Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/20/10 23:13
Chapter: Chapter 13 The Doyennes of Disguise

I loved the part where Harry was reminded about the wizard from Lupin's trip! You could totally see Dumbledore doing that!

Author's Response: I was worried that reference was too obscure. Thanks for the reassurance. Originally, I included the actual movie title in Hermioneís catalogue, but then read the Mugglenet warnings about copyright infringement and rewrote it to be a more oblique reference. As a direct result, I also added the Headmistressí comments about lawyers.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/30/10 14:52
Chapter: Epilogue: The Hero's Lament

awesome... made me cry
Cheers to you.

Author's Response: So pleased to hear my words moved you. Whether to tears or laughter, thatís the writerís ultimate goal: to never leave the reader unaffected. Hope youíll move on to read some of my other stories. Donít be a stranger.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/30/10 14:15
Chapter: Chapter 71 The Bureaucratic Response

VERY NICE

Author's Response: Glad you liked how they trumped old Scrimgeour as well.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/30/10 12:12
Chapter: Chapter 70 Retribution

that was a fast battle

Author's Response: Sorry about that. Writing play by play battle scenes is not my strong suit, so I just paraphrased as Harry and Voldemort did their obligatory parry and thrust leading up to the Priori Incantatem. With Harry ignoring most of the diatribe spewing from Voldemortís lips during this part, I imaged him lulling his opponent before puting the last part of his plan into play. Obviously, if this scene were filmed it would play out differently with multi-colored spells ricocheting back and forth as the other reinforcements also battled the Death Eaters in the background.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/30/10 9:14
Chapter: Chapter 68 Search

CANT YOU WRITE A FEW MORE STORIES? i LOVE YOUR DIRECTIONS

Author's Response: So far, I have two other stories on this site. There is a prequel, Cruel Moon for the Misbegotten, which details Remusí activities from about the time of Siriusí death through the end of HPB. It fleshes out his immersion in the werewolf camps at Dumbledoreís orders. The tone is a bit more serious as heís a grown man dealing with some rather weighty issues. But underneath it all, heís still the slightly tarnished Marauder that weíve all come to love.

Thereís also a sequel, The Dark Phoenix, which takes place in the same alternate reality as Heroís Lament. Iím still in the process of posting it, but the end is quite near. I tried to keep the same lighthearted tone as in the previous story although some of my original characters that reappear are from the prequel as well. Donít let the rather dark opening chapter (prologue) put you off, though, as it begins in the same place where the other story ended and Harry is still grieving.

You can link to these stories from my author page so I hope youíll check them out. I have some other quirky ideas going around in my head, so Iím sure there will be more in the near future.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/30/10 8:29
Chapter: Chapter 67 Engagement

lOVE THIS STORY, i DONT WANT IT TO END.
CHEERS

Author's Response: Thatís truly the nicest compliment a writer can hear! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Reviewer: harrynutter
Date: 06/18/10 14:08
Chapter: Chapter 43 Sunshine and Shadows

i LOVE YOUR WRITTING, i ALMOST CRIED A FEW CHAPTERS BK WHEN hARRY WAS HELPING lEAH WITH HER MEMORY OF HER GRANDMOTHER. kEEP UP THE GREAT WORK

Author's Response: Thanks! Hope you'll follow this story to the very end. I'm almost done writing the sequel which appears as The Dark Phoenix.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/07/10 13:27
Chapter: Epilogue: The Hero's Lament

I knew this was coming but I'll never understand why you ended it this way. As much as I admire your work I don't think this was the way to go. This will be something you and I will disagree on--and our lives will go on--our relationship as writer and reviewer will go on. I may just have some psychological block to this final chapter. Logically it makes sense but I can't reconcile the last chapter with the rest of the book. Anyway, thank you for writing this. Your work is of high quality and I think my experiences have been enriched through reading this version of how Voldemort was defeated. I guess I prefer to believe it went down this way. See you in the next book:D

Author's Response: Donít worry about disagreeing. Itís those differences that give rise to the most illuminating discourses in the end. Iíve thoroughly enjoyed our discussions and hope you will continue into the post-Hogwarts world.

The end of DH was so bittersweet that it was blatantly obvious why 19 years had to pass before the epilogue: it would take the characters that long to come to terms with everything that had been lost. This broken and disconsolate Harry is fascinating starting point for a writer Ė but Iím saving that for my exploration of canon (still in planning stages). In the sequel, itís alluded to in the prologue only so that I can weave in and out of JRKís world once again.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/07/10 13:16
Chapter: Chapter 72 Wheels within Wheels

I guess I have to take back my comment that Percy is a prat:D I'm glad that the Weasleys are all reunited. I hope Remus and Tonks return to their teaching positions. They can start seeing the Potter estate--so does that mean Peter has died? I hope so. It's hard to believe that there's still school time left. It will be hard to go back to classes with all of the excitement that's happened. I never mentioned that I thought it was pretty funny that Harry suggested that balloons be tied to the mailbox of a house under the Fidelius Charm. I wonder if that would work. Great chapter.

Author's Response: To me, the key to Percyís character is that heís the child who has a brilliant career at school but then finds the real world has a different set of rules. I explore him a little more deeply in the sequel.

I confess that Iím not sure that tying the balloons would really work. No one can see the estate, right? But thatís the absolute devilry of it, I suppose. And if thereís one thing that Harry learned well from Snape, itís how to sharpen his tongue.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/07/10 12:46
Chapter: Chapter 71 The Bureaucratic Response

I see you let Scrimgeour and Percy remain big prats. I think I was most fascinated by Peter's trials, still clutching wet rocks by the ocean. When Peter dies, won't everyone be able to see the Potter estate? If they still can't see it does that mean Peter is still alive? I had a very evil chuckle when Peter kept wondering where his friends were--THEY'RE ALL DEAD!! One thing I've learned after reading your stories is to love chocolate. I never really cared for it before:D I can't believe how long I've been following this story. Will The Dark Phoenix be long too? I'm trying to decide when I want to start reading that. Great chapter.

Author's Response: That was actually one of my favorite passages. Requiem for a Rat, I call it informally. Nice to see Peter get his comeuppance Ė and not directly at Remusí hand. We never know for certain what happens to Peter, yet everyone assumes the outcome when the Potter estate becomes visible once more. (Have I left the door open on purpose? Youíll have to ponder that one on your own.)

The Dark Phoenix is longer than Cruel Moon for the Misbegotten, but nowhere near as long as Heroís Lament. It might just hit the top ten longest, but it will only be by a bare margin, if at all. There are fewer chapters because each one is long and meaty. With an average of two weeks in queue at times, thatís what I most regretted about Heroís Lament (should have made the chapters longer). It will probably be about 35 Ė 40 chapters long and my writing stays well ahead of the posting in case I have to revise anything in a crunch (yes, it has happened). I will tempt you with this: it contains the mother of all parties Ė and itís not Harryís wedding to Ginny.

Speaking of chocolate, dare I say that I have another story on the horizon that uses chocolate as its main plot device? Itís my first attempt at true canon and is still in the planning stages.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/03/10 12:24
Chapter: Chapter 70 Retribution

I did not realize that Draco had been killed. That was a great interaction between spirit Draco and Harry. Who woulda thought that Voldemort would be brought down with a wand through the heart. I thought it was curtains for Tonks there for a moment. It was super that you had Neville and Harry fighting side by side. In many ways this all shows Remus' foresight in preparing all of those students for battle through dueling practice. You just never know when Voldemort's going to pop up you need to duel. Now, I kind of missed Snape. It's too bad he had to miss the final battle. Very good that it didn't take place at Hogwarts. Excellent chapter. I ate lunch veeery sloooowly so I could finish the chapter, although it was almost too exciting for lunchtime reading. I was getting so much into the chapter that I kept forgetting to eat:D

Author's Response: This is the first that you learn that Voldemort exacted the ultimate price for Dracoís failure to kill Dumbledore. Itís a shock to Harry; but at the same time, it isnít. I never could envision Voldemort doing otherwise; vindictive and vengeful as he is, I couldnít see him giving Draco another chance.

