Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Hermione_Rocks (Signed) · Date: 10/18/08 23:46 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Aww. Heart-breaking and beautiful. I've always thought that Dumbledore really sees socks in the mirror too, and that there was a deeper meaning behind it. In my opinion, he doesn't ever lie directly to Harry.

And the idea behind the socks that you showed in this fic . . . it fit as well as . . . well, it fit as well as a pair of cozy, uneven wool socks. =] Great job.


Name: MJ_Padfoot (Signed) · Date: 07/14/08 20:36 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Wow Fenn. This has got to be one of my favorite stories that I have ever read. And I've read and reviewed over 300 stories. This is amazing! ~MJ


Name: Fire_Quil (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 14:35 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
That story is soo sweet, that it almost made me cry!


Name: beaternumber1 (Signed) · Date: 04/06/08 17:48 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Ok random, thing, yes i know i wrote "write" wrong (Wow that's a little confusing!) in the other review !


Name: beaternumber1 (Signed) · Date: 04/06/08 17:42 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
This is so Happy/ Sad! how do you guy's think of them? It takes me forever to right a story! This is really good!


Name: ink_daughter (Signed) · Date: 04/03/08 20:48 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
I agree with Emmeline Riddle- and I absolutely loved this story! I could picture the room wonderfully.


Name: Emmeline Riddle (Signed) · Date: 04/02/08 5:51 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
*Sniffs back tear and sighs*
This has gone straight into my faves, the first Albus fic to do that, it was so sweetly done. Very, very impressed.
p.s. I'm a linguist at university, and have to disagree with S Robert William’s review completely. Language is there to be played with, twisted, and made into as original a thing as any other kind of art. If the words you wrote in your story were the ones you wanted us to hear, then how can they be wrong?


Name: marauderteddylupin (Signed) · Date: 04/01/08 19:36 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
that *tear* was bealutiful *burts out crying*


Name: Bexia (Signed) · Date: 04/01/08 17:48 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
That is really sweet!


Name: sam_1034_lily (Signed) · Date: 04/01/08 15:08 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
very touching n gud finally v get to kno y dumbledore saw socks i luv how everyne waz in character its added in ma fav


Name: AneleY (Signed) · Date: 03/31/08 11:14 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Beautiful story really! I like the idea that Dumbledore was not lying when he said he saw woolen socks on the mirror, but was telling Harry only a part of the story... Thank you for a grat story, I'm adding this to my favourites.


Name: Nez (Signed) · Date: 03/31/08 9:57 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Great work! I loved it. You showed a fantastic change of moods throughout the story!
~Nez


Name: Sly One (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 19:07 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Brilliant story. I have a mentally handicapped sister and she gives incredible presents like those....a needle point sample that she had worked on for six patient months everyday was a recent example. How can you put a price on that? So thanks for writing this.


Name: gzMarisa (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 18:15 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
AW what a wonderful story. I was bawling by the end! Excellent work!


Name: RonandMioneForever (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 16:49 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
so so adorable. great work.


Name: Dustfinger (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 16:10 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Cool! WONDERFUL story! Great idea too.


Name: S Robert Williams (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 15:51 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
Touching short, FenrirG! Your atmosphere is very absorbing. You demonstrate the characters' personalities effectively through their actions and thoughts. Merely from the fact that Albus gives Aberforth "a one-handed hug", the readers can guess that relations between them are chilly. Most writers (myself included!) spend years learning to demonstrate rather than exposit their characters' personalities. But you seem to grasp that trick instinctively!

However, I do have a few complaints. First, please separate descriptive elements. Your first sentence reads, "A cold, stiff wind swept across the hilly landscape, bowing the high yellowing grass and buffeting dry leaves through the crisp autumn air." Wind, landscape, grass, leaves, air -- that's five elements in one sentence! You can justify combining two elements which directly relate (say, wind combing grass), but *five* is verbal diarrhea. Furthermore, it is unnecessary to attach adjectives to every noun or adverbs to every verb. Often, a more specific noun or verb will suffice in place of these modifiers. Also, you can streamline many sentences simply by converting adjectives into verbs. "A soaring evergreen stood in the house" becomes "an evergreen soared in the house", which is both more compact and more direct. Finally, relegate your narrative voice to the background; your writing is so self-conscious that it breaks the Fourth Wall. Avoid intentionally fancy figures of speech and do not make omniscient observations which the characters themselves could not. FenrirG should not not tell this story; the story should merely exist on the page.

In any case, this short was both heartwarming and melancholy. We need more life it. I look forward to your next work!


Name: Arial Felchem (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 15:49 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
This story was absolutely beautiful. it made me cry. i love the thought, too, that dumbledore really did see socks in the mirror of erised. really really really great story.


Name: Sunny_Rainbow (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 15:35 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
That was so sweet and sad. I'm almost speechless. Added to favourites a.s.a.p.!


Name: Rosi Zeller (Signed) · Date: 03/30/08 14:19 · For: Of Sisters, Socks, and Sorrow
A beautiful story! I just love the ending, it's very touching. And I love thick woolen socks =)


You must login (register) to review.