Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 01/23/09 21:48 · For: Chapter 1 The Secret Life of Hippogriffs
As in Rita Skeeter? I'm hoping you mean she's written something about him and not that she's his wife. I'd probably lose more than my lunch with that revelation, lol

Author's Response: No romance for Rita, I promise. I may be twisted, but even I have my limits. Although, maybe a rendezvous between Rita and Wormtail, wouldn't that be juicy? That's enough to drive anyone to drink, isn't it? And yes, Harry still suspects Sybill.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 01/23/09 19:17 · For: Chapter 49 A Bit of Rain
Lots of new and interesting info. I'm still with Harry and wondering if Snape and Sybil have a thing going. Or is that another story I'm reading?

Author's Response: More on Snape in the next chapter care fo the lovely Rita from the Daily Prophet.


Name: gerberb (Signed) · Date: 01/23/09 17:40 · For: Chapter 49 A Bit of Rain
Really good. I am enjoying your fic.
Keep it up. I can hardly wait for the next chapter.

I really enjoy reading them.

Author's Response: Thnnks for the vote of confidence. New chapter should be loaded early next week. More surprises to come, I promise.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 01/17/09 21:22 · For: Chapter 48 Moonlight's Spell
Gotta love the way this is playing out. Maybe our favorite two-legged Divination teacher has something to do with the cup?

Author's Response: There's more on Trelawney in the next chapter. Won't be able to upload it until Tuesday, though.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 01/14/09 21:17 · For: Chapter 47 The Power of Silence
I like the way done this chapter. The little pieces fit together to give a better picture of what's happening. And maybe Daphne won't be such a loss since I believe Neville and Luna were holding hands as they left practice. It's looking like you're going for different Horcruxes than were in DH, or those red herrings are multiplying in the ROR

Author's Response: Thanks for noticing the little things. I use different Horcruxes and will give you more of a satisfying description of their destruction, but there are still a lot of red herrings...


Name: ahattab33 (Signed) · Date: 01/09/09 11:21 · For: Chapter 46 The Center of Attention
Another great chapter...loving Luna and the interactions with Ginny. Thanks for the update!

Author's Response: Luna is an absolute joy to write: so many contradictions in such a soft and gentle cocoon. By contrast, Ginny is so forthright -- she doesn't take rubbish from anyone. Well, except Harry, that is; everyone had a soft spot for those they love the most, don't they? Next chapter is already in queue and I know you're going to like the twists in this one for sure!


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 01/08/09 12:59 · For: Chapter 46 The Center of Attention
Another great chapter. I really like the relationship between Lupin and Harry. It gives Harry a continued link to his parent's and Sirius even if on a level that isn't apparent to him. Maybe he'll be inspired by osmosis and get things straight with Ginny.

Author's Response: Believe it or not, I didn't intend for Lupin to become as large a part of the story, but his character sort of took over. Harry has always found it easy to talk to him, after all. I think you'll be really pleased with the chapter that I'm uploading today, but I won't ruin it by saying anything else...


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/28/08 20:34 · For: Chapter 45 Friends
Another good chapter. I'm sure one of these days Harry will come to his senses and tell Ginny he loves her. His mistaken chivalry is maddening in any universe, lol

Author's Response: There's no doubt that Harry has a lot of things to work through on his own. It's all part of growing up.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/19/08 23:06 · For: Chapter 44 The Treasure Room
I'm thinking red herrings are being introduced here. Or maybe not. Was the potions book really Snape's mother's? Was she a classmate of good ol' Tom Riddle? Hmmm

Author's Response: The Room of Requirement is where red herrings go to roost. That's all that I can say... Promise you a new chapter on Monday.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/19/08 0:53 · For: Chapter 43 Sunshine and Shadows
Great chapter. I wonder if there's a spell that could help my impatience? I am a reader above and beyond anything else. I always want more, and I want it now!. Alas, the real world doesn't work that way. Thank you for your great writing and all the hard work you put into your writing.

Author's Response: I get impatient, too, so I understand. Am uploading a new chapter this morning so hopefully you will be rewarded soon. If it's any consolation, updates seem to get posted faster as the holidays approach. I guess everyone else has a life but me. Ha, ha!


Name: ahattab33 (Signed) · Date: 12/18/08 13:14 · For: Chapter 43 Sunshine and Shadows
I feel like Harry and Ginny are so close...I was really excited with Lupin and Harry's conversation in the beginning of the chapter! I don't know if I've commented on it yet, but I love the length of the chapters! They are so enjoyable and, well, long. It's very satisfying, and you can tell you've put a lot of work into this story.

Author's Response: Glad to know that I got the chapters about the right length for this medium. It's so different from writing on paper where shorter chapters work just fine and the reader can just turn the page. As far as the Harry/Ginny thing goes, Lupin is wise enough to know that if he pushes too much Harry will just clam up like he did with Hermione.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/17/08 21:05 · For: Chapter 42 The Prize or the Pawn?
...and more questions than answers come to mind

Author's Response: The plot thickens, as they say...


Name: ahattab33 (Signed) · Date: 12/10/08 19:33 · For: Chapter 41 Searching for the Truth
Another chapter in one day!

Interesting conversation with Snape...I'll be interested to see how he gets his information.

I love Luna, she is so great. I hope we see more of her in future chapters, I think her insight would be a great help to Harry.

I didn't say this last chapter, but I'm glad Ginny knows about the prophecy. It might help her come to terms with Harry's decision, but I think he's a idiot, quite frankly, but I thought that through DH as well. I'm kind of surprised Hermione hasn't brought up what she witnessed at the Burrow to Harry, or Ginny (but, I guess we wouldn't see that aspect of it, would we?).

Author's Response: More of Luna to come. I like her too! It’s so much fun to write her dialogue as she’s such a contradiction: totally off the wall and yet brilliant in her own way. After all, she is a Ravenclaw! As for the interactions that have occurred behind the scenes, Hermione would love to talk to Harry, put him straight (as both you and I think), but he’s already told her to butt out rather sternly in the past. So she’ll wait until he initiates the conversation himself. Being a teenaged boy, Harry often prefers to just sulk in silence. If Hermione were to ask Ginny about the events, Ginny would tell her that she was going to start dating Robert and then abruptly change the subject. Hope that fills in the gaps for you.


Name: ahattab33 (Signed) · Date: 12/10/08 13:18 · For: Chapter 40 Quicksilver
This story delves into so many issues that I haven't given thought to...it makes me think about things in ways I haven't before, and it's obvious you spent a lot of time planning out this story and working on it. You are a great writer, and I'm glad for the updates.

Author's Response: Thanks for the glowing words. I've been having great fun with it. JKR left us with so many ambiguities that there's so much to work with.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/07/08 1:57 · For: Chapter 24 Debriefing
Of course you have already written more chapters than I have had the opportunity to read and have already receiceved reviews on them I want to add my appreciation for a well though out and well written story

Author's Response: Thanks for weighing in. Glad you're enjoying my convoluted tale. Lots more twists and turns to come.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/07/08 1:03 · For: Chapter 21 Dueling Partners
Am I seeing some portents of DH in this story? The differences are dramatic, but the plot is being developed in a very believeable way and I am definitely hooked.

Author's Response: I purposely steered clear of Deathly Hallows as I wanted to do my own original take on the story elements. The only fact that I kept was Snape showing up at the same playground where Lily and Petunia played as children. Although I also used the friendship with Lily and Snape and decided that Remus and Tonks would get married, both are logical extenstions from the data contained in previous books. and were planned before DH hit the shelves.


Name: yukikiyokiralacus (Signed) · Date: 12/06/08 19:09 · For: Chapter 39 Surviving the Gauntlet
I have to say I like this chapter. Harry teaching the patronus. He did a pretty good job.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. I wanted Harry to keep up the leadership skills he's learned during the days of Dumbledore's Army.


Name: mlskojin (Signed) · Date: 12/05/08 21:43 · For: Chapter 39 Surviving the Gauntlet
I have been pleasantly surprised by this story. I have see in the most recent several times now and have avoided it for no other reason than it just did not appeal to me. I now realize the mistake that I have made. And I do sincerely appologize. This is very well written though I do have one suggestion. There have been several instance where the story breaks off for several weeks at a time. I understand the restains put on a story such as this but I felt like I was missing something important that happen during the break. Either that or I was missing a chapter or two.

Author's Response: Went back and reviewed everything and there are definitely not any chapters that I accidentally skipped when uploading. Your comment gave me a few panicked moments though. Please tell me where you think the gaps are too glaring as perhaps I need to go back and fiddle with my transitional passages. As far as the break between Harry and Ginny’s confrontation at the Burrow and Harry’s return to Hogwarts, I purposely skipped those events as Harry will retell them a little later in several flashbacks. I also opted out of doing a Christmas dinner/gift exchange at the Burrow as it had already been done in so many of the previous books. After all, no guests are invited this year and Harry had already whinged enough about not being allowed to do any shopping of his own. Am very pleased to hear you gave my story a chance after all. Hope you’ll continued to be entranced as events continue to unfold.


Name: captburke (Signed) · Date: 12/05/08 0:27 · For: Chapter 9 - An Issue of Privacy
I have just started reading MNFF and am enjoying the realistic and well written stories. I hope to see more chapters to this story soon.

Author's Response: Welcome aboard! I try to stay ahead of the curve on this one as it's turning out to be a rather long tale with many intertwining threads. I load the next chapter into the queue just as soon as the previous one is approved to try to keep the wait time to a minimum.


Name: FriendofMolly (Signed) · Date: 11/23/08 9:22 · For: Chapter 36 Neville's Nemesis
That was a bit strange (Snape in the mirror). But at least Harry knows of another Horcrux. This story though long is a tremendous alt Book 7.

Author's Response: Glad you're staying with it. Am going to start combining the chapters differently so that each one is longer and the wait between episodes won't make it seem like such an endless journey. I expect the finished product will be about the length of Deathly Hollows.


You must login (register) to review.