MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: dandy_like_a_lion (Signed) · Date: 12/05/10 13:35 · For: Chapter 17- Dirty Old Town
lmao! awesome chapter! especially the bit about vernon's hair!!!! bahahahaha!

Name: Minerva67 (Signed) · Date: 12/01/10 21:30 · For: Chapter 1- The End of the World
An early christmas present------an update, and with some new twists to the plot!
A different view of Tobias Snape, secretly proud of his son. And a completely new direction for Severus. He and James & Remus will have to learn how to work together now. Where will the plot go next? I can appreciate your working hard to turn the plot in a new direction with a "reformed' Severus who has to redouble his efforts to just stay alive in Slytherin house. Looking forward to your next update.

Name: kittyunderscore (Signed) · Date: 11/29/10 6:14 · For: Chapter 17- Dirty Old Town
Ah, brilliant! I always thought if they made James Head Boy, they must have had a serious dearth of other options. Making Severus a prefect is perfect. (pardon that pun.) I think your fic is brilliant, and love your updates no matter HOW far apart they are!

Name: Youaresoreal (Signed) · Date: 11/27/10 10:26 · For: Chapter 17- Dirty Old Town
A wonderful chapter. I kept checking for an update, and here it was!
My fav. parts:
-"Brags about you all the time? Did they have the right person? Severus’s father thought he was a good-for-nothing and a freak."
That was very touching. And again, if he hadn't decided on doing the good thing and bring him his lunch, he could never find out that his father was proud of him.

-“Enough,” the elder Snape growled"-Woah, it sounded like when Snape said "Enough" to Harry after he had seen his worst memory in the pensive ( in the movie that is) Now I guess, it's his father's expression. Or maybe I'm thinking into it too much?

-"and at that particular moment, he loved her so much that he could hardly breathe" Awwwww O.k I just melted into a puddle of Snape induced goo...

-“It’s entirely black,” “Like my heart"- Oh yeah. :)

-"all so bloody fond of each other -- if he hadn’t envied it so much, he would undoubtedly have found it disgusting."
Snide thoughts and that piece of thinking about Lily's Mom as a Muggle is great stuff. Believable.
Thank you. Can't wait for more.

Name: sarcasticval (Signed) · Date: 11/26/10 15:27 · For: Chapter 17- Dirty Old Town
So this morning I visited your fic with the intention of rereading my favorite parts (a rather frequent pastime, I must admit) and lo and behold, imagine my joy when I discovered a new chapter! I may have even squealed a bit.

I've said it before (though not recently--I've been a bit lax in reviewing, I'm afraid) and I'll say it again, I adore the way you write young!Snape. He's not a villain but he's also not a hero, and while he's trying to make positive changes in his life, the going is tough. Between the examination of his relationship with Lily and his observations about her mother's muggle status I think you do a nice job of reminding your audience of this.

I also love how your Severus is fairly well-versed in all things muggle--the music, the pop culture references, the fashion. Because he *would* be given his background, and so few people touch on that detail. I can't wait for Mary to catch him in the act one day.

And finally, words cannot describe how much I love, love, LOVE the ending line of this chapter. I literally laughed out loud, the setup was that awesome. Poor Severus, this can only end in tears. Or copious amounts of frustration. Though I wonder how he wound up with the position. Might Llewellyn have had any say in the matter? Hmmmmmm.

All in all, a fantastic chapter. I eagerly await more.

Name: dandy_like_a_lion (Signed) · Date: 11/19/10 20:31 · For: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell
Excellent, more please :)

Name: Youaresoreal (Signed) · Date: 11/11/10 14:12 · For: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell
I love you. Seriously. You have no idea. This story is beyond any kind of expectations I thought I had when I began looking for a decent fanfic about Sev. He always was my favorite character. And you can never get enough of him, obviously. I have just finished reading the Deathly Hallows.
So, the second fanfic I have found was yours, and I'm kind of sure, that there can be nothing better than this awesomness. What I loved most was:
Snape-the way you wrote his character, he's not entirely unevil, I mean he's still very Snapish and has a lot of low self esteem issues And it's good you make him so weak and damaged sometimes, because that way he still can be the anti-hero. Please keep him that way!! It's good when you mention he has a dirty hair, and a big nose and that he's not very attractive in general, and when Potter is saying horrible stuff about him. (and then we hear Sevs. great, clever answers!!! )
Thank you for being such as smart person, so inevitably your Snape is as witty and sarcastic and intelligent as he should be. (Btw, great stuff about him doing a research on dark magic)
I loved the idea of him reforming himself at this early stage, by this preventing a disaster. I hope that in your story it will be a happy ending. ( With a lot of angst. and suffering on the way) I hope that Snape will fight against Voldemort, and will become a spy for Dumbledore.
I must say, that although most of this story was thorougly amazing, with it's interesting and in depth written characters and even a great plot! the best part for me was the Waltz rehealsal scene. That was very deep and intense. Sev. was like a totally real, living person to me at this scene. For some reason I think it was brilliant!.
Please write more!! Soon!!
And please more almost kissing scenes:)

Name: Minerva67 (Signed) · Date: 10/23/10 15:32 · For: Chapter 1- The End of the World
Good----another update. This seems to happen when I have been away from a computer. Hope that you don't wait until my next trip out of town to post the next chapter.
Good explanation about Llewellyn, a wizard version of AIDS, fits with the time period.
I try not to get involved with uncompleted stories because I can't just go on to the next chapter to find out what happens next. It can be chancy starting to post chapters before the story is completed. For example, author finds that more groundwork should have been provided for change in a character's motivations or attitudes, or for plot twists. Also a real chance that certain characters or subplots go nowhere. You have superbly avoided these pitfalls. yours is the best story I am reading on this site. I hope that you continue this fic. You are a skilled writer and I hope that you continue as a professional. Waiting for the next chapter!

Name: jkjim (Signed) · Date: 10/12/10 9:56 · For: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell
Good chapter. Thanks for finally explaining Llewellyn's secret. The flirting thing between Snape and Lily is interesting.

PS. Forget the Cupicabre. If you don't update more frequently I'll send the dogs. And not just any dogs. The dogs with bees in their mouths so that when they bark they spit bees at you.

Name: Sariana (Signed) · Date: 10/11/10 18:45 · For: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell
Oh, yay! A great update! I don't have time to write more right now, but I liked this chapter a lot. I'm so glad to get more info about Llewellyn.

Name: Coloredbleach (Signed) · Date: 09/21/10 16:37 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
Oh, if I only had the words for how much I adore this story. This. This is just an amazing fic the likes of which I didn't even think existed for Sev/Lily (such a small fandom as it is).

I cannot tell you how glad I am that I was wrong. This fic is such a joy to read, as you have developed Sev’s character so well. One part of his characterization I really love, is that it was he who realized his mistakes and his problems and tried to correct them. It bugs me that many fics (on ff.net at least) try to portray Lily as the one responsible for keeping Severus from becoming a Death Eater. It’s very refreshing to see Lily act as a independent, if not a bit headstrong, female who knows when a friendship has become toxic for her.

It’s been awhile since your last update, but you’ve been working on this story for a long time so I have hope that you’ll complete it. Great work on writing such an realistic, witty fic. It’s an absolute pleasure to read!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like it, and I should be updating it again soon, hopefully within the next week or so. I've been writing this forever. :) I started this after reading a quote in an interview with JKR in which she said that Lily could have fallen for Severus if he hadn't been drawn to such Dark pursuits and companions-- and I don't think that Lily could honestly have had any attraction to him at all if he hadn't turned away from those things. We know he did eventually reject them in the canon-- and we know that nonetheless, he was still attracted by them even as late as Harry's 6th year, just from the way he teaches Defence Against the Dark Arts. I think that he would always be torn, but that Lily would be reason enough to keep trying. I just wrote his epiphany a few years earlier than JKR officially has it, and I've been trying to figure out since then what his life would look like with this realization coming a few years younger. Anyway, thank you again! More soon. :)

Name: Lingualatina (Signed) · Date: 09/11/10 12:05 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
Please update soon!!!

Author's Response: I'm working on it! Hopefully within a week. :)

Name: Lingualatina (Signed) · Date: 07/31/10 10:04 · For: Chapter 1- The End of the World
I love this story so much that I just made an account specifically to review this. It's as if your writing exists just for me! I am OBSESSED with this story! I always loved Snape and Lily - not in a very romantic way, at least on Lily's part, and this story was PERFECT! I love Lily's ignoring of Sev and I love Mary's character, and I love how both Lily and Sev are so witty! You have developed them so well and you write in a manner reflective of JK - I feel like I am reading a novel and not a fanfiction! (and I am really really really jealous of your writing but am enjoying this story too much to feel upset about it) Whenever I find I good Lily/Sev fanfiction, something always ruins it (such as them reuniting) but surprisingly, this one hasn't so far! I even loved their reuniting and I am itching for more! Please update!

Author's Response: Thank you again (I'm just getting back to the reviews after a few months of being flaky, so I've read both of yours in the one day)-- and I know what you mean about the Severus/Lily relationship being more interesting if they are kept apart to some degree, I suppose. They are so different that I can't imagine some simplistic ending for them with a storybook romance or something along those lines, so don't worry, I won't be writing anything like that. :) I keep trying to be true to their characters-- and quite honestly, I'm still trying myself to figure out where that leads. I should have another update soon, and thanks so much for your patience.

Name: secretsnapelover (Signed) · Date: 07/22/10 1:36 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
what a GREAT story! had my eyes glued to it all to the very end. very compelling; had a definite air of some slight Rowling quality to it; i could see your characters reflect hers.

Author's Response: I'm trying to get my characters to reflect hers, so thank you! :) Sometimes I read fanfiction that seems more like a different series entirely, or something out of a romance novel or someone's dark imagination. I was trying to keep the tone of her books-- just a bit more Snape-ish, I guess. :)

Name: SilverLily_13 (Signed) · Date: 06/15/10 21:30 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
I love love LOVE this story. I've been with this since the beginning, and then I fell behind with the reading.... Anyway, I'm not sure if I've commented on previous chapters, but this is absolutely brilliant. (I know this last chapter was written forever ago, too, but... I did fall behind!)

I'm so happy you wrote this. I love how Sev is SMART and witty, and you have a very extensive vocabulary. :) This is probably one of my favorite fics ever, so please keep on writing!!

The depth you give all these characters is so believable, they have more than one layer to every emotion. You give them a lot of thoughts that really help narrate the story in an intriguing way, and they are all very dynamic characters, too! Even the OCs, who usually are very hard to connect with, but I love Mary in this story--funny and charming girl, I can tell she really loves Sev and Lily.

Can't wait for another chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a kind review. :) I am trying to keep up with this, but one beta has disappeared off the face of the earth, and the other is looking at the next chapter right now. I have to admit that I'm a bit stuck on their 7th year-- I'm having a much easier time writing their post-Hogwarts life than their last year as students. But I'm still working away at it. I'm glad you like the character of Mary-- I thought a story that was all Severus, Lily, and the Marauders might get a bit predictable. :)

Name: haydensnape (Signed) · Date: 06/13/10 20:23 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
This is absolutely brilliant. One of my favorite fics I've ever read. Completely realistic, Severus is totally in character. Lily is such a refreshing character, as well, not totally perfect like Severus sees her as, but a very kind person all the same. You are a very talented writer, is this seriously your first fanfiction? I find that hard to believe. Again, I really love this fic and can't wait for the next chapter! I have a feeling though, if it keeps with canon, the Sev/Lily friendship will fall apart again. Sad, but....*sigh* Of course, I hope that doesn't happen, but still. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much-- it's good to know that he still seems to be in character when I'm taking his character in such a different direction from the actual canon story. And Lily is a challenge also, but an enjoyable one. This is my first fanfiction-- I wrote "The Knick Knack" when I was two chapters into this one, so that is technically my second and this is my first-- but I've been at this one for ages now, so it hardly seems like I'm new at it anymore. :) I'm just waiting for my beta to look over the next chapter, and I hope to have it up shortly.

Name: xDominoe (Signed) · Date: 06/13/10 15:06 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
One of the best fanfictions I've read, in terms of content, canonic accuracy, and grammar. : D

Now I know why there aren't many good fanfics on ff.net - they're all here. xD

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- it's a great story to work from thanks to JKR, and I have a wonderful beta to make sure the grammar is fairly close to impeccable. :) I haven't really read anything on ff.net because I found MNFF first-- but thank you for the compliment! Believe it or not, I am still working on this-- just slowly.

Name: BlackBunny1991 (Signed) · Date: 05/12/10 0:19 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
I love it!! Favorite fan fiction, please write more! When will the next chapter be up??

Author's Response: I would have liked to have had the next chapter up months ago, but I have been so busy, and it's also something of a transition and not that easy to write. Thanks so much for your patience!!! Just wanted to let you know that I hadn't stopped writing it-- I'm just slow in getting a new chapter out.

Name: chikako (Signed) · Date: 04/27/10 20:37 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
eh????! omg you updated...a month ago!!! how in the world did i not realize?! why the heck didnt i get an email saying this was updated?!! *pouts* yayay they got back together! XD ^_________^

Author's Response: Sorry the next chapter is taking me so long! I'm working on it. Thanks for continuing to read this-- I know it's taking forever. :)

Name: Phoebe_ (Signed) · Date: 04/23/10 14:18 · For: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions
I loved it. It's great they're talking again. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- took long enough. :) Now to write the next part of the story.

You must login (register) to review.