading to stop and tell you what a wonderful story with such magical characters you were developing.

I originally only intended to casually look over a few Remus-centric stories as research for a little fic I was hoping to write myself, but after stumbling into your works, I found myself not wanting to leave! So I hardly did. Any free moment in the day, I found myself rushing to the computer hoping to fit another chapter in before dinner, or an appointment or taking the little boys I look after to their baseball practice. And in three short days I had finished the series!

Anyhow, It seems that The Moon Cursers has satiated my wonderings on “the missing years” of our Mr. Lupin. As far as I’m concerned, this is canon.

Its an absolutely beautiful story not to mention beautifully written and although it is of course, very tragic, I’m glad to believe that Remus has had more love in his life than JK has let on to.

Well, I hoped to have more to write but I’m still in a bit of shock over the last two chapters! I’m hoping to soon re-read everything and give proper reviews.

~Megan, 19 (California, US)

PS. I am wondering, why Remus? He is by far my favorite HP character, most interesting, most human. I am only curious as to what makes *you* care about the character so much? -Enough to write all that you have of him.

Again, with much admiration and acclaim,
Megan

Author's Response: Dear Megan, ~ I am so touched to receive such a detailed review so long after I finished this series. It's extremely flattering to think that you just couldn't stop reading even to write a review. If you were progressing at 100,000 words a day, you must be some speed reader! ~ I've always found Remus the most interesting character in the series. I originally read PoA so fast that I didn't notice he was a werewolf until the Great Reveal! But I was already completely in love with him: it was the suppressed emotion with which he dealt with Harry, and the hints that he held all the clues to Harry's past if only he could be induced to part with them, that made him so fascinating. I was not impressed with the way he let his own guilty secrets deceive him about how Sirius must have entered the castle, so I had to ask myself: what is the fatal flaw in this otherwise admirable character? Why can't he face up to the truth about his own guilt? Once I had placed his world view as something Arian-like, all the pieces fell into place. ~ I can't really apologise for upsetting you with the ending. I didn't really get rid of Ariadne because she was in the way of canon, but because I always did intend her to cause her own downfall by her idealism. Her idealism was not necessarily misplaced, but it was certainly going to infuriate people who didn't share it, and of course it was going to cause her death somehow. I managed to shock even myself, though, by the sheer number of enemies Ariadne managed to make. ~ I am now writing something more cheerful. Thanks for your support, ~ GhV

Reviewer: sparktruwizard
Date: 07/24/08 17:26
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

i loved the whole series tell you killed the kids and wife,but over all wonderful..keep them coming

Author's Response: Dear Sparktruwizard, I'm glad you liked the first 81 chapters. I have a new story ready to post and this one has a happy ending. Thanks for reviewing, GhV.

Reviewer: DragonDi
Date: 06/27/08 15:34
Chapter: Trod by the Gallant and True

It's as if you just ripped out my heart and stomped all over it. Gosh! How in the world did you manage to write this story? I've written some pretty intense and some pretty sad stuff, but this was... uh, soul-stealing. (Forgive the pun.) I have to apologize for not reviewing before. I had seen the first couple of chapters ages ago, but somehow lost track of it. So today, when I saw this, I remembered it, and thought, "Wait... Is this....?" And it was! Now I'll have to go back and read the other stories that led into this one. Thanks for a fabulous read!

Author's Response: Dear DD, Please take your heart back with my compliments. I have soaked it in some of Ariadne's Heart Restorer and it is now clean and unbruised. I don't know how I "managed" this story. Ariadne just walked into my head stirring her cauldron, and I had to explain how her potion caused her death! I have made quite a lot of post-DH revisions to the earlier stories, so they might not be as you remember. Thank you so much for reviewing. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Jander Fili
Date: 06/26/08 15:10
Chapter: Trod by the Gallant and True

Yes it does, very much. Thank you again!

Author's Response: ...

Reviewer: Jander Fili
Date: 06/25/08 15:54
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

Grace, I was wondering if you could tell me which chapters specifically were updated to be DH-compliant? Thank you!

Author's Response: Oh dear, all of them! I added several episodes to the middle of "Moons", e.g. detailing exactly what Mulciber did to Mary Macdonald, tidying JKR's impossible timeline, taking more care with the DADA teachers. There is new or reworked material particularly in chapters 14-18 of "Crown" because I wasn't happy with the original structure of the plot. In "Bride" and "Banebrewer" I had to pull a secondary character (Hannah Abbott) because she is now officially a pure-blood. I replaced her with Terry Boot, who is a very different personality, so all of those scenes had to be reworked. I also changed the names of several characters, including all the Macmillan siblings. So many chapters ended up with different words in them that I just reloaded every single one. Does this tell you what you wanted to know?

Reviewer: Jander Fili
Date: 06/23/08 15:25
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

Grace! Oh my, this is a wonderful story! I have throroughly enjoyed the amazing journey you have taken Remus and Ariadne on. The previous chapter was incredibly difficult to get through, but this one makes it all okay, in the end. I see the story is not finished yet, do you have many more chapters to submit? And will there be any more novelas about Remus?

Author's Response: Dear Jander Fili, Thank you for your support throughout the whole epic. I am so glad you kept reading to the end. The story is actually finished, but I haven't marked it so because of the technical difficulty with chapter 9, which I still haven't been able to upload. I might write a one-shot to correct Remus's theology, but I don't have another novella in mind. Thank you for running with Remus, Ariadne and me through all of it. Regards, GhV

Reviewer: _dep_
Date: 06/21/08 19:34
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

im crying so hard right now.

i absolutly love this story, but i wish remus could have stayed happy and adrian and the children not lost their souls.

i would have been so less tearful had that happened...

but never the less you are an amazing writer and hav officially been put in to the catagory of never read that story without crying so hard you get that tear headache.

congrats

Author's Response: Dear dep, I am sending you all the cyber-tissues I can, very proud of having made you cry! Regarding the loss of souls, I can only remind you that Remus is not necessarily good at theology, so while you are meant to empathise with his perspective (as you obviously have!), you are not necessarily meant to agree with him. Thank you so much for reviewing and for weeping with all the fictitious characters who loved Ariadne. I am writing something more cheerful right now. Love, GhV

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 06/19/08 17:34
Chapter: High Road to Hogwarts

I'm heartbroken. It's a good job my computer has speech software because I would never have been able to read through all these tears. I was so happy when Joe rescued Veleta and the children, but then I read the title of the chapter The Final Kiss and i knew it was all going to go wrong. After reading the first part of the chapter in which you perfectly described the chaos of a morning in a loving family's household, I thought perhaps the Final Kiss meant the one between Remus and Ariadne. Maybe she and the children will suffer a fatal freak accident, or even be AK'd in revenge for helping Veleta. Never in my most horrifying nightmares would i have imagined their fate, Umbridge, Dementor, dying one by one in St Mungo's. I felt like all those beautifully individual characters were being torn away, so it's impossible to understand how Remus coped. And this final chapter was so bitter sweet, he's going back to Hogwarts, the only place that feels like home now, but he's got so many reminders, ghosts, echos of those he's lost. I'm sorry, I know this review seems very overexagerated, but thats how deeply this story has affected me, you're a brilliant author to be able to evoke such emotion in people. A final note on Remus, I suppose it's no shock that he was reluctant to become involved with Tonk's after losing so much, and I imagine that when he attempted to join Harry's horcrux hunt he'd convinced himself that he was leaving because his child would inherit his lycanthropy because that was easier to bare than the thought of losing another family, or forcing himself to relive his abysmally painful past. This series has a special place in my heart, it's given Remus a much more solid character in my mind and will stay on my gap fillers list as a great addition to the Potterverse as it ties in so well, especially with the discrete references to canon, Terry Boot, wolf's bane potion, Norberts transportation, to name but a few. Oh and one last thing, the man in Germany who helped Ariadne and Remus with the ministry and wanted to pay house elves, teach giants, befriend goblins and help werewolves would have really got on well with both Hermione and Hagrid. Thank you so much for this series.

Author's Response: Dear Binka, Thank you for writing such a long and detailed review and for liking my story so much! Yes, there was supposed to be a double meaning to that chapter title. And it always was going to be Umbridge as the final villain. Ariadne has to die BECAUSE of the Wolfsbane, not for some other random reason. I'm sure that when Remus abandoned Tonks & Teddy, he had convinced himself he was acting for the best - they'd be better off without a werewolf - but he wasn't facing up to his own fears that it was they who would reject him. Well done for recognising Norbert's transportation - I wondered if anyone would spot that! And thank you for all your support throughout the full series. Best wishes, GhV

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 06/12/08 15:32
Chapter: The Guiltless to Pursue

Wow, I had no idea that you'd begun another in the series and there were eight chapters all just waiting to be read. This, like the others, is fantastic! I've really enjoyed reading these first chapters, the moment they were caught out was terrifying, you really described the trip to Azkaban well and I found the genetics research of particular interest. Veleta was indeed inventive, and so very brave too, to risk being discovered. I hope Remus suggestion of the shrinking charm will buy her more time. I wonder if she could post the blood to the Lupin's non the next available owl, if she can't touch it perhaps her daughter could do it. And isn't Ariadne related to that awful family, if so then she'd be able to touch the blood and maybe destroy it. Sorry, i'm getting way ahead of myself, please update again soon, finding this series has continued has made my day.

Author's Response: Dear Binka, Thanks again for being prompt to review - I only posted these yesterday! I am proud to have terrified you, but you should not be surprised that Veleta is a true Gryffindor. The phial is too large to be posted, even by an eagle owl, and you are right, the owls in this castle will only obey a person of Macnair blood. Yes, that does include Ariadne and her children! The good news is that the story is finished. The bad news is that there seems to be a limit on how many chapters I can submit at a time. But I promise to update as fast as the technology will allow me. By the way, did you notice that I have also updated the earlier stories in this series? They are now all DH-comptible. Love, GhV

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES