Reviews For A Good Shag
Reviewer: remusdora
Date: 08/07/13 8:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

I like this story of yours nicely written. I have read this but didn't have an account so reviewing now.

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 05/20/13 1:58
Chapter: Chapter 1

Brilliant! Hilarious and touching in equally-satisfactory parts. cj

Reviewer: Elenaweg
Date: 06/22/12 2:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is really good. It's especially refreshing after many angsty, long, and just plain boring stories. Keep it up, I think you have real talent!

Author's Response: I like to think that Sirius and Remus--and Tonks--had some light-hearted moments at Grimmauld Place. It's bad enough thinking of their troubles and how short their lives were. To think that everything was all gloom and angst is really depressing. Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments!

Reviewer: HermitKnut
Date: 05/26/12 15:36
Chapter: Chapter 1

*giggles* This is sweet and fun! And all the banter is spot on. The incest joke particularly made me laugh :D

HK

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I I had so much fun with the banter, so your review means a lot to me. :D

Reviewer: Emma Wigworthy
Date: 01/30/12 2:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

Keep writing! Make it longer! There are so many good stories out there that are dying for a longer ending! This story is epic!

Author's Response: I've thought about writing a 'sequel' to this, but just never have gotten around to it. Maybe someday. Thank you for saying such sweet things!

Reviewer: Harrypotterlover1
Date: 10/23/11 20:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Love it!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

Reviewer: lunaginnypotterw
Date: 07/25/11 15:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

ahhhh so sweet i love it espically that part about sirius laughing his arse off ;P

Author's Response: :) Thank you! That was one of my favourite parts. I can't stand the thought of poor Sirius stuck in that house without having the chance to laugh once in a while. (By the way, sorry it took so long to respond to your review. Bad me!)

Reviewer: pheonixflame
Date: 06/29/11 20:45
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was my first ever Remus/Tonks and ooh I think I really like this category already. :) Characterisation is wonderful here and I especially love the dynamic between Sirius and Remus. One of my favorite parts is when Remus decides he has to get some milk for his cake as a way to prolong his absence from the conversation. Cute. :) I also found wonderful the part where Sirius encourages Remus to Tonks, who is washing the dishes.

But the best part, hands down, is when Remus says he'd make love to Tonks. So utterly sweet and just plain GORgeous after appearing to reject her. For some reason the feeling of Tonks pulling the plate out of a distracting Remus's hands was a nice touch. Truly lovely. :)

- pheonixflame/Mari

Author's Response: I feel terrible not responding to your review until now. I must iron my ears or slam my fingers in the oven door now... Anyhow, I always try for good characterisation when I write because it hides a multitude of sins. ;) It helps that Remus and Sirius--and Tonks--are such great characters anyhow. This whole story grew out of that line of Remus' about making love to Tonks. That line popped into my evil head one night and it wouldn't leave me alone until the rest of the story evolved, so when people say they like that line, I'm always doubly pleased. Thanks for the lovely review--and again, sorry for the delay in responding!

Reviewer: goxcountry
Date: 05/06/11 14:10
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was hilarious. Very enjoyable and sweet. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! (Nothing like responding a full year after you left the review. Sorry I'm responding so late.)

Reviewer: Elpeciss
Date: 11/24/10 0:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

Enjoyed it :) I felt that Tonks was acting a little out of character...she felt too girly. And Lupin a little too boyish. But cute nonetheless.

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 08/19/10 10:35
Chapter: Chapter 1

Awww Very sweet one shot!!!!!!! I love it when people get laughing so hard that they have trouble completing a story...happens to me quite a bit! :-)

Author's Response: Hee hee! I'm glad you liked this and found it 'sweet'. I'm even more glad that you let me know that you liked it. Thank you so much for the review. You made my day a little happier!

Reviewer: Inclination
Date: 08/16/10 10:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow :D This was really sweet and touching, and your Remus and Tonks just felt right. A brilliant job!

Author's Response: Yay! I I'm so very glad you said Remus and Tonks felt 'right'. I always put a lot of thought into the characters, otherwise the story seems flat. So, thank you so very much! :)

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/03/10 5:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

Haha. A nice mix of comedy and romance. A great story, definitely a favourite for me.

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Sorry for the late reply! But thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed my story and took the time to let me know. I haven't written much R/T recently, and reviews like yours (and the others I've gotten on this story) are making me want to try again. Thanks again!

Reviewer: way_too_HP_obsessed4011
Date: 11/26/09 9:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

aaah this is cute :)

Author's Response: :) Oh, thank you! I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Essence of Potter
Date: 11/03/09 11:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

Yay! I'm soooo glad this story won a QSQ this is one of my fave Lupin/Tonks fics! Well done!
Fi X

Author's Response: Thanks so much! You've put a smile on my face after a long and tiring day! :)

Reviewer: helz_belz
Date: 11/02/09 0:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww, what a sweet little one-shot. Remus can sure be charming when he wants to...before he goes Emo!Remus. Thanks for writing this, I really enjoyed it.

Congratulations on being runner up in the QSQ :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! Poor Remus--he didn't mean to go all Emo--he was just trying to protect Tonks. Really! :) Thanks for the congratulations--it is truly an honour!

Reviewer: Russia Snow
Date: 10/30/09 11:24
Chapter: Chapter 1

Awwwww! And I could add like a few hundred more 'w's onto that! That wa sa great story, so short and yet so well written. You had just the right amount of humour and funny humour at that. Sirius character is really perfect, you capture his jokes about Remus really well. Your characterisation is perfect and the interaction between that characters is so well done! *adds to faves* Thankyou for a lovely read and making me go "aww!"

Russia xxxxx

Author's Response: Awww! You're too kind! :) I love banter between Sirius and Remus and, honestly, I don't think I can write anything without a few lighthearted moments. I want Sirius to have had a little bit of fun at Grimmauld Place. His life was so miserable otherwise! Thanks for the compliments on the characterisation and the humour and interactions. I appreciate it all so very, very much!

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 10/01/09 9:38
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this one-shot. The pairing of Remus/Tonks is a really great one, in my opinion, and I think you presented their fledgling relationship wonderfully. I liked the setting and time of the piece – before they are together but as they are beginning to notice the sparks. The ending was beautiful; you led the reader to what was about to happen, but almost in the same way that Sirius closed the door on the couple to let them be alone, the reader was made to leave them to have their moment of intimacy in private. You set up the moment perfectly and I don’t think the kiss actually had to be shown for the reader to still feel the warm glow that comes at the end of a romance fiction or to understand the feelings between the pair.

The opening was also equally effective. It was good how, rather than launching straight into the romance part of the story, you set the scene a bit and introduced us to the characters first. The opening line, “…And then, she says —” Sirius once again nearly fell off the chair, his entire body giving in to the fit of laughter that overtook him. “— she says —” in particular made me laugh, as it was so very real, and the situation is one so many people have experienced where one person is trying to tell a humorous story and ends up frustrating the listener by laughing rather than being able to tell it!

The characterisation in this story was excellent. Both Sirius and Remus seemed absolutely perfect and just as I could imagine them behaving. I love how the difference in their characters was shown so appropriately through Sirius being the one to introduce the word ‘shag’, something you cannot imagine Remus ever saying, and who therefore changes it, right at the end to I’d make love to you. I have to confess that this part really did make me go aw, as well as slightly mushy inside and was such a great summing up of the ways in which their characters differ.

Tonks was also very much in character. Through canon, we always get the impression that she is the one to push for their relationship and here, even though Remus does reciprocate (which is great as he must have felt something for her to in order to have married and had a child with her, even if we do only ever seem to see doubtful Remus in canon), she seems to be the one making the initial hints, with the looks and the gentle flirting. For one agonising moment, I felt her pain so sharply here: “I wouldn’t shag you, Nymphadora.” and for the briefest of times, I wondered if Remus was about to back out but then he came through with his wonderful show of affection.

The subtlety of the romance was definitely one of the strengths of this one-shot. For the first couple of paragraphs, as I settled into the story, I began to question when the relationship was going to appear, but then, the little hints started to appear, such as the looks, I gradually saw, even in the short space of the story and prodded along with the help of Sirius, their relationship begin to grow. The use of a - relatively minor - Order plot, gave a little bit of extra interest to the story and gave a purpose to it, rather than just being focused on romance, but the relationship was shown wonderfully within it and I really enjoyed the read!

~Hannah

Author's Response: I admit I started to read your review with great trepidation. I saw the length of it and thought, "Oh, this could be very good or very bad." I finished each paragraph thinking, "Oh, I'm so glad she liked that, but, the next paragraph is when she tells me what she disliked. Oh, not that paragraph? Well, it's the next one in which she'll tell me it all fell apart at Point X..." And you didn't! I really am glad you enjoyed this. So many fics show a brooding, drunken Sirius during that time, but I hate to think he didn't have a few lighthearted moments there at Grimmauld Place. And he no doubt would have teased Remus--and Tonks!--relentlessly. He can be so much fun to write! As far as Remus goes... I'm glad you thought I handled his character well. It's so difficult to get that balance of "want to/can't" when it comes to his feelings toward Tonks. Of course, at some point, he had to give in some to encourage her. Otherwise, she wouldn't have been so devastated later. And Tonks--I wish there was more in the books about her. She's such an interesting character, and I can't see her being the kind to be so very affected by a romance gone bad unless she really, truly loved the man. I can't help but want to kick Remus ever so slightly in the tail region for even thinking she couldn't handle his financial condition, his 'furry little problem', or their age difference. She's a tough chick! I know he loves her and is just trying to protect her, but, she's an Auror, for Pete's sake! Oh, there I go, climbing onto my soapbox. Sorry! The line, "Id make love to you", came to me in a dream, if you can believe that, and the whole fic was built out of that, so I'm grinning like a fool to know it made you go slightly mushy inside. The fact that you liked the subtlety of this is much appreciated, too. I feared it would be too subtle! I can't tell you how much I appreciated the lovely review and the wonderful compliments you gave my story. It's been one of my favourite 'children', and it's nice to know it's liked so very much. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart!

Reviewer: Lucida
Date: 09/18/09 18:49
Chapter: Chapter 1

LOL Poor Lupin. Loved it. Was laughing the whole time. :D

Author's Response: Ah, but he was laughing, too, albeit somewhat reluctantly and ruefully. I do think Remus would understand the importance of laughing at oneself, though. I'm glad you got a chuckle out of this! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 08/30/09 6:23
Chapter: Chapter 1

*gasp* I have officially fallen in love with Remus. You get him so right. I just finished reviewing Edges and then I come across this by you again... That was funny and romantic but I didn't cringe at the cheesiness you get most of the time with fanfiction.

He felt his mouth go dry. And then, for once he spoke without thinking: “I wouldn’t shag you, Nymphadora.”

He felt her shock. And her disappointment seemed to make her oblivious to the fact that he had used her first name. But before she could respond, before she could feel that awfulness for one more moment, he bent and whispered in her ear, “I’d make love to you.”


OMFG, I almost squealed like a little teenager just then. I love it, this is going into my fabourites too and again, good luck with the QSQ nomination!

Author's Response: Again--didn't realise this had been nominated! You've made my day! I thought for sure that THAT line (the 'I'd make love to you' line) would come across as cheesy. But, oh, I'd kill to have someone say something like that to me! (My hubby's a good guy; but romantic, he is not.) I'm glad I've made you fall in love with Remus. He's an incredible character, really (even if he does have his flaws) and I adore him probably more than what is psychologically sound, considering he's a fictional character. :) Thanks again for the great review--and for letting me know about the nominations! Pinch me, quick, so I know I'm awake!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES