Reviews For The Midnight Watch
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/28/09 18:50
Chapter: Gatherings

What a perfect person for Charlie. Nadia seems to love dragons too. I hate to think of how she was turned--although I suppose most "victims" are duped like that. I'm not real impressed with her sire's attitude. People dress how they dress for a reason--one should never comment on that or expect them to change. Alexandru does remind me of Evan Rosier--he does have redeeming qualities. Not only did I clean my freezer this week end but I've officially retired the wheelchair to the porch, awaiting pick up by the company that rented it to me. I haven't needed the wheelchair for a while but it was kind of comfy to sit in:) Now I can reorganize my living area. Great chapter and I'm off to reorganize.

Author's Response:

There was a movie "Must Love Dogs". Charlie's Must Love Dragons. I can't see him being happy in a relationship otherwise. He's too focused on his work.

People not commenting or expecting others to change? I can almost hear Sam Cooke sing "What a wonderful world this would be." :D

Huzzah, you're getting rid of the chair! Friends can't call you Wheels anymore, but on the upside, more space in the living room!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/28/09 12:08
Chapter: Discoveries

It was kind of cute that Charlie was feeling a bit jealous of other men Nadia might know. So, of course Charlie could have a lifelong vampire lover--that's why he's always in Romania, supposedly with his beloved dragons. I wrote down your two recommendations for writing references in my ever-present notebook. I carry little legal pads with me at all times. For now, I'm thinking of treating it as a grant writing project--going in and setting up the different sections and tackling them one by one. The story is a romance--a very reluctant romance that turns very intense, and then ends badly since the two parties are separated and won't really know what happened to the other. You know, I must have subconsciously been thinking about cookie dough when I cleaned out the freezer:) That's a good idea--cookie dough. Great chapter.

Author's Response:

I have to have a cover on my little notebooks. Gandalf motivation: keep it secret, keep it safe. :D

I admire women who have all sorts of goodies stored in the freezer to take out at a moment's notice.  I like to visit them, lol.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/28/09 9:22
Chapter: Nadia

Charlaine Harris has her vampires flying--although it seems like they have to be really old vampires to do that. I've always thought dragon-keeping was a strange profession. Does Charlie ever get married? I don't remember--is it because he's in love with a vampire:) Is Luchian the Voldemort of the vampires? Nadia does not seem real fond of her sire. This dragon blood issue is very interesting. This story is different but very interesting--still a romance:) Romance is always good. I did get my freezer cleaned out and watched a good part of Charlie Brown. I also think I found a song to do a songfic to go along with my Bellatrix story--"Bad Romance" by Lady Gaga (sp?). Even though I started writing I think I have a better idea of chapters at this point and will write accordingly. I had just started writing willy-nilly which lead to realizations of other things that had to be written. Great chapter, by the way.

Author's Response:

My vampires aren't power mad, although they are very Slytherin like with their main interests being self preservation and status. :D Good for you, cleaning your freezer. Now you have room for Christmas cookie dough!

Jo said Charlie never marries because he likes dragons more than women, so I wanted to show that it's "human" women, since his partner is a vampire, and when you're bonded to someone for eternity, not having a certificate doesn't make you less "married" in your heart. :) 

Yes, I'm a romantic, and very curious about your upcoming romantic drama!

I don't know if you ever saw the movie Devil in a Blue Dress with Denzel Washington, but the author of the book it was based on, Walter Mosley, has a brilliant book on writing called This Year You Write Your Novel that reassures that whether you're an intuitive writer, or a structured writer, or a mix of both, you'll have a finished novel at the end of your labors. Mosely's book, and Robert Masello's Robert's Rules of Writing are small, inexepensive, engagingly written and informative, and if you don't have them, I hope you'll buy them (online, where they're cheaper and you get free shipping, heh) because they're two of the best (and most encouraging) books on writing I've read...and I've read dozens upon dozens!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 11/27/09 21:27
Chapter: Charlie

I feel a little cheesy reading your vampire stories with "New Moon" in town, but that's not why I'm reading it. I'm still like the kid in Honeydukes with you--you have so many choices that I kind of go in and point my cursor. A couple of things struck me. First, Molly and Arthur's love for each other. I always wish I could find a love like that. And I'm silly enough to hope that love might still be out there. Then, Ginny's reading of a romance novel with a clear omen printed on the cover--the male with hair like he just flew in off the Quidditch pitch. Finally, Bill's issuing Nadia an invitation into his home--I learned from reading Charlaine Harris' work. Wonderful chapter. I'll see you tomorrow.

Author's Response:

It isn't cheesy to read vampire stories! It shows a deep "vein" of romanticism, heh.

Love like Arthur and Molly's is out there, never doubt it, and it will be even more special because it will be real! Of course you'll have to keep public displays of affection discreet around kids and grandkids who prefer to think of you're only hooking up for companionship, :D, but I'm sure that's a sacrifice your future partner will be willing to make. ;)

Reviewer: dreamer_girl
Date: 07/08/09 12:43
Chapter: Bonds

Another amazing story:) Of course, I wish it was longer, but I think the ending was perfect.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have a Lily Luna in Romania story bubbling in the back of my mind. I'd love to tie this story in with it. :D

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 12/29/08 15:48
Chapter: Bonds

Very good, very good indeed.

Author's Response: Multumesc foarte mult dragul meu prieten! (Da, I cut and pasted that from the first chapter. :D)

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 12/28/08 21:02
Chapter: Bonds

I really enjoyed this story. I'll be looking around for more.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm (at least for now, :D) the most prolific author on the site, so like the guy on the street corner selling watches, I've got loads of inventory, and unlike him, they're not knock-offs, and they're all free. ^_~

Reviewer: SingingBird
Date: 12/04/08 21:03
Chapter: Betrayal

I just found this story last night and have been sneaking in reading it between studying ever since. I really enjoyed it so far and can't wait to read more. :)

Author's Response:

I'm so happy you found this story! I'm halfway finished writing the last chapter, so the wait won't be too long...I hope. Funny how holidays give you less time to write. :D

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 12/04/08 11:52
Chapter: Betrayal

Very good one Can't wait for the continued story.!

I have to say, you put so much time and care into your research to make your stories accurate. Very good job.

"Til next time.

Author's Response: Gah! The internet ate my response! Thank you for caring about accuracy and continuing to read the story. I heart you and my day is officially merry AND bright. :)

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 11/17/08 18:47
Chapter: Blood

Another Mahrvelous chapter, my dear. Can't wait for the next.

Love the shower scene - sexual tension and all.

Mahrvelous, darling! Simply Mahrvelous!

Author's Response: Why am I getting an image of you wearing a (faux) mink coat? :D S'awful nice of you to like the tension. If a couple doesn't have it, they should be just friends. ;)

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 11/17/08 6:59
Chapter: Blood

Great update. I always look forward to what you have to share.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I've been sucked into original fiction for NaNoWriMo, but I'll try my best to update soon.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 10/30/08 19:12
Chapter: Friends

It has been entirely too long since I've had a chance to read your stories. Great work! I actually had to go back and review the previous chapters to remember all the details. I can't wait to see what happens next, although I do know the song lyrics.

Author's Response: Yay for you knowing the song lyrics! I've been distracted by nanowrimo this month, but I hope to update soon. :)

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 10/15/08 14:20
Chapter: Quandries

Well, you've done it again - got me hooked on one of your delightful stories. I love how you portray the love scenes. Not too descriptive/graphic, just enough to get the imagination flowing. Subtlety is the key.

Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Yay, you're hooked! I have every faith that reader imagination will fill in the blanks, so to speak, heh, as much or as little as they personally choose, and probably much more vividly than a writer could express with words, too! I'll cross fingers the wait won't be long!

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 10/14/08 13:18
Chapter: Quandries

Hey! a cliffie like that is just mean. But I will take it. Great Story.

Author's Response: Thank you! Some call cliffies cruel, I call it tough love, :D.

Reviewer: LordOfTheTrees
Date: 10/12/08 10:40
Chapter: Quandries

another great chapter! Emil is very sharp.

Author's Response: He's so sharp he cuts himself, heh.

Reviewer: Sly One
Date: 10/11/08 9:33
Chapter: Quandries

<Bowing to the genius of the great K chi> I love what you're building here! I hope my own humble story can develope as perfectly as this one...if it doesn't theres always the next book LOL! Keep writingand I'll keep being a fan.

SLy



Author's Response:

Thank you Sly! No one else can tell your story but you (no matter what pen name you use, ;), so no more humility! (at least not where the public can read it, LOL)

Reviewer: Aryssa Hope Melody Deavon
Date: 10/10/08 18:42
Chapter: Quandries

god that was amazing!!!!!!update ASAP!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The queue will be crazy for awhile, but I'll try to update ASAP. :)

Reviewer: claymor
Date: 10/09/08 14:43
Chapter: Dragons

I did not get the PM. I happened to find the continued story by searching for any chance that I had missed a new story from one of my VERY favorites. What a wonderful surprise. I look forward to updates. Hopefully I will get notices.

Author's Response: Let me know if you get an update email. I hope it was just a glitch that you didn't before! Thank you for finding it and giving me the wonderful gift of a review!

Reviewer: LordOfTheTrees
Date: 10/08/08 21:44
Chapter: Dragons

I took your advice, and started reading this fic. It is very good. I really like the fact that you can relate to Nadia and she doesn’t have any stereotypes. To offer some constructive criticism however, the parts with excessive amounts of Romanian can be hard to understand. You do develop some ability to understand basic words like yes and no though. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: And I tried so hard to put the English translation right with the Romanian and always make it clear. Oh, well, I will confess that I only sprinkle it in the rest of the way. I think a little flavour goes a long way. :) Thank you for reading!

Reviewer: SkylerMalfoy
Date: 09/02/08 19:03
Chapter: Charlie

that's true, by the way, do you have a good beta to reccomend and where I can contact him/her. cause i really need one.

Author's Response: On the L side of the screen under Navigation, if you click on Perfect Imagination you'll be linked to a beta site where you can put in your story details and get a list of betas interested in your pairing. You email them with a link to your story (you can make an account on fanfiction.net if your story hasn't validated here--it's self post) and wait to hear back. Good luck!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES