Reviews For Wake Up
Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 07/11/11 13:36
Chapter: Ron

Greetings Hannah. I'm so glad I popped onto IM just as this fic was being discussed for a few posts. I couldn't resist when I saw it was heavy on Ron, and I'm so glad I didn't try to. ;) I like the way you've characterized Ron here, and the darkness of this. Though I don't like to think of George in this state, I do think it is possible. JK has said herself that he will never really be all right again, after losing Fred. And that leaves the door open for pretty much anything. I was near to tears a couple of times, but was cheered by the appearance of Fred and the ferociity with which he set about convincing George to return and do what he cannot.

Really lovely picture here of my favorite family, broken as they must be. It was believable all around, in terms of characterization, but particularly Arthur and Percy, who I always imagine coping in exactly the way you have described here.

Lovely visiting your author page... I will pop back by sometime soon. See you on IM.

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 04/19/11 11:00
Chapter: Epilogue

Hi Hannah!

Just in case you're wondering, this is Soraya, your SPEW buddy :) My username is a little different on here, for a mundane reason that is far too boring to tell.

So many fics are about how George and the rest of the Weasley family deal with Fred's death. I think, as readers of HP, partly the reason there are so many is because us readers found it so difficult to come to terms with it. I know that I cried when Fred died (unashamedly so, even when my brother laughed at me for being such a softie) so it was interesting to get a fresh perspective on the events.

The first chapter was great. Straight in there with the action, and I love how you substituted sleeping pills/tranquilizers with the sleeping potion. That was very creative, and I think very true. Also, the intertwining of the Muggle and magical hospital stuff was very interesting. I think, post-war, the magical world would finally accept Muggle medicine, which they probably rejected previously due to Voldemort's regime and everything.

George's decision to commit suicide was fully justified and I think (although I'm not a twin myself) that losing a twin is, if not doubly, then at least it is harder than losing a mere sibling, because for a lot of twins, to think of one is to think of the other, and often they feel like their twin is their other half. And I can see how George's (flawed) logic works: if he dies, he can be with his twin. The fact that he was drinking himself into a stupor also works well with the whole angst of it all, and all of it was well done.

Ron -- well, where can I start? There was no arrogance there, no selfishness. And I think that's a fair interpretation to make, given how he took the news of Fred's death right from the very beginning. But you brought out the perseverance in Ron, which is what we saw in DH when he returned to Harry and Hermione, as he tried to stop his brother from drinking. And it was working, or so it seemed. Even George admitted, in the next chapter, that he had promised Ron and that he couldn't break that promise re his drinking. And this, I think, showed that despite everything, George really did consider his brother's feelings.

Arthur's characterisation was spot on. The fact that he was trying his utmost to hold the family together, trying to see the bright side of things, is what he's always done. So this was consistent in this fic, although his sons tried to point out the flaw in his ways. And even then, Arthur, as he always did, was very forgiving, which showed the trust he put in Bill and Percy.

I am not surprised in the slightest that Charlie went off to Romania. That's his forte, dragon-keeping, so it was his way of coping. Percy's change of heart was clearly not taken lightly by all of the Weasleys, like Bill, yet I think they acted in character again. The fact that Bill and Percy barely spoke to each other in all the books speaks volumes about their relationship, and that it probably was a strained one even before Percy abandoned his family.

The second chapter, I think, gave a good insight into George's mind. I have to say, I winced when George was cutting himself. That really scared me. But I read on, because you wrote it sensitively, and your story was too compelling for me not to continue. I think this additional chapter made George's actions seem more understandable, so it was good that you wrote it. And then Fred appeared! I was surprised when Fred pushed him away, but it wasn't OOC. Fred can be serious when he wants to, and you portrayed that very well, while still injected a tiny, tiny dose of humour which made me smile.

The epilogue really did tie up the loose ends. I liked how you still kept the ending open, and yet we were only really left with one question: how would the Weasleys deal with George's suicide attempt, especially George himself? I really liked this fic, overall, and I think it would be great to have a sequel, although that's your choice. Oh, and I forgot to mention this, but the emergency Portkey idea was just genius. Brilliant. Thanks for writing, Hannah/Bob! I'm so honoured to be your SPEW buddy because it meant that I had to read and review one of your stories, which I thoroughly enjoyed!

~Soraya~

Reviewer: CelestionardaAngelus
Date: 04/14/11 12:39
Chapter: Epilogue

*bows down to the awesomeness of the story*

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 03/12/11 15:31
Chapter: Epilogue

Helloooo, Bob, Mah SPEW Buddy!

Hmm, I’ve never come across a story formatted quite like this one before. Typically, the author writes the story and the reader just reads, but I’ve never actually seen an instance where the writer starts, the reader reads and then has a say in where the story goes next. Of course, personally, I never would because I’m far more into shocking readers, but this is definitely a good theme choice for a ‘pick-an-ending’ story: to be or not to be.

What happens to George after the Battle is an interesting debate. Some say he forges on solo, keeping the humour in his life in honour of his brother; some conjecture that he becomes a bit dark and brooding; some go for complete meltdown. I love that you chose meltdown, for there are far too few stories like this one floating around. There is an art to delving into humanity’s darkest facets, but there is a strange beauty to it, as well. And yes, Bob, this story is beautiful.

Ron was different in this fic. I can’t put my finger on it, but there was something odd about him. At times, he doesn’t seem like the fairly selfish boy he always had been, but in other parts, he is pure canon. I think the thing that causes that is when Ron said, “Oh, George.” This seems very Molly or Hermione, but I’m not so sure Ron would say it, so that might throw me, whereas had the ‘Oh’ been omitted, I mightn’t have noticed anything at all. It gives him a mother hen aura about him, which doesn’t feel like it completely fits. When I ignore that, however, I very much agree with your portrayal of Ron.

It was weird for me to see Percy and Bill fighting, since I don’t recall them exchanging more than a couple words in the books, but I think you did it well. Nobody bothers to think of Bill as remotely petty (though the label suits Percy far more often), so I think it worked out good for you to make them all a bit crass toward each other. Molly’s ‘foot = down!’ moment was fab. She wasn’t mean, but she oozed the ‘I mean business’ vibe. I thought she was very in-character and that your account of family drama was done believably.

The chapter in George’s perspective was extraordinarily powerful. We know that the Potterverse has some sort of afterlife, or else James and Lily wouldn’t have been able to keep tabs on Harry’s life (not to mention the Resurrection Stone wouldn’t work), and I think your postulated scenario with every window showing a different loved one is very apt. Also, Fred being angry with George for being selfish was a wow moment, because the only time in the series that we ever see them in any sort of conflict is in Goblet of Fire after the failed Ageing Potion incident, and even that was trivial. Fred was essentially calling George a coward, and I think that was the biggest turning point in the entire story.

I really like the ambiguous ending. Yes, we know that George woke up, but we don’t know what sort of state he’s in after the fact. It fits in really well with the way you wrote this. As a reader, I can choose whether George moved on from his near-death experience or if he is still mired in his self-loathing and lack of will. I’m not sure I know which one I would choose, but I found myself thinking heavily on it. That makes this story a fascinating character study due to its subjectivity.

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t entirely fond of the style in the beginning. There was a lot of description of Ron’s action that seemed a little too mundane. I get that the picture is being painted of what he thought was a normal day of rousting George out of bed, but the beverage-making process seemed a bit dragged out. As the fic went on, the content became much more engrossing and relevant, but I had a hard time getting into it to start. My best suggestion would be to gloss over the parts that are a given (everyone knows the basic process of making tea, I’d wager) and focus more on Ron’s thoughts, or even lack thereof. Of course, this is only my personal preference/opinion, but consider it something to think about.

All and all, as you said in your author’s notes, this is a completely different type of story than I’ve ever known you to write. It’s unlike anything else I’ve read on this site, to be honest, so I tip my hat to you for your creativity and ingenuity. I’m glad I picked this story to read and review.

Have a lovely night!

~Jess

 

 

Reviewer: ShadowNeo
Date: 12/11/10 12:47
Chapter: Epilogue

This seems to be a very real representation of what could have happened. I am glad it all worked out though. This shows the darker, and seemingly truer side of the aftermath of the war.
I enjoyed reading this and you should be proud to have written something this great.

Reviewer: beautiful_mind08
Date: 11/26/10 12:47
Chapter: Epilogue

This was a great story. I liked the epilogue, but I think the story could have held up on its own without it.

Reviewer: RTTLupin
Date: 05/08/09 17:55
Chapter: Epilogue

Amazing! This story is a little darker and contains more angst than I usually read. Alas, intrigue won out, and I am glad it did. You very eloquently wrote a sensitive set of topics.

Drawn into the story I found myself going through a wide range of emotions right along with Ron and George. I loved how you explored the whole family’s grieving processes, and the reactions to the way each other handled it. I myself thought that you set up a couple more one-shots in the course of this, and would love to see you explore this version of the Weasley family more.

Sara

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 05/07/09 0:09
Chapter: Epilogue

Interesting that he wasn't sure when he woke up that he had, at first.

I have no problem seeing the Weasleys a whole lot worse off than this. It has always amazed me how LITTLE angst some of the characters show in Canon,when you figure what they've been through and the fact that psychological help is never really mentioned except that one time the kids met good ole "Magical Me" Lockhart in St. Mungos. (The Longbottoms haven't been helped by whatever they've had done to them, although, again, whatever it is, who knows?)


Overall, a very nice job with a difficult topic and one which, from your comments, seems to have been an unpopular one among some. A nice job, and a responsible one as well. Very good!

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 05/07/09 0:02
Chapter: George

I had to go back and read this second chapter after what you said - I hadn't realised there was one!

I LOVE that you had Fred say death was hard. I have never understood people optimistically assuming it has to be easier than being alive. I've seen the effects of suicide and attempted suicide on people left behind, and those effects are brutal. I think you did a good job of choosing what to have Ron say, and what to have Fred say about Ron.

One little quibble - I think if Fred had lost that much blood, he would not have immediately felt better again so quickly. I also think the potion would have worked more completely, more quickly.

We know that Ron got his heart going again - the way you have cleverly set this up, with the sun rising, you leave open the possibility that he has JUST stopped breathing as Ron comes in - a key point, I think, as we know magic can't bring people back.

I'm glad you continued this. Fred and George had to have a serious side or they never would have risked their lives making those radio broadcasts. I find your portrayal of that side very believable.

And now, I have to go read your epilogue...

Reviewer: For the love of
Date: 07/13/08 10:25
Chapter: Ron

Very nice! I could so imagine poor George thoroughly depressed and unable to move on.

Author's Response: thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Hufflepuff at heart
Date: 06/25/08 6:46
Chapter: Ron

Well I know my fics are in safe hands after reading this! It fitted together excellently as a three part story, and I loved the symmetry of each of the chapters. It's nice to see that George can get through with a little help from his brothers. Well done.

Author's Response: thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I've just remembered that I need to send you an email - i'll be in touch soon

Reviewer: humyn
Date: 06/23/08 23:22
Chapter: Epilogue

**weeping**
i loved this fic. you should definately do an after companion piece. and i do want to know how charlie's doing in romania.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and i'm glad you enjoyed it. I also took your suggestion for a companion and have written a fic centring around Charlie after the war, the first chapter of which has now been posted.

Reviewer: Elf01
Date: 06/20/08 4:05
Chapter: Epilogue

I liked the George chapter. I can see him thinking like that and I can see the conversation he had persuading him to go back.

I liked the last chapter too. It gives me the conclusive ending that I wanted in chapter 1, and I think that grief could realisticly cause the Weasleys to act that way.

Author's Response: Thanks for another reivew and I'm glad you liked the last two chapters. The conversation with Fred was really important to me to get right. I have seen similar afterlife, dream experiences and I wanted to try and keep mine unique and get accross a message - all the while trying to keep in character.rnEven though I thought I was happy with the ending of the first chapter, it would let me rest and I'm glad I gave it a conclusive ending.rnThanks again!

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 06/19/08 22:31
Chapter: Epilogue

I loved this, I swear it was...amazing. I did cry a bit and I'm not afraid to admit it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and I'm glad you liked it. I'm sorry I made you cry - though it's good you'll admit it - I hope the fact that he woke up and will hopefull go on living makes you feel a bit better.

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 06/19/08 20:05
Chapter: Epilogue

Thank you. I can only hope that after his meeting with Fred your version of George will go on living for the both of them. I do like the way you write.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I think the meeting with Fred will help to give George some sort of closure and though it will still take time, he'll heal. rnI'm glad you like my writing - it's good to hear that people appreciate my style.rn

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 06/19/08 15:29
Chapter: Epilogue

Awwww, Awesome story! And I was really confused for a while, how it started as a one-shot, then got another chapter, then got this one... it was really good though. keep writing! {BeccA}

Author's Response: Thanks for another review. Sorry about the confusion. I never planned this to be more than a drabble but each time I thought I'd finished I was never quite satisfied with the ending and more came to me. This is definitely it for this fic now, though I have other plot-bunnies using this version of the Weasleys. Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: JustLikeHermione77
Date: 06/19/08 15:15
Chapter: Epilogue

*sniff* good story! im so glad that he woke up!! yay!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I don't think I could have done anything but have him wake up - I'm dark but not quite that much!

Reviewer: kalae_zoe
Date: 06/19/08 13:05
Chapter: Epilogue

Yay!! He woke up!! I really liked it especially the different POVs. Its hard to picture the Weasleys this angsty, but considering the circumstances of what they've gone through after the Battle of Hogwarts it makes sense to explore this issues.
Great job.

Author's Response: thanks for reviewing each of the chapters - it's just occured to me that I should have repsonded to all your reviews in one response, but I don't like having unresponed reviews so I've done it this way.rnI myself find it hard to picture the Weasleys this angsty, but I wanted to explore the worst ways the war could affect them.rnI liked experimenting with different POVs, it gave me the chance to get inside the head of different characters. rnAnyway, thanks again for all three reviews - I already have plot bunnies circulating for another fic in this universe so who knows...rnHannah

Reviewer: kalae_zoe
Date: 06/19/08 12:57
Chapter: George

I love the prose at the beginning of this chapter. I thought you showed his loneliness perfectly with the sounds described in the apartment (crackling fire, shattering clock) as well as the parallels of pain (emotional vs. physical) that he was experiencing.
I knew Fred wasn't gonna be happy to see him and I'm glad he wasn't.
Great job!!

Author's Response: thanks for another review and I'm glad you appreciated Fred's reaction to George's appearance - I wasn't sure how that would be received.rn

Reviewer: kalae_zoe
Date: 06/19/08 12:45
Chapter: Ron

Wow you weren't kidding when you said it was dark. I can imagine George being depressed, but I can't imagine his family allowing him to live alone. But it makes for a good plot device. Poor Ron.
Great job with the angst!

Author's Response: You're right when you say this was dark - it went about as dark as I could go. I think the Weasley family were going through so many of their own problems that in a way they didn't see how badly George was taking it. Only Ron seemed to have some grasp of George's depression but even he didn't anticipate what he would do. However, something tells me that his family won't leave him again like that.rnGlad you thought the angst was good and thanks for the review.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES