Reviewer: e of pi
Date: 01/04/09 15:06
Chapter: A Bad Dream

Wow. I didn't see that ending coming. Who knew Voldemort's Xanatos Gambit would be defeated by Neville's classic clumsiness? "Dagnabit, wrong Champion!" Unless, off course, he's pulling a Xanatos Roulete, and had planned on Neville not actually making it to the Cup. Eager to see the outcome, either way. (Note: both odd terms used here are from TvTropes.org. Look it up, it kicks butt)

Author's Response: I've read TVTropes before (very addictive). GoF really is a Xanatos Gambit, isn't it? I'm not going to tell you what happens, but the next chapter is titled 'The Best Laid Plans'.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 12/29/08 21:00
Chapter: Dreams and Memories

That's horrible what happened to Lily and James (and Frank and Alice in the real books). I had a small hope in the back of my head that they hadn't been driven insane. I always liked those two, even though we don't see a lot of them. I liked Neville in this chapter. I liked hearing his views on everything. It's rather interesting to hear what he has to think. I love this story and can't wait for the next chapter to be posted and validated!

Author's Response: Sorry about James and Lily, but it had to be done, and you'll see why by the end of the series. We will see James and Lily in OotP, I promise. By now, I hope I have an instinctive knowledge of what Neville's reaction would be to any circumstance. I've written him for so long that it's almost second nature now. Off to resubmit that chapter!

Reviewer: satina
Date: 12/29/08 12:35
Chapter: Dreams and Memories

Good chapter! the bud thing about this funfictions is that you have to wait ages for the naxt chapter. incase you didin't got it, that was my way of telling you to right the next one soon.

Author's Response: The next chapter ('The Maze') went straight in the queue after this one came out, however it got rejected and I've been away several days over New Year, so didn't have a chance to resubmit. I am doing so immediately after replying to these reviews! I must admit however that the following chapter is as yet unwritten. I didn't really relish delving into its subject matter over Christmas, so I started an alternative, more festive project instead, which may never see the light of day, but you never know! Now it's dreary January, I will get down to writing that chapter.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 12/29/08 7:59
Chapter: Dreams and Memories

Great chapter - was great to learn more about Harry and Snape.

Author's Response: More about them to come - there should be more scope for Harry's character in OotP than there has been in GoF, and you'll learn more about Snape before GoF is out.

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 12/28/08 19:38
Chapter: Dreams and Memories

YES I'm so glad to finally get to hear what happened to Harry's parents. I mean, I figured that's what you'd done, but it was nice to hear about it. Very good job condensing all the information from the trials in the book into one, and doing it in an interesting way.

Author's Response: It was an obvious choice to just switch Frank and Alice with James and Lily, but there was another important reason it had to be done, which you will discover eventually. This was a big important chapter for me, planned from the beginning, and its main job was to set up Snape's story. Is he good or bad in this world? All I'll say for now is that the fact that he only quit the Death Eaters after Voldemort's fall is important. I intend to further muddy the waters around Snape in future chapters...

Reviewer: Rainey_Dae
Date: 12/11/08 1:06
Chapter: A Bad Dream

This has to be one of my favorite fanfics! I love the way Neville's such a clueless hero, and Moody is just awesome... The Remus/ Siruis switch is really cool, but I have the feeling that Lupin has some very dark stuff floating around his character... It might just be me but a couple of Sirius's lines are just dripping with foreboding.

Author's Response: I wonder what foreboding things you've seen in what Sirius has to say. There is a lot of dark stuff around Lupin anyway to begin with: werewolf, ostracised, in Azkaban for thirteen years among Dementors, on the run. That's enough for anyone to be getting on with!

I should warn regular readers there may be a delay in getting chapter 15 up - it was rejected first time out, for my usual trouble: abuse of the humble comma. I hope you'll find it worth waiting for!

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 12/08/08 15:27
Chapter: Skeeter's Story

Nice! I absolutely LOVE the article! I especially like the way you didn't just retell the part about Hermione and Krum. It was very smooth and logical.

Author's Response: Thanks! It scares me a bit that maybe I have a knack for writing Rita Skeeter-style hatchet jobs!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 12/07/08 12:26
Chapter: Skeeter's Story

Nice chapter and I liked your Skeeter article - it was realistically written.

Hope Ron doesn't become too protective - although, I suppose he always does. Judging by the next chapter's title we're going to get a bit of plot / character development in the next chapter. Maybe even something about Harry (or I can hope, anyway).

Keep it up and I look forward to Dreams and Memories.

Author's Response: Ron is just being Ron, as Hermione observes. He'll come round eventually. 'Dreams and Memories' is a VERY important chapter, and one I'd been dying to write for months. It answers a number of questions (including one that readers have been bugging me about from virtually day one), and throws up several new questions, particularly about one character...

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 12/07/08 9:36
Chapter: Skeeter's Story

That was a good chapter. I loved that Skeeter mentioned Hermione and Viktor as well as Neville and Ginny. I also liked the reactions to Ron and Neville's argument in the dormitory. And Ron was perfect in that scene! Great chapter! I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Ron is a well-meaning prat, isn't he? I thought about writing more about Hermione and Viktor in the article, but it wasn't really the focus of the chapter and would be basically repeating canon. More coming - we're gearing up for the big finale!

Reviewer: Phoenix 86
Date: 11/26/08 0:49
Chapter: Gillyweed

well this surely is an interesting development.

Author's Response: I like to have a few surprises up my sleeve! More polt twists coming before the end of GoF...

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 11/21/08 23:01
Chapter: Gillyweed

Well that was a shocker! I did not see that coming, but I'm happy to see Neville had some courage when it came to kissing her the second time. Go Neville. I hope he doesn't get his heart broken by her, because we all still know she likes Harry because she gave him that glance. I can't wait until your next chapter is up and validated!

Author's Response: I haven't worked out the details of how the break-up will happen yet, but it will be part of the general darkness of OOTP, so it's unlikely to be happy. I'm afraid I'm still working on the next chapter - I hope to have done and in the queue by Monday at the latest.

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 11/20/08 18:14
Chapter: Gillyweed

Wow. I did not see that coming at ALL. I just hope that if Ginny does actually like Harry (sideways glance? I still believe yes), she doesn't hurt Neville, though I doubt she would. Still. And I'm glad Neville didn't do Harry's stupid heroic thing. I love him, but that bit of thickheadedness was always annoying to me.

Author's Response: Neville doesn't go in for stupid heroism :) The sideways glance is important. Ask yourself, what are Ginny's reasons for doing this? What are Neville's reasons? Are they good ones? I may be a bit twisted, but doomed relationships interest me (as a writer!) far more than successful ones. As I said below, this is sort of my replacement for Harry/Cho and will last into OOTP, but not beyond it.

Reviewer: satina
Date: 11/20/08 12:25
Chapter: Gillyweed

Neville kissed Ginny... well, as long as she ends up with Harry, i don't mind. Great chapter, by the way! Keep it up!

Author's Response: There's three and a quarter fics still to go - you don't need to be worried! Neville/Ginny is sort of my replacement for Harry/Cho in canon, although with a different plotline.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 11/12/08 10:28
Chapter: Dobby's Return

Another great chapter - I'm looking forward to this surpise. I like a good surprise. :D

Author's Response: I wonder if you'll like this one. I'm going to be very interested in finding out what you all think.

Reviewer: satina
Date: 11/12/08 8:06
Chapter: Dobby's Return

Eventually Ginny is going to end up with Harry, right? please?! I don't know if i could handle a Neville/Ginny. I hate that pairing.

Author's Response: Just keep reading...

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 11/11/08 9:18
Chapter: Dobby's Return

That was so cute, having Dobby run with Neville. It must be nice for him to have someone to run with now - I find it a lot more fun to run with another person. I'm happy that Neville's becoming better friends with Ginny, he deserves more friends. And, Neville remembered the Gillyweed (right?). Nice chapter and can't wait until you post again.

Author's Response: Neville, bless him, is a little too overweight to be undertaking hour-long swims, I thought, so he needed to be got into shape, and having someone as friendly and encouraging as Dobby certainly helps. Yes, Neville remembered the Gillyweed, indeed that's the title of the next chapter, which covers the Second Task, with a big surprise at the very end. I wonder what you'll make of it!

Reviewer: e of pi
Date: 11/10/08 16:48
Chapter: Dobby's Return

I'm glad to see another chapter of this--it really lightened my modd after a rather tedious and unproductive day at school. I realy like this, and seeing another chapter reassures me that you're not slowing down too much; I've read too many good fics abandonned halfway through and I'm hoping against hope this one doesn't suffer the same fate before you finish all seven books. So, yeah. Thanks for the cheering-up, keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Well, I've managed to keep up so far, and I had the next chapter ready to go as soon as this one was validated, so that's gone in. The scary thing is, by total number of chapters over the seven fics, I'm not even half way through yet! By my count, I make it 53 chapters down, 74 to go!

Reviewer: Leah_Lovegood
Date: 11/10/08 15:32
Chapter: Dobby's Return

YAY NEVILLE! HOORAY FOR RESOURCEFULNESS! And yippee for Dobby, because he is definately one of my favorite characters.

Author's Response: Fortunately, Neville has found himself with a problem in a subject he knows about for once! It is good to have Dobby back; I did enjoy writing him in CoS.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 10/20/08 20:23
Chapter: Neville's Ball

Oh, oh, ooh, so it is sort of canon with Ginny liking Harry and he being completely oblivious. I love that you added Cho in. I completely forgot about her. And Neville's character was great. He notices a lot more when he pays attention and I hope he does more of that now. He is starting to be spending less time in, for lack of a better word, his own world and I think that's good for him. Also, the bit at the end about Ron and Hermione was very nice. I liked how Neville noticed that. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Neville is waking up a bit, but he's still got a way to go yet, and remember, just as you think he's got there, the events at the end of this fic happen and he's plunged into the darkness of OOTP. It certainly doesn't get any easier for him! Next chapter (which I'm just finishing off) is called "Dobby's Return", so no prizes for guessing who makes an appearance in that one!

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 10/20/08 16:14
Chapter: Neville's Ball

Great chapter - I love a bit of drama!



Particuraly memorable parts :- the christmas card from Remus, the Harry-Ginny and Ron-Hermione-Krum fight and, of course, the continuing Sirius and Professor Burbage thing (which I think may be very interesting).



Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: The christmas card was one of those unexpected and unplanned things that just came out of thin air. I love it when my mind does that. :) Sirius and Charity (am I the world's first Sirius/Charity Burbage shipper? I'd love to think so) should definitely be interesting, and more important in OOTP when Grimmauld Place enters the plot.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES