Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Her Father's Girl

Name: WeasleyMom (Signed) · Date: 06/10/14 21:11 · For: Her Father's Girl
I liked this story a lot. I've heard no end of praise for your writing for a long time now, and yet, I don't think I've had the pleasure of reading any of your work. So I skimmed the list until I saw something that might have a little Romione for me, and dug right in.

Ron left. I hate stories in which Ron leaves in a rage, and yet, here, you really sold me on the scenario. He's such a hothead, and when something threatens someone he loves, that characteristic multiplies exponentially. I can see him refusing to be a part of the wedding and walking out. I kept wondering how long he'd been gone. You managed to keep that under wraps for awhile, and I must say, I'm glad it wasn't years. I can't see Hermione forgiving it so easily, in that case. But five months was a nice choice... long enough to feel like it might be over for good, and yet still believable that they might be able to work it out.

There's no way to comment on everything I enjoyed about this fic, but I will mention one thing that really stuck out to me. You have a strong sense of place in your writing, and it grounds your story very well. When you described him sitting on "her couch" and her in "his chair" and the small victory that was in HErmione's mind, it was character development disguised as description! You did this over and over, with mention of the card and the photographs and the fire, and I love how beautiful it all was, how I could picture every move the characters were making in the scene. I felt like I was there. I'm a very visual writer and reader, so that is an important aspect of storytelling for me. Well done.

I also liked the way you wrote Hermione. She was all business as she went out there to forgive Ron as a way of fixing things for Rose, and yet, she can't fight the attraction and the history that is between them. I like that her feelings shift sometimes even inside a moment. Some readers don't care for that, thinking it an inconsistency, but humans are emotionally inconsistent, and that made her all the more real in this tale.

If I were going to offer any crit, I would only say that, at the very beginning, I had a hard time figuring out which lines were Hermione speaking and which were Rose. Hermione's thoughts occasionally appeared in the same line as someone else's dialogue and that threw me a bit, but I do realize this is very nitpicky.

I'd planned to read and review something tonight and I just wasn't in the mood to do it unless I knew it was going to be good. I'm so glad I finally took all those recommendations to heart, and I look forward to reading more of your work soon. Anyone who writes Ron as well as you do has a fan in me.


Name: WeasleyMom (Signed) · Date: 06/10/14 21:06 · For: Her Father's Girl
I liked this story a lot. I've heard no end of praise for your writing for a long time now, and yet, I don't think I've had the pleasure of reading any of your work. So I skimmed the list until I saw something that might have a little Romione for me, and dug right in.

Ron left. I hate stories in which Ron leaves in a rage, and yet, here, you really sold me on the scenario. He's such a hothead, and when something threatens someone he loves, that characteristic multiplies exponentially. I can see him refusing to be a part of the wedding and walking out. I kept wondering how long he'd been gone. You managed to keep that under wraps for awhile, and I must say, I'm glad it wasn't years. I can't see Hermione forgiving it so easily, in that case. But five months was a nice choice... long enough to feel like it might be over for good, and yet still believable that they might be able to work it out.

There's no way to comment on everything I enjoyed about this fic, but I will mention one thing that really stuck out to me. You have a strong sense of place in your writing, and it grounds your story very well. When you described him sitting on "her couch" and her in "his chair" and the small victory that was in HErmione's mind, it was character development disguised as description! You did this over and over, with mention of the card and the photographs and the fire, and I love how beautiful it all was, how I could picture every move the characters were making in the scene. I felt like I was there. I'm a very visual writer and reader, so that is an important aspect of storytelling for me. Well done.

I also liked the way you wrote Hermione. She was all business as she went out there to forgive Ron as a way of fixing things for Rose, and yet, she can't fight the attraction and the history that is between them. I like that her feelings shift sometimes even inside a moment. Some readers don't care for that, thinking it an inconsistency, but humans are emotionally inconsistent, and that made her all the more real in this tale.

If I were going to offer any crit, I would only say that, at the very beginning, I had a hard time figuring out which lines were Hermione speaking and which were Rose. Hermione's thoughts occasionally appeared in the same line as someone else's dialogue and that threw me a bit, but I do realize this is very nitpicky.

I'd planned to read and review something tonight and I just wasn't in the mood to do it unless I knew it was going to be good. I'm so glad I finally took all those recommendations to heart, and I look forward to reading more of your work soon. Anyone who writes Ron as well as you do has a fan in me.


Name: The_Real_Hermione (Signed) · Date: 03/27/11 0:12 · For: Her Father's Girl
All I can say is heart-breakingly beautiful. You start off showing such a vulnerable side of Hermione - that she's still a hopeless romantic despite what love has done to her, and on a second reading I got a sense even then that she still loved Ron.

Just the whole idea for the plot was great and also very realistic. At the beginning I had a sense that Hermione was only really living for her children and no longer for herself, and that Ron brought life back to her.

It has definitely intrigued me... I wonder under what circumstances it was that Ron actually left? I think it's a realistic thing for him to do - he does have a temper and make spur-of-the-moment decisions, but I like the idea that he always makes up for it in the end.

The relationship between Rose and Hugo was drawn beautifully - the teasing but underneath the pride and admiration was not cliched, but realistic.

I think it's an interesting idea that Rose broke off her engagement with Scorpius for her father - I think we often see examples of people who break away from their families for love (eg Andromeda) and don't mind too much because they didn't agree with their family, but I think it's interesting that Rose thought her father was more important than the man she loved.

So all in all, I've fallen in love with this fic, you've just done a fantastic job.

~Katrina


Name: rushinn (Signed) · Date: 08/09/08 23:08 · For: Her Father's Girl
Aw such a good story! Written very well! :D

Author's Response: Thank you!


Name: hpreader1 (Signed) · Date: 04/08/08 19:09 · For: Her Father's Girl
That was short but sweet!!! It sounds a lot like Ron...

Author's Response: Thanks! That was what I was aiming for!


Name: Prongsies_Girl_93 (Signed) · Date: 01/31/08 19:00 · For: Her Father's Girl
"You're a jerk, Daddy."

Haha, best line! Love it, it's so sweet!!! Great job, as usual!

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: dancingwithneville (Signed) · Date: 01/27/08 18:27 · For: Her Father's Girl
I loved it! The whole daddy daughter relationship was wonderful. I hope you also write more about Rose and Scorpius.

Author's Response: I will be definitely writing more Rose/Scorpius. I really love the pair. Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked it!


Name: Trucker (Signed) · Date: 01/27/08 16:11 · For: Her Father's Girl
Hurrah!

As a father of four daughters, I know what you mean about being a daughter's biggest fan. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you could relate! :D


Name: REMi iS AWESOME (Signed) · Date: 01/26/08 9:27 · For: Her Father's Girl
Aww that is sooo sweet i love it when she says your a jerk daddy. but thank you,for everything i love you. And isnt it ironic how he told her on her first day of hogwarts to stay away froom him? hahah oh well one can't deny the one you love =) excellent writing!!

Author's Response: THank you!


Name: Hermione Clone (Signed) · Date: 01/25/08 12:25 · For: Her Father's Girl
This was so sweet! I'm glad things worked out-I was starting to get worried for a minute there.
I'd love to know more about what happened with Rose and Scorpius. Could there possibly be a story about that in the future?
Great Job! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I hope to write more Rose/Scorpius, so there could definitely be a sequel or continuation of their lives! Thanks!


Name: moldy999 (Signed) · Date: 01/24/08 14:46 · For: Her Father's Girl
dont worry its not your fault (last coomment) lol
i just dislike it because i dont want my friend snogging some blond guy if she got the part and then jk decided to write about after hogwarts, plus she has her eye on another boy

Author's Response: Haha, glad it's not me!


Name: moldy999 (Signed) · Date: 01/24/08 12:44 · For: Her Father's Girl
this is amazing but i REALLY hate the rose scorpius ship i am sorry but thats just me, one of my friends is auditioning for rose

Author's Response: Thanks! Sorry you dislike the ship!


Name: heartachin4harry (Signed) · Date: 01/23/08 21:08 · For: Her Father's Girl
this is so good!! i love it!!! great job, its exactly teh personalities of Ron and Hermione.

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: Amethyst_Magic (Signed) · Date: 01/23/08 19:08 · For: Her Father's Girl
Aww, this story is soooooo sweet!!! I love it. You are a great writer. Yay!!!! True love rocks. Okay done with very strange review now. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: lily_death_flower (Signed) · Date: 01/23/08 15:04 · For: Her Father's Girl
awww this was perfetc i love scor and Rose together!! loved it

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: gingercat (Signed) · Date: 01/22/08 23:51 · For: Her Father's Girl
WOW Ron finally grew up....about time!!

I Love Rose and Scor together and all the other "KIDS" the best part of the ending of DH

Author's Response: Thanks! I agree :D


Name: Katie616 (Signed) · Date: 01/22/08 21:58 · For: Her Father's Girl
That was beautiful! -wipes eyes because it was so lovely- The ending was perfect. You got the relationships between Ron and Hermione and Rose and Ron and Scor and Rose and Rose a Hugo and Rose and Lily and Al and Hugo and Rose and Al -whew!- perfectly. I thank you for another wonderful and amazing story!
~Katie

Author's Response: Thank you! :)


Name: DracosBaby_232 (Signed) · Date: 01/22/08 21:04 · For: Her Father's Girl
That is so cool. Why can't real life be like that?

Author's Response: Good question. Thank you!


Name: fawkeshermione221 (Signed) · Date: 01/22/08 20:26 · For: Her Father's Girl
Amazing! I absolutely loved it! You did a great job of describing Hermione's love for her children - and Ron. I loved the bit where Ron kisses her and Hermione goes back to their first kiss and the emotions she felt then. I adored the ending.
Amazing job. *adds to favorites*
~fawkeshermione



Author's Response: Thanks!


You must login (register) to review.