MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: harrietamidala (Signed) · Date: 06/17/08 17:06 · For: Chapter Twelve: Matzah and Mistakes
By this chapter, we reach the climax? Does that mean this story is going to end soon? It's really good, I don't want it to be over.

Author's Response: Yup, there are 2 chapter left and then the epilogue...unless I decide to add in one more chapter, which isn't written yet. But I promise the epilogue will be as long as a chapter - there's a lot I've got to cover about Tzipporah's future.

Name: harrietamidala (Signed) · Date: 06/17/08 17:04 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
isn't it obvious? Germany invades Austria in March 1938! If you don't know that tibbit, you're crazy!

For chapter 13: Oh, no! There are Nazi students at Hogwarts! Zippie was right! What are she and Edward going to do if they are discovered? Update quickly please! I want to read more!

Name: Inverarity (Signed) · Date: 06/17/08 16:00 · For: Chapter Twelve: Matzah and Mistakes

How sinister! And I like that you are not automatically makng all the villains Slytherin. I really like the budding romance between Tzipporah and Edward, though at eleven, she does seem a little young.

I noticed one typo, where "do" should be "due to."

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you for the typo spotting! It's fixed now. I intentionally didn't make my villains Slytherins, because Slytherins would almost definitely be purebloods, and therefore it is unlikely that they would have been exposed to Nazism. The "budding romance" is really meant to be more like friendship at this point, exactly for the reason you mentioned - they're too young to be in love. But it important to remember that friendship can easily become something else; after all, Ron and Hermione became friends in their first year, and look how that turned out...

Name: Inverarity (Signed) · Date: 06/10/08 18:37 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention

This line:

"Edward looked as though he had just bowed to a hippogriff and was waiting to see if it would bow back."

is just so cute, so brilliant, and so perfectly Harry Potter!

This story is beautiful and touching and sweet, and one of the best works of fanfiction I've read. It's a wonderful children's story, and good enough to be published. I hope you are going to try to write professionally. It blew my mind when you mentioned AP exams in a previous chapter's end notes and I realized you're still in high school!

I would say something about looking forward to the next chapter (which I am), but I'd rather you take your time and update when ready, rather than "update soon." Just please do finish the story!

Author's Response: Actually, that line wasn't in this chapter at all until it got rejected (my very first rejection - I wanted to throw my computer out the window). Then while I was editing the idea just popped into my head. Writing professionally...if I could do that I think I'd die of happiness. Sometimes I consider just dropping out of high school and starting my bestseller - but then I remember that I need a backup plan in case my bestseller isn't a bestseller. But I can promise you that this story will be finished. The next chapter's in the queue, and the rest is all written and ready for posting, except for the epilogue, which I have rewritten three times but is still not quite right. And one last thing - I love your story Alexandra Quick and the Thorn Circle! It rocks!

Name: Inverarity (Signed) · Date: 06/10/08 18:10 · For: Chapter Nine: Chanukah Revelations

This was a beautifully written chapter.  (Actually, they have all been beautifully written, but this one stood out.) Tzipporah's reluctance to tell her friends, as frustrating as it has been for us readers, is just so believable, especially for an eleven year-old girl. And every line of dialog in her conversation with Clarice was perfect.

I love the way you are developing each character, letting the story build without rushing it.

Name: magic_pen (Signed) · Date: 06/10/08 12:09 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
Lovey! Can't wait for the next chapter.

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 06/09/08 11:39 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
Excellent! Detentions are brilliant aren't they, for clearing the air i mean. I really think if Zippie explains that she was celebrating a religious festival, he'd understand. I really think Millie should get over herself though. Can't wait for the next chapter to see how Zippie takes to flying.

Name: Inverarity (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 15:10 · For: Chapter Four: Aboard the Hogwarts Express
I continue to be impressed by the subtle way you interweave history into the story without overloading us with exposition. The OCs are very nice too, particularly the names (one thing I hate in a lot of OC stories is names that sound silly, out of place, or poorly thought out).
 I also like that you are using some canon names, but not right away trying to make everyone Tzipporah meets be the grandfather/grandmother of one of the central HP characters.

Author's Response: Thanks! Sometimes I feel like my characters named themselves. The name Tzipporah was meant to stand out, but the rest I intended to sound just odd enough to be wizarding names, or else muggle names from the 1940's. I also had a lot of fun picking out canon surnames, just to keep my readers guessing.

Name: clabbert2101 (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 13:40 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
March 13, 1938- Nazi union with Austria. Although it was more like Austria being seized by the Nazis.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so glad somebody got it! Now anyone who reads these reviews (and I imagine very few people do, besides me) will know what coming up next...

Name: Inverarity (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 13:07 · For: Chapter One: The Letter
After two chapters, I'm hooked. This is very well-written, the characters likeable, and your attention to culture and historical detail quite impressive.
 I look forward to seeing how Tzipporah fits in at Hogwarts; there aren't many stories that deal with witches and wizards from different cultures in a realistic fashion.

Name: ink_daughter (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 12:21 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
This was a great new chapter!

...The only thing that comes to mind when I think of Austria and World War 2 is The Sound of Music...

Name: DMTAT003 (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 11:44 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
Thank you for updating. I really like Tzipporah's original character. You have done an excellent job characterizing Tzipporah and her friends, and I am looking forward to reading more.

Name: mock_turtle (Signed) · Date: 06/08/08 11:42 · For: Chapter Eleven: The Detention
fun fun!

Name: LunaTheLoony (Signed) · Date: 05/29/08 15:26 · For: Chapter Six: Symbols and Lies
Whoever painted the swastika can go to hell.

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 05/28/08 17:01 · For: Chapter Ten: The Spy in the Snow
I'm really starting to feel the mounting horror in the world now, what with Zippie's father having to flee and Rosa's mother being taken prisoner. I'm afraid I'm growing to dislike Millie, there's nothing wrong with being opinionated, but when it's born out of ignorance like that it's wrong. Perhaps it's the way she was brought up, but not to give someone a first chance, not to determine whether someone is worth knowing before you tick the undesirable box is just so narrowminded. Perhaps Edward Potter is an arrogant lout, or perhaps not. Does this mean that Millie will no longer be friends with Anika? I hope she grows into a better person during her time at Hogwarts. And I really hope that Zippie gives Edward Potter another chance too, after al, as Dumbledore once said, curiosity is not a sin, but we should exercise cautionj with it. It may have been better if Potter had casually mentioned that he'd seen her while flying instead of appearing from beneath an invisibility cloak as she is in the middle of a ritual. Oh i do love this fic! There's so much going on, with the characters and with the world at the time, theres so much to think about. Please update again soon.

Author's Response: When I first began planning this fic, I never intended for it to be so dark, but I realized that the times demanded that a lot of horrible stuff happen. I had to set a scary tone to get my point across. Millie is, like you said, somewhat unlikeable at this point, which I did intentionally to show the kind of prejudice that occurs in even the most well-meaning people. But she is also a fiercely loyal friend (as Gryffindors tend to be) - it just might take her a while to figure out what really matters.

Name: technicolor_dreamer (Signed) · Date: 05/27/08 16:27 · For: Chapter One: The Letter
Your attention to detail is excellent. Keep up the great work!

Name: DMTAT003 (Signed) · Date: 05/27/08 14:06 · For: Chapter Six: Symbols and Lies
I really hope that Tzipporah will be able to tell her friends of her Jewish faith. I hope that they will understand and accept her. I wonder if her mother went through the sane thing?

Name: DMTAT003 (Signed) · Date: 05/27/08 13:19 · For: Chapter One: The Letter
I really like this story so far. Tzipporah's story is interesting to follow, and I am looking forward to the next chapter.

Name: mock_turtle (Signed) · Date: 05/27/08 12:31 · For: Chapter Ten: The Spy in the Snow
you really gave me goosebumps in this chapter. I shivered all over. I can't wait for the next chapter.

Name: clabbert2101 (Signed) · Date: 05/23/08 11:28 · For: Chapter Nine: Chanukah Revelations
I'm so glad that Tzipporah can be herself with her friends. I also have an inkling that a certain young Potter might be finding out soon. Give us an update soon as you can, please.


You must login (register) to review.