Reviewer: Calilover
Date: 09/25/08 21:09
Chapter: Chapter Six: How Not To Hide A Relationship With Your Supposed Enemy

they are so adorable!!!! and what is up the weasley/potter clans butt? seriously...they need to get over themselves. but i totally love the story

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: ilvdolphins
Date: 09/24/08 11:11
Chapter: Chapter Six: How Not To Hide A Relationship With Your Supposed Enemy

I loved this chapter and the great ending! This was my first Scorpius/Rose fic, and I love it. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'll update as soon as the queue opens again.

Reviewer: LilyflowernProngs
Date: 09/08/08 22:03
Chapter: Chapter Six: How Not To Hide A Relationship With Your Supposed Enemy

Hey!
I used to not like the whole Scorpius/Rose thing. Too much tension, family hatred ect. But because of you and your story I'm a Scorpius/ Rose convert! But I still like James/Lily stories more so keep writing yours.
your fan,
LilyflowernProngs

Author's Response: Thank you! What a lovely review. I'm very glad I've converted you. I am still writing Lily/James - have you read my fic Love Is Just Hate With A Smile? There should be a new chapter of that up soon. Thanks again!

Reviewer: supplyman
Date: 09/08/08 14:20
Chapter: Chapter One: The Book That Changed Everything

oh its my second review - shows how much of a nerd i am =]]

Your story is getting even better matey.
Keep it up =]]
I enjoyed it very much.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

Reviewer: cat and otter
Date: 09/06/08 8:59
Chapter: Chapter Six: How Not To Hide A Relationship With Your Supposed Enemy

Awww, I really enjoyed that. It had a great ending- very funny- and I can't wait for the next chapter. Keep up the good work, and thank you so much for writing this- I really enjoy reading it!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate the kind comments. :)

Reviewer: PeaceLovePotter
Date: 08/27/08 21:53
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Wow this is good! I love the whole scorpius/rose romance cause it's sort of like hermione/draco but it's not as weird, sooo I can't wait until the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: MerrryD
Date: 08/23/08 20:25
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Jen! -squishes- I can't believe how long it's taken me to read this. :o

Itty bitty nitpickies:

Rose had never quite mastered the use of household spells.

And she shouldn't be using them if she's not seventeen yet. Maybe say something like 'She'd have to get someone else to clean it or she'd end up doing it Muggle-style.'

At that moment, all she wanted was Scorpius’s words, not his gifts.

There's only one gift.

/nitpicks

As he turned away, Rose muttered under her breath, ‘Sleep well tonight, Potter.’

meheheheh. I would have loved it if there was a thought or two about what she was going to do to him. :)

Hagrid came to the Burrow for lunch, and left a few hours later, but not before he had drank far too much and broken two chairs.

-giggles- I love this line.

You have no idea how much it will help me, when I’m miles away from everyone who gives a damn about me. And when I think about it, there’s only you who does.

Aww. Poor Scorpius. I want to hug him.

She unwrapped it carefully, trying not to rip the paper, like she always did.

-smiles- I do this too.

I thought your copy looked a little worn.

I like them worn! It makes them feel loved and it just adds to the whole reading experience. I like new books too though...

‘I won’t want to go to your wedding, if you’re marrying him!’

OH. MY. GOD. I was so not expecting that. Damn. I...I'm at a loss for words. I really can't believe he said that. I mean, it's Ron, but still.... What an arse.

Some Random thoughts -->

I'm very impressed. I think this is your best chapter yet. It's definitely my favourite, even though there's tactless!Ron. ;) Your writing has gotten a lot more vivid as the story goes on and I can really see everything playing out in my head. I like the little details like Rose ruffling Lucy's hair and James carrying Lucy on his shoulders and then dumping her on the bed and such. They really make this chapter.

The beginning was great. It just felt incredibly chaotic and busy; I could imagine a bunch of people running around trying to prep for a big holiday meal. I also like how you explained about the additions to the house.

Fred in the conversation over dinner was hilarious! I felt bad for Rose though. :( Albus... I don't know. It was pretty typical, I guess. I could see it coming... I love Lily. She's my favourite, hands down.

Scorpius's letter was so sweet. It made my gushy, romantic heart melt. And my empathic soul wail with sympathy.

heheheh. The cousins reactions were so family-like. ha. They were spot on. And Ron. Oh, Ron. I'm not even going to start on Ron. lol. It was perfect, just in a horrible way. Hermione was more understanding and so were Harry and Ginny, which was good and just like I thought. :)

Fabulous chapter, hon!

-huggles-

Peace out.

-Mere

Author's Response: *squishes Mere* It's been a while since I got such a lovely, thoughtful review. I took note of your nitpicks - although, with the first I assumed that Rose had been taught at least a few household spells in Charms or something (or, being Hermione's daughter, she may have taken it upon herself to learn them). And Scorpius' 'gifts' was just a generalisation - I did that on purpose. It was referring to any and all gifts he may give her. :) Thank you so much for all your lovely comments as well. This review has made my day! *squishes again -Jen

Reviewer: cat and otter
Date: 08/08/08 14:21
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Another great chapter! "I AM being reasonable!’ Ron shouted" was definitely my favourite bit- it sounded so much like something Ron would say! Please update soon; I'm really enjoying this, and it ended on a cliffie. Well done, and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I will try to update soon. :)

Reviewer: cullen8
Date: 07/25/08 20:40
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Sorry I waited until the lasted chapter (the 5th since that's all that's been posted thus far) to review but I read it all in one sitting and I just couldn't stop!! IT WAS AMAZING!! I love your characters, plot, everything is just wonderful. I feel as if I'm floating above Rosie's head and watching everything happen around her. I'm very attached to "your" Rose and Scorpius.

I'm guessing that Harry is a bit more understanding about Rosie's situation and I bet that will come into play in the next chapter. The only way I can know for sure though is if you update (*nudge, nudge, wink, wink*) lol.

Keep updating. I can't wait to hear more about the lovely Rose and the wonderfully intricate character named Scorpius!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! What a lovely review. I'm very glad you like it. I'm quite attached to my Rose and Scorpius, too. *smiles* Anyway, I won't spoil the next chapter for you. But it should be updated soon. Thank you once more for the wonderful comments!

Reviewer: Allie_Hahn
Date: 07/15/08 16:22
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

i hope that theres another chapter coming because i can't wait to read what happens next :)

Author's Response: There is another chapter coming, don't worry! Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewer: supplyman
Date: 07/12/08 15:42
Chapter: Chapter One: The Book That Changed Everything

I really enjoyed this matey.
Except i always get confused between the cousins - but thats because i'm a fool.
Keep it up matey.

Author's Response: I sometimes get confused between them too, so don't worry. :D Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Lucky_13_Girl
Date: 07/11/08 14:34
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

I really like this! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: MysticalMayhem
Date: 07/11/08 14:03
Chapter: Chapter One: The Book That Changed Everything

I love this fic....can't believe i have to wait till October :( Awesome job, keep up the good work.

Author's Response: It might be sooner. You never know. :] Thank you for your kind words!

Reviewer: Ravenlily
Date: 07/10/08 22:09
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

its great keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks! And I will.

Reviewer: MissHufflepuff
Date: 07/10/08 21:22
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

This was awesome but now I'm sad because your author page says you're on hiatus until October which means I have to wait that long to find out what happens next. This is a cruel cruel punishment. I would threaten to hold my breath until than but than I'd pass out and that's not good. So I'm just going to cross my fingers and hope that it's just a mistake and you'll update soon.

Author's Response: Well, I actually posted this during my hiatus, so it might not be as bad as you think. I don't have immediate plans to update soon, though. But thanks for the review!

Reviewer: SnowyHedwig112
Date: 07/10/08 14:37
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Oooh, and now it gets more dramatic and exciting! I like where this is going, though I'm suprised that Ginny and Harry seem so very...well, displeased with it. Well, never mind, I'm getting my stuff confused. Harry and Hermione were always the more level-headed about things like this, I suppose, and the Weasley temper....well, let's not talk about that.

Great job, and update soon!

~Kathy

Author's Response: I don't actually think Harry's overly displeased with it. But I won't say too much, because it'll give away the next chapter. XD Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: eragonlvr112
Date: 07/10/08 14:32
Chapter: Chapter Five: A Very Un-Merry Christmas

Cliffie! Well, sorta, but nice! Awesome story though, and great climax (sorta i guess, really wouldn't go under that headline, would it?) at the end of this chapter, brilliant!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm flattered you think it's awesome. :]

Reviewer: draco_obsessive15
Date: 06/23/08 13:05
Chapter: Chapter Four: You're Dating Who?

OMG!! Ur story is f****** awesome. please write more ASAP!!

Author's Response: Thank you, and I will try to write more when I have some spare time. :]

Reviewer: Indigoenigma
Date: 06/10/08 22:18
Chapter: Chapter Two: Of Quidditch And A Certain Slytherin

Jen!

*squish*

Hello, my dearest SPEW buddy!

This was a lovely chapter. (Do note that I am reviewing the second chapter, not the most recent one).

I particularly enjoyed your writing style; everything flowed fairly effortlessly and at a nice, quick pace. I didn’t feel the need (not that I would ever do that when reading >.>) to skip sections or merely skim in order to get to the “more interesting” parts.

Rose blushed, and bent over her textbook, pretending to read. Albus and Anna exchanged a quizzical look, neither of them having seen the Slytherin wink at her.

Excellent description, there. You set the scene quite nicely with a minimum of words. I could really envision Rose, blushing behind her schoolbook as the adorable (pardon me) Scorpius winked. A lovely image.

What was really fun for me while reading was comparing your characterization of Scorpius to the rather different characterization that I had even him earlier. “Your” Scorpius (Rose’s, actually) seems quite a lot more sensitive and perhaps slightly younger than mine. I think he fits “your” Rose better than “my” Scorpius.

One of the things that stood out for me about Scorpius was his ability to be somewhat sly. He reminds me of his father with those rather snake-like characteristics. That quick wink sort of demonstrates his more cunning, shall we say, nature. On that note, another similarity between him and his father was that they were both Seeker on the Slytherin House team! Runs in the family, eh? I think that you should perhaps be a little more careful when doling out traits to the next generation characters. In my opinion, there really shouldn’t be too many parallels between Harry’s generation and his children’s. I certainly have noted the differences (since when did Draco read Pride and Prejudice?), but I think that there should be a tad more caution with their characters, especially with regards to quidditch.

Ah, Rose has quite the personality. She reminds me a bit of her father – hot temper and a certain reluctance to share feelings with others (be they friends or…Scorpius). Rose does, though, remind me of her mother. Now, Hermione probably wouldn’t have made that error in Potions, but Rose certainly did. I like the fact that she isn’t a mirror image of her mother or father – she has a nicely blended character.

The prejudice that still exists between the Malfoys and Weasleys seems just as strong as it was when Harry was in school. That was a very interesting touch. It’s not surprising to me, though, that Ron probably hasn’t let his old hatred fade, despite the fact that the Malfoys have probably made public apologies and offered some excuse for supporting Voldmort. I’m interested to see how much of that prejudice Rose (I very nearly typed ‘Juliet’) holds as the relationship between her and Scorpius grows. Also, it just dawned on me that, as this is a ‘Romeo-and-Juliet-ish’ story, the hatred between the two families has to be pretty strong.

I do hope, though, that you don’t go around murdering your characters; I’ve grown rather fond of them.

Overall, I thought that this was an excellent chapter. Your characterization was well-done, your writing style flowed well, and the plot moved at a nice clip. I’m very interested to continue reading and see where you take this.

~Kelly

Author's Response: *squishes* What a fabulous review, Kelly! Thank you so much for all your comments. I'm thrilled that you like my characterisation of Scorpius. I tried so hard to make him a Slytherin, and a Malfoy, but still likeable. I see what you're saying about the Quidditch teams, it's been mentioned a lot. I began this story on a whim, and there are several things that I would change if I rewrote it now, but it's just too much work now! ^_^ And I won't murder my characters, dear, so no need to worry. :] Thank you so much!

Reviewer: MerrryD
Date: 06/07/08 17:08
Chapter: Chapter Four: You're Dating Who?

JEN! *squishes* You updated! Yay!

There was one formatting error that I noticed:

‘I have to talk to you, Al,’ Rose said, sitting down cross-legged on the end of his bed. ‘Alone.’

The last part of this was said with an obvious stare at Ben. He didn’t seem to notice, and simply flashed Rose a grin.


I think you hit 'enter' three times after the first sentence instead of just twice. :)

Rose span around in surprise.

Um... I think you meant "spun." I looked up span and it basically means to 1) measure with the hands, 2) to encircle with the hands, 3) to extend over, or 4) to provide with something that extends over.

No more nitpicks. :)

...and I don’t quite fancy having James Potter find out what I’m doing with his baby cousin.’

Don't worry Rose, I laughed too. ;)

James would kill Scorpius if he discovered them, as would Fred, Albus, Hugo, her dad, most of her uncles (if not all), her grandfather, and probably Roxanne too.

I laughed here too. All these males and then Roxanne. teehee.

‘When everything is going wrong, laugh. The world seems a lot better when you’re smiling.’

This is a very grandmother-ly thing to say. It's also a very wise and nice sentiment. I like it.

Unfortunately for Rose, Benjamin Parsons was also in there, doing his homework.

I like how you have Ben cropping up for a few lines every chapter. So many fanfiction authors don't have any minor characters, it's either a major character or the character isn't there at all. Good job in keeping the minor characters alive!

At least it’s not Parsons—

I agree Albus, he is annoying. :p

I’m great, Winky

WINKY!! :D I love her (well, all house-elfs really)! I'm glad that she's moved on and is now a happy house-elf.

'You’re so beautiful,’ he murmured.

Aww. This whole paragraph was really sweet and cute and nice. It made me want to have a boyfriend to hold me like that.

I just don’t know if I can ruin their Christmas like that.

Ouch! She is right though... The Weasley's and the Potter's are just as prejudice, if not more, than the Malfoy's. -sighs sadly- 'Tis the story of the world. 'It's okay if I'm prejudice because I'm only prejudice against the bad guys and everyone associated with them.' >.< Grr.

Okay. Sorry. Back to your story (which is excellent, by the way).

It did strike her as a little hypocritical of him to not want his family to know, but Rose decided to let it slide for the time being.

I do understand him though. The Weasley/Potter clan will probably be a lot more accepting and welcoming than the Malfoys, once they get over that inital shock.

‘Yeah, I remember Dad mentioning it once,’ Scorpius said.

In a story that included flying mud? heeheehee.

After waking up the Fat Lady...

Didn't Mrs. Weasley say something about coming back late from a date? Like mother, like daughter.

Great chapter! I can't wait for the next one!

-huggles-

-Mere

Author's Response: Aw! Thanks, Mere! Your comments all made me smile. I love reviews like this. I'll fix the nitpicks as soon as I get some spare time. *hugs* Thanks again!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES