Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For A Good Shag

Name: Russia Snow (Signed) · Date: 10/30/09 11:24 · For: Chapter 1
Awwwww! And I could add like a few hundred more 'w's onto that! That wa sa great story, so short and yet so well written. You had just the right amount of humour and funny humour at that. Sirius character is really perfect, you capture his jokes about Remus really well. Your characterisation is perfect and the interaction between that characters is so well done! *adds to faves* Thankyou for a lovely read and making me go "aww!"

Russia xxxxx

Author's Response: Awww! You're too kind! :) I love banter between Sirius and Remus and, honestly, I don't think I can write anything without a few lighthearted moments. I want Sirius to have had a little bit of fun at Grimmauld Place. His life was so miserable otherwise! Thanks for the compliments on the characterisation and the humour and interactions. I appreciate it all so very, very much!


Name: coolh5000 (Signed) · Date: 10/01/09 9:38 · For: Chapter 1
I really enjoyed this one-shot. The pairing of Remus/Tonks is a really great one, in my opinion, and I think you presented their fledgling relationship wonderfully. I liked the setting and time of the piece – before they are together but as they are beginning to notice the sparks. The ending was beautiful; you led the reader to what was about to happen, but almost in the same way that Sirius closed the door on the couple to let them be alone, the reader was made to leave them to have their moment of intimacy in private. You set up the moment perfectly and I don’t think the kiss actually had to be shown for the reader to still feel the warm glow that comes at the end of a romance fiction or to understand the feelings between the pair.

The opening was also equally effective. It was good how, rather than launching straight into the romance part of the story, you set the scene a bit and introduced us to the characters first. The opening line, “…And then, she says —” Sirius once again nearly fell off the chair, his entire body giving in to the fit of laughter that overtook him. “— she says —” in particular made me laugh, as it was so very real, and the situation is one so many people have experienced where one person is trying to tell a humorous story and ends up frustrating the listener by laughing rather than being able to tell it!

The characterisation in this story was excellent. Both Sirius and Remus seemed absolutely perfect and just as I could imagine them behaving. I love how the difference in their characters was shown so appropriately through Sirius being the one to introduce the word ‘shag’, something you cannot imagine Remus ever saying, and who therefore changes it, right at the end to I’d make love to you. I have to confess that this part really did make me go aw, as well as slightly mushy inside and was such a great summing up of the ways in which their characters differ.

Tonks was also very much in character. Through canon, we always get the impression that she is the one to push for their relationship and here, even though Remus does reciprocate (which is great as he must have felt something for her to in order to have married and had a child with her, even if we do only ever seem to see doubtful Remus in canon), she seems to be the one making the initial hints, with the looks and the gentle flirting. For one agonising moment, I felt her pain so sharply here: “I wouldn’t shag you, Nymphadora.” and for the briefest of times, I wondered if Remus was about to back out but then he came through with his wonderful show of affection.

The subtlety of the romance was definitely one of the strengths of this one-shot. For the first couple of paragraphs, as I settled into the story, I began to question when the relationship was going to appear, but then, the little hints started to appear, such as the looks, I gradually saw, even in the short space of the story and prodded along with the help of Sirius, their relationship begin to grow. The use of a - relatively minor - Order plot, gave a little bit of extra interest to the story and gave a purpose to it, rather than just being focused on romance, but the relationship was shown wonderfully within it and I really enjoyed the read!

~Hannah

Author's Response: I admit I started to read your review with great trepidation. I saw the length of it and thought, "Oh, this could be very good or very bad." I finished each paragraph thinking, "Oh, I'm so glad she liked that, but, the next paragraph is when she tells me what she disliked. Oh, not that paragraph? Well, it's the next one in which she'll tell me it all fell apart at Point X..." And you didn't! I really am glad you enjoyed this. So many fics show a brooding, drunken Sirius during that time, but I hate to think he didn't have a few lighthearted moments there at Grimmauld Place. And he no doubt would have teased Remus--and Tonks!--relentlessly. He can be so much fun to write! As far as Remus goes... I'm glad you thought I handled his character well. It's so difficult to get that balance of "want to/can't" when it comes to his feelings toward Tonks. Of course, at some point, he had to give in some to encourage her. Otherwise, she wouldn't have been so devastated later. And Tonks--I wish there was more in the books about her. She's such an interesting character, and I can't see her being the kind to be so very affected by a romance gone bad unless she really, truly loved the man. I can't help but want to kick Remus ever so slightly in the tail region for even thinking she couldn't handle his financial condition, his 'furry little problem', or their age difference. She's a tough chick! I know he loves her and is just trying to protect her, but, she's an Auror, for Pete's sake! Oh, there I go, climbing onto my soapbox. Sorry! The line, "Id make love to you", came to me in a dream, if you can believe that, and the whole fic was built out of that, so I'm grinning like a fool to know it made you go slightly mushy inside. The fact that you liked the subtlety of this is much appreciated, too. I feared it would be too subtle! I can't tell you how much I appreciated the lovely review and the wonderful compliments you gave my story. It's been one of my favourite 'children', and it's nice to know it's liked so very much. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart!


Name: Lucida (Signed) · Date: 09/18/09 18:49 · For: Chapter 1
LOL Poor Lupin. Loved it. Was laughing the whole time. :D

Author's Response: Ah, but he was laughing, too, albeit somewhat reluctantly and ruefully. I do think Remus would understand the importance of laughing at oneself, though. I'm glad you got a chuckle out of this! Thanks for reviewing!


Name: the opaleye (Signed) · Date: 08/30/09 6:23 · For: Chapter 1
*gasp* I have officially fallen in love with Remus. You get him so right. I just finished reviewing Edges and then I come across this by you again... That was funny and romantic but I didn't cringe at the cheesiness you get most of the time with fanfiction.

He felt his mouth go dry. And then, for once he spoke without thinking: “I wouldn’t shag you, Nymphadora.”

He felt her shock. And her disappointment seemed to make her oblivious to the fact that he had used her first name. But before she could respond, before she could feel that awfulness for one more moment, he bent and whispered in her ear, “I’d make love to you.”


OMFG, I almost squealed like a little teenager just then. I love it, this is going into my fabourites too and again, good luck with the QSQ nomination!

Author's Response: Again--didn't realise this had been nominated! You've made my day! I thought for sure that THAT line (the 'I'd make love to you' line) would come across as cheesy. But, oh, I'd kill to have someone say something like that to me! (My hubby's a good guy; but romantic, he is not.) I'm glad I've made you fall in love with Remus. He's an incredible character, really (even if he does have his flaws) and I adore him probably more than what is psychologically sound, considering he's a fictional character. :) Thanks again for the great review--and for letting me know about the nominations! Pinch me, quick, so I know I'm awake!


Name: ringobeatlesfan4 (Signed) · Date: 03/23/09 15:53 · For: Chapter 1
oh my gosh, that was absolutely amazing! I loved it, and even though it wasn't about Sirius, he was prolly my favorite, how he just kept interrupting himself and laughing. that was great! {BeccA}

Author's Response: Thank you! Sirius is probably my second favourite character (after Remus, of course) and it was a lot of fun to show them interacting and having some fun. They sure had precious little fun in the books (sorry, JKRowling) and they deserved a laugh. And unfortunately, I gave Sirius the habit I have of interrupting myself. Poor Padfoot. I'm glad you enjoyed it! Di


Name: Equinox Chick (Signed) · Date: 02/25/09 9:54 · For: Chapter 1
I've just added this story to my favourites. I came upon this, purely by accident, whilst perusing the Remus/Tonks fics for something to recommend. This is so funny yet wonderfully in character. The way they're taking their first steps towards their rocky relationship is beautiful. I have to say, also, that I thought your Kingsley was great and Sirius, wow, it's fabulous to have him laughing and not brooding. Great Job!

Carole xxx

Author's Response: You have, without a doubt, made my day a brighter one! I love to hear that people think the characterisations are done well--especially since so many of the Grimmauld Place fics have a brooding Sirius. But I just can't see Sirius and Remus being together long without some kind of laughter happening. After all, sometimes laughter is all you have left! Thanks for the review and thanks for letting me know you added it to your favourites! Diane


Name: bonesfreak (Signed) · Date: 10/10/08 19:16 · For: Chapter 1
Fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!


Name: tonkzie (Signed) · Date: 08/07/08 11:58 · For: Chapter 1
As you said, i read it a third! just gets better! i particulary (though its not bout him) like that sirius is portrayed as happy because that house is really bad! what other stuff you writing? tonkzie x

Author's Response: Poor Sirius. But you're right, that house was just bad. I have a couple other stories here on MuggleNet--"Edges" and "Daring" that center around Remus and the Marauders. Check 'em out sometime!


Name: LupinforTonks (Signed) · Date: 08/04/08 7:27 · For: Chapter 1
That is a thumbs up!
Brilliant
Keep it up

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it!


Name: love_letters (Signed) · Date: 07/28/08 21:10 · For: Chapter 1
ooooowwwwwwwww
i lvd it couldint stop my salf from bliushing and gigoling
lmao

Author's Response: Good! I'm glad you're laughing! It was a lot of fun to write, and I love to hear when someone enjoys it. Thanks for reviewing!


Name: mrsjamespotter93 (Signed) · Date: 07/18/08 1:32 · For: Chapter 1
awwww.... so cute! just a question... at what time is this set? NIcely written!

Author's Response: Hmm... when was it set? No clue. Irresponsible writer just had a particular phrase in her head and wrote the story around it, disregarding all conventions of time and space. I suppose if I had to pick a time, it'd be the spring right before Sirius died--late April, early May. How's that? Thanks for the review!


Name: ronsbabiesmomma (Signed) · Date: 07/04/08 2:19 · For: Chapter 1
CUTE!!!!! i liked it

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you did!


Name: jemlia (Signed) · Date: 06/23/08 1:32 · For: Chapter 1
Hiya!
It's Me! Remuslives23!
Such a long time since I've been on this site, I nearly forgot my password.
Loved this. You just have such a fantastic way with dialogue and making the characters come to life that I almost forgot it was Tonks... almost. :-) Loved it in spite of the pink haired one, although yours is the first Tonks I haven't hated-they just make her so damn irritating.
Cheers, Julie x
PS - Do you get review alerts on this site?

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, despite the pink-haired menace! And yes, Tonks can be irritating--and I can't see Remus falling for 'irritating.' So, the trick is to figure out how to write her so she's quirky, but not annoying. Maybe I'll have to do another Tonks/Remus to try to get you to not hate her quite so much... ;-)rnDiane rnAnd, yeah, I do get the review alerts!


Name: tonkzie (Signed) · Date: 06/16/08 14:06 · For: Chapter 1
it was so good, i read it a 2nd time

Author's Response: Excellent! I'm glad you liked it--both times! And remember, the third time's the charm... ;)


Name: princess_padfoot (Signed) · Date: 06/13/08 18:58 · For: Chapter 1
I had a smile on my face the whole time i was reading this :)

When Sirius is trying to tell the story but keeps interrupting himself is my favorite part. I loved it!

Author's Response: Excellent! It makes me feel good to know you enjoyed it that much, that you were smiling through the whole thing. I have to admit I was smirking while I wrote it!


Name: Mariangelo (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 22:05 · For: Chapter 1

Simply wonderful!  Your characterisations are spot on and exactly how I imagine them to be and interact.

Remus had just the right amount of charm and humility... and mischief!  He is my absolute favourite character.  Sirius was so appropriately inappropriate.  It's always a pleaseure to read him this way.

It was a very sweet story and one that I could easily see taken out of JKR's world.

 

~Michelle, The Marauding Cupcake of the Gryffindor Review Crew



Author's Response: Wow! What a compliment! I blush! Remus is my favourite too, and I always do my best to do him justice. Actually, he and Sirius are quickly becoming my two favorites to write about!rnThanks for the great review!


Name: Rislans88 (Signed) · Date: 06/03/08 15:27 · For: Chapter 1
this was so much fun, you write really well!!

Author's Response: Thank you for the compliment! As I said before, it was a lot of fun writing it! I think I might have been channeling the literary spirits of Sirius and Remus, actually...


Name: tonkzie (Signed) · Date: 06/01/08 13:58 · For: Chapter 1
that was brilliant, love it

Author's Response: *takes a bow* Thank you!


Name: Lucky_13_Girl (Signed) · Date: 06/01/08 11:55 · For: Chapter 1

This is kinda funny. If it was for writer's block, you must be some writer. TTFN!!!!!

 



Author's Response: When you're writing something serious and dark, sometimes you need something light and fluffy to mix it up a bit! Glad you found it amusing!


Name: shewolf2000 (Signed) · Date: 05/30/08 23:22 · For: Chapter 1
Yay! Tonks and Remus forever!

Author's Response: And lots of little multi-coloured werewolf cubs... ;)


You must login (register) to review.