Reviews For The Knick Knack
Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 06/02/09 8:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was adorable! I kindof guessed Snape might be doing it on purpose but the pillow fight at the end had me grinning! VEry sweet

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- I'm glad you enjoyed it! :) I thought it was the kind of joke that the Half-Blood Prince who came up with "Levicorpus" could invent.

Reviewer: LizzyT
Date: 03/16/09 16:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is such a cute one shot, definitely one of my favourite Severus/Lilys. It’s incredibly adorable, and your characterisation is spot on! Their dialogue is so wonderful and natural sounding, it made me wish they spoke more. Sev’s joke was great to read, because I love reading stories that aren’t too depressing. I admit I predicted something was amiss, because it just seemed so weird, but I hadn’t thought that he would actually be timing her.

Your description is great, there’s so much of it and yet my eyes didn’t skim anything, because it was so well written. I love your characterisation of Lily – unwilling to insult her husband, but not willing to live uncomfortably because of him, either. She’s so easy to connect to, because all of her reactions seem so real. The way she dealt with the situation was so easy to understand.

It was also very funny. I loved the line (“Hello, welcome to our home, thank you for ignoring my husband’s misbegotten reputation as a Dark wizard, and oh yes, how do you like our lovely shrunken head?”) I laughed out loud. It’s fun to read something that’s funny because it’s ironic, instead of totally random. And I love all the fluff. There aren’t enough fluffly Sev/Lilys out there.

I’m totally failing at finding something to criticise. Er, great job! ;)

~Lizzy

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I wrote this when I was writing chapter 2 of my longer, chaptered fic, which is very depressing (Spinner's End, summer after the fight with Lily, so could it be otherwise?) and I wanted to write something about the light at the end of the tunnel. The characterisation of the two of them as themselves and in the middle of a war, but in love and happy also, was fun to write (and challenging. Do we ever really see him as happy in the series, even in flashback?) I'm glad you liked the humor, also-- my beta and the moderator who OK'ed this both cracked up the whole way through, so I thought that was a good sign. I know that "fluff" and "Severus Snape" don't really fit in the same sentence together, never mind the same story, but this was one of my favorite things to write. :) Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: linnealovegood
Date: 10/24/08 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

this is totally adorable!!!!!!!!!! i love it.

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- I'm really glad you liked it! :) I was writing a really depressing chapter in my chaptered Severus/Lily fic and needed some levity. :)

Reviewer: Lily_Severus1224
Date: 10/22/08 10:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

awwwww thats sooooo sweeettttt!!! :) (DOWN WITH JAMES BOOOOOO!!!)

Author's Response: (Same as before-- thanks so much, and I think the computer screwed up and recorded this same review thrice.) :)

Reviewer: Lily_Severus1224
Date: 10/22/08 10:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

awwwww thats sooooo sweeettttt!!! :) (DOWN WITH JAMES BOOOOOO!!!)

Author's Response: :) (I think there was a computer glitch, because the same review is in here three times. But thanks!) :)

Reviewer: Lily_Severus1224
Date: 10/22/08 10:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

awwwww thats sooooo sweeettttt!!! :) (DOWN WITH JAMES BOOOOOO!!!)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it-- it was fun to write. :) And I'm not much of a James fan myself, obviously. :)

Reviewer: cyt_potter
Date: 07/09/08 10:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh that was very cute! I loved when Severus pulled out his watch to look at it! That was priceless! Great job! ;)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it-- I had fun imagining what he'd be like if he were actually basically happy. :) I think the House rivalry definitely wouldn't let up. :) Thank you for the review!!

Reviewer: Snapes_secret
Date: 06/23/08 9:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

*cacklesnort*

Oh, this was a lovely bit of fluff. Certainly not what I usually indulge in when reading fanfic, but amusing and wonderful nonetheless.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading it, Sandy, especially since I know you usually tend toward the dark side. :) It was a lot of fun to write. You know my longer fic, and chapter two was so depressing that I had to write something more cheery while in the middle of it. :)

Reviewer: amythystwerewolf
Date: 06/16/08 19:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved this. You captured Lily perfectly and made Severus the kind of person I always thought he was but never showed because of his whole " i lost the love of my life to James Potter and I am a miserable Death Eater". Your story reminded me of the PoA movie with the shrunken head on the Knight Bus. I was just waiting for that head to start speaking in a Jamaican accent. All in all a wonderful one-shot.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review. I really enjoyed writing this-- I thought that if he did win Lily, he'd be a lot happier, but probably still pretty insecure (although she might or might not know that), and still formal and, for lack of a better word, snarky. Writing him younger, happier, and minus the pivotal and most devastating event of his life was an interesting challenge-- not to mention writing the thoughts that would be going through Lily's head, and the kind of person she would have had to have become in order to fall for her brave and brilliant but definitely odd friend. Anyway, I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Reviewer: blackbeauty7
Date: 06/08/08 6:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

interesting story. nice!
do write more, u write very well

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! :) I'm new at this but enjoying it a lot, so yes, I'll definitely keep writing.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 06/06/08 6:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

in character. Amusing twist. And Believable that Severus would do something just to see how Lily would react. Good short story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback-- I'm new at writing Lily, and writing Severus in a circumstance in which he's happy was kind of an adventure. I'd imagine that at, say, meetings of the Order of the Phoenix, he'd still be very much his old self but possibly trying to polish it up a bit for Lily's sake. Glad you liked the twist. :)

Reviewer: shewolf2000
Date: 06/05/08 17:50
Chapter: Chapter 1

I knew it was a test from the beginning; even Severus isn't that creepy. This was so cute! Thank you for a very enjoyable read!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review-- I'm so glad you liked it. :) It was fun to write-- writing Lily's point of view for a change was interesting. I imagine that in an alternative universe where they end up together, she'd have to grow to love the oddball tendencies or they would never be a couple, and he's always going to be drawn to the Dark Arts, so... a shrunken head on the coffee table. I DID wonder whether some people would figure out that it was a joke right from the start. :)

Reviewer: Laurelyn
Date: 06/05/08 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

HAHAHAHAHA!!!! I actually laughed out loud when I read this! Great job with characterization, and I must say it's nice to see a happy Snape.

Please write more!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it-- it was really fun to write. :) I'm working on a longer fic, same main characters, and if you read the utterly miserable Chapter 2, you'll see why I took a break to write this one. Trying to picture what he'd be like with Lily was an interesting challenge. I would guess that with the Marauders or, really, practically anyone else other than professors he respects, he'd still be scathing and prickly, but with her he'd be somewhat different-- hence this story. Thank you for the review!

Reviewer: moonstargazer
Date: 06/04/08 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

Well, I think it's brilliant! Very cute and fun to read! I had to laugh at Lily's reaction to the shrunken head, as it sat ensconced on the table where Severus had put it. And he would have gotten it from me, for suggesting about tossing it, inspite of how he acted when he first set the thing down on that table.
At least, they are getting along, and they love each other....Hope Petunia and Vernon like their 'wedding present!' lol

Author's Response: Thanks so much for another review-- I wrote this when I was writing chapter 2 of my other (much longer) fic about what it would take for these two to wind up together, and it was such a miserable chapter that writing a fluffy piece with some light at the end of the tunnel was really fun. It was actually rather hard trying to write him as himself but, basically, with everything he'd always wanted-- it's good to know that you liked it. :) And Petunia and Vernon so deserve the shrunken head. ; )

Reviewer: sam_1034_lily
Date: 06/04/08 22:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

dis was really gud i luv da fact dat snape actually gets to be wid lily gud job

Author's Response: Obviously I like these two together. I think Lily picked the wrong guy. :) Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES