MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Great Expectations

Name: Ophelia Quinn (Signed) · Date: 05/22/08 11:49 · For: Chapter 1: Wistful Looks
hmm..Lupin and Tonks, Fred, Dumbledore, Sirius....if Ginny has any more dreams I think I can guess who'll be next. Excellent chapter! Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I've already put the next chapter up. Now it's up to the mods to validate it.

Name: rhiannon113 (Signed) · Date: 05/22/08 9:51 · For: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents
Excellent! Can't wait to here from Snuffles! Just one question, did Dumbledore day the 7 thing or did Harry here Riddle say it in the Pensieve?

Author's Response: Actually it's both. Riddle said it in the Pensieve, but Dumbledore repeated it when he discussed the memory with Harry. I gathered it was a fairly common belief in the wizarding world from the way both Riddle and Dumbledore talked about it. Snuffles is coming up soon. Thanks for commenting.

Name: gryffindorboi (Signed) · Date: 05/22/08 8:00 · For: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents
AAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGHHHHHH!!!! You had to make it a cliff hanger. Sirius is one of my favorite characters. Can't wait to read the rest!!! Thanks for the quick updates and I loved Lucius' "five wand standard" bit. I chuckled at the stupid git.

Author's Response: Lucius is just as smarmy as ever, isn't he? He's fun to write. I've put the next chapter in the queue already, and the mods have been pretty efficient the past few days so hopefully you won't have to wait very long. Thanks for your comments.

Name: nessy_potter (Signed) · Date: 05/22/08 6:40 · For: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents
i love this story

Author's Response: Thank you. The next chapter should be up soon.

Name: Tariel (Signed) · Date: 05/22/08 2:43 · For: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents
Aaaarrrgh! How? HOW??!! can you leave it there??
Please, PLEASE put up the next chapter soon!
Also, is Harry Malfoy? I kept drinking from a flask...
Also, it would be the perfect disguise, but how would he get the hairs?

Author's Response: I can't answer your first question I'm afraid because it would give away too much, but your second question is certainly a good one: how would he get the hairs? H'm. You'll know the answers eventually, I promise, but there are a few chapters to go before that happens. Have to let the mystery build a bit, doncha know. The next chapter is posted and the mods have been validating pretty quickly here the past few days, so hopefully you won't have to wait very long. Thanks for your reviews.

Name: Robinhood304 (Signed) · Date: 05/21/08 23:21 · For: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents
So, I finally couldn't stand it anymore and looked up this story on another site.
All I have to say is AMAZING!!! I noticed a while ago that someone else gave you a review that said something like, "Now I can pretend the HP world lives on" and that's exactly what I feel like! I hope you keep writing on here, and I really hope you come out with a story that's completely your own someday! If you do half as nice a job on your own story as you've done here, I'm sure it's bound to be a success!
Also, just want to compliment you on keeping everything *mostly* cannon. I think it shows commitment--I can't imagine keeping all those little details in order--which is marvelous. Besides, I like the people you've matched up non-cannon even better than those that JKR threw together!
Great job!

Author's Response: I do have a dream of someday creating something original, but there are so many ideas competing with one another for attention that I haven't decided which one to single out first. Someday, perhaps, I hope, though my experiences as an editor and non-fiction writer have shown me that publishing is a business that eats its own young, and success is a relative term in that industry. But thank you for your encouragement. I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. It's lovely to receive direct feedback from readers, and even lovelier to read such kind words of praise. Thanks!

Name: gryffindorboi (Signed) · Date: 05/21/08 9:35 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
Wonderful! I go on holiday and find that you have updated a lot! Look forward to the rest and I have faith that 'all is well' with Harry. Cheers!

Author's Response: I have an obsessive need to keep all my stories in "agreement" so if you've read 'The Letter' you'll know what the outcome will be. Thanks for your comments, and cheers yourself!

Name: slythfanfic (Signed) · Date: 05/21/08 8:49 · For: Chapter 10: What Dreams May Come
I'm enjoying your story. You are a fine writer. Keep up the good work; you'll be a fine fiction writer. Good luck.

Author's Response: Thank you! There are no more captive audiences than HP fans, but I'd still like to try something a little more commercial someday. Your comments give me confidence, so thanks!

Name: ravenclawgirl93 (Signed) · Date: 05/21/08 3:30 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
do you have to end in a cliffhanger???? please hurry with the next chapter!!!!

Author's Response: I still have quite a few chapters in reserve, so hopefully you won't have to wait long. Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments.

Name: lilybobily7 (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 17:31 · For: Chapter 6: Life Challenged
I liked how Ginny got to talk with Fred. You wrote it really well. =]

Author's Response: Thanks! I miss Fred. It was nice to have him around again for a little while.

Name: lioness_of_magic (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 15:44 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
GASP!!!! missing???? *sniffles* If one head on Harry's head is harmed... *sobs*

Author's Response: Be patient, and just ask yourself: would I do that to Harry? Seriously, would I? Inquiring minds want to know!

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 14:52 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
As I've read quite far ahead elsewhere, I'm not going to scream with frustration because you've left me with a cliffie, but you are very good at them i must say. Yet another excellent chapter, who would've thought a hospital appointment could be so interesting? I loved Hermione's obsession with taking nots in all of her appointments and asking extensive questions. I'm really glad Ginny got the message from Harry before the news broke. I wish this could be published, it'd make an excellent audiobook and movie.

Author's Response: That's very flattering, but if I tried to publish this I would immediately be sued by J.K. Rowling, her publisher, and Warner Brothers. My reward comes from reviewers like yourself. This kind of direct feedback from readers is better than money, and it's certainly great for my ego!

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 14:26 · For: Chapter 13: Fireworks
Such an emotional chapter. I can sort of see now why Ginny didn't demand that Harry stay home, I mean she fell in love with the whole package and take part of it away and he wouldn't be her Harry any more I still think he should be elected president of the Noble Gits Society though. This chapter could've almost been a one shot describing Ginny's viewpoint of the last battle, and it was brilliantly written.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry is a card-carrying member of Noble Gits United, though if I were Ginny, I'd be tempted to initiate him into the club with a smack upside the head. On the other hand, he's a man, and even the best of men tend to be inexplicable creatures. Harry is certainly no exception. Thanks so much for your reviews. They're delightful!

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 14:06 · For: Chapter 12: Rumors
I don't know how you do it. You've really got a depth of feeling in your stories. I'm so glad that at least one person has given Ginny's character the scope for more than forgive and forget unconditional love. I can totally understand her feelings and I agree that although it might have been understandable for Harry to take on the hunt for Voldemort, but now he has a family and a life and there are others who can deal with all that. Hermione's little embarrassment was quite amusing. And you've gotta love Luna, I mean she's not stupid, she was in Ravenclaw after all, but she's so adorabley odd. I don't know why but she reminds me of Data from Star Trek TNG.

Author's Response: Ever since HBP, Ginny has struck me as a very fiery, independent, spirited girl and I could never see her just sitting back and calmly accepting Harry's completely boneheaded decision to break up with her before he went off to find Horcruxes. It was a very Harry-like thing to do (Noble Gits United, after all) but I could see sparks flying from Ginny at being left behind yet again. Luna is difficult to write, nearly as difficult as Dumbledore in fact, because both are maddeningly vague yet there is inherent wisdom in what they say and do. Luna, as you say, was in Ravenclaw, so she's obviously intelligent, but she marches to the beat of her own drum, that's for sure. I'm not familiar with Star Trek TNG (I'm an original Trekkie - I loved Spock!) but I'll take your word for it on the similarities. Thanks for your comments.

Name: rhiannon113 (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 11:59 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
Argh! Please write quickly! I can't wait (Yes, I've read the epilogue, but still) to know if Harry's alright. And poor Ginny. And are you saying that Albus will have bits of all their loved ones' spirits? Clever.

Author's Response: You'll learn more about Albus's destiny through Ginny's dreams and some of Harry's experiences as well. It'll all be cleared up eventually, I promise. Thanks for your comments.

Name: lostinside1 (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 11:07 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
I was just wondering how you manage to get this story updated so much because there's been 1 chapter a day, roughly, for the past couple of day and it's unusual.

can't wait for the next chapter1


Author's Response: I first started posting this story in January, but MNFF has experienced problems in the interim, so I've continued to write while waiting for them to get their act together. As a result, I have 23 chapters completed and as soon as a new one is validated I post the next one. They've approved 15 chapters so far, so until they hit 23, you'll probably be getting a new chapter every day. After that, you'll have to wait a bit, but I'm nearing the end, so it shouldn't be too long.

Name: Tariel (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 5:26 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
What happens next? What happens next??!!

Author's Response: Hang in there! You'll find out soon.

Name: fan_fic_fan (Signed) · Date: 05/20/08 0:42 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
Well done, again! You are quite talented, and I appreciate your sharing those talents here!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Writers write to be read and your review demonstrates that it's happening. So I do appreciate it.

Name: Robinhood304 (Signed) · Date: 05/19/08 23:47 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
This is a very evil way to end the chapter--I'd read it without the cliffhanger!
Here's hoping for another speedy update!!!

Author's Response: My bad! *hangs head in shame* The next chapter should be posted soon. Keep checking.

Name: krstnnlnznr (Signed) · Date: 05/19/08 23:11 · For: Chapter 14: All is Well
Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeevil cliff hanger grrr must read more. I totally love it but but but please hurry dying to know what happens next

Author's Response: I'm hammering away at the keyboard as fast as I can. I also have a large backlog of chapters so you should be able to read updates fairly quickly now that Mugglenet is up and running at full speed again. Keep checking! There should be more posted soon.

You must login (register) to review.