Reviews For Great Expectations
Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 05/24/08 9:47
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

I knew it, Sirius has come to see Ginny at last. Thanks to the mods for updating so quickly, I am finding it hard to keep up with chapters, but at least I can read one after another. Keep it up mods I'm really loving this story. One thing keeps coming into my mind.. I hope that Harry is ok, and that this note from Malfoy's wife is not a hoax.

Author's Response: Yes, indeed, the mods deserve major kudos for the fantastic job they've been doing lately. And you're quite right, Ginny would be well within her rights to be suspicious of anything passed along by the Malfoys. But people are rarely black or white in my stories, but many shades of gray. You'll see more of that later.

Reviewer: iwasminerva
Date: 05/24/08 8:30
Chapter: Chapter 1: Wistful Looks

I've lurking - meaning reading without reviewing - for a while now. But that's not fair is it? I've been enjoying this story so much. I saw through Lucius early on in their encounter. He was sooo close to being Lucius, but a glimmer of Harry showed through. Then when he drank out of the flask, I thought, "Aha! I'm right!" Then we went back to the scrap of parchment and I was convinced. Of course, if I'm wrong, I'll still love the story, because there are so many really clever things in your story.

I LOVED the dream with Sirius, for all the reasons everybody else had, but mostly for his side conversations with James and his whole bit about "being there" for all their momentous occasions. I laughed out loud. I'm looking forward to more dream sequences and to seeing how Ginny explains away her relative calm in the face of everybody else's panic at Harry's fate.

Author's Response: I think "That's my boy!" is my favorite line from the whole story so far. It does sound like the sort of thing James would say, doesn't it? And Lily was probably standing there rolling her eyes. Thanks for finally coming out of the shadows to review. It always makes my day to read comments from readers.

Reviewer: ravenclawgirl93
Date: 05/24/08 1:27
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

omg please upload the next chapter soon, im addicted to this fic, it rocks!

Author's Response: Next one is already up. You're addicted, are you? Ah, I see my evil plan is working. . . Lol!

Reviewer: Jeddie
Date: 05/23/08 23:14
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

I just got done re-reading the second HP book, so when I read the whole, never trust somthing unless you can see where it keeps it's brains bit I had to laugh a little. Really really good job. I think you did Sirius justice.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! It's been quite a challenge getting all these different personalities right. Sirius always struck me as kind of a Hemingway-ish character, a handsome rogue with an adventurer's gleam in his eye. Thus, the quote from "Farewell to Arms." I appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: NymphWarrior
Date: 05/23/08 22:09
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

yay!Sirius!Will Ginny talk to James in any of her dreams? I liked how you said that Sirius had a similar conversation with Lily!
nymphWarrior

Author's Response: As to whether or not Ginny will talk to James. . . well, that would be telling, woudln't it? I think there are parallels between Ginny and Lily and you know what they say: men tend to marry women who remind them of their mother. Not that Harry has many memories of his mother, but you get the general idea. Thanks!

Reviewer: Tariel
Date: 05/23/08 21:46
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

Interesting.
But what's happening with Harry?

Author's Response: You'll find out a bit more about what's going on with Harry in the next chapter, and a lot more in the chapter after that. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: lioness_of_magic
Date: 05/23/08 21:41
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

YAY SIRIUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's a cool old dog and I loved how he was partially flirting with Ginny while helping her :) Sirius's room...that's great :D I can really see Sirius grinning over that one... :)

Author's Response: My personal favorite was James's comment ("That's my boy!"). Yes, Sirius is a cool old dog. Did you catch his "salute" to the tree? Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: ILoveHarry 3_14
Date: 05/23/08 21:30
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

Great Chapter. I was wondering when Ginny was going to dream of Sirius. Does Ginny have anymore dreams? Maybe of James and Lily or maybe even Severus? As always looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, Ginny will have more dreams. Of course I can't tell you who they will be about, as that would spoil the surprise, but it's a few chapters out yet. I've posted the next chapter. The mods have been doing a GREAT job lately of validating quickly, so hopefully it'll be up soon.

Reviewer: cecile211028
Date: 05/23/08 21:24
Chapter: Chapter 16: Broken Places

great fic, i am really captivated

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad to hear it!

Reviewer: Raven582
Date: 05/23/08 17:40
Chapter: Chapter 1: Wistful Looks

Thanks my friend thinks Im obsessed But im proud of it!

Author's Response: Well, you should be! They're great names. Of course I named one of my dogs after a riverboat (Aurora Belle) so I may not be the best judge.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 05/23/08 13:45
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

I love how you slip in little memories of Harry and Ginny's while she's trying to tune out the family discussion. And what's with Malfoy drinking out of a flask? Could it possibley be someone else using polyjuice like fake Moody in GOF? And I love that secret parchment idea, and having to write exactly seven words is yet another occurance of the number seven that you told us to watch out for. Will there be some big reveal involving the number seven, or did you just scatter as many sevens throughout the story as possible to add interest? Either way it's an excellent idea. I'm glad Sirius got to make an appearance, we never saw much of him in the books, well, not as much as I'd like anyway.

Author's Response: There is a significance to the number seven that runs throughout the story. There won't necessarily be a "big" reveal, but it's connected to the dreams, the parchment, and several other factors. It's kind of woven throughout, but it's all based on the whole "Seven is the most powerfully magical number" statement from the series. Sirius's conversation with Ginny takes up the whole of the next chapter (which just came up, by the way). As for your idea about polyjuice, well, we'll see won't we? Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Pirates_Number_One_Gurl
Date: 05/22/08 20:48
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

freaking awesome! that is soooo great! i love ur fic and i'm glad the 9th chapter got thru.
Pi'sGirl

Author's Response: 'Freaking' awesome yet? High praise indeed! Thank you so much.

Reviewer: foofoobejinkins
Date: 05/22/08 20:04
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

This is absolutely amazing, WRITE MORE! And that 7 thing you worked into the story is so cool, the way you managed to thread it into the entire story.

Author's Response: Thank you! I've already posted the next chapter. Hopefully the mods will validate it soon and you'll see more of the '7 thing.' Appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: DaisyMaeEvans
Date: 05/22/08 17:57
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

Just wanted to let you know how avidly I've been following this wonderful story. The portrayal of the characters and plot are fantastic Can't wait for the next chapter!
Thanks for sharing-
Daisy

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I read one of your stories a couple of years ago and just loved it. It was 'Dear Mrs. Potter' and I thought it was just terrific. I'll have to go check and see if you've written anything else, because that one was definitely a favorite of mine. Appreciate your comments. Thanks again!

Reviewer: fightingokra4life
Date: 05/22/08 16:31
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

I cant wait to hear what sirius has to say! And i love getting all the backstory through flashbacks

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. Ginny's talk with Sirius takes up the whole of the next chapter. Should be up soon. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: clara02
Date: 05/22/08 15:07
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

more! more! more!

Author's Response: More is on the way. Thanks.

Reviewer: lioness_of_magic
Date: 05/22/08 14:08
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

OMG SIRIUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm sorry I just had to get that out :) Awesome--I love Sirius soooo much thank you for including him!!! I liked the flashbacks to after the war and moving into Grimmauld Place. Also, the section with Lucious was really interesting. I liked that point of view. And the note idea--very nice!

Author's Response: And another Sirius fan! So you're one of those too. For a character who played such a relatively small role in the series, he certainly has a large fan club. Must be that sexy, mysterious, bad boy quality. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: lostinside1
Date: 05/22/08 13:16
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

ahhh it SIRIUS!!!! wow! thank you thank you thank you so so much!

Author's Response: A Sirius fan, are you? There are a lot out there. Thank YOU so much!

Reviewer: Ophelia Quinn
Date: 05/22/08 11:49
Chapter: Chapter 1: Wistful Looks

hmm..Lupin and Tonks, Fred, Dumbledore, Sirius....if Ginny has any more dreams I think I can guess who'll be next. Excellent chapter! Can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I've already put the next chapter up. Now it's up to the mods to validate it.

Reviewer: rhiannon113
Date: 05/22/08 9:51
Chapter: Chapter 15: Puzzles, Plans, and Portents

Excellent! Can't wait to here from Snuffles! Just one question, did Dumbledore day the 7 thing or did Harry here Riddle say it in the Pensieve?

Author's Response: Actually it's both. Riddle said it in the Pensieve, but Dumbledore repeated it when he discussed the memory with Harry. I gathered it was a fairly common belief in the wizarding world from the way both Riddle and Dumbledore talked about it. Snuffles is coming up soon. Thanks for commenting.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES