Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/15/12 15:29
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

This was really good! I haven't read a lot of fics in Severus' perspective, but your summary got me interested!! Good job!!

Reviewer: Helainewarrior
Date: 04/14/11 18:59
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her


Reviewer: conversegurl
Date: 04/09/11 17:22
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Wow what an eloquent poem! You can really feel Snape's grief... touching. Great job!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/06/11 23:00
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

that was so beautiful and painful. i think you accomplished what you set out to write very well! i used to hate severus but in the end, i -as many-couldnt help but feel his pain and couldnt help but love and forgive him.

Reviewer: lunaginnypotterw
Date: 03/07/11 17:49
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her


Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 02/10/11 11:54
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Very interesting memories...I liked it!

Reviewer: georgeisholey
Date: 02/07/11 16:00
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Wow. That was... wow.

Reviewer: JANZme
Date: 01/09/11 1:28
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

its really an awesome story! What I like the best about this story is how Snape and Lily have a sort of connect between them.You have used amortentia to highlight this and certainly make it even more better!

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 12/06/10 1:15
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

*Sigh* Severus/Lily fics are always so sad. I reallly liked your concept - it was really original to use Amortentia like that. All the sensory imagery really added to the settings as well... I could almost smell those things. I also liked how the three memories were nicely spaced out and captured their relationship really well.

I thought it was an interesting idea, to have Lily forgive Snape, but perhaps something you could have explored a little more. It does seem unlikely to me that Lily would be fighting in the order and still talking to Severus, even if only occasionally, when she knew (or could guess fairly accurately) that he was a Death Eater.

The song added beautifully as well - and it's such an amazing and powerful song too. It really added to your fic.

The last line of the story was really great too... it sort of summed everything up really well.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I've actually considered editing the part where Lily forgives Snape, since I agree with you on that point. We'll see, though. Part of me really does like the idea of her at least being civil, although it's unlikely, given canon and all. Anyway, thanks again!

Reviewer: Rhi for HP
Date: 03/22/08 0:19
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her sad. I love the Severus/Lily relationship. It's just so heartbreaking. Well done. Well written, and I can totally imagine Sev hating Amortentia alone--salamander eyes, sulfur--fine; just don't bring up memories of the past and her. Oh so sad.......

Author's Response: Hah, yeah, this one is a bit sad. Poor Sev! Thanks for reviewing! =)

Reviewer: Ginny_Hermione_ruls
Date: 01/06/08 7:37
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Touching. I really feel sorry for poor Snape at times like this. It made me cry, especially the ending. I loved it.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm sorry I made you cry! But I am glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing! :)

Reviewer: h_vic
Date: 01/01/08 9:35
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Oh, Melissa, this is lovely! I love a bitter, painful Severus/Lily at the best of times, and you've handled them beautifully. I absolutely love the irony of the Potions Master hating a potion.

It was a clever choice of scents too. I really liked that only the vanilla was really her scent rather than one Severus associated with a moment with her. The floral scents are perfect for her, and the smell of the rain is so wonderfully IC for Severus. It's such a melancholy smell.

I also always love the idea that she forgave him post-OWLs, because it makes his fall to the Death Eaters so much darker if he hadn't already lost her, that really caught my attention.

Simply lovely, my dear.


Author's Response: Thanks, Hannah! I know what you mean about it being darker if Lily forgave Sev - I thought about that while writing this. I think that still losing her to James might have been enough to drive him to the Death Eaters, even if they still managed to be friends. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the scents. I sort of always imagined Lily having a vanilla-ish scent. Thanks for the lovely review, and I'm glad you liked it! :D

Reviewer: Padfoot Patronus
Date: 12/17/07 14:20
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

oooh, Melissa, i was wondering when someone was going to write about Sev's amortentia... and after reading this, i'm happy!

nice memories... the line from the summary just caught my words in my throat! :D

- Akay

Author's Response: I always wondered what he would have smelled too, so I just made it up myself! Glad you liked it! =D

Reviewer: Raven_in_Lion_House
Date: 12/17/07 10:13
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

What a lovely portrayal of Snape's love of Lily! You gave us (your readers) little glimses of his relationship with her in various phases of her life.

The perfect touch was Snape seeing Lily's body. It was original, and quite touching.

Just like Lily's eyes did for Snape, your story will haunt me. Unlike Snape, though, I'm glad it will.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you thought it was original, and while I don't want my story to haunt you, I'm happy you'll remember it. =D

Reviewer: DontCallMeNymphadora
Date: 12/16/07 20:31
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

OhMyGod, this is so sweet and sad. I can only imagine how horrible it must be for Snape to be reminded of Lily when he can never see her again. He must miss her so much, and I wish that he had at least gotten the chance to be with her in school.

Author's Response: I feel bad for Snape too! Well, thank you for reviewing, and I'm glad you liked it! =)

Reviewer: Leahr
Date: 12/16/07 19:21
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

Wow, this is brilliant and really good. I felt so bad for poor Severus. You set it in book six without saying so outright, which is nicely done, and the flashbacks are cool and flow naturally. His reaction to Lily's body is a little toned down, though. And a little abrupt dialouge with Slughorn would have been nice. But Snape is characterized just perfectly, and you fit in some of what was revealed about Snape and Lily in book 7 just right. Altogether excellent piece. I'm going to read some more of yours now.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you caught the clues that it was set during HBP, and I like the thought of adding some Slughorn dialogue. If I get a chance, I might try and see what I can do about adding some in. Glad you liked this, and thanks for the review! =D

Reviewer: Allymarieus
Date: 12/16/07 15:05
Chapter: Only Her, Always Her

This is a very powerful piece, you are to be commended. The song has always evoked a very strong sense of emotion in me, and putting it with this story is wonderful.

On a very minor note, perhaps just drawing out the last line a bit more, mentioning a "silence that, as ever, threatened to overwhelm him" or something along those lines would add more finality to the ending.

I liked that you made Lily forgive Snape, as I hadn't thought of that possibility, but the "umbrella" comment seemed a bit too short and simple for me, as I think Lily would've found something to say (being able to read him so well, and being so well-spoken in everything).

Great job, though. Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! I know what you mean about the song - it's one of my favorites. And I know what you mean about the umbrella line, I wasn't quite sure what to have her say, and I definitely see your point of her saying more. Thank you for the lovely review, and I'm glad you enjoyed this! =D

You must login (register) to review.
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.

We have stories and authors in this archive.


Choose Theme:
Flowers in Winter by silverfirelizard53 6th-7th Years
She was a girl of exceptional talent and a kind heart, but she had been born...
Under the Southern Cross by FloreatCastellum 1st-2nd Years
Rolf Scamander has ventured to a remote archipelago to study a rare and exotic...
MOMENTS OF BLISS by moonymaniac 6th-7th Years
Remus Lupin is a man with a tragic past, filled with pain, suffering and sorrow...
Today Will Be Better, I Swear! by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
'I'm going to miss you, Mr Ollivander,' said Luna, approaching the old man.'And...
Honestly by Gmariam 3rd-5th Years
Seven months after leaving Hogwarts, James Potter is fighting for the Order...