Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: NorthernLights (Signed) · Date: 01/20/08 18:13 · For: First Trip to Hogsmeade
wow...a nice, happy chapter and then at the end, boom Lupin. I'll be soo excited when they find out that Lupin's a good guy. And Sirius and Professor Burbage eh? Interesting. Can't wait for the next chapter!!! :)

Author's Response: This was a light chapter setting up things to come (There's a big clue in here for a revelation in chapter 7). I do wonder if I'm the world's first Sirius/Charity shipper. Probably not :)


Name: Kif (Signed) · Date: 01/20/08 10:48 · For: First Trip to Hogsmeade
Awesome chapter, I don't think I can wait another week for the next one. :D The Neville series is by far my favourite fan fiction.

Author's Response: Wow, high praise indeed! I'm keeping the chapters coming as fast as I can, chapter 6 is in the queue, currently working on chapter 9.


Name: Pottergirl (Signed) · Date: 01/19/08 12:56 · For: The Wolf at the Window
Sirius as DADA teacher? YAY!!!

Author's Response: It was too good to resist. Glad you like the idea!


Name: JustLikeHermione77 (Signed) · Date: 01/19/08 11:04 · For: The New Professors
so sirius is stil HARRY's godfather, not neville's?? i'm slightly confused, but good story! it's an interesting concept, isn't it?

Author's Response: Yes, Sirius has to be Harry's godfather as that decision was made at Harry's birth, before Voldemort made his choice. It's a rule of this series that anything that was canon occuring prior to 1981 when Voldemort made his attack remains true. It makes more sense anyway. As far as I know, Sirius barely knew the Longbottoms. Besides, someone has to raise Harry.


Name: Prof M McGonagall (Signed) · Date: 01/12/08 9:49 · For: The New Professors
Oh, I guess from a previous review, one of my questions has been answered. :-)

Author's Response: Yes, Sirius' worst fear is Harry's death. My view of 'worst fear' is something that could yet happen in the future. Sirius would certainly see James in the Mirror of Erised, for instance.


Name: Prof M McGonagall (Signed) · Date: 01/12/08 9:47 · For: The New Professors
It's fun to see more of Professor Burbage. Glad to see that there will be at least one other class that Neville enjoys this year. So is Sirius's worst fear Harry's death or James's death? I guess time will tell.

Author's Response: I intend to put in as much Muggle Studies as I can, allowing for the plot, over this and the next two stories. I haven't decided whether Neville will take it for NEWTs or not yet. Burbage will appear elsewhere as well (watch out for the next chapter).


Name: NorthernLights (Signed) · Date: 01/12/08 7:42 · For: The New Professors
Wow. That was really good. I like Sirius, and Snape really does not like him...hehe. I can't wait to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Sirius is terribly enthusiastic, but of course lets things get a little more out of hand than Lupin did, and it was important to establish his boggart. He really cares a lot about Harry. Snape's sarcastic comments are always fun to write!


Name: Prof M McGonagall (Signed) · Date: 12/28/07 23:07 · For: The Wolf at the Window
I really enjoyed all the background information in this chapter, especially important to see how this world has developed differently from JKR's. The picture of Mrs. Longbottom hitting Sirius with her handbag at Frank and Alice's funeral is very funny. Makes me think about the Neville boggart scene and wondering how you will be writing that eventually. Keep up the good work. I am enjoying this story as much as the first two.

Author's Response: Yes, I thought it was about time that I gave in and provided some background information at last! The image of Gran hitting Sirius I have to say just popped into my head as I was writing, it was entirely unplanned. I didn't even imagine Sirius was at the Longbottom's funeral before that! Now I imagine the entire Order was there, along with members of the Auror department. Here's a teaser for the next chapter, the Neville boggart scene is very different...


Name: Anya Black (Signed) · Date: 12/27/07 16:17 · For: The Shadows of Fear
Hmmm...so Harry was affected by dementors too? Oooooh, the thought plickens...

great chapter, as usual. Have a happy new year's and see you again on January 3rd! xx Anya

Author's Response: Yes, there is darkness in Harry's past too, as suggested by the previous chapter. Also it provides important motivation for later events...


Name: Kif (Signed) · Date: 12/26/07 4:03 · For: The Shadows of Fear
Great chapter, the dementors are described brilliantly. Sirius is great also and the Harry mistery continues. >:D

Author's Response: I love doing dementors, the atmosphere they create is so interesting to write. I'm glad you like Sirius, he's a tough character to get right sometimes.


Name: MaiaMadness (Signed) · Date: 12/25/07 20:41 · For: The Shadows of Fear
Well, this is a great start. I really can't wait to see where you're going with all this. I love the thought of Sirius as DADA teacher, as well as the idea of him fighting with Snape. And whatever will happen with Remus?

The thing that confuses me is Ron's sat escaping as early as the end of second year. In the original, Scabbers started trying to escape when he found out that Sirius was on the loose. But here he actually escaped before Remus escaped from Azkaban, so how does that add up? There are so many interesting twists to your stories, though, so there'a hardly any point in speculating.

I'm very excited about this story, and hope you'll get more chapters up really soon!

Merry Christmas!

Maia

Author's Response: I'll give you a heads-up on Scabbers escaping early, as it's not really a spoiler. Remember Ron was going to stay with Harry (and Sirius) over the summer. Scabbers overheard this and, knowing he would be recognised by Sirius when Ron turned up with him, did a runner. He'll turn up again later. I can't put the next chapter up until the queue reopens again, but I will as soon as it does. The next chapter is called "The New Professors", the professors in question being Trelawney, Burbage and Black.


Name: MaiaMadness (Signed) · Date: 12/25/07 19:52 · For: The Wolf at the Window
As per my guess. Sirius and Remus changed places.... Hm, this will be interesting, won't it?

Author's Response: The Sirius and Remus swap was something I planned from the very beginning, though it's not a direct swap, there are a few twists in their stories. I just hope I can pull off a whole year of Sirius as DADA teacher.


Name: MaiaMadness (Signed) · Date: 12/25/07 19:34 · For: Bad News
Oh, dear. So it's poor Remus this time! Or is this another twist on the twist? Perhaps Remus actually did it? That will make me very sad...

I'm going to read on now, just thought I'd mention a small mistake. You've written "the basilisk's layer" somewhere in there. That's supposed to be "the basilisk's lair". There's a rather significant difference between the two. ;)

Maia

Author's Response: Oh come on, you don't really think Remus could have done it, do you? :) Oops on the "layer/lair" thing, thanks for pointing it out. I'll get it fixed.


Name: jediprankster (Signed) · Date: 12/24/07 20:40 · For: Bad News
Interesting way to begin this one. Obviously, it wouldn't be Sirius because he would have been beleived to be the Potters' Secret Keeper, but I wonder why Neville being the boy who lived would result in Lupin being the on to escape from Azkaban. Can't wait to find out how this plays out.

Author's Response: The answer to your question (and more besides) will be revealed in Chapter 7, which I'm currently writing. I hope it turns out well!


Name: NorthernLights (Signed) · Date: 12/24/07 10:25 · For: The Shadows of Fear
wow....that was very intense! I like how you described Snape at the feast, with his purple face...I can just picture it! Can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: I like writing Dementors, they're so creepy and eerie, they're great fun to do. I'm having a lot of fun with Snape as well in this fic. He is not entirely best pleased with having Black for a colleague, let us say! Next update will be after the Christmas break, of course.


Name: Anya Black (Signed) · Date: 12/16/07 16:31 · For: The Wolf at the Window
Ha! Yes! I knew it! Sirius is the DADA teacher! :D

Oh no...Harry's parents are MIA or something like that? Were they tortured like Neville's parents were in canon? Well, you said this one would mostly be about Harry, so I'm sure I'll get my answers soon enough. Toodles :]

Author's Response: I'm still wondering whether to reveal the exact details of James and Lily in PoA or not, beyond what I've said here. Whilst GoF would be a more obvious place to put it, it may come out in the climax of PoA, depending on how I end up writing it. I have a surprise in GoF I don't want to spoil, though. We'll see. There'll still be plenty more of Harry besides in this fic.


Name: Kif (Signed) · Date: 12/16/07 12:54 · For: The Wolf at the Window
Brilliant chapter! :D Can't wait for the next!

Author's Response:

I'll put the next chapter in now, but I don't know if it'll be up before the queue closes for Christmas next week.

In case it doesn't, I'd just like to wish all my readers (and especially my regular reviewers) a very merry Christmas/winter holiday of your choice. It's always great reading your comments and I hope there will be many more in the New Year!



Name: NorthernLights (Signed) · Date: 12/16/07 12:36 · For: The Wolf at the Window
wow...Sirius as defense teacher....and that story of the funeral with Sirius getting hit by the bag was sooooo funny!

Author's Response:

Writing Sirius as DADA teacher is an interesting challenge, and I hope it works well. Snape's reaction at least I think is funny. The image of Gran handbagging Sirius I thought was a great one, and so in character.

PS I've just reread my reply to OHara and not only have I used the word 'obvious' twice, I've spelt it wrong in one of them. So much for my writing skills!



Name: OHara (Signed) · Date: 12/16/07 10:35 · For: The Wolf at the Window
Wow, great chapter. I had no idea how you were going to do POA because Sirius is not in Azkaban, but I think the Lupin substitution is perfect!

Author's Response: Thanks! Lupin, as an Order member (and suspected traitor) was the obvoious choice. That obviously left a DADA teacher vacancy, which Sirius was more than happy to fill!


Name: I_solemnly_swear (Signed) · Date: 12/07/07 22:09 · For: Bad News
Oh no! Not Remus! That is so sad! But this is promising to be interesting none the less. Great job! Can't wait for the next chapter! =)

Author's Response:

I wondered what your reaction might be! I know I've heaped even more tragedy on poor Remus' already overburdened shoulders, but there was no other choice. It does have the knock-on effect of relieving (some of) the burden on Sirius though, which is a small comfort. I wonder what your reaction to the next chapter will be!

Incidentally, because I'm quite proud of it, I thought I'd mention the chapter title. I like it because not only is the report bad news, but of course the news is bad in the sense of wrong because of the description it gives of Lupin! In a slight nod to the canon PoA chapters, the last chapter of this fic will be called "More Bad News".



You must login (register) to review.