Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For A Summer Thing

Name: avaantonia (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 22:49 · For: A Summer Thing
i like this a lot. it was really good.

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: Phoenix13 (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 22:09 · For: A Summer Thing
This was a very well-written piece. I was a bit confused as to what Olivia was. Is she a Muggle? A Squib? A witch who attends a different school?
Honestly, I was a bit apprehensive to read something that wasn't James/Lily, but you wrote this really well. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! I picture Olivia going to a different school. Since it's her grandmother's house (she comes to), she can really be from anywhere.


Name: acciomagic (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 6:56 · For: A Summer Thing
Really nice. A good read!

Author's Response: thanks!


Name: DracosBaby_232 (Signed) · Date: 04/16/08 12:22 · For: A Summer Thing
Wow... that is rally amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: DivineQuill (Signed) · Date: 04/14/08 17:54 · For: A Summer Thing
This story took my breath away. The imagery was absolutely astonishing and the plot was so relatable and...real. The way you ended it was perfect - bittersweet, but with a hope for the future. There is only one critique I have which is in these two sentences: It is the same curiosity that has burned inside of Olivia all year. She couldn’t stop thinking of him all year. The use of all year twice sort of sent up a little red flag in my mind. I realize repetition is often used to enhance one's writing (it is something I use a lot!) but it didn't really work here. Just a little thing though, don't mind me! The entire story was great! I have one question, though. Why did Olivia not go to Hogwarts? She obviously knew about magic...her mother sent her an owl, and James mentioned Hogwarts to her on several occasions. Did she go to another school like Beaxbatons? Was she a Squib? I assumed that it was one of these things as I was reading, but I just wanted to confirm. You are very talented and I have read many of your other fics as well and they are all fantasic!

Author's Response: Ahh, I'll fix that. I don't like the way that sounds either. Thank you! I'm glad you liked the story. As for Olivia, she's a witch but she doesn't attend Hogwarts. I see her attending a small school taught by local witches and wizards in her area. Something of that sort, at least. :]


Name: Calico (Signed) · Date: 04/14/08 17:00 · For: A Summer Thing
Your story is amazing, and surprising in a good way. But it was also terribly sad. I really liked your take on the mixing of the muggle and wizarding worlds and how difficult it is for a relationship that spans both to be sustained. I hope you keep writing - if you do, I'll definitely keep reviewing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I look forward to your reviews ;)


Name: Prongsies_Girl_93 (Signed) · Date: 04/13/08 23:06 · For: A Summer Thing
Aw, that's so sad... It's a really good story tho!

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: beauty and brains (Signed) · Date: 04/13/08 18:33 · For: A Summer Thing
Well done! This was definitely something different for me to read, and yet incredibly refreshing. It reminded me of the normal lives our beloved characters must lead away from school, and just how extraordinarily similar they are to ours. Summer flings are something so many people do experience, and bringing that into the Harry Potter world was wonderful to read.

The realism with which you created Olivia was amazing, because she showed just how difficult parting with one's past, summer crush, and childhood is. I liked how the setting you chose played that theme up nicely.

I only noticed one tiny error, and that was in the second to last paragraph, it is written she notices that it isn’t the path he usually take. I think the take needs an s on the end of it.

Once again, great job! It was a fantastic read.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *Runs to fix the mistake*


Name: Willow the Wisp (Signed) · Date: 04/13/08 16:29 · For: A Summer Thing
That was a very nice story. You have unique writing style that I don't see very often. It definitly played into the intimacy of this story. I felt something. Good Job :)

Author's Response: Thank you!


You must login (register) to review.