It was my goal to have the prophecy actually apply to both boys in the end. Harry suspected this might be so and hedged his bets when he planned the sleight of hand with Neville. One just canít leave loose ends when Voldemort is involved. In the end, Harry used that same arrogance as a weapon when he banked on recreating what had happened when he faced down the newly-minted Voldemort in the graveyard.

Unfortunately, Snape might have proven to be a liability in this instance. Or at the very least, a sacrificial lamb Ė which I didnít want him to be. He sought asylum from the Order and they promised not to turn him over to the authorities if he remained in hiding. While itís true that this also means the Order wants to have first go at him themselves, Remus agreed to defend his actions so itís likely heíll win them over in the end.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/30/10 12:18
Chapter: Chapter 69 Reinforcements

Damn, I forgot about that stupid snake and that it might have other ways of sensing if someone's the real person or not. You've effectively generated the feeling that all is hopeless. I loved the duck patronus. I hadn't even thought about silver being deadly to werewolves. Once again, all I can do is sit here and be hopeful. Great chapter.

Author's Response: When I heard the fact about the snake's superior sense of smell in a nature special, I knew I had to use it. There's no doubt that things look grim indeed....

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/29/10 12:08
Chapter: Chapter 68 Search

Strangely, one thing I found really sad in this chapter was Bellatrix's death. For someone who was the epitome of evil and sat at the right hand of Voldemort, for someone who cursed and tortured so many people, her death was quiet and unassuming. She didn't go out fighting with her boots on. She was simply crushed. Sadder still, that Tonks saw fit to kiss her good bye and shed a small tear. Am I to understand that Peter is dead also? Poor Remus--in so much pain. I hope Ron and Hermione find him. It was nice that Harry found more pictures of his family. The big surprise was the discovery of enemies waiting. Unfortunately, three of their best fighters are not present in Godric's Hollow. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Never assume anything about Pettigrew; that's the best advice I can give you. As for Bellatrix, I always say her as a tragic figure more than anything else. she's so obviously insane. Her stint in Azkaban for torturing the Longbottoms was enough to throw her completely over the edge. I didn't want to make our heros as heartless as she was, but don't forget that Ginny threw that Reducio curse which brought the roof down.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/28/10 12:39
Chapter: Chapter 67 Engagement

It's too bad they can't just cast a killing curse at Bellatrix and be done with her. I hope Remus hasn't fallen to his death. I hope Ron and Hermione find him. I hope Shacklebolt and Neville subdued Yaxley. So many hopes. This was my lunch reading but now I have to go to a meeting:D Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Welcome to the land of cliffhangers and nail biting. I canít give much else away other than to remember to click your ruby slippers.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/27/10 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 66 Sortie

Wormtail must have been a creepy sight to behold. I think if I were Harry I would be so angry right now. Here's the scum who betrayed my parents and destroyed my life and he's got constant access to my family home that I have no memories of. That was really quick thinking of Remus to grab him before he could change. I hope he's taking him somewhere so he can't escape. These last few chapters have been so exciting but they wouldn't be half as good if you hadn't laid that careful foundation. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Letís just say that Harry now has a very personal grudge against Wormtail.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/27/10 12:37
Chapter: Chapter 65 Field Trips

Aside from the surprise of visiting with Snape and the excitement of the students joining the Order, I was most struck with the visit to Godric's Hollow through the Penseive. I started to think that visiting memories in the Penseive could become addictive. If one could accumulate memories of a single event from one person or even a number of people, I think it would be tempting to keep going back to visit. Take Harry, for example. He could keep going back to his first birthday party--that was a pleasant time when his parents were alive. Another scene that struck me was the instruction to write a last letter to a loved one before the "field trip." Also, to say any last words so there are no "death bed" confessions. I think that would add to security during battle since no one would be distracted by the need to make a confession. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Despite the temptation, I tend to agree with what Dumbledore said earlier: that the Pensieve is just as seductive as the Mirror of Erised. Not that it doesnít have practical applications, mind you.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/27/10 10:43
Chapter: Chapter 64 Facing the Music

Another amazing chapter! That was very creative, how they set up solving the conundrum. The last thing I expected was for them to find Snape. I felt so sad for him in this instance--sitting in a closed room in the dungeons, writing. You just conjured up feelings of dark, damp, and cold. I had forgotten that Harry's contact with Snape through the mirrors was essentially secret. I can understand why Remus was angry with Harry. If his trust in Snape had been misplaced all sorts of harm would've been done. These chapters are getting so interesting as you put the finishing touches on your puzzle. Great chapter.

Author's Response: This is actually my favorite chapter. Despite the angry words, you can see how comfortable Harry and Remus have become with one another. And the image of Snape haunting the dungeons brings to mind Sirius sending Severus off to play with his chemistry set in PoA.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/26/10 12:47
Chapter: Chapter 63 Neville's Invaluable Testimony

That was amazing. Now they have to retrieve the information from Neville's subconsious, right? And, finally there's an explanation for all of the gum wrappers that Neville kept getting from his mother. To think that a baby got information from a Secret Keeper and it can be used to solve this 17-year old mystery. I sure don't know how you keep track of all of this complicated information. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: Those candy wrappers kept nagging at me until I gave them a purpose. Neville now has a power that the Dark Lord knows not -- making the prophecy apply to both boys.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/26/10 12:01
Chapter: Chapter 62 A Tale of Two Sisters

I think Harry's punishment was very appropriate. I'm sure, with your help, he'll plan a really fun dance. The Layettes were so cute, trying to get him to talk about what he did for Ginny. The amazing part, of course, was the memories that Remus was able to give to both Harry and Neville, and Harry's later dream/memory. I've often thought that maybe Lily and James were lucky in a way, compared to the Longbottoms. The Longbottoms are like the living dead. I don't know if I'd want to see loved ones suffer like that. Great chapter.

Author's Response: This is my second favorite chapter. Such bittersweet remembrances of all theyíve lost to Voldemort. Not to mention a slightly different view of Petunia.

I tend to agree that the Longbottomsí fate is worse than death. Trapped inside their heads and unable to convince the world that they still see more than appearances would make us think. In the end, the quick death of Harryís parents seems preferable. An Avada Kedavra is more merciful in the end Ė an argument that Harry will pose in the sequel. (Just a preview of coming attractionsÖ)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/23/10 14:41
Chapter: Chapter 61 An Intimate Soirťe

Amazing isn't the word for this chapter. I'm dumbfounded. Exactly right before Harry told Ginny who Stevens really was I knew who it was. You were so sneaky in laying out the clues and allowing me to successfully guess for myself. Then I said "no, it couldn't be. I had no idea." Then bam!! I thought about the dancing, the fact that Stevens' wife had died young, and then Trelawney came in. I still thought he was married to Trelawney but it was Hooch. That's what I didn't figure out. Wow--that was so skillfully done. Before I forget (remember I'm dumbfounded) I absolutely loved how you set up the dance for Harry. Then having the staff come in and not be angry was great. I've said it before--you're one hell of a party planner. Excellent chapter.

Author's Response: He may have had to face the music (in every meaning of the word), but Harry was finally able to do right by Ginny. I see McGonagall in the role of the fairy godmother who takes a solitary ice bucket filled with butterbeers and turns it into a lavish buffet.

At least you werenít able to figure out Snapeís wife until the very last moment. I sprinkled clues pretty liberally, but also lots of red herrings. I so wanted the reader to work things out along with Harry.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES