Reviewer: Mser22
Date: 03/25/08 10:37
Chapter: Act One

excellent...
A Mr. Burns 'Excellent' if you will please.

I vote for Hairspray. And are you going to do all three High School Musicals?
If so please make fun of them for us kids who don't believe in certain Disney products. ;)

Author's Response: Meheheehe, thanks. I've always wanted to receive a Mr. Burns-style compliment.

rnI think I am actually doing Sweeney Todd next, but I'm doing Hairspray after that. Anyway, I'm not going to do all three High School Musicals because I kind of enjoyed the first one (I thought it was funny and sweet and the songs were catchy, even if the cast was outrageously untalented), especially before it got really popular, but I thought the second one was way too pop-ish and just no fun at all to watch and the songs were dull and insipid, and the third one will probably be similar. You have to realize that to write a spoof, I have to know the material inside and out and backward, and it would be torture to have to learn the songs from High School Musical 2 that well. When writing a spoof, I listen to the songs over and over and over and over, sometimes up to five times each while I'm writing them, and I keep rewinding to specific spots. I can't take that much of Zac Efron's/Ashley Tisdale's/Vanessa Hudgens'/Corbin Bleu's voice at one time!

Reviewer: Firetail13
Date: 03/24/08 21:16
Chapter: Act One

Well, that was... interesting. You've kinda ruined my second favorite musical. You make me cry inside.
On a happier note, you ARE a female Neil Cicerga, and you should do Sweeney Todd next.
Then Spamalot. Although it's rather difficult to do a spoof of a spoof of a spoof, I think you can manage.

Author's Response: Oh... well... er... thanks... I guess... I'm not really sure if this is a positive review or a negative one. 0_0 I'm sorry I ruined Wicked for you and made your internal organs cry.

rnOn a happier note, THANK YOU SO MUCH for comparing me to Neil Cicierega, who is in fact my idol and my favourite person in the entire world. Actually, I'm a bit unhealthily obsessed, and if he were to read this, he would probably file a restraining order. Strangely, I actually have a friend who looks uncannily like a female version of Neil Cicierega... though that's not the only reason she's my friend, I swear!

rnI am doing Sweeney Todd next, and after that I'm doing Hairspray. After that, it's a bit fuzzier, but I'll probably do Lion King at some point... possibly Beauty and the Beast, but I'm not sure. I may even attempt Spamalot... I tried once before, though, and I couldn't think of anything because it's already so hilarious. I do know, though, that Sweeney Todd will be my last spoof that centers around Voldemort (although Hairspray is a celebration of all Slytherins, so Voldemort plays quite a large role in it).

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 18:37
Chapter: Act One

it is also difficult to adapt the words to the melody, because something could clash.

Author's Response: Yeah, I see what you mean by that. Especially with Stephen Sondheim's songs.

rnHey, nothing personal because I enjoy these reviews, but moderators aren't fond of people leaving more than one review for a chapter. If you want to to contact me in future, you can always email me (click 'contact author' on my profile) or send me a PM on the forums. I've gotten in trouble with the moderators before for this, so I didn't really want to get in trouble again...

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 18:36
Chapter: Act One

yeah, tell me about it. When I tried to parodize The Worst Pies in London into the Worst Spells in Hogwarts, I did not realize that there were many hidden rhymes. With Sondheim, you really have to think about the lyrics. It's just so hard.

Can you include some of the ST songs that got deleted from the movie (like the Judge's Johanna, City on Fire, Kiss Me, and Ah Miss) into your spoof?

Author's Response: I am including the longer versions of the songs from the Broadway production and the Ballad of Sweeney Todd, but unfortunately, I'm cutting a lot of the songs that weren't in the film, just because I don't think they're as well known. It's great to know there's someone who's familiar with the Broadway version of Sweeney, though! I got the soundtrack when I was twelve...I LOVE the original Antony and hate the one from the film.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 18:24
Chapter: Act One

oops, should be Mugglenet doesn't ALLOW those type of stories anyway.

Author's Response: That's okay, I got your meaning.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 18:23
Chapter: Act One

If you are going to ask why I can't do my own parody, it is because I envision the Hogwarts cast actually doing the production of Sweeney Todd with the original lyrics and not a Potterized version of it. There would be no point of writing a parody in the first place. Besides, Mugglenet doesn't those type of stories anyway.

I am also not so good at parodizing. In fact I am having trouble adapting the Worst pies in London to become the Worst Spells in Hogwarts (sung by a first year Neville). I have ideas for Poor Things (instead of Poor thing, for Harry parents) a Hermioneized green finch and linnet bird, a johanna for herimione or ginerva (to fit the melody) and a reprise (to include Trelawny's predictions) but I have not created any real lyrics to this ideas. What do you say to that?

Author's Response: Ahhh, I see what you mean. Well, MuggleNet usually doesn't allow those kinds of stories, but toned-down versions have been done... there are several stories floating around the site aobut plays at Hogwarts. I think all of those ideas are actually excellent... Sweeney songs are difficult to adapt. I've already done the Ballad of Sweeney Todd, which wasn't in the film, for mine, and I realized it was a bit harder than most of my spoofs are... Sondheim lyrics are crazy.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 18:00
Chapter: Act One

I've got it. Maybe for your next spoof, Sweeney Todd, it should be under the premise that Hogwarts is putting on a producion of ST. However, I would like the cast to be just students (sorry that means no Snape). For casting I was thinking of Harry as Sweeney, Hermione as Mrs. Lovett, Ron as Anthony, Luna as Johanna, Ginny as the Beggar Woman/Lucy (I wanted to avoid the incest factor), Draco as Judge Turpin, Crabbe or Goyle as Beadle Bamford (or any other character you can think of) Neville or Colin as Toby, and one of the Weasley twins as Pirelli. The rest of the students can be the Chorus. I know you'll probably disagree with some of my casting, but that is what I have in mind.

Also, have you seen the Sweeney Todd In Concert on YouTube. That could be the similar design, with the cast wearing their Hogwarts uniforms, but with some embellishments to fit their characters (ie Harry could wear a barber coat and white streak in his hair, Hermione wearing an apron and the cat hairdo, Ron in a sailor hat, Luna in a white dress, Ginny with a ratty shawl and hat, etc) Hope you like it.

Author's Response: Hmmm... that IS an idea. I've already written almost all of mine, but that's a splendidly creative suggestion, dude,.

Reviewer: Helios Sol
Date: 03/24/08 15:47
Chapter: Act One

Bugger. I only recognize one song, I think it's in Act Two, and the words I know it are from a PotterCast Broadway Filk special from mid to late 2006. I really need to go to NYC and see this. Heck, there alot of musicals I want to see but haven't. Sweeney Todd sounds better to me. I really can't rate this as I can't compare it to the original, but it sounds good.
P.S. I might be able to give an intelligent review to your adaptation of Les Miserables as the local high school seems to be putting it on as a show. Obviously not as good as the real thing, but better than nothing nonetheless.

Author's Response: Awww... I'm sorry you didn't recognize any. Wicked is a good show. You can just get the soundtrack (or listen to it on youtube) to hear the songs... I like most of them.

rnWow! You're lucky. My high school put on Les Miserables two years ago, but I was still in middle school then, and all of the nights of the performance, I was in the King and I at my middle school at the same time and I couldn't even see it, let alone be in it. It was sooo aggravating!

Reviewer: Ellie4Harry
Date: 03/24/08 11:37
Chapter: Act One

Oh.My.Goodness!!!

I have been waiting for so long for this to come out, and now it has it is AMAZINGLY FANTASTICALLY BRILLIANT!! Wicked is my favourite musical in the world, and my chief obsession, so this was like a dream come true for me! I plugged in my ipod and sang all the songs with my kareoke version (obsessed, remember?) and I couldn't stop laughing! My favourite songs would have to be 'Voldemort' and 'Apply Depravity' - they both had me in hysterics!
I vote for Sweeny Todd next! (though I love Hairspray as well!) Have you ever considered perhaps doing some older musicals, like Oliver or The Sound of Music? I think they'd make wonderful parodys!
Anyway, I cannot wait to read Act 2!
Ellie :D

P.S. Are you planning on doing Nessa's song (The Wicked Witch of the East) for Act 2? It's one of my favourites.

Author's Response: WOW!!! Thanks so much! I have the karaoke soundtrack, too. I love a lot of the older musicals, but I feel like most of them (though not Sound of Music) aren't as well known as, say, Phantom or Wicked... and there's no point in posting a story if almost no one reads it! (For some reason, I've only gotten a few reads on my Les Miserables spoof... and I always though Les Mis was a very popular show.)

Reviewer: Phoenix13
Date: 03/24/08 11:03
Chapter: Act One

The following is the sentiments I had upon finishing this.

SCHMERGO IS THE BRILLIANTEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD!!!!!!!!

Wicked is like, my favouritest musical EVAH. I've used "Popular" in many an audition. That was my favourite song of all of them. It made me laugh so hard, and that's pretty rare that something I read makes me laugh aloud. (Though I must say, Schmergo, your stories do that rather frequently.) I can't wait to see act 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!multiple punctuation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!excessive exclamation points!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh! The brilliantest thing since sliced bread? That's quite a hefty compliment, especially seeing as sliced bread is pretty darn brilliant! I've sung "Popular" in a voice recital and two talent shows, so that was song that spawned this whole spoof... I wrote my version of it, and then I wrote the rest of the show.

rnI did already submit Act Two, though.

Reviewer: turtles_rock
Date: 03/24/08 8:43
Chapter: Act One

It's me again
OMG schmergo you are a genius!
I Love your work! I don't care what you do next but please do Hairspray at some time!
Chao

Author's Response: WOWZERS! Thank you! I remember you. I will indeed do Harry-spray at one point, don't you worry.

Reviewer: harrietamidala
Date: 03/24/08 2:44
Chapter: Act One

I went on another fan fiction site and it has a category called crossover (which Mugglenet forbids). The story I read had Hogwarts trying to put on Phantom of the Opera, with Harry and another girl named Jennifer practicing their singing skills to audition (only five chapters are up). Even though it is forbidden on Mugglenet Fan Fiction, it would probably funny if Hogwarts tried to do a production of Sweeney Todd. With Harry and Hermione as the leads and other characters be other ST characters. It would probably be a something like the Sweeney Todd in Concert (where every one would wear their hogwarts uniforms with some embellishments to fit their characters and a lot of imaginary props, except for the most central, like the razor). Even Draco would not resist being in it (he could be the judge).

I am not suggesting that it should be written as story-it was just a funny thought I've had since yesterday. That could almost be the whole premise, Hogwarts putting on ST, with a few minor adjustments. (I can't help quoting).

I think Sweeney Todd is going to be the next spoof.

Author's Response: You know, I wrote a crossover awhile ago about Hogwarts putting on Phantom... but no-one in it was named Jennifer... you know, a Hogwarts production of Sweeney would be brilliant. But Snape would be the judge, since he's Alan Rickman! Draco would be Pirelli. Luna would be Johanna, and Neville would be Antony! Toby could be... Ron. ^_^

Reviewer: shooting_star42
Date: 03/23/08 23:33
Chapter: Act One

OMG! I just saw Wicked, and I almost had a heart attack when I saw this. AWESOME! Now I gotta go read the other stuff you made now :D

Oh, and I vote for Sweeney Todd next! That movie rocks!

Author's Response: WOWIEZ! Thank you so much! I probably will do Sweeney next, but I will eventually do Hairspray.

Reviewer: bubblegumpinkhair
Date: 03/23/08 23:23
Chapter: Act One

Oh god, Schmergo, you’ve done it again. Wicked is my favorite musical besides Spamalot and Legally Blonde(<you should spoof that) and now I will never be able to look at it the same way again. Here are some highlights that made me laugh the hardest:

 

1. Tom Sr: Suddenly you look a whole lot hotter…
Merope: Have another little swallow, Tommy dearest

2.And true, the vision’s hazy
But I swear, someday there’ll be
A musical on MuggleNet that’s all to do with me!

3.Aragog: Boo!

4. (Tom is jauntily walking back from the Riddles’ and comes across a huge snake)
Tom: So, you want a job as an evil familiar and possible Horcrux?

5. (Tom edges slowly away from the creepy old lady and possible pedophile.)

6. I’m not afraid to look like Michael Jackson
With slits for nostrils, skull face, high voice, and taught white wax skin

7. (Tom, now fully Voldemort, watches Lucius and Narcissa snogging with evident disgust.)

8. Fake blonde hair, fake white teeth, fake tan
Plus, he’s got a nose

9. The Wizard-mania montage part

10. The wizard will kill you now!

11. (He tries to kill Harry and, ironically, asplodes.)

 

One Short Day was my favorite! The others were good too, and it was overall amazing!! I always sing your spoofs with the music playing in the background, but I highly doubt your ears could tolerate my dreadful singing voice if I ever recorded it :].

 

Looking forward to Act II

-Lucia

 

 



Author's Response: Well, I LOOOOVE Spamalot, but for some reason, I really, really hate Legally Blonde. This might be because I never saw the original movie that it was based on. Some of those quotes that you picked were very, very hard to come up with, for some reason... And "One Short Day" was my personal favoujrite too! Thanks so much! I'm sure your singing can't be that bad, though... it can't be worse than mine!

Reviewer: desidero obtineo
Date: 03/23/08 21:48
Chapter: Act One

this is brilliant! I love the music from Wicked, and think that you did an amazing job rewriting it!

Author's Response: Awww, thanks! I adore "Wicked" too-- obviously, I wouldn't devote my time to spoofing it if I didn't-- and I'm glad that some other people think I did it justice.

Reviewer: Leahr
Date: 03/23/08 21:03
Chapter: Act One

I just sang my way through this- I am a huge fan of Wicked songs, and this was fanstastic! I especially liked Somewhat Mental man, though applying depravity was pretty good too. I want to check out your other spoofs now.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I have a bunch o' spoofs and stories up, and it's great to get new readers! I had fun with "Somewhat Mental Man..." the original is probably one of my least favourites in the musical...

Reviewer: James Jameson
Date: 03/23/08 20:37
Chapter: Act One

GREAT! SCHMERGO I LOVE THEE!!!!!!! This is much better than the one that I tried to write.....

ah well.....

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!! I'm sure it's not better than yours, though... they're very different types of spoofs, so you can't really compare 'em.

Reviewer: Hedwig with a quill
Date: 03/23/08 20:07
Chapter: Act One

Hello Schermgie! Good to see you again. *pats* I adore your new story, especially the last song! Glad to see you're writing again! Annd.... SWEENEY TODD FTW. My vote is for SWEEEENEEEY!!

Author's Response: HEDWIIIIG! Thank you! Ooohhh, you naughty owl, you saw Sweeney Todd? Aren't you a bit young, missy? *Grandpaw face* But yes, Sweeney Todd is amaaaazing.

Reviewer: nickynackyneevy38
Date: 03/23/08 20:05
Chapter: Act One

ahaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!! YOU ARE A GENIUS! me and my sister just sang the whole thing and laughed our bums off, how the heck did you write that?? faving that right NOW

gee willickers that was a good perk up!

amazing

loved it, cant give you any higher praise than genius level!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, this is a real ego inflater. Thanks so much! As for how I write these, they come pretty naturally... I just think of words that rhyme/sound like the basic title or theme of the song, and the rest just comes with it. You should try it; it's not hard.

Reviewer: voldie4eva
Date: 03/23/08 19:36
Chapter: Act One

Hello!

I hope I'm one of the first to review your excellent story (the wicked spoof). I LOVE Wicked, and I thought this version was brilliant. I think now I'm to go try to record those songs, it would be so much fun.

'Yaks are big and green'. Please write a story with this in it!

-Anne

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I would love to hear a recording! As for "Yaks are big and green," I will try to fit that line in somewhere! It totally sounds like the kind of thing I'd say.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES