Reviews For Breaking Ground
Reviewer: ginnyluvly
Date: 12/18/08 18:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love it! I adore Ireland and Seamus and Hermione and Molly and his pa and his ma and his sis and everything... Oh, and most certainly, Gaelic! It was wonderfully written and simply amazing, funny and well-characterized-just loved it!

But I'm begging you, Ny, please do write more, Puh-leez!

Reviewer: forevrjaci_2008
Date: 11/14/08 7:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot. I've never really considered Hermione with Seamus, but after reading your beautifully written story, I've been swayed. The way you capture Seamus is brilliant and so true to his character. Love the colloquial Irish brogue – you did an amazing job with it. In writings, that is not an easy task to perfect. Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed this and to say, “Thanks for sharing”.

Reviewer: oceaneyes1989
Date: 08/09/08 11:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed this fanfic. Normally I'm not one for the Hermione/Seamus, but it was really really good! ^_^

Reviewer: La_Rubinita
Date: 04/28/08 8:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

My condolences for your grandfather. I've lost three of four, two to terminal illnesses -hugs-

I loved this! You're so great at getting inside the heads of secondary canon characters. I could almost see and hear Seamus.

I loved this:To be fair, it was very possibly just a look of incredulity at the steady flow of utter shite that came out of his mouth, but it was still too often for Seamus’s comfort. I cracked up; it was just too Seamus.

Good luck with your projects!

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 02/26/08 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really loved this, we don't see enough of Seamus except as a background filler. It was lovely to see where he came from, what his values are and that he's actually a 3D character. I think my favourite part was when he sat in the bar with old men who'd been old when he was a boy, there was something grounding in that paragraph, how he could be somewhere he knew so well, somewhere that never changed yet his world was upside down. Seamus' sister was a real character, loved her, it'd be nice to see how she did at Hogwarts some time. Wonderful fic.

Reviewer: BlackPearl
Date: 02/04/08 14:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

Please update consequently yours!!!!

Reviewer: hogwartsduchess
Date: 01/26/08 10:37
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really like the atmosphere you set in the Finnigan kitchen. It’s a place of comfort and companionship, and you just know that Seamus isn’t in there alone. The first glimpse of his father is truly perfect. And immediately, we get into the root of the problem: Actually, he’d followed one Hermione Jane Granger, but Seamus felt pathetic enough, he might as well go all in. *snort* Guh, I love it when Seamus is pathetic. It’s quite appealing.

Seamus knew when to beat a hasty retreat, and cut that train of thought dead. A wise move on his part, most likely, as I can imagine Seamus’ idea of ‘relaxing’ or helping someone to relax…

He could remember the helpless rage that his ma would want him to run away, to hide and let other people make it safe again, when he knew who those other people were made up of - she sat next to him in Herbology every day, and she wasn’t a superhero from his da’s Muggle comics, or even particularly well equipped to go after the source of supreme evil, but she went anyway, and Seamus had felt ashamed to do any less.

I had to copy that whole thing. Why? Simply because it is the essential point of the war, to me. How could Mrs. Finnigan, or Molly Weasley for that matter, or ANY mother expect or want her child to stay home, where it was supposedly ‘safe’ when the people fighting were her child’s friends? These weren’t some faceless soldiers that make it easy to pretend that the war isn’t real, these were their classmates and I adore how well you captured that in few, surprisingly succinct (especially for my love) sentences. Brilliant.


Of course, Seamus had promptly snorted at this blatant bit of fabrication, knowing full well that Harry, though a great bloke, was sure as hell not a brilliant leader and hadn’t done it out of any grander view of the future or superior strategic thinking

I love that! Absolutely hilarious! OF COURSE Hermione, with her very sophisticated and intelligent humor would find that hilarious. And Seamus’ surprise that she would was just so well done! I love how they sit and talk and become friends over a moment of shared humor. So often, it is things like that which will spark a friendship or a romance, and not some grand ‘meeting on the stairs leading down to the ballroom’ drivel which is so prominent in ‘Other Pairing’ romances.

making such a nuisance of herself that the Ministry, having had enough of her onslaught, hired her in self-defence. *SNORT*

Of course they did. And can’t you just see it happen exactly that way? *dies* That was utterly brilliant, and a perfect way to explain WHY the Ministry would hire her after her constant campaign for House Elves. For all we know, there are House Elves that clean the Ministry after-hours…

Hermione had been staying at the farm all week while Seamus took her around the countryside gathering whatever obscure information she was seeking for her report. He didn’t ask, feeling that whatever it was would likely be above his head anyway, and was equally content and tortured by turns by just being able spend time with her, showing off the home he loved so much.

And now we get to the truth of the matter. Seamus didn’t actually ‘follow’ Hermione back to his hometown, he BROUGHT her there, like the addlepated twit he is. *snort* Oh, I do love Seamus in this story. And this, OMFG, THIS: a philosophy that served him well as a half-blood and only average student, but he’d always been proud of his heritage. He grinned, privately. What was bein’ a wizard next t’ being Oirish, after all What indeed, Seamus? I’d say there was nothing to being a Wizard if one wasn’t also Irish or Scottish (because we can’t neglect poor Ollie, no matter how entranced we are with Seamus at the mo).

Of course, it didn’t take his sister long to notice his distraction, though he was glad she at least had the decency to wait until Hermione wasn’t in earshot before starting in on him. I like that she didn’t start in and embarrass him right away, Much more believable. Most of us don’t embarrass family members in front of their love interests unless we are provoked.

“Don’ try t’ tell me tha’ ye don’ return any o’ her feelings,” she tossed her tattie in the pan and turned to stare at him witheringly. “I know yeh better’n tha’.”

Her feelings…? “Ye’re daft.”
Nae, Shay, you are. *shakes head at stupid boy* I wanted to whollop him over the head with the tattie. I mean, REALLY, Shay, how dense can you get. It was utterly brilliantly done and his defense of himself was so pathetic and half-hearted that one would have to be a fool to not see through it, which, thankfully Einin isn’t.

Tara was once thought to be the entrance to the Otherworld — though of course it was really just the bleedin’ fairies mucking with the frightened Muggles. HA! I love this. I love how you always manage to slip little things like this into your stories, things that make them so real and believable. It never ceases to amaze me the amount of research you do for your stories - either that, or you’re just incredibly genius and know all of these random bits of trivia off the top of your head.

It would have been quite effective really, in a barbaric way.” As usual, Hermione could give a better tour than even the trained guides Figures. I love your Hermione - she’s sto delightfully CANON. It’s so hard to do, but you do it. It’s a wonderful, refreshing change from other things I’ve read, where Hermione is just not Hermione.

“O’ course it was — they were Irish after all. We tended t’ go for what worked, and leave the chivalry nonsense t’ those as liked t’ fight for no reason. Much quicker tha’ way, an’ leaves more time for celebratory drinking after.” LOL! I can’t say much else except that for this. It was too funny.

“Ah, tis yer jus’ falling for me charm, mo mhuirnín.”

It just sort of slipped out, but it shouldn’t have mattered; who spoke Gaelic, but the natives, anyway?

Apparently, Hermione did. Or at least had a passing familiarity with it, though why in Merlin’s name she would was beyond him. But there was no mistaking the sharply indrawn breath or the incredulous look in her eyes as she’d watched him; almost warily, he’d thought, as if unsure at to what he’d do next.


OF COURSE HERMIONE KNOWS AT LEAST SOME GAELIC YOU TWIT! I want to smack him whenever I reach this part - it’s too funny and sweet and heart wrenching. I absolutely adore this part.

She found him in the barn, late the next night, tending to the few angora goats his ma kept. You know, I remember clearly you telling me that your hprare_exchange fic had been inspired by a goat - and feeling mightily sorry for the person who received a story about Aberforth…never suspecting you were writing this for me, and the goat was going to become my favorite character.

Of course, he’d never planned on her becoming such an integral part of his life, like oxygen, that he’d be too poof-arsed to risk losing her. POOF-ARSED! *snort* OMG, I love you. That is just so freaking hilarious!

“Bah, an’ nice way t’ stumble int’it. All sudden-like and sloppy. Here Hermione, would ye mind terribly if I follow ye around for a while? Say the rest o’ me life?” That just makes me want to WISH Hermione would say no, so that I could say yes! You have this annoying habit of converting me to whatever male you happen to be enamored of at the moment. Lord help your readers when/if you ever write Viktor, because I will slaughter them all if you make them feel about Viktor like you have about Oliver and Seamus. Probably not a good idea to make that threat in your reivew, though, eh?

Of course, he should have known better to be talking to the goat. Aside from the fact that his confidante was of the caprine variety, the really important fact, the one he was overlooking in his current turmoil, was how very public a barn could be. Of course, by this point, we’ve all forgotten that she finds him in the barn, we’re entranced by his situation. It’s amazing what you make the reader forget by carefully redirecting their thoughts until they’re absolutely surprised by something you stated clear as day four paragraphs ago.

Neither of them boded particularly well for not sharing his embarrassing lapse of talking to barn animals over family breakfast tomorrow; at least, he fervently hoped that was the worst of his problems. *dies* There is nothing else one can say to that. It is utterly hilarious!

Of course, the fecking goat would choose that moment to remind them. Yes, it’s just like Kasey to ignore the fact that Seamus got to kiss her and all that good stuff and go right for the goat. *that might be a new phrase for me ‘ Go for the GOAT!’* But how could you NOT laugh at that?

“Did me sister teach ye any other useful little phrases?”

“No — well I mean, a couple that mean sort of the same thing, but that’s it really–”

“Good. An bpósfaidh tú mé?”

He slurred it a touch, just in case — but he figured by the time she figured it out, he should have plenty of opportunity to wear her down.
GUH! I don’t even have to GUESS what athat means. It’s just so - AW. I want to cry it’s so sweet and so loveably SEAMUS.

And now we come to the end of the story, and my review, which I fear might be as long as the story - and who says you’re the most verbose of the pair? *hugs* I love this story, sweetheart, and I never did get a chance to properly thank you for it. It’s absolutely delightful and I always feel so special when I read it, knowing it was for me. *hugs* I love you.

~Kasey

Reviewer: ginnyluvly
Date: 01/25/08 15:15
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it, as I always do! SO well writen!
I am very sorry about your loss, truly, I went through the same. I understand you perhaps won't be writing that often, but I will wait... anything for your wonderful stories. You have got me hooked... it is definite, I will learn Gaelic, I love languages, and a fourth one will be awesome!! Anyway, keep up the good work, and I hope you get better, sincerely.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Four languages? I'm incredibly impressed - And here I could barely pass French...

I'm slowly finding my way back into my stories - but it's proving surprisingly slow going. I'm so glad for everyone's support and patience :-)

Reviewer: snpdrgn
Date: 01/24/08 13:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

You absolutely made me fall in love with Seamus! Great story! I plan on checking out your other stories as well!

Author's Response: *grins* Something that makes you want to check out my other stories? That's high praise, indeed!

Seamus is easy to fall in love with, isn't he? *lol*

Reviewer: mock_turtle
Date: 01/23/08 23:41
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm sorry about your loss. I don't want to sound trite, but I'll keep you in my thoughts. and I really, really love your writing, no matter which story it is. seriously. have you written anything that isn't up on mugglenet fanfiction?

Author's Response: *hugs* Thank you so much. It doesn't sound trite at all when it's sincerely meant, and I appreciate it very much.
I'm really glad you enjoy my writing so much - I don't have much that isn't up here at Mugglenet that's Harry Potter. I have two 'adult' stories posted on my livejournal, and some other fandom stories there as well. You can find the link to my livejournal in my profile, if you want to check it out.

Reviewer: Her My Own EE
Date: 01/23/08 15:26
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm glad you're back. This is a great little fic. I'm sorry to hear about your grandfather. I know how hard it can be to watch a loved one suffer & then reassimilate yourself back into life. Take your time. I'll wait. :) I eagerly anticipate more great stuff from you!

Author's Response: Thank you *hugs* I'm glad to be back, though it's slow going at times still. I shall try to reward all your patience with an update soon :-)

Reviewer: ember
Date: 01/23/08 8:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was so sweet! I love your Hermione/Seamus fics. They are awesome.

Reviewer: ember
Date: 01/23/08 8:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was so sweet! I love your Hermione/Seamus fics. They are awesome.

Author's Response: Thank you :-)

Reviewer: romancefan
Date: 01/22/08 22:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it - as I do all your stories! You do Seamus SO well. The description and narrative are so real - I can see it all. I am sorry to hear about your grandfather, welcome back. We missed you!

Reviewer: romancefan
Date: 01/22/08 22:20
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it - as I do all your stories! You do Seamus SO well. The description and narrative are so real - I can see it all. I am sorry to hear about your grandfather, welcome back. We missed you!

Author's Response: Thank you very much - I'm glad to be back, though I'm finding it slow going sometimes :-)

Reviewer: siriuslyschweet010
Date: 01/22/08 16:46
Chapter: Chapter 1

Absolutely marvelous! I really enjoyed your addition of Seamus' Irish heritage. It was really clever how you subtly added Seamus' affections for Hermione through Gaelic. And it helps that I'm a sucker for Irish guys..anyways, I really enjoyed this fic! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Somehow, so am I. And Scottish guys...*grins* Thank you!

Reviewer: lilyevans91
Date: 01/22/08 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 1

lovely, lovely piece of writing! this is a wonderfully unexpected story, and i really enjoyed the irish touch, with the accents and tidbit of mythology and gaelic. the writing was wonderful as well, very flowing and descriptive, and the dialogue was excellent. overall very well written and a well thought-out story. great job, i really liked it! and i'm very sorry about your grandfather, but i'm glad you're writing again! keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to admit, I enjoy the research part of any story :-)

Reviewer: ginevra715
Date: 01/22/08 13:58
Chapter: Chapter 1

i LOVED this! so original, so playful but deep. and all the Irish touches just brought it over the edge. amazing job.

Author's Response: Thank you! *hugs*

Reviewer: juli_dances
Date: 01/22/08 13:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

I don't usually read Hermione/other character, but I did like this one. Could you please clarify for all those who are not lucky enough to know Gaelic? The context is a pretty good indication, but it's a bit difficult to think you know, while not being 100% sure. Thanks! good job.

Author's Response: *lol* I must admit, I'm very bad for not providing translations in any of my stories. I have gone back though, and added them in the Author's Note, if you want to check them out :-)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES