Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Boy

Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 02/26/08 15:41 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
This was fantastic! Kids are so funny sometimes. Not sure if Harry would actually be like that, I always imagined he'd be a withdrawn and quiet child, but I love how you've portrayed him. Keep writing.


Name: Pottergirl (Signed) · Date: 02/23/08 21:34 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
Is Jo a kind of cross-over of JKR? Just wondering.

Author's Response: No, actually. I named the character after a friend from London without ever thinking about JKR. And then it was pointed out in a review, but too late to change, and the name just seemed to fit anyways, so it stuck regardless.


Name: Weasley24 (Signed) · Date: 02/08/08 13:33 · For: Chapter One: Intro
Aww, this chapter made me really feel for little Harry. I haven’t seen a story like this yet, and I think you’ve done really well with tackling Harry’s earlier life

Another thing I haven’t really seen yet is a story from Harry’s point of view and you’ve characterized him really well. The only thing I would say is that Harry was never the one to keep quiet; he speaks back rather a lot.

You are spot on with the Dursley’s personality and what I think you’ve done really well is the way Dudley speaks. I don’t know what it is, and perhaps I’m just weird, but I can just imagine a little Dursley Dudley in my head saying “Ought” This is probably just me, though.

I’m on the MNFF Beta Boards and your signature is what drew me to this story. I love the title “Boy” it’s wonderfully simple. I also like the little tagline, it just made me want to read this story.

…Dudley will take everything before I'm allowed my own food, and i will never get to taste the bacon

The “I” should be capitalized J.

All in all this story is really good!

-Sarah


Name: Shae Weasley (Signed) · Date: 01/27/08 18:36 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
I dunno if I've reviewed this before, but my-oh-my. That "Little Harry" Is freaking adorable! I love it!


Name: James Jameson (Signed) · Date: 01/01/08 18:29 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
AW! I loved that! Harry is deff fit! *squish hugs Harry*


Name: James Jameson (Signed) · Date: 01/01/08 18:17 · For: Chapter One: Intro
Tha's so sad! Harry's POV at age eight! What a horrible life he had! You really captured that well! Great job!


Name: Chaser921 (Signed) · Date: 12/19/07 16:42 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
Aw, Harry is so sweet! His voice is perfect; I really like that you've got it in first person. And his characterization is beautiful - he sounds his age. It's really difficult to write a young child, and you do it wonderfully. Your writing style reminds me a little of Frank McCourt in Angela's Ashes - have you read it? You should.

Anyway, really excellent story so far; I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: I have, actually, and I'm flattered! Frank McCourt is a brilliant writer. Thanks!


Name: MaiaMadness (Signed) · Date: 12/13/07 17:58 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
I really love this story so far. Your descriptions as nine-year-old Harry are truly excellent and very real. It also gives a very real idea of all the horrors Harry must have faced simply living with the Dursleys. Great work! I'm eagerly awaiting more.

Maia


Name: sqib dream (Signed) · Date: 12/12/07 9:43 · For: Chapter One: Intro
I saw your banner in the forums, and was immediately intrigued. It looks like a great story, and I hope you write more soon. You have the mentality of a little boy down perfectly. Is the story AU? I don't mind if it is, but if it's not, I will be interested as to how you plan to keep it canon. It would be good both ways.

Author's Response: It is AU, yes, but I want to make it compliant with the canon of the books later, with a small exception being some of the dynamics between Harry and Snape. And thanks!


Name: Shae Weasley (Signed) · Date: 12/11/07 6:34 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
aw, Harry's got himself a girlfriend! Not really, I know... but how cute! This is exactly what I imagined nine-year-old Harry to be like. Splendid Job!


Name: shadow6844 (Signed) · Date: 12/09/07 20:48 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
Great story so far. Hope you continie.


Name: JovanSchnee (Signed) · Date: 12/04/07 10:06 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
Very good. I think you've captured the outlook of a small boy very well. Most FF always has young kids thinking and acting like adults. Writing from a kid's point of view makes things much more poignant. Looking forward to more.


Name: NoxSomnium (Signed) · Date: 12/03/07 10:55 · For: Rainbow People in the Waiting Room
Love it. Harry as a child who doesn't act like he's an adult yet, weird :). In this chapter, he almost seemed too young, but that can be attributed to the fact that he really doesn't have anything to learn about social norms from.


Name: rainydaze (Signed) · Date: 11/29/07 20:42 · For: Chapter One: Intro
awesome, you've really managed to capture Harry in the way that I see him :)


Name: Stubbornly_appeared (Signed) · Date: 11/27/07 23:29 · For: Chapter One: Intro
Awww... this story's going in my favourites.

I love Harry. He's so... so tragic, so amazing. And when he's a little kid, it's just so heartbreaking to read about him. You did a fine job of painting that bittersweet picture.

I can't wait for more.


Name: Sev and Lily (Signed) · Date: 11/24/07 22:35 · For: Chapter One: Intro
The plot was pretty interesting, the only thing that i noticed that sort of bugged me was a few spelling mistakes. for example citizen, not citisin. otherwise it seems good :)

Author's Response: Oh, I forgot all about that! Ach, thank-you. I'll have to edit it. I swear, this chapter is the worse one anyways. It does get better.


You must login (register) to review.