Reviewer: captburke
Date: 07/03/09 12:59
Chapter: Chapter 66 Sortie

Awesome! Wonder who's in the house already? Do they know of the guests already through the tunnel? Everyone came under the Invisibility Cloak so is Wormtail there because he watched them all arrive? Did he happen to pick just then to check the trapdoor? Does he know Harry is around the corner? Breath still baited!

Author's Response: Answers in the next chapter that I just put in queue! Harry & company actually Apparated past the padlocked gates, each ferried over by Neville. Neville only used the Invisibility Cloak to get a close enough view to Apparate past the gates for the first time. I promise this next bit will have you chomping on your nails...

Reviewer: stark40763
Date: 07/03/09 11:28
Chapter: Chapter 66 Sortie

and so The Battle of Potter Estate begins...I can't wait for the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Just added it to the queue. My advise is to buckle your seatbelt, it's going to be a bumpy ride!

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/02/09 11:48
Chapter: Chapter 65 Field Trips

Overall feeling: I feel like a big show-down is finally starting be imminent in the picture…I know they are excited but I also hope they realize how serious it is (I assume that there will be at least one chapter or two of preparation before Godric's Hollow…please have a scene with Ron and Hermione?  ).

I'm glad Hermione is there to help them all focus on the big picture, and that Neville is more involved.

“Shall I call for Ginny, Remus?” Harry suggested with a long-suffering look. “She’s the master of hexes that are supremely annoying without causing any long-term damage.” HAHA! That is awesome. Though I'm not sure if Ginny would be proud of that or not, lol. But yea! The return of Ginny in this chapter. "You mean I’m going to be allowed to join?” Ginny cried. *Grins satisfactorily as her question from the last chapter is answered. *

And so we're getting there! Inducted into the Order. Horcurxes destroyed. Mission: Godric's Hollow to face whatever the Death Eater's are planning, or protecting, and put their training to use and perhaps get some information.

It sounds extremely exciting and I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Lots of twists and turns coming up and some cliffhangers. Ron and Hermione definitely get some more face time in the next few chapters as they end up being separated from the main contingent, so I hope you'll be pleased. Just submitted next chapter so we'll see how long it take to be validated. It's got a cliffie at the end, though... As far as Ginny doing the annoying hexes, that was inspired by her Bat Bogey Hex that Slughorn so admired in HBP. I suppose it's a defense mechanism when you're the youngest and smallest and only girl in a house full of rowdy brothers.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 07/02/09 11:28
Chapter: Chapter 64 Facing the Music

Oh, you are posting chapters before I am able to read sometimes, and I've been a bad reviewer!

But, here I am, to leave the best SPEW-type review I can, because not only was this chapter superbly-fantastic, but this story is richly and wonderfully written, and it and YOU deserve it

So, I unfortunately don't have enough time to go back and re-read everything since my last review, but I did re-read this Chapter before going to the next:

First, where is Ginny?! Okay, that was my thought after reading it through the first time, had to get that out of the way, lol. But seriously, why was she not included in this induction into the Order…age limitations only?

This whole complex reworking around the Fidelus Charm is brilliant -- you are a genius! I would have never been able to come up with this myself.  I love how Lupin treated it like a science experiment: "I’ll just put you in the control group that is aware of the location."

And before I forget, as I'm not sure I've mentioned it before, but I love your treatment of Ron. He's a contributor, he makes intelligent (but not overly so) remarks, but his personality is still retained. I do wish I could see more of Ron and Hermione's relationship, but the three of them, while still maintaining their friendship, have become much more independent in this story. His little sparring session with Snape towards the end was great!

"Writing feverishly at the desk sat none other than Severus Snape." Oh, great moment! Once again, I had no idea what Lupin was leading this all up to other than a way to physically prove his theory.

"Harry was beginning to wonder whether he had somehow crossed into an alternate universe when Snape replied with a hint of a sneer, “You make it sound as if you were almost waiting for me, Minerva. Everyone else seemed surprised, shocked even; although Lupin is doing his best to look like he hasn’t landed knee-deep in ice water….I can only assume Potter told you that I had been in close contact with him.”

That paragraph is so great. I almost felt the same as Harry - did the teachers have more information we didn't? Everyone at the end of HBP was willing to believe the worst of Snape and throughout the course of this story with the attack, Harry was keeping a lot of information to himself (no big surprise there!) and now they are feeling him out kindly. But, oh…I wouldn't want to be Harry in this situation…

I really like the back and forth between the two conversations…it gives it an element of tension, of mystery of…suspense? I think that's the word I'm looking for.

I cheered when Hermione told him about the Daily Prophet article, but I wished I could have known Snape's reaction! Though I felt like the breaks between the two conversations were in extremely good places, I did feel like some of the conversations were left missing from Snape/McGonagall's side, so I wasn't sure if you were trying to make it real time between the jumps or not.

My heart went out to Lupin when Harry told him he ended up trusting in Snape about the project Dumbledore left him. The scene between the two of them is such a testament to how their relationship is developed, and I thought it was great.

“Dumbledore believed everyone deserved a second chance!” he scoffed. “He’d have offered amnesty to the Dark Lord himself if he’d come knocking on the door.”

“Perhaps if he believed that’s what Lord Voldemort really wanted, but remember that Dumbledore had the foresight to reject his plea for a teaching post. Yet he accepted yours.” // That is something from the books I've never given much thought about but it is a great point, especially at this point in the story. I never thought I'd see the day where McGonagall is trying to convince Snape of his goodness, lol.

“Because he had already helped me to save your life when you’d been sent to St. Mungo’s.” Oh. This. Was. So. Good. But…I imagined Lupin's reaction to a bit more of a face-paling, silent shock rather than a rampaging anger. But I did rather agree with his ability to be humble and admit when he's wrong; it again shows the depth of their relationship, more equal footing, mentee/mentor rather than father/son or teacher/pupil.

I also like in this chapter that we get a small glimpse into the mind of Snape - a lot of dry humor there.  And though we don't have any real evidence yet, I think we're seeing a small glimpse of respect for Harry from Snape, that will come through before this story is over. And his line of "That's the way it is with the truth" is awesome.

Interesting theory on the Potion's book…a large stretch, but certainly plausible.

Onto the next chapter!!

Author's Response: Frankly, I was surprised how quickly the last chapter was posted (24 hours or thereabouts) as its usually been about a week or so. Thanks very humbly for all your kind words and compliments. This is a very pivitol chapter and one of my absolute favorites to write. Slowly, I've been warming up to do the Snape POV and did it a bit more in my other story, as well as in the sequel that is currently in the works. As much as I absolutely adore writing his dialog (and imagining Alan Rickman delivering the lines in my head), it's not as easy to get into his head as it is Remus. Too much despair, even though both characters like to do black humor. As far as Ginny goes, she's in classes during the day so they couldn't recruit her for the experiment. The seventh years have a lot looser scheduling with their one-on-one lessons with a single teacher.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 07/01/09 23:11
Chapter: Chapter 65 Field Trips

Reading this is like looking for a memory that's just out of reach. It is so real. I'm enjoying this very much. Wonder what they've got planned for the DE's that will either already be in Godric's Hollow and the ones that might show up? Should be interesting. If they could find a way to hear the address from Wormtail it might make things easier for the good guys. No more wondering what's left in and of the Manor I would guess? What memories might be invoked by Harry going there? Breath baited.

Author's Response: It's defintiely a manor house, olf money from a pure-blood family, etc.. Although James & Lily lived more simply as the descriptions will show. It's definitely in the new chapters. And yes, Wormtail will show up, but I can't say anymore...

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 07/01/09 21:54
Chapter: Chapter 64 Facing the Music

I am so enjoying this. Getting really intense. Will we see Godric's Hollow and the Potter home thanks to Neville? What kind of home? Mansion, Manor, Estate, big, small, liveable, salvageable? Will there be any remains or evidence of James & Lily? So many new questions come to mind. Will be waiting with baited breath for the answers.

Author's Response: You'll get more info on the house itself in later chapters. As for whether it's salvagable....well, that's an issue for the sequel which I am still only about half way through writing. Upcoming chapter that I am adding to queue this afternoon will detail their arrival in Godric's Hollow and the Potter estate.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/25/09 22:56
Chapter: Chapter 63 Neville's Invaluable Testimony

WOW!!! What an awesome chapter. If Neville can really find the house in Godric's Hollow maybe a few answers will be found. Bella can see it as well as Wormtail and anyone he's told so they're watching the place, waiting for Harry and/or the Order to show up. Things could get a little hairy(pun intended) but I'm betting plans can be made to circumvent the DE's. Hmmmnn, I just had a thought. As far as Wormtail knows Snape is a very loyal DE. What are the odds Wormtail has said the address aloud within hearing of our friend Severus? Very high I would think. Has no one ever thought of asking Severus if Wormtail has told him the Potter's address? Would Snape lie about it? Can't wait to see how the test goes. You do write a good story.

Author's Response: Snape’s always good for a tangle or two, isn’t he? Just wait for the next chapter! The question you have to ask yourself is whether Voldemort is counting on Snape to lead Harry into a trap? Recall that the Order still sees Snape as Dumbledore’s cold-blooded murderer. The Headmistress is keeping a careful eye on him, but that doesn’t mean she’s ready to jump into his back pocket, either. Pleased to know the story isn’t too convoluted with all its twists and turns.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/18/09 21:28
Chapter: Chapter 62 A Tale of Two Sisters

Great chapter. Loved the memories. At first I was confused as to why Harry and Neville would be disoriented because that didn't seem to be the case when viewing other memories. But it makes sense because it's of them, they were there but it never became a concious memory to them. LIke seeing a home movie of yourself as a baby. It's you, but you don't recognize it as such. It would be much more intense if you could actually see a memory that someone had and not a movie.
Nice present. But then, Remus is a great guy.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed. This is actually one of my favorite chapters, the feeling of being in the park in summer is so pervasive through it. Hang on to your hat for Neville's reactions in the next chapter...

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/11/09 12:47
Chapter: Chapter 61 An Intimate Soirée

Went back and read the entire story again and found your huge hints as to who Simon Stevens was and that he was married to Professor Hooch. Both totally over my head the first time. And I'm pretty sure Remus has it figured out with his comment about the man setting his teeth on edge. He's alluded to that with Snape more than once.

Author's Response: It's always so easy to see it in retrospect. Glad to know that I was able to give you enough of a surprise the first time through, though.

Reviewer: MSWeezy
Date: 06/09/09 15:49
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Findings

k.

Author's Response: Glad you approve. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 06/07/09 14:36
Chapter: Chapter 61 An Intimate Soirée

Harry is just too cute.

And I don't know if I didn't read closely enough, but I didn't see the thing with Stevens. Not at all. I gasped out loud like it was super huge cliffhanger, lol. Maybe it's been too long since I've read the last few chapters.

Author's Response: Gasps are what make the world go round. Glad to know I caught you off guard, although I promise you I played it very fair. Have some other surprises coming up before the end that are a bit more obscure, but will definitely get the gasp factor!

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 06/07/09 14:21
Chapter: Chapter 60 Parlour Games

“Still, it seems so obvious in retrospect,” Harry explained. “All these months I’ve been so caught up in what I dreaded the future might hold, that I’ve allowed it to keep me from fully experiencing the present. It’s as if I’ve already handed Voldemort a partial victory by allowing him to darken my day-to-day existence. Granted, each new day carries an inherent risk, but isn’t it like that for all of us to some degree? Even though there are times when the risk seems disproportionate in my case, is that any reason to deny myself a bit of happiness in the meanwhile?”

Whoo-hoo!! I was cheering when I read this!! And I've been slacking, I admit, so I have no anticipation to read the next chapter, I'm about to read it now! :) Just wanted to say that those words coming from Harry were very satisfying.

Author's Response: Great to know that I was not the only one who felt that Harry really dropped the ball with Ginny at the end of HBP. It struck me as an immature action based on cowardice -- although, he had convinced himself he was being all brave and noble. If he was ever to grow into manhood, he needed to stand up for his own rights as well as accepting his destiny.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 06/06/09 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 61 An Intimate Soirée

You've outdone yourself yet again! The setup was perfect. I should have been paying more attention to Simon Stevens. And Professor Hooch! Now there's a surprise I didn't see coming. This has been an awesome chapter. I'm guessing Harry planned on McGonnagle and the Staff crashing the party with the express purpose of getting Ginny a dance with Snape, I mean Stevens. I somehow missed when Harry figured that one out also. And it certainly looks like Remus probably had it figured out. I am guessing at least a few Staff members know who Stevens really is and know he's innocent of really killing Dumbledore. Now I have to go back and look for all the other clues I missed. Such great stuff you write, and you certainly know how to keep your readers running in circles trying to figure out how you did that. My undying thanks for writing such wonderful stories.

Author's Response: *blushes* Thanks for all the accolades. I tried to be really fair with the clues, although I confess I intertwined them with other, less useful, facts. *giggles maniacally* Harry figures this one out off-camera, so to speak. The first time that he confesses it to the reader is in this chapter. More circles to come...

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 05/29/09 23:55
Chapter: Chapter 60 Parlour Games

And the light bulb goes on in Harry's mind! Keeping Ginny in the dark is never a good thing, she's much too intelligent. And at last he's figured out that happiness does not have to wait. That indeed the enemy is winning if you forgo happiness and love because it might get someone else hurt. Love and happiness are only tools to Voldy to be used against others, they have no meaning for him because he's never experienced either one. And letting him use them against you as Harry has done by denying himself the love and happiness Ginny could bring, serves no one but Voldy. Glad Harry's learned that lesson. And now he's starting on a new path that might just prove to be the one he should have been following all along. We shall see.

Author's Response: I hope Harry’s slow realization that his self-imposed martyrdom was the source of much unhappiness was a believable one. Obviously, JKR and I disagree on this issue.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 05/29/09 23:29
Chapter: Chapter 59 The Longest Night

How I missed reading this chapter previously totally escapes me. I watch very carefully for updates. Oh well, I've found it now.
Snape is definitely on the saving end at the moment. Good thing Sluggy is at Hogwarts or Harry might be a goner. Nah, that couldn't happen or your story would be fini. And that would be very bad. It's not going to be a quick or easy recovery, and I'm glad Hermione called Remus. He'll do any thing for Harry and luckily had the exact medicine needed. Doesn't surprise me that whatever it is can be used to counter bad side effects.Sounds like something Timothy Leary and friends could have used,lol.

Author's Response: Be glad that you were able to read the two chapters back-to-back as I’m sure the continuity was improved. Otherwise, there was a wait of about three weeks before the second chapter was posted. On other subjects, who’s to say that wizards don’t have recreational use just like all other segments of society? lol

Reviewer: pixie_love
Date: 05/14/09 16:34
Chapter: Chapter 59 The Longest Night

i love your story so much only the relationship between harry and ginny is a little confusing perhaps if there was a few more scenes with them that would be great just because i think the ginny situation is such a big part of harry and is factor he always consders when decision making -but the story is wonderfuland has a very original flair
signed the green-eyed girl x

Author's Response: Ginny's coming up in a big way in the next few chapters so I think you'll be pleased. Thanks for the compliments. I'm getting ready to submit the next chapter right now.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 05/07/09 21:34
Chapter: Chapter 58 Unlocking the Locket

Being forwarned by your chapter note I was expecting something bad to happen while they were destroying the Horcrux. Well it actually did happen then, Harry just took awhile to realize something was wrong.
I like the ingenious ways you came up with to destroy all the Horcruxes. And hopefully that was the last one. I know you answered that question, I just don't remember the answer at the moment.
So now we're ready for all out war and defeat of Voldy & Co? I'm guessing there are a few more twists and turns in your imaginative and devious mind before we get to the final battle. Will that battle end the story? Are you thinking of doing any postwar stories? I hope so, 'cause I like reading your stuff.

Author's Response: This is the final Horcrux. Thanks to your comments, I revised my chapter notes to make that clearer and to keep from giving so much away upfront. Am in the middle of writing a post-war "seven years after" story that caps both the tales that I have written for Mugglenet and ties up most of those perky loose ends. However, it contains all manner of spoilers so I will have to wait until I finish posting the ending to this story (dust settles) before I can submit it.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 05/07/09 18:20
Chapter: Chapter 58 Unlocking the Locket

Oh!! Cliffie!! :)

Author's Response: Hopefully, the wait won't be too long... I uploaded the next chapter this past Friday.

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 05/03/09 21:31
Chapter: Chapter 57 Infiltration

Ohhh, we're getting close! I bet Snape doesn't like receiving information from Harry like that, lol! But I love the character development and the relationship between the two of them, and the way that Harry's feelings have changed, evidenced in his essay in the previous chapter.

The scenes between others - the McGonagall/Lupin scene, the scenes in this chapter with Hermione/Ron in Filch's office - are little refreshing bits to read in addition to Harry's parts.

Now that the last Horcrux is close, what will happen? Will they finally venture outside of the school? Or will they lure Voldemort to them? For the safety of their fellow students, and with Harry's hero complex, I would assume that unless circumstances forced him to do otherwise, he would go looking for Voldemort if possible. The new twists in this story would be: Does he involve Snape's help in planning his downfall? And what about Ginny? Does he tell her what is about to happen, if he might never see her again? Because if he takes that route....she will (hopefully!) fight to come with him, or at least be strong for him. Or will he just...leave? And what about Lupin, after the progression of their relationship this past year?

Can't wait to see where the story goes! I'm glad you've stuck with this massive masterpiece, and I will read until the end!

Author's Response: Thanks for the glowing encouragement. Even though the main part of the story is being told from Harry’s shoes, there will definitely be more short changes in point of view. Most notably, we’ll have short scenes from Snape’s and Pettigrew’s perspective. Don’t count that last Horcrux as destroyed just yet as you’ll see in the chapter that I’m uploading this afternoon. Lots of twists and turns to come, subplots (such as relationship with Ginny) to shore up, etc. Lupin has definite plans for Harry as you will begin to see in the next chapter as well. We’re not as close to the last slippery slope as you may think.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 05/03/09 20:44
Chapter: Chapter 57 Infiltration

Very interesting. Maybe they could come up with a way to tell Remus and Minerva that Umbridge is a DE. If the locket is the last material Horcrux they should be able to go after Voldy now. There is the question I can't remember asking, Is Harry still a Horcrux? And does that mean the final battle between Voldy and Harry will need to be similar to that of the series?
I like the way they went through Filch's office. I can see Ron going back and removing items that he thinks would be useful to him. Maybe ask Fred & George if there's anything they'd like back, lol?
Peeves is very helpful now and then, even when he doesn't know it.

Author's Response: Harry is definitely not a Horcrux in this tale. It seemed obvious to me that JKR was going to take that path and I was determined that my tale would do it differently. The Horcrux created on the night that Harry’s parents died was the photo album. Not that I don’t have other surprises in store, mind you…. Harry’s been dying to confide in Remus since he found out he was their new Head of House at the start of the tale, he just has to find a way to do it that won’t betray his promise to Dumbledore. I think that Fred and George wouldn’t quibble and simply take everything in Filch’s office.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
MIT: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
Through the Mines by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Tom Riddle remarks on the power he held while at the orphanage and at school.Written...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES