Reviews For Episkey
Reviewer: misundersnape
Date: 10/26/08 0:47
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

*sigh* - a portion of the seventh book as it should have been...
Do we not get to see what happens...?

Been meaning to 'click' on this for many months now, finally found the time! Excellent effort - a great read. Might take a look at the rest of your stuff...
misundersnape...

Reviewer: Andromeda_Tonks
Date: 08/21/08 16:32
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

*is practicing her newly found skill of commenting on your work without becoming a blibbering wreck.*

Hello!

I thought that as I read this very speedily and enjoyed it so very much it deserved a better review. I will skip my opinions on your characterisation of Sev because you know them all, I will merely say that once again you blew me away with your amazing talent of reading his mind and finding their exactly what I knew you would, although I couldn't have said so until I read it. *hopes that makes sense*.

I know you don't want a SPEWish review, so I'm just going to give you a favourite sentence from every chapter:

Were it not for my uncalled-for introspection on the nature of morality, I could have brought forth the little fancy of mine I had been contemplating for weeks, never finding the time to do it between the hardly pleasant duties and far less pleasant forced social intercourse. [Just so very Sev. It reminds me of both the baby Sev of Sempra and the adult Sev of the books.]

Don't you dare remind me whose life should have been a neverending plea for forgiveness. [*sobs* Always and forever, everything was about her for him.]

Had Lily Evans known about the depth and full meaning of your friendship, she would rather be your enemy for ever and ever. [And again. The never-ending self-punishment.]

Only one woman had ever called me that… consistently. [And again. Funny how I pick out all the S/L quotes, isn't it?]

I administer a more Muggle approach to revivification by means of a light… moderate slap. [Just for a change, I'll highlight a little sentence that made me laugh.]

*hugglesquishes*

~Meda~

Reviewer: Andromeda_Tonks
Date: 06/14/08 19:29
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

Wow, El! That was absolutely incredible, especially your characterisation. I am definitely going to read everything else that you have written now. That story deserves a long review, but I haven't got the words.

~Meda~

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Meda. *hugs*

This was my first fic, and it will always have a special place in my heart, so I'm always happy to see it well-received. I will be looking out for you on my shelf.

~El

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 06/06/08 0:30
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

That last line! I love it! I truly did enjoy this fic and believe that you did a fantastic job at writing it...I say Brava!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Jade. I hope that the fic was at least half as enjoyable to read as it was to write. It was my honor to relay the story. *bows*

~El

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 06/05/08 23:43
Chapter: Chapter 4. Protego

Oh my gosh! The twist and the turns of the World of Potter! I'm shocked.

Author's Response: Shocked? Well, I guess this chapter indeed has some shock value. I can honestly say some points of it surprised even me. :)

~El

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 06/04/08 20:54
Chapter: Chapter 2. Alohomora

Ah the twist and turns of fanfics! I'm captivated by this!

Author's Response: Glad to keep you on your toes. ;)

~El

Reviewer: Maximum Potter
Date: 06/04/08 15:32
Chapter: Chapter 1. Sectumsempra

Oh. My. God. That was brilliant, you captured how Snape would think and say to Harry should he follow Snape and try to take revenge. I love the twists that this fic might be taking...
I love it!!

Author's Response: *blush* Looking back now, I realize that it was really unexpected, actually, how I simply found myself in Severus' head... I feel like a ghostwriter most of the time with him.

~El

Reviewer: dani123
Date: 05/10/08 12:44
Chapter: Chapter 1. Sectumsempra

Oh my goodness. This is seriously the best story I have read from Snape's point of view. Utterly brilliant.

Author's Response: *blush*

Thank you very much for your praise.
(I hope you may also like some other stories on my shelf, as I'm rather dedicated in my POV preferences).

~El

Reviewer: acciomagic
Date: 03/27/08 21:02
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

Excellent, very different and I loved reading it!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Actually, I was rather surprised to find that such an interesting subject as the conflict between Severus and Harry gets so little attention... So I'm glad you found it interesting! Hope to see you around!

~El

Reviewer: hpheart
Date: 03/25/08 11:26
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

I know my last review was kind of brief, so I am now going to leave a better one.
I read this again and picked out some quotes that I liked for some reason or another. Said quotes are:

Certain events in my life have made me rather… allergic to being at the receiving end of curses of people I… dislike.

I wonder what those certain events are. Nothing to do with Voldemort obviously. I just liked this quote.

Maybe I finally did give him a reason to include hypocrisy amongst my innumerable flaws

Before the argument in the TWS, I would of agreed with this statement, but I no longer agree with it. He doesn't have inumerable flaws, just a few.


I feel a strange burning feeling on the left of my chest and reach in the inner pocket of my robes to see whether the picture kept there is spontaneously combusting for some melodramatic reason

I can just imagine Severus saying that.

Puzzlement

So puzzlement IS a word! I thought it was!

'Well done, Potter

The first bit of praise ever offered to Harry. It's quite sentimental actually.

Over the years, I have almost forgotten how painful this bloody invention of mine is.

Bloody in two senses I'm guessing?

'Snivellus…' a female voice sneers. Only one woman had ever called me that… consistently. No wonder I feel like vomiting.

That's exactly the reaction I would give to Bella, so Severus is apprently as sane as I am.

One would think it was long since floating in one of his beloved potion jars.

I've always wondered what was in those jars...
'
Draco wanders off to torment the house-elf with some demand.

Good Good. Kreacher needs tormenting once in a while.

Why is it that I never get involved with women, yet somehow end up taking care of their children?

1 word:HAHA!

Throwing the wand aside, I administer a more Muggle approach to revivification by means of a light… moderate slap.

I can tell he enjoyed that:p

That is a list of my favourite quotes and why I liked them. Enjoy!

'

Author's Response: I'm glad that the fic merited a re-read. Thanks again! :)

~El

Reviewer: hpheart
Date: 03/23/08 13:15
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

El! Sammy told me to read this, and I promised her I would after the updates. Its very very well written!

Author's Response: Glad to see one of my recent dispute adversaries here. ;)

rnThank you very much for the read and review, and I hope you'll become a visitor to my humble shelf. :)

Reviewer: Jazzbones
Date: 01/23/08 11:24
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

Edge of my seat drama and excitment, that's where you had me. Very good tak eon what could of happened. Keep up to good work.

Author's Response: Thank you for the read and review, and hope to see you around!

Reviewer: moonstargazer
Date: 01/17/08 12:50
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

It took me a long while to read this chapter, and I must say, you did a fine job with it and the story as well.
It was fascinating to read a story told from Snape's point of view, and how he fought with himself over what he had to do with Harry to destroy the Horcrux.
He is human after all, and he did care about bringing Harry back from his deep sleep.
And when he awoke, it was a a nice touch that they shared a drink of Firewhiskey together. As if they we're buddies, which they're not.
Thanks so much for this story!

Author's Response: Thank YOU for reading and reviewing!

Happy to see the POV liked. VERY happy to see the little Firewhiskey scene (which was originally a very randomly generated bunny, courtesy of my beta) appreciated.

Reviewer: FullofLife
Date: 01/16/08 3:52
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

Oh, my - Holy - Wow. I mean, really. I'm sitting here with my jaw dangling somewhere near my knees. That was simply spectacular! I had a truck load of favorite lines but here are a few main ones:

"Sev". "Often wondered". My, my. Why is it that I never get involved with women, yet somehow end up taking care of their children?

I was laughing so hard at that - it's vrey true!

'Excuse me, Potter?'

'No, YOU excuse ME…'

Call me either Severus or Snape, and I swear I will…


'Would you rather be dead, Potter?'

'Yes! I would rather be dead,' he stares me squarely in the eye.


This was stunningly IC - great!

His expression is calm, unnervingly so. He understands. He understands everything. Hell and damnation.

I simply loved this part, because when Harry does use his head he can be very perceptive. Again, I found it perfectly in character.

'Nevertheless,' I continue before he can come up with an answer, 'I feel compelled to remind you that not even the aforementioned success excuses your flagrant familiarity… Harry.'

The shocked look is, if at all possible, intensified, yet the hauntingly familiar — even across some twenty years — glint of laughter seems to flash somewhere deep in the green eyes. The boy almost grins for a split second, before his eyes close.


I don't know how you meant this to be read but I found it the sweetest thing in the entire story. Severus's use of Harry's name (finally) and that small reminder of Lily really warmed my heart. But I'm a sap for that sort of stuff. :D

'I… I don't need you to… hold my hand!'

Great, this made me laugh as well. Harry doesn't really believe that Severus would do that, does he? :p

'Snivellus?' he blurts without thinking, then looks desperate to bite the word back. 'Er. Um. Uh. Erm.'

I have giggling madly at this part as well. I cannot believe he said that.

On a whole, I found that the characterization in this chapter was simply flabbergasting. Of all the chapters you have written of this story, you really hit the mark here. I found every word and action believable and plausible. I really think that if Jo had been given this idea to write, we'd have trouble telling your story and her's apart.

After DH I used to think that there was no way on earth that Severus would ever tell Harry about being a Horcrux and having to die - and that was why Snape was killed, so that he'd have a strong reason to tell Harry. Other's argued that Harry wouldn't listen, which I found a little hard to believe. Severus can be very convincing. Anyway, this story has made me believe that if JK had chosen to do so, Severus could have been coaxed into telling Harry what he knew! It was really well written, again. I still refuse to find Snape's DH death insulting,['The manner of death does not detract from its meaning.' This says it very well] but I do feel that it was not given enough time. I didn't even get the chance to have a good cry, it happened so suddenly and so shockingly. :)

Damn you, Voldemort. Damn you.

Another extremely touching sentence and it made me want to cry, along with the bit when Severus didn't want to see Harry's face just after he'd taken the poison. The thoughts running through Snape's mind as the poison did it's work were amazing (I'm running out of words here!) and the amount of self-control he needed to stop himself doing the spell before two minutes was perfect. When Harry didn't wake up immediately, my heart was on rapid-fire.

Phew. There's so much good stuff in here, I just want to talk about it all. :D Finally, I'll mention the ending. I'm glad we got a look at Hermione and Ron (they were IC too!!!!) and that Harry went back to Snape and said what he needed to. I wish you had written more though. What will happen now? Severus doesn't die later, does he? I hope not.

Anyway, this story just increased my love of Severus and Harry - I've always loved them but this just makes me want to sqeeuze them to death!!! *cough-cough* Sorry. Lost control there. :p The fact that this story goes from both hating each other to some extent, to having gained respect for each other is wonderful. I loved DH but maybe this is the way things ought to have happened. At least, Severus should have had the chance to show his true colors openly. Still. I found Harry's maturity and Severus's control and his ability to listen to someone he despises (even if he acts like he has no time for what they are saying) refreshing. To say the least, this story has made me very happy indeed.

Magical story, again, and I hope you write something else, because I'm eager to read more of your work.

Author's Response: I must have died and gone to author's heaven to have gotten such a review. *blushes furiously*

Thank you for sticking around ever since the first chapter (okay, so there were only five, not fifty, but still!). I'm extremely happy to see so many of my own favorite bits quoted back at me. Also very glad to see that what little I had shown of Ron and Hermione appeared IC, I was kind of worried about them.

For your question as to what happens next... Well, one thing I can tell for sure. Had Harry not stopped Severus, he WOULD have died, as it was his intention to buy Harry and the lot some time by trying to lure away an extremely angry Voldemort that is currently at large (in short, 'acting like a hero', as eloquently put by Mr. Potter). The way it did happen, however, I think it is safe to assume that he has equal chances with anyone on the good side. Which is more than he's ever had before.

I do not intend to continue this story line. However, after some discussions lately, there may be a spin-off bunny or two hopping about, mainly revolving around a scene or two from someone else's (*cough*green*cough*) eyes.

Again, thank you, and hope to see you around again! ~El

Reviewer: zula bean
Date: 01/15/08 23:06
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

Please continue...this has been wonderful!

Author's Response: Thank you for the R/R!

There will be no continuation of this story line, however.

Reviewer: Hestia Jones
Date: 01/15/08 19:35
Chapter: Chapter 5. Homenum Revelio

B R I L L I A N T Story! Magical, purely such.

Really, well done!! It flowed perfectly, and the interplay between harry and snape was flawless.

Author's Response: *blush*

Thank you! This story felt great to write, and I'm glad to see it well received.

Reviewer: butter_beer_drinker
Date: 01/15/08 15:41
Chapter: Chapter 4. Protego

*I'll tell you up front I am not the best at reviews so I apologize if this is short. *

I must admit that your writing style is completely different that any others I have read before, but that is not bad. If everything was the same then things would get boring and we would stop reading and writing things.

Your portrayal of Snape is very good; I prefer stories where he is kept in character and you have done a good job. The banter between he and Harry and also his inside conversations are interesting and keep the flow of the story going.

This was really good and I look forward to reading the last chapter.

~Kristy


Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review!

I am very happy to find my Severus plausible, and hope to see you around for the final chapter!

Reviewer: lilyevans489
Date: 01/10/08 2:57
Chapter: Chapter 1. Sectumsempra

I didn't work! But Cissy is so gullible... is she the only death eater who has a good side?

Author's Response: Thank you for R/R. Not quite sure what 'didn't work', though.

As for Cissy, I'm not sure if she is a DE at all, have we ever heard of her having the Mark? Gullible? Not necessarily. But willing to go to certain lengths to protect her son, especially now that their family has definitely fallen out of favor.

Reviewer: Veneficus Verus
Date: 01/09/08 15:22
Chapter: Chapter 4. Protego

This story rocks the house! Your Snape is wonderfully duplicious, malicious, and sarcastic, even to himself. The internal monologue gives it that touch of irony, since he's well aware of how melodramatic he is and keeps it (mostly) to himself. I love it. The style of the writing is nice also, flourid and descriptive, but has a nice balance of action and sense of momentum.

Keep it up!



Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and for the review!

"Duplicious, malicious and sarcastic" sounds exactly like what I saw when all of a sudden I found myself in his mind, even though it's a dangerous place to be, lol. Glad to see the hidden melodramatic moments picked up as well.

Incidentally, it's very pleasing to receive this review on no other day than Severus' birthday. Hope to see you around for the next chapter!

Thanks again!

Reviewer: FullofLife
Date: 01/09/08 10:06
Chapter: Chapter 4. Protego

Phew! I'm breathless - and furious at this little cliffhanger. *glares*

'...our last meeting, Potter, he hisses, his voice lowered, I had wanted to let you die slowly...'

You're missing a couple of quotation marks: right after "Potter" and before "he hisses" and again after "lowered," and before "I".

So I would have to battle them to death — or allowing them to kill me

I think you meant "allow" instead of "allowing".

Who on earth yelled "Severus" just before Snape was stunned? I swear, I feel like it should be Harry - I don't know, would Bellatrix call him like that? But Harry calling Snape, Severus was a little odd to me - no worries though, you're entitled to do it... Harry shouting "Professor" would have sounded better, but been slightly out of place, as Snape isn't Harry's teacher at the moment.

Okay, so - the exchage between Bellatrix and Snape was extremely well done, hats off to you. It was so in character that for a moment I felt like I was reading a moment from the HBP chapter "Spinner's End". Very good, again.

(He saved your life.) You made him trust you. (He saved your life.) You have failed him. (He saved your life.) You have failed her.

The "her" is obviously Lily. And the "him" out of brackets - Harry? Who is the person in the brackets? James?

'Potter's wand, Narcissa! It was still in my hand!'

Perhaps I'm going bonkers (just had a row of classes, so it's expected) but I didn't get this at all. If you are referring to the connection between Harry's and Voldermort's wand... does Severus know about the connection at all? I didn't think so... could be wrong though.

Finally, I love the Malfoys. All three of them - and so I'm glad you brought them in here!

Can't wait for the next chapter!

P.S: Forgot - I would have liked a bit more description here - may be just me, but I couldn't envision WHERE any of this was happening - from Voldemort torturing Harry to where ever Snape woke up. Beautiful dialogues and thoughts but more description please!

Author's Response: Have I ever mentioned how I like long reviews full of questions? Well, I do!

Warning! Author prone to long responses! For gratitude, skip all the way down.

Regarding 'Severus' - yes, it was Harry. Odd - yes, no contradiction from me on that. But it felt right there, or at least the best of the available options. As you noted, 'Professor' was not exactly right there, because it, well, was not a 'Professor' moment. I tried to look through the eyes of Harry, who had barely come back to his senses, who had not been sure of Snape's allegiance all this time, especially after the 'fair play' comment at the end of the previous chapter, with every moment feeling that he had been a fool to trust Snape, and doomed himself, and... And then being saved and immediately seeing Snape about to be killed by Nagini... I don't think he saw a Professor there at the moment.

Therefore, the person both in and out brackets is Harry, because it was his non-verbal Sectumsempra that killed Nagini.

Re: Potter's wand. What I was actually aiming for - both in Snape's explanation to Narcissa and my own idea why Harry survived yet another AK was the highly enhanced effect of Protego due to (a) there being two wands in Snape's hand; (b) one of the wands being Harry's and therefore more inclined to protect its master. The version presented to Narcissa also involves indicating that Snape's hand was literally forced both by the life debt and Harry's wand.

Re: where. Malfoy Manor, as was stated in the previous chapter and indicated by Bella's reference to Narcissa 'huddling in her boudoir'. And they were not moved from wherever the original encounter took place - as Nagini's body is in the corner.

As for descriptions - I see your point very well, but in terms of this story and this POV, the majority of descriptions are there only if they matter to Severus and are indicative of something. Hope that made sense.

And, as promised above - thank you very, very much for remaining the loyal reader that you are, for the nitpicks, and for the compliment on the little Severus vs. Bella talk. I can't realy play favorites with scenes of this story because they all mean a lot to me, but this one is something I am rather proud of.*blush`*

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES