Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 04/21/08 17:40
Chapter: Under the Willow

ooh, the climax. Face to face with Remus Lupin! Nice chapter! I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Next chapter's on it's way! It's kind of my 'Agatha Christie moment', with everyone together in one room and all (or at least most) of the mysteries get explained.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 04/19/08 5:24
Chapter: Trials and Troubles

"...with a slight surprise at the end."

Hope Sirius doesn't turn out to be Voldemort or something. :D

Great chapter, I'm really looking forward to the next one. Thanks!

Author's Response: LOL! I won't be springing any random Polyjuice-surprises like that. In fact, as a little preview of GoF, Moody will be the real Moody in that fic, a fact I'll make clear from the start. No, when I say 'slight', I mean 'slight', though I wonder if anyone's guessed it already.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 04/14/08 17:44
Chapter: Trials and Troubles

I love what you're doing with Scabbers. It's very interesting to see him in the background. Harry's story was quite sad, him losing the map and all. I wonder when they'll find out who the marauders really are!?! As always, a great chapter!

Author's Response: I liked the idea in this chapter of Scabbers getting more and more agitated at Harry's story, but nobody noticing. Scabbers won't be gone for long. Sirius was a bit tough on Harry, but he had his reasons...

Reviewer: SeverusSempra
Date: 04/13/08 19:18
Chapter: Trials and Troubles

I'm really enjoying reading this from Neville's point of view, and I like how you're actually keeping him Neville. He's very much in character. Also, turning the familiar plot-line into a slightly different one with similar episodes makes it enjoyable to read-- I want to keep reading to see what happens next to the story I already know. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! The whole story is really about placing Neville into the familiar situations and seeing how he reacts in a Neville-like way. Great that you're enjoying that. We're gearing up for the climax now - the next chapter is called 'Under the Willow', with a slight surprise at the end.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 03/29/08 11:53
Chapter: A Happy Memory

Awesome chapter, poor Neville though. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, poor Neville. He didn't react well to the revelations of the previous chapter, and Neville's emotions are very important to this story. Next chapter going in now. It's a bit of a filler chapter to set up for the finale.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 03/29/08 10:46
Chapter: A Happy Memory

Oh poor Neville. He's getting compared to Harry and he can't produce his patronus. That's doing wonders to his already low self esteem. Wonderful chapter, by the way!

Author's Response: It is a bit tactless of Sirius to keep mentioning how well Harry's doing, but he's just so proud of his godson. This is a low point for Neville, but really a Patronus is beyond him now, and it's only Sirius' stubbornness that prevents him from admitting that.

Reviewer: MaiaMadness
Date: 03/12/08 18:27
Chapter: The Enemy Within

Just have to say that it's almost as interesting reading you review rsponses as it is reading the story. It's lots of fun how you share your thoughts with us!

And I didn't even notice the to/do thing, not even when I pasted it into the review... lol!

Have an awesome day!

Author's Response: I do like writing review responses, it gives me a chance to get across my own ideas about the story in a different way, plus I get to give hints about what's upcoming! I'm glad you appreciate them. We're back after the break now, so the story will now plough on!

Reviewer: TedLupin32
Date: 03/10/08 19:45
Chapter: The Enemy Within

Great!!!! Update soon!!!!

Author's Response: I've just arrived back on the site after the upgrade, so am putting the next chapter in immediately!

Reviewer: Prof M McGonagall
Date: 03/04/08 22:24
Chapter: The Enemy Within

Neville's reaction to learning of his parent's death is a lot like Harry's in the first book. And Neville's feelings of loneliness remind me of Harry's after he discovers the Mirror of Erised. I guess that's because this is the first time he's really had to face the truth of his parents' deaths like Harry had to in PS. I loved how this chapter was written. It's layered together so well.

Author's Response: Thanks for your comments, it's definitely what I was going for. To begin with, because by and large he had a better upbringing and understands the wizarding world better, Neville isn't as affected by the loss of his parents as Harry. He doesn't think about them or miss them so much. It also fits in better with his more bottled-up personality. This however is the first time he's confronted with the idea that his parents should have survived, that their death wasn't inevitable but due to one man's betrayal. It hits him quite hard over the next two or three chapters, until the climax. This is definitely one of my favourite chapters to date, as it has so much going on (the Marauders, Scabbers, Lupin, Frank and Alice, even Scrimgeour makes a cameo appearance). I've been building up to this one for a long time, almost since the beginning of the series.

Reviewer: MaiaMadness
Date: 03/03/08 18:58
Chapter: The Enemy Within

I've been very bad at leaving reviews...

The last few chapters have been really exciting. I love seeing the familiar plotline in a different way. I particularly enjoyed the retelling of what happened the night the Longbottoms died. You make it all fit so very well together. It's really the same story, but so different all the same. Great job!

One piece of concrit. This sentence:

it would neither be safe or wise to let him to so

When you use "neither" it should be followed by "nor". Either, or and neither, nor. The N signifies a negative. So it should be "neither safe NOR wise". :)

Thanks for writing an excellent story! I'm looking forward to reading more once the queue opens again!

Author's Response: I'm glad you're enjoying it. This story did take a fair bit of work to have it all make sense and fit together, far more than either of the others. On the other hand, having it all planned out meant that when I came to write it, it was a lot easier and quicker. Good catch on the 'neither...nor' thing. I know about it, but it's the sort of thing that does slip by occasionally and I don't catch. I'll hold off fixing it until the site's sorted, in case it messes something up!

Author's Response: I've also just noticed there's a typo in that sentence: it should be 'do so', not 'to so'! I obviously wasn't concentrating much when I wrote that sentence.

Reviewer: dominiqueweasley
Date: 02/28/08 18:39
Chapter: The Enemy Within

I really like this series and this story in paticular. Its so intersting how you adapt the story line to fit Neville's prospective!

Author's Response: Thank you! I think this story might be shaping up to be the best yet, but then PoA is such a fantastic book, I had a great base from which to start. The key to the series has always been Neville's reactions and choices in situations similar enough to those Harry found himself in. What Neville learned about his parents' death in this chapter isn't all that different to what Harry discovered, but his reaction is quite different, as the next chapter will show in more detail.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 02/28/08 13:39
Chapter: The Enemy Within

So great to finally read it. :D

Great chapter, the whole second marauders thing is cool and I really liked Harry's comment about the name prongs. :D

Author's Response: It's good to have it out there at last. I can't put the next chapter in yet till they fix the problems, but this is a good half-way point in the story to take a pause anyway. I love throwing in little ironic remarks like the Prongs comment, they're great fun to play around with.

Author's Response: It's good to have it out there at last. I can't put the next chapter in yet till they fix the problems, but this is a good half-way point in the story to take a pause anyway. I love throwing in little ironic remarks like the Prongs comment, they're great fun to play around with.

Author's Response: Whoops! Sorry about that.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 02/27/08 12:43
Chapter: The Enemy Within

Poor, poor Remus. everyone thinks he's such a bad guy. I like the way you're doing this, with the Marauders Map and Lupin. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response:

There seems almost more of a tragedy for Remus than there was for Sirius, as Remus had had so much go wrong in his life already.

I'd always planned to introduce the Second Marauders, indeed there are hints to their existence all the way back to PS. (I have to say, at least one reviewer, I can't remember who, predicted it during PS and I was most impressed.) It provides a useful focus and place in the story for Harry, plus they will prove valuable to the plot down the road.



Author's Response: Edited to add: I've looked it up and that reviewer was I_solemnly_swear. Kudos to that person!

Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 02/23/08 22:59
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

Wow!!! what a great chapter!!!
I know its been a while since I review but that doesn´t mean I´ve stopped reading I have just been busy lately. Your stories are still some of my fave fanfics.
Your version of POA is quite interestin and a lot different from the original I seriously have no idea were you´re taking which is great!!
I love the how you portray the relationship btw Harry and Sirius he is one of my fave characters in the series and I was so mad at JKR for killin him in book five I SIRIUSLY hope you´re not doin the same!!!! I cant wait to see what happens w/ Lupin I imagine he is innocent in this story the same way Sirius was. What about Scabbers where is he???
I´m just dying to know whats going to happen..
keep up the great work!!


smacky!!!

Author's Response:

Thanks! PoA was always going to be one of the most changed of the stories, and I'm enjoying writing it. GoF will be closer to the original, because I'm constrained by the structure of the Triwizard Tournament, but there will be several surprises along the way. OotP should be quite different in tone, and darker if I get it right

Sirius comes across to me in this story as more acting like Harry's best mate than a father figure. My idea being that Harry has become Sirius' subsitute James. But he still has responsibilities as a guardian and he's very protective of Harry, which is understandable given everything that's happened in his life.

The next chapter is a big plot chapter with a couple of surprises in it that should help show where this story's going (including info about Scabbers). I don't know when it'll be up, though. It went in the queue just before the problems erupted (over three weeks ago), and I guess it'll come out when things are sorted. I can't wait to see what you all make of it.

Reviewer: OHara
Date: 02/04/08 9:54
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

I really enjoy the way you're taking this fanfiction. The parts with Harry and Sirius are really well done. Funny thing, I always imagined Charity being sixty or so, but JK doesn't say anything specific.

Anyway, great story!

Author's Response: I did check Charity carefully. Rowling gives no description, so the age and appearance of the character are entirely open. Also, according to one of Rowling's post-DH comments, Quirrell was the previous Muggle Studies teacher, so Charity can only have been in the job three years at this point. So a younger age for her is not inconsistant.

Reviewer: Prof M McGonagall
Date: 02/03/08 22:37
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

I really like this chapter. I enjoyed the hint of a deeper side to Sirius. I'm also looking forward to seeing Neville attempt a patronus. I'll be anticipating the next chapter!

Author's Response: Neville's Patronus lessons are the subject of chapter 8, 'A Happy Memory'. There's some big revelations to cover first.

Reviewer: Kif
Date: 02/02/08 12:39
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

Well done, I really love the Snape and Sirius dialogue, very realistic and entertaining. :D

Author's Response: Thanks. It's a joy to have those two sniping at each other.

Reviewer: Kiwi_Chick
Date: 02/02/08 2:12
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

Great story so far. I love the twists you put on the stories to make them your own. I especially love that Harry lives with Sirius.

Author's Response: Thanks! I wanted to write Harry as he 'could have been', if he didn't have the weight and history of being the Boy-Who-Lived on his shoulders. Placing him with Sirius really allows that to happen. I intend to have Neville visit them at home for a chapter in OOTP.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 02/01/08 16:09
Chapter: Attack by Moonlight

A very nice chapter. I really liked the dialogue between Sirius and Snape. Also, the part at the end when Sirius tells Neville that Harry jumped on the chance and Neville says "I'm not Harry", I thought that was really good. I'm eager to see the next chapter!! :)

Author's Response: Sirius and Snape's fight was a joy to write. I wrote it all in one long stream without a pause and barely any editing, it came out so naturally. It's always best when I can let rip with the characters. The next chapter's a biggie, with shocks and revelations galore. I look forward to it going up!

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 01/20/08 18:13
Chapter: First Trip to Hogsmeade

wow...a nice, happy chapter and then at the end, boom Lupin. I'll be soo excited when they find out that Lupin's a good guy. And Sirius and Professor Burbage eh? Interesting. Can't wait for the next chapter!!! :)

Author's Response: This was a light chapter setting up things to come (There's a big clue in here for a revelation in chapter 7). I do wonder if I'm the world's first Sirius/Charity shipper. Probably not :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES