Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Raffles (Signed) · Date: 07/28/08 8:49 · For: Boxers and Beans
Harry wears snitch boxers? hehe thats so funny :)
Even though i've read it before, im still excited to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Some think it's too cliche, but some found it surprising. I just thought it was adorable. I'm glad you enjoyed that bit!


Name: Raffles (Signed) · Date: 07/28/08 8:45 · For: Let the Game Begin
Yay, i read the first chapter again. It's still awesomely awesome!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: GryffindorGirl163 (Signed) · Date: 07/27/08 12:45 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
i have been gone away for awhile so i didn't get to read the chapter in till today. must say i loved it like always. i love the way you write ginny and luna the most there so much like them selfs it great. any why i hope the next chapter gets threw soon becasue i can't wait to read it.
i just wanted to tell you that i would favoried this but it is not working and it wont let me it hasn't for awhile but it is my fav humor fiction so great job

Author's Response: The next chapter should be up soon. I kept having techmical difficulties, and it was rejected three times in a row! All for careless mistakes, I'm embarassed to say. But it should be ready soon and I hope you enjoy it. Thanks for the support!


Name: Babbity Rabbity (Signed) · Date: 07/23/08 17:21 · For: Let the Game Begin
Mmmm.
Just finished reading all ten chapters.
Then I went into the reviews.
Got to page 2, and what did I find?
My good friend Mirekano, reviewing your fic.
However, I’m not supposed to go off talking about other reviews first (I think).
So, to start with your story.
It was more than mildly amusing, I will agree with that. I didn’t split my sides laughing, but probably only JKR, Andy Riley (The Book of Bunny Suicides) and Terry Pratchett have really done that for me. So, your story was pretty good, especially considering that it wasn’t professionally edited and such.
The idea of a truth or dare in the Gryffindor common room spreading to the rest of the school was pretty clever, I don’t think I have seen that before. Also, a lot of the dares were pretty creative. There weren’t too many standard ones. I know most commonly (from experience) that the truths are “Who is your crush”, and others about a personal love life. Dares don’t really have a typical form or anything, but the serenading was some nice use of the brain. I think. Can’t be sure when it comes to that organ, but I found it pretty creative (for lack of a better word, sorry).
However, Mirekano is right about some things. The class schedules are not canon compliant. Although some may say that it doesn’t matter, to me, it causes a bit of irritation.
Also, would Luna really be allowed in the Gryffindor common room?
The technical stuff isn’t that important, I suppose. But all your OCs seem a bit much. Don’t want to sound like a response to a “Dear [insert generic female name here],” in a newspaper column (you know, where the writers spill their guts) but have you thought about saying no? I read your response to Mirekano’s review, and see that you’ve stopped accepting. However, it seemed like you were just agreeing with the requests, not even trying to work with the names. I mean, ‘Lulu’? Really?
Also, there was some extreme OOC-ness. Hate to break it to you, but although you tried to counter Luna’s OOC-ness with a rubber band bracelet, etc., she just isn’t that kind of character. She’d also never get that much detention. What were you thinking.
Also, would everyone really be obsessed with Harry? And Luna’s fellow Ravenclaws didn’t seem to display Ravenclaw-ish traits. Although maybe they are revealed later, I don’t know.
One last piece of constructive criticism. Draco Malfoy… I feel like it would take way more than what Ginny did to get him to sob like a girl.
He’s been humiliated much worse, but now he breaks down? It’s just that our Slytherin Prince has gone through a few too many changes.
Gosh, this is turning out to be way too long. Sorry if I take up a lot of your page.
Now, I sigh and write more. I guess.
HPAndHG4ever. Flame? Really? I don’t like to complain about other people’s reviews, but this is ridiculous. She offered constructive criticism. It’s sort of welcome after all the seriously I LOVE this story!!!’s. How else will the author get better? To say, “I’ve established that this person doesn't know what they're talking about” is just unfair? Seriously, just because someone disagreed with you doesn’t mean their wrong. Mirekano has a right to express her opinion, and she made some very good points. Maybe the story was more than ‘mildly amusing’, but how can it hurt the author’s feelings after everybody else expressed glee with the story.
This is way too long for anyone to care but me. Oh well. Maybe I’ll be able to keep it short next story.

Author's Response: I really appreciate your well-rounded criticism, and your detailed feedback about the things you liked and the things you didn't like, or may not have agreed with. To respond: I know some of my non-canon class attendance is grating on some readers, and I plan on phasing it out now that the "game" is a little more school-wide. I thought I explained about Luna being allowed in the common-room, and how most of the Gryffindors had agreed to let her sneak in for games of T and D. Now that you mention it, however, I do think that bears some more explaining... and may even be an interesting wrench in the gears. You're completely right about the "OCs". There's too many of them still in the story, even though I stop accepting "interactive cameos" long, long ago. Here's the embarassing thing, though: What you're reading is the result of cutting a LOT of the OCs! You have no idea how many were stuffed into it before! But I've been phasing those out increasingly as well as trying to give them more "Potterverse" names. Hopefully you'll start to see an improvement in that soon. But how could I turn down "Lulu"? That's just too cute. (I digress.) I realize that Luna isn't usually this detention-bound, but the point of this story is that Luna is becoming a bit more daring, while some of her quirks are rubbing off on our favourite Gryffindors. About the believablity of Ginny make Draco whine or cry, remember how melodramatic he's been before, such as when Buckbeak "tried to kill him". I think I'll take your advice to temper his silly disposition in his story, because I think I may have used up all his icyness in one of my other stories, "New Azkaban". I appreciate you leaving such a comprehensive note for me to read, and I assure you, you're not the only one who cares. I read (and eventually respond to) every review. I also appreciate you wanting to defend Mirekano's right to express her feelings, but I think she and I settled that in the back-and-forths on the review board. I care about all feedback, whether it's critical or praising, short or long, and I promise I won't let the "OMG" posts go to my head. Thanks for being out there and taking the time to give me feedback. My prize baby is "New Azkaban", and I'd love to hear what you think of it so far. I'm really constantly trying to make that one perfect, and you seem to have sharp eyes. Much love - Hutchinson


Name: x2o (Signed) · Date: 07/22/08 21:11 · For: Let the Game Begin
A very original and funny story! I love it and can't wait to hear the upcoming parts :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Check out some of my other stories if you get a chance!


Name: meandprongs (Signed) · Date: 07/21/08 22:03 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
UPDATE!!!!! DO IT!!! DO IT!!!

Author's Response: I've been getting a lot of notes, (some kinda angry), about the not updating. I promise it's not completely up to me. Chapters get into the queue, and sometimes don't make it out again. But I promise, I have not abandoned this story! If you get terrible bored while awaiting the new chapter, though, check out any of my other stories. I have plenty to keep you occupied.


Name: Mirekano (Signed) · Date: 07/21/08 12:06 · For: Let the Game Begin
Wow.
A bit late replying here- shut up, I was at camp. Dx
But it saddens me greatly that MNFF has fallen to the point where constructive criticism is viewed as a flame, and met only with a defensive attitude.
I did attempt to soften my review- it wasn't all bad, which I notice you didn't comment on.
Is the truth no longer important? As long as the only reviews you're getting are the generic 'omg i luv ur story i'm addin u to my favs!!!!1!!', you aren't going to improve. Isn't that the point of reviews?
Maybe not. It's a shame, though, to see how far standards have dropped.

Author's Response: I love this site, and the web of supportive and intelligent readers/writers, but sometimes one of these comes along. *Sigh*, here goes: *I* didn't view your comment as a flame, but some other readers may have. In my response, I told you very clearly what about your feedback I appreciated and what I didn't. I thought I made it very clear that I want to continue to improve my writing style. It seem that you may have read *other* reviewers' responses, but not mine. Go back and read it again. I'm sorry I didn't give you a cookie for "softening" your review, considering the "mildly amusing" quip (which came off pretty snobby, by the way). But I certainly told you several times that I appreciate *all* feedback and that you'd given me something to think about. What more did you expect from me? ....... Of course the the truth is important, but it's about tact... not speaking down to people, or trying to "soften" something that's only a thinly veiled insult. I'll say it again just so you don't mistake me this time: I read, thought about, and considered your feedback along with replying to every single thing you had to say in it. Go read it again and think it over before you get on here and speak down to me (or anyone else) again. I don't ever want to have a conversation like this again. On an end note, I'll agree with you on one thing; "It's a shame, though, to see how far standards have dropped".


Name: ChaChia (Signed) · Date: 07/21/08 8:32 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
Fabulous.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Me, either! I think it's been in the queue for two weeks! Hopefully it'll be up soon. Sometimes I don't get the e-mails, so someone tell me in a review if the new chapter gets posted!


Name: ChaChia (Signed) · Date: 07/21/08 8:24 · For: Green and Crimson
Another good chapter. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Much appreciated!


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 07/20/08 9:29 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
Hahaha! This was a wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: Glad I got a laugh out of you!


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 07/20/08 9:27 · For: Green and Crimson
Ooo, Cannot wait to see what happens next! Two thumbs way up for this chapter :-)

Author's Response: Thanks! I have some other stories up, another humour story as well as a couple Dramiones. Check them out!


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 07/20/08 9:14 · For: Soaps and Suds
I love Snape's reactions to Luna's comments, It must be driving him up the wall! Fantastic chapter

Author's Response: It's only going to get weirder... ;)


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 07/20/08 9:05 · For: Worms and Wars
Imagine that, Draco throwing a fit over an earthworm!!! These dares are so creative, Love them :-)

Author's Response: Remember his hissy-fit when Buckbeak "tried to kill him"? He's such a dramaqueen!


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 07/20/08 9:01 · For: Serenades and Kisses
Hahaha!! Entertaining chapter! This is an amazing story :-)

Author's Response: Thank you kindly!


Name: lostinside1 (Signed) · Date: 07/19/08 17:55 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
lmao! I didn't get an update notice for this. but wow! D

Author's Response: I never get "approval" notices either, isn't that odd? I have to keep checking if my chapter updates have gone through. I'm so confused!


Name: Lyra Lestrange (Signed) · Date: 07/17/08 16:25 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth

This story is so entertaining! I can't wait to see if the Slytherins get them back. I'm also looking forward to seeing more of Luna's actions!



Author's Response: Firstly, I love your penname! I assume "Lyra" is a nod to the main character of the Dark Materials trilogy. You'll definitely see some more back-and-forth in this prank war between houses, as well as more Truth or Dare, and Luna's spotlight in the midst of it all. Thanks for reading!


Name: HermyStar (Signed) · Date: 07/17/08 16:03 · For: Let the Game Begin
No spin the bottle either!!!!!!!!!!

Huggles from HermyStar

Author's Response: Good idea, and don't tell anyone you got such ideas from me! ;)


Name: alyssa_S (Signed) · Date: 07/15/08 23:59 · For: S.P.E.W and Truth
you are sooooo good. please, please, please, i'm on my knees, update soon!!

Author's Response: No need to plead, my friend! The newest chapter has already been written, and I'm going to put it into the queue as soon as my chapter for "To Draco, With Love" is approved! Thanks for reading!


Name: HermyStar (Signed) · Date: 07/15/08 17:17 · For: Let the Game Begin
OK, Hutchinson! You've convinced me!!
NEVER IN MY ENTIRE LIFE AM I PLAYING TRUTH OR DARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!THAT IS FINAL!!!!!!!!!!!

HUGGLES FROM HERMYSTAR
Oops, forgot to turn the caps lock off

Huggles from HermyStar

Author's Response: How about Spin the Bottle? Haha! That could be a whole other story.... No, I wouldn't dare.


Name: HermyStar (Signed) · Date: 07/15/08 17:07 · For: Let the Game Begin
When and how did you start reading and/or writing fanfiction, I wonder? I started reading when I was tired of reading the same plots again and again after reading all seven Harry Potter books six times. I clicked on Mugglenet Fanfiction hoping for somthing new. I read a few stories and enjoyed them. A month later I got an account because I wanted to review stories. Now I've told you my story, what's your story? I'm sorry if I bored you to death.

Huggles from HermyStar

Author's Response: I started reading the fanfiction here more than 6 years ago. Other sites were recommended to me, but none compared to this! I've seen this site go through many changes, getting better and better. I started writing fanfiction here 5 years ago under a very different name, but after a tiff with the Mods over creative differences, I deleted everything and left. (Bad habit, huh?) I came back about 2 years ago as Hutchinson and have made a lot of friends. I write fanfiction because we have such an intricate world and such wellrounded characters to deal with, it would be a shame not to explore them in different ways. I have so many ideas for stories that I jot them down and save them. I'm loving this journey of exploring non-Book stories, and writing them, too. I appreciate you asking!


You must login (register) to review.