Reviews For Driving Lessons
Reviewer: goldensnidget92
Date: 05/20/12 20:08
Chapter: Chapter 1

This perfectly depicted the nerves I felt before my driving test! I don't know why it made me so much more nervous than proper exams, but it did! I remember feeling exactly the same as Ron, so I felt really able to relate to him. It was also interesting to see him cope in a very Muggle situation - even if he did use magic... I really enjoyed this fic :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 01/07/11 6:28
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, I can't believe I've never read this before... I love it. Your Ron and Hermione are perfectly in character. I just love that Hermione was worried he would use magic on the test, which of course, he did. I wonder if she fully believes him or still has her doubts.

Is there more R/Hr around here? Off I go to snoop around your author page...

Lovely read!

Reviewer: Sainyn Swiftfoot
Date: 09/28/09 13:03
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really liked this humorous piece. It was fun and fluffy-- and well put together.


I think the beginning was a little exaggerated-- Ron has been trying, at this time, for quite sometime to drive, and has been driven around by Hermione as well, so I doubt that he'd scream and point his wand at the horn. Maybe if he had his wand in his hand he'd do that, but while driving I doubt he keeps it in his hand... I can't see him screaming, taking his wand out of his pocked and pointing it at the horn, even after lots of experience with cars.


However during his first drive, when he almost hit a tree, a cat and their elderly neighbour, he was extremely glad of Hermione’s presence.


This part literally made me laugh out loud. Very good insertion of humour into this fic. :D


I found Hermione's obstinacy at Ron not buying a wizarding car a little too extreme. If they need Ron to drive, what with children and stuff, and they'd possibly be doing some Muggle stuff as well, then Hermione wouldn't be so against Ron buying a wizard vehicle especially, I feel, just because she doesn't want him cheating at another Muggle activity. You could perhaps have her giving an additional argument against Ron buying a wizarding car-- maybe the cost factor.


It was late at night, as he hated to drive when other people could see him


I liked this part a lot, it shows your characterisation of Ron-- he's quite insecure about things he doesn't have/ isn't good at, and that's something we know about teenage Ron as well. So good job with the characterisation. Hermione too was characterised very well, the part where she got excited about making timetables and stuff was funny and very nice.


It was okay, I suppose, but I noticed at least ten things you should have done differently. One fairly good drive isn’t going to make you an excellent driver, Ronald.”


I was thrown off by the use of Ronald here. He's been called that in the series maybe once or twice, other than that he's always Ron. I don't understand why Hermione would use a less personal name, especially seeing as they're married, and Ron has actually driven well.


You've shown Ron's nervousness very well, both before the theory and the practicals. I don't know if Ron would be quite that dense as to what a theory test is, though-- I mean, the name itself makes it self-evident, but it doesn't detract from the story as a whole. Both the nervousness and euphoria after the test were very well portrayed.


You're missing a few commas in the story, such as in the part where Hermione and Ron are talking right before his practical exam-- in the “Yes Dear,” and “What Hermione?” parts.


The ending was very nice-- Ron was mischevious and funny, as always. But it does give a certain whiff of potential marital discord, doesn't it? The husband lying to the wife... Perhaps good fodder for a not-as-fluffy fic in the future.


But I digress. I enjoyed the story, it moved fast and never seemed forced or clunky. On the whole, a very nice fic, Bob!



Reviewer: luinrina
Date: 08/13/09 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ohh, Hannah, that was a lovely piece. I loved it. I especially liked the specialness that learning to drive held to Ron and Hermione, their bond and quarrels over it as well as the humour that spoke out of Ron’s clumsy first tries. Really an excellent read.

I also found that you portrayed both Ron and Hermione true to what we know from the books. I found you gave them the typical characteristics they’re known for but also added the typical sense of adult responsibility, especially when the children are around. There weren’t many places where the children were actively a part of the story, but one of the reasons for Ron wanting to learn how to drive were his children. I love how you interwove the Weasleys’ family life so nicely into the story of Ron’s driving lessons.

What I found great, too, was the humour. The way you narrated about Ron driving into lampposts or stalling at traffic lights was fantastic. I enjoyed these funny moments; I laughed out loud every time. Probably my favourite part was Obeying her, he started the car, and pulled out of his parking space, only avoiding the cars in front and behind due to Hermione’s discreet wand work, though of course he thought it was all his own skill. *giggles* I can just imagine how Ron and Hermione’s everyday life looks like.

What I noticed though were a couple missing commas. For example, I noticed some absent commas in the sentences However during his first drive, when he almost hit a tree, a cat and their elderly neighbour, he was extremely glad of Hermione’s presence. and An hour or so later they returned to the house both feeling a lot happier than they had done in the morning. There should always be commas after insertions like “however”, “suddenly” or “an hour later”. Furthermore, when you address someone by name or title, directly in speech, the address is surrounded by commas. This is why there should be commas in front of “dear” in the sentence Don’t worry dear, just give him a few days and he’ll be back in that car. and in front of “Hermione” in the sentence What Hermione? I’m pretty sure you know these grammar rules, but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to bring them to your attention again. :) Also, I’m usually not the nit-picker, but I found I had to point out the unnecessary apostrophe in Us Weasley’s are known for our tempers, but we can also be pretty determined when we want to be. It should be “Weasleys” only. I found that having two different sets of eyes look over my stories is much better than having just one beta reader.

Missing commas aside, the story was excellent. I enjoyed the flowing narration and the story you told. Fantastic work, Hannah, dear. Loved it a lot. :)

~Bine

Reviewer: LuNaLoVeGoOdLoVer
Date: 05/24/09 9:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

it was amazing!
it fit ron and hermiones characters perfectly!

Reviewer: minnabird
Date: 05/16/09 17:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is a very interesting (and realistic) view of Ron learning to drive. The bit where he accidentally hit the horn was amusing and it was nice to be reminded that Ron really DOESN'T know much about the Muggle world, even if he does wear Muggle clothes sometimes. A very good story, and great grammarwise as well, which is suprisingly rare.

Reviewer: mahogany_wand
Date: 04/12/09 10:00
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hannah! I was amazed at how well written this was. Ron and Hermione were so in character that it seemed like this could have actually been a companion piece to the HP books. I was amazed at how well you captured the driving experience (something I don't know yet, but I can imagine) and getting your license in Great Britain. This story was absolutely brilliant and I can't express how much I enjoyed reading it! ~M_W

Reviewer: solemnlyswear_x
Date: 12/29/08 22:39
Chapter: Chapter 1

Poor, poor Ron – I can definitely relate. Reading this brought back memories of when I learned to drive, and my dad made snide remarks about grandmas walking faster than my car. (I was a bit too cautious.) :D

Anyway, I thought you did a wonderful job with keeping everyone in character. Ron was hilarious and Hermione was spot-on. The very last line was great – and very sneaky of Ron. But this had to be my favorite line: “Oh it doesn’t matter,” said Hermione enthusiastically, ignoring his swearing. “I can help you – it’ll be just like when we were at school – I can make a timetable and help you make notes, just like old times.” Absolutely perfect. :) Oh, and the bit about Harry and Ginny teasing Ron about his lessons was a great detail to add.

Am I right in guessing the title comes from the movie that Rupert Grint is in called Driving Lessons? Regardless, I thought it fit nicely!

This was such a fun one-shot to read, and it definitely brightened my night. :D

- Melissa

Reviewer: Rhi for HP
Date: 12/29/08 12:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hey Hannah!
This was great! Everyone is so in character, but somehow grown-up too; you did a perfect job of keeping the same people but making them a few decades older. Ron is funny just by being Ron, which is always the best (and no "Bloody Hell!"s either! Thank God!).I like how Hermione tells Ron he can't as a motivator-- if felt very Ron-ish to me. When I read it I was like, what, why is Hermione being mean and doubtful? And then I got it and I smiled. You thought of every little component--the computer, making timetables-- and it really shows how hard the simplest (not for me!) Muggle activity is for wizards and especially Ron. And then the last line is so cute and clever!
This was a great story and very entertaining. This reminds me of how I learned to drive! My parents were gripping the arm rests and screaming the whole time, and there was quite a lot of swearing on both ends. ; )

Reviewer: Ginny Weasley Potter
Date: 11/03/08 9:25
Chapter: Chapter 1

I enjoyed your story a lot. It is a perfect description of the Ron-Hermione relationship that I so worship and it also brings a smile, when read. It's really funny to see Ron get all confused when the car honked accidentally. Hermione's character was written very well, too. And Ron... I have no words. You could actually fool a person to believe that you are Jo!

Keep it up! The story really brightened my mood! (oh, I need a lot of mood brightening these days, because I'm becoming an angsty, snappish, irritating person with all the stress. Thanks!)

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/25/08 18:48
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was very funny, I love the 'yes dear', really shows they're married. And I want a wizarding car, or the one from Knight Rider, being blind I obviously can't drive, but either of those would be cool. I think Ron might find Hermione could check on what spells he'd done with the reverse spell effect, it's a good job she decided to trust him is all i can say or otherwise he'd be in deep trouble. Oh and Harry might sit in with Ron while he practiced, because according to Rita Skeeta he has a psychotic death wish. Anyway, great job.

Author's Response: thanks for the review - it made me smile! I'm glad you enjoyed the fic and I like your idea about Harry sitting with Ron.

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 05/27/08 12:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Haha, this was a really nice one-shot. I like how you describe Ron and Hermione's relationship. Nice job.

Author's Response: thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Sly One
Date: 05/26/08 19:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

You've got that elusive Ron/Hermoine ship down cold! Sometimes I read fics that have Ron being such a over reacting doofus that theres no indication of anything that Hermoine would have found attractive! But your Ron has that mixture of determination, boyishness and mischeiviousness that Hermoine fell in love with. Congrats...please continue to write!

 SLy 



Author's Response: thank you so much! This review made my day - it's so good to hear when a reader thinks I've done something well, especially something like the Ron/Hermione relationship which can be so tricky.rnGlad you enjoyed it and thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Elf01
Date: 05/26/08 5:04
Chapter: Chapter 1

I like this sort of fic. One that takes a line and expands on it.

I like how Hermionie tells Ron he can't do it so that he will work to prove her wrong and the way she draws up the timetable for Rons revision for the theory test.

Author's Response: I love expanding on individuals line, I often find myself thinking of back stories to lines in the books. I'm glad you enjoyed this - thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Grania
Date: 05/24/08 10:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aww this was a cute story-- I liked it. :)

Author's Response: thanks! glad you enjoyed it.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
CATEGORIES