Reviewer: Minerva67
Date: 10/23/10 15:32
Chapter: Chapter 1- The End of the World

Good----another update. This seems to happen when I have been away from a computer. Hope that you don't wait until my next trip out of town to post the next chapter.
Good explanation about Llewellyn, a wizard version of AIDS, fits with the time period.
I try not to get involved with uncompleted stories because I can't just go on to the next chapter to find out what happens next. It can be chancy starting to post chapters before the story is completed. For example, author finds that more groundwork should have been provided for change in a character's motivations or attitudes, or for plot twists. Also a real chance that certain characters or subplots go nowhere. You have superbly avoided these pitfalls. yours is the best story I am reading on this site. I hope that you continue this fic. You are a skilled writer and I hope that you continue as a professional. Waiting for the next chapter!

Reviewer: jkjim
Date: 10/12/10 9:56
Chapter: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell

Good chapter. Thanks for finally explaining Llewellyn's secret. The flirting thing between Snape and Lily is interesting.

PS. Forget the Cupicabre. If you don't update more frequently I'll send the dogs. And not just any dogs. The dogs with bees in their mouths so that when they bark they spit bees at you.

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 10/11/10 18:45
Chapter: Chapter 16- Hail and Farewell

Oh, yay! A great update! I don't have time to write more right now, but I liked this chapter a lot. I'm so glad to get more info about Llewellyn.

Reviewer: Coloredbleach
Date: 09/21/10 16:37
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Oh, if I only had the words for how much I adore this story. This. This is just an amazing fic the likes of which I didn't even think existed for Sev/Lily (such a small fandom as it is).

I cannot tell you how glad I am that I was wrong. This fic is such a joy to read, as you have developed Sev’s character so well. One part of his characterization I really love, is that it was he who realized his mistakes and his problems and tried to correct them. It bugs me that many fics (on ff.net at least) try to portray Lily as the one responsible for keeping Severus from becoming a Death Eater. It’s very refreshing to see Lily act as a independent, if not a bit headstrong, female who knows when a friendship has become toxic for her.

It’s been awhile since your last update, but you’ve been working on this story for a long time so I have hope that you’ll complete it. Great work on writing such an realistic, witty fic. It’s an absolute pleasure to read!

Author's Response: I'm really glad you like it, and I should be updating it again soon, hopefully within the next week or so. I've been writing this forever. :) I started this after reading a quote in an interview with JKR in which she said that Lily could have fallen for Severus if he hadn't been drawn to such Dark pursuits and companions-- and I don't think that Lily could honestly have had any attraction to him at all if he hadn't turned away from those things. We know he did eventually reject them in the canon-- and we know that nonetheless, he was still attracted by them even as late as Harry's 6th year, just from the way he teaches Defence Against the Dark Arts. I think that he would always be torn, but that Lily would be reason enough to keep trying. I just wrote his epiphany a few years earlier than JKR officially has it, and I've been trying to figure out since then what his life would look like with this realization coming a few years younger. Anyway, thank you again! More soon. :)

Reviewer: Lingualatina
Date: 09/11/10 12:05
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Please update soon!!!

Author's Response: I'm working on it! Hopefully within a week. :)

Reviewer: Lingualatina
Date: 07/31/10 10:04
Chapter: Chapter 1- The End of the World

I love this story so much that I just made an account specifically to review this. It's as if your writing exists just for me! I am OBSESSED with this story! I always loved Snape and Lily - not in a very romantic way, at least on Lily's part, and this story was PERFECT! I love Lily's ignoring of Sev and I love Mary's character, and I love how both Lily and Sev are so witty! You have developed them so well and you write in a manner reflective of JK - I feel like I am reading a novel and not a fanfiction! (and I am really really really jealous of your writing but am enjoying this story too much to feel upset about it) Whenever I find I good Lily/Sev fanfiction, something always ruins it (such as them reuniting) but surprisingly, this one hasn't so far! I even loved their reuniting and I am itching for more! Please update!

Author's Response: Thank you again (I'm just getting back to the reviews after a few months of being flaky, so I've read both of yours in the one day)-- and I know what you mean about the Severus/Lily relationship being more interesting if they are kept apart to some degree, I suppose. They are so different that I can't imagine some simplistic ending for them with a storybook romance or something along those lines, so don't worry, I won't be writing anything like that. :) I keep trying to be true to their characters-- and quite honestly, I'm still trying myself to figure out where that leads. I should have another update soon, and thanks so much for your patience.

Reviewer: secretsnapelover
Date: 07/22/10 1:36
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

what a GREAT story! had my eyes glued to it all to the very end. very compelling; had a definite air of some slight Rowling quality to it; i could see your characters reflect hers.

Author's Response: I'm trying to get my characters to reflect hers, so thank you! :) Sometimes I read fanfiction that seems more like a different series entirely, or something out of a romance novel or someone's dark imagination. I was trying to keep the tone of her books-- just a bit more Snape-ish, I guess. :)

Reviewer: SilverLily_13
Date: 06/15/10 21:30
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

I love love LOVE this story. I've been with this since the beginning, and then I fell behind with the reading.... Anyway, I'm not sure if I've commented on previous chapters, but this is absolutely brilliant. (I know this last chapter was written forever ago, too, but... I did fall behind!)

I'm so happy you wrote this. I love how Sev is SMART and witty, and you have a very extensive vocabulary. :) This is probably one of my favorite fics ever, so please keep on writing!!

The depth you give all these characters is so believable, they have more than one layer to every emotion. You give them a lot of thoughts that really help narrate the story in an intriguing way, and they are all very dynamic characters, too! Even the OCs, who usually are very hard to connect with, but I love Mary in this story--funny and charming girl, I can tell she really loves Sev and Lily.

Can't wait for another chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a kind review. :) I am trying to keep up with this, but one beta has disappeared off the face of the earth, and the other is looking at the next chapter right now. I have to admit that I'm a bit stuck on their 7th year-- I'm having a much easier time writing their post-Hogwarts life than their last year as students. But I'm still working away at it. I'm glad you like the character of Mary-- I thought a story that was all Severus, Lily, and the Marauders might get a bit predictable. :)

Reviewer: haydensnape
Date: 06/13/10 20:23
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

This is absolutely brilliant. One of my favorite fics I've ever read. Completely realistic, Severus is totally in character. Lily is such a refreshing character, as well, not totally perfect like Severus sees her as, but a very kind person all the same. You are a very talented writer, is this seriously your first fanfiction? I find that hard to believe. Again, I really love this fic and can't wait for the next chapter! I have a feeling though, if it keeps with canon, the Sev/Lily friendship will fall apart again. Sad, but....*sigh* Of course, I hope that doesn't happen, but still. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much-- it's good to know that he still seems to be in character when I'm taking his character in such a different direction from the actual canon story. And Lily is a challenge also, but an enjoyable one. This is my first fanfiction-- I wrote "The Knick Knack" when I was two chapters into this one, so that is technically my second and this is my first-- but I've been at this one for ages now, so it hardly seems like I'm new at it anymore. :) I'm just waiting for my beta to look over the next chapter, and I hope to have it up shortly.

Reviewer: xDominoe
Date: 06/13/10 15:06
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

One of the best fanfictions I've read, in terms of content, canonic accuracy, and grammar. : D

Now I know why there aren't many good fanfics on ff.net - they're all here. xD

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- it's a great story to work from thanks to JKR, and I have a wonderful beta to make sure the grammar is fairly close to impeccable. :) I haven't really read anything on ff.net because I found MNFF first-- but thank you for the compliment! Believe it or not, I am still working on this-- just slowly.

Reviewer: BlackBunny1991
Date: 05/12/10 0:19
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

I love it!! Favorite fan fiction, please write more! When will the next chapter be up??

Author's Response: I would have liked to have had the next chapter up months ago, but I have been so busy, and it's also something of a transition and not that easy to write. Thanks so much for your patience!!! Just wanted to let you know that I hadn't stopped writing it-- I'm just slow in getting a new chapter out.

Reviewer: chikako
Date: 04/27/10 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

eh????! omg you updated...a month ago!!! how in the world did i not realize?! why the heck didnt i get an email saying this was updated?!! *pouts* yayay they got back together! XD ^_________^

Author's Response: Sorry the next chapter is taking me so long! I'm working on it. Thanks for continuing to read this-- I know it's taking forever. :)

Reviewer: Phoebe_
Date: 04/23/10 14:18
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

I loved it. It's great they're talking again. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much-- took long enough. :) Now to write the next part of the story.

Reviewer: Minerva67
Date: 03/31/10 23:54
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

I've been away but so good to see that you updated.Good explanation for the puzzles in the previous chapters. The dialogue between Sev and Lily is so witty and dellightfull. Hope you can post more soon. What story are they going to come up with to explaln themselves---ILt can ge good!

Author's Response: Glad you liked the latest chapter-- I'm just sorry it's taking me so long to write the next one! Obviously it's something of a transition. Just wanted to let you know that I haven't abandoned the story-- they have a long way to go, obviously.

Reviewer: dandy_like_a_lion
Date: 03/27/10 2:24
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Yay!!! More?

Author's Response: Working on it! Sorry-- I haven't abandoned the story, I'm just very busy in real life AND trying to figure out the trajectory of the next part of this. More soon, I hope.

Reviewer: jkjim
Date: 03/26/10 21:10
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Great update. I'm glad to see you finally have them talking again, although they probably have a long way to go. Excellent explanation about the whole thing with the spilled butter beer. I didn't suspect that. One slight quibble regarding using the locks of hair to make the polyjuice. I would have guessed that using a hair from an 11 year old girl, would turn you into an 11 year old girl no matter how many years have past. Then again, there's nothing in the books that says that, and this is after all a fictional magical universe. Keep up the good work, but please update more often. I don't want to have to send my army of cupicabre after you.

Author's Response: No-- not the cupicabre! :) Good point about the 11-year-old girl thing-- the books aren't clear on that at all, so I thought there was some license there. And I'm glad you liked the plot twist with the Butterbeer-- obviously that was a bit confusing if you didn't know why he was acting like that. And finally, sorry for taking so long to update-- busier than I would like to be, and having a bit of writer's block in moving on to the next section, to be completely honest. Thanks for sticking with it.

Reviewer: the-wizardess
Date: 03/25/10 23:46
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Eee new chapter, and they're talking again! :D Hooray!

Author's Response: Took long enough, didn't it? :) Oh well, no one can accuse me of waving a magic wand and making them friends again without some rather hard-won increases in maturity. :)

Reviewer: Sariana
Date: 03/25/10 20:10
Chapter: Chapter 15- Tell Me Your Secrets, Ask Me Your Questions

Well, where are you going to go now, huh? All is forgiven! No, I'm not criticizing; this was a sweet chapter. Lily's sense of honor would definitely allow her to forgive Severus based on this new knowledge.

So, they're friends again. Now what? And when will we hear from Llwellyn again? There are still so many plot points to be resolved. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Great update. I was worried at first that it was going to relate only the last chapter from Severus's point of view. I'm glad it continued beyond that and progressed the story.

Author's Response: OK, I'm having writer's block-- I know where I want this to go, just having some trouble getting there. You're right-- there ARE so many plot points to be resolved. I'm working on it! Sorry it's taking so long, and thanks for sticking with it. :)

Reviewer: jkjim
Date: 03/09/10 22:00
Chapter: Chapter 14- Damsel in Distress

Regarding Potter's maturation in canon, the cynical explanation is that Rowling didn't decide to make him a degenerate until later in the series, and had to reconcile the earlier depictions of him. If one wants to not be cynical and look for an explanation within canon, I do have some possible explanations.

1. Outside of Snape, and that one memory that Voldemort had of him proving that he possessed the level of stupidity that only a horribly inbred pureblooded wizard could have, most of the information we get about James Potter comes from sources that are biased in his favor. Namely, Lupin, Black, Dumbledore (extreme pro-Gryffindor/anti-Slytherin bias, although for some reason he decided to endanger all of the students he was supposed to protect in an effort redeem Malfoy, the most vile and worthless of all of the Slytherins in the books.), and Hagrid (anti-Slytherin).
2. Potter was one of the last people killed by Voldemort during the first war, and he was tied into the whole boy who lived legend, so he became something of a Martyr that most people didn't want to say anything bad about.
3. To a certain extent, the books are all spun towards Harry's point of view. Harry, wanted to believe that his parents were good people.

Author's Response: Sorry for the delay in replying! Any of those would be good reasons, from the cynical to the "she planned it this way for point-of-view verisimilitude" explanation. To Harry's credit, even he sees (in "Snape's Worst Memory") what a jerk his father was. Maybe in his own way, James is kind of a character foil to Harry-- what Harry could have become if he had a happy, privileged childhood in addition to his good looks and athletic skill and respectable amount of intelligence. Maybe Harry might have turned out that way if he had grown up as "the Boy who Lived" in the Wizarding world instead of as a neglected/ abused child among Muggles.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/03/10 12:59
Chapter: Chapter 14- Damsel in Distress

THis was an excellant climax. Very good twist on things. I liked how you portrayed Regulus in the beginning showing him to be obnoxious yet loyal to his brother.

The only flaw was that I would have expected Mary to be nearby, but I suppose that for plot reasons she couldn't be.

Author's Response: Sorry it's taken me so long to reply- real life keeping me busy. I have always thought of Regulus like this. Good point about Mary-- I picture her studying with Severus here & there, unabashedly chatting with him in the halls, but off with the girls enough that she's unlikely to just hang out with him, something that Lily would have had in mind in trying to act like him and not herself. But asking Mary to check in to make sure everything was OK would have definitely made sense.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES