Reviewer: KYKid942
Date: 03/26/12 23:22
Chapter: Chapter One: The Letter

Nice (although ominous, given what we know) use of foreshadowing by having Tzipporah say she will never leave this place. One way or another, we know this is not the case.

Reviewer: Vera Vivian
Date: 01/24/12 22:30
Chapter: Epilogue

I absolutely loved this story. It painted a wonderful and complete picture and I fell in love with Tzipporah. Wonderful work!

Reviewer: Lion Rampant
Date: 01/07/12 2:08
Chapter: Prologue

although I read this story almost four years after it was written, it is still timeless and relevant as all good stories are. I've read it twice and will probably read it again. You did an outstanding job with the characterizations and all your cultural references accurate.
Very good work. Glad Tateh survived and made to England safely
so many Jews did not... funny that the actor who portrayed Harry has a Jewish mother!

Reviewer: baseballblondie
Date: 11/11/11 21:15
Chapter: Epilogue

I loved this story. I found it by accident the other day. I'd love to read more. A sequel perhaps? But anyway it was great.

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/29/10 11:39
Chapter: Epilogue

Amazing story :) . Very good. I loved it, and I'm adding this story to my favorites.

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/29/10 10:18
Chapter: Chapter Nine: Chanukah Revelations

Hahaha, Jolene is my middle name ^u^ you're an amazing writer. I love this story. It's so believable, and you stuck to the HP Universe while at the same time making it your own... if that makes sense. I'm glad Zippy finally told someone. Now (hopefully) she won't feel so alone!

Reviewer: OtterMoone
Date: 07/29/10 9:29
Chapter: Chapter Four: Aboard the Hogwarts Express

Yay! I really really like this story so far! Very good at staying true to the HP Universe :) and yes, I like your song.

Reviewer: beaternumber1
Date: 11/18/08 18:53
Chapter: Epilogue

Really super awesome story. It was espeicially cool because i really like books and story's about world war 2. It's so sad to imagine what all these people went through. Also alot of people from my heritage were put to death by Hitler as well. Great job, it was really amazing!

Reviewer: sabradan
Date: 08/27/08 4:25
Chapter: Prologue

Also, in March 1938 Hitler invaded Austria. Which is south of Germany, by the way :)

Reviewer: sabradan
Date: 08/27/08 2:51
Chapter: Chapter One: The Letter

Very nice, and amazing concept! although, if they were in Vienna in the 1930s, I'm sure they'd be orthodox, which means Tzipporah would have to sit in the womens section behind the MECHITZA without her dad. Just a nitpick!

Reviewer: Tim the Enchanter
Date: 07/30/08 18:40
Chapter: Prologue

Salutations, Calico!

I must say that this is a most excellent and intriguing story, so thank you for entertaining me! However, there is one nitpick that I feel I must bring to your attention.

Unless using a magic train that can transcend the barriers of air, land, and sea, it is impossible for a train to go from Vienna to London, since Britain is an island – well, in 1945 at least, since the Channel Tunnel wasn’t built until 1994, but I digress. Assuming that Tateh took a Muggle train full of Muggles, the best way to get to England from Austria would be to take the train to the coast of the English Channel, at say, Calais in northern France or some port in Belgium or the Netherlands.

From Calais, it’s a simple matter of taking a boat across the Channel to Dover, where Tateh could take another train north to London. If he had taken a ship from the Low Countries, he probably would have entered Britain from the East, landing at the Port of London. Bristol is located near the (appropriately named) Bristol Channel in southwest England, some 170 kilometres west of London. Since it is quite out of the way of the journey from Vienna to London, I couldn’t help but wonder why passengers from Austria would take a long detour by sailing around Cape Cornwall to get to Bristol to get to London!

So, that concludes my rant on transportation and geography. I do like your story very much, so aside from that little issue, good work!

Tim the Enchanter

Author's Response: Wow, you have a very good point. I didn't even look at a map before I wrote that part of the epilogue (which just goes to show how lazy I got about researching towards the end) and I'm very sorry for the impossiblity of that scene. I'd change it, but I feel like altering any part of this story now would do more damage than good - my muse has gone on a well-earned vacation, so I think I'll just let any reader who, like you, finds this hole in the plot make up a reasonable explanation for his or herself.

Reviewer: primagirl89
Date: 07/27/08 22:54
Chapter: Epilogue

What a wonderful story! It's a very nice merger of history and Harry Potter. Do you have any plans for another historical inspired fic?

Author's Response: I have heaps of ideas that may or may not become something readable. The thing is, I'm trying to ease away from writing fanfiction; I've sort of gotten addicted, and I don't write much of anything else anymore, which concerns me. It may be a while before I post something new. But you could try reading my one-shot, Freedom, if you want something semi-historical.

Reviewer: clabbert2101
Date: 07/27/08 14:37
Chapter: Epilogue

Woah. This story was just so amazing, especially this chapter. I cannot tell you how very much it has touched me.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/27/08 12:02
Chapter: Epilogue

That was such a beautiful ending and thank you for her father being returned to her. I've loved reading this fic and I think it'd be nice to remember as a gap filler from canon, quite a back story to the Potters.

Reviewer: LunaTheLoony
Date: 07/27/08 9:20
Chapter: Epilogue

I loved it!

Mo, are you going to write a story about James when he was at school?

Reviewer: elevenses
Date: 07/27/08 8:17
Chapter: Epilogue

Another absolutely perfect chapter. So...
Tziporah is Harry's Grandmother. Thatwould make Harry 1/4 Jewish. How apt.After all the Jews went through during WWI, it's no wonder that Harry fought injustice and evil ( Voldemort) as hard as he did. this has been just a wonderful story to read. It is with my favorites. I know I'll read it again and again. Hate tohave it end. Beautiful epilogue

Reviewer: dominiqueweasley
Date: 07/27/08 0:04
Chapter: Epilogue

yay!! Iove happy endings. This is a really good story! Just like everyone else, I never gave much thought to Harry's grandparents, but of course they had their own story, growing up in the time of a boy Tom Ridde and WWII. Bravo!

Reviewer: dobbylover
Date: 07/26/08 20:52
Chapter: Epilogue

I have been watching this fic for awhile and I really loved it-im almost sad it's over- but what an ending! It was so interesting to see Harry Potter with Jewish parts-thanks so much for writing this story! I really enjoyed it!

Reviewer: DMTAT003
Date: 07/26/08 19:46
Chapter: Epilogue

Thank you so much for your story and you epilogue really wrapped everything up well. It is an amazing story and your talented writing really manifested itself in the plot and characterization, thanks again for the time you put into it.

Reviewer: Inverarity
Date: 07/26/08 19:17
Chapter: Epilogue

This was a really marvelous story. The epilogue felt a little rushed, trying to cover so many years and events in one chapter, but it tied everything together nicely. Rowling has told us so little about James's parents; they are relatively unexplored territory in fanfic. But it's amusing to learn that James Potter was, in fact, Jewish (since his mother was). One wonders if he was actually raised Jewish -- wouldn't Tzipporah have insisted on it?

For an Orthodox girl, Tzipporah seems awfully modern (becoming an Auror?), but then, she was eleven when she went to Hogwarts, and lost a lot of her connections to her faith, so perhaps she became less Orthodox over time.

There is so much glossed over here that could have become another story, or several stories, but I guess you've brought Edward and Zippie's tale to a close. I hope you have something else in the works!



Author's Response: I can see what you mean about the epilogue being rushed - I sensed that too, but I didn't want to leave any of it out because, like you said, it tied everything together just the way I wanted it. I purposely left out any mention of how Tzipporah and Edward chose to raise James (Jewish or not) because I couldn't decide that myself. You're absolutely right about Tzipporah becoming less Orthodox in her years at Hogwarts, simply because she had very few ways of staying connected to her religion and culture. She might have let a lot of things go...or she might not have. I'll let my readers decide.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES