MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Hermiones BFF (Signed) · Date: 05/12/08 21:45 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
Cliff hanger!!! Dun dun dun!!!!! Write more Write more WRITE MORE!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Oh no. If that's a cliffhanger, some other endings coming up will kill you! I'm writing, I'm writing! Almost done chapter 7. Thanks for reading and reviewing. cj

Name: bondman007 (Signed) · Date: 05/10/08 20:17 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
Haha yeah, I did. It's almost as if you have a view into J.K.'s mind as to how she would have written it. I realize that I sometimes prefer reading post-DH-chapter-36 H/G stories that are a little more adult-oriented, but more often than not, it comes at the expense of the story's quality. Your style is a seamless balance between readability for adults (or late teenagers, like me) and the semi-younger set (but I agree with the notion that you wouldn't want your 9-year-old to read it.
P.S. You don't actually have to keep putting disclaimers in each chapter's notes. All you really need is one in the story notes. I know it may not seem that way, but trust me, it's fine. All you really need to do that for is if you pull a quote out of the book(s).

Author's Response: Disclaimers - yeah. It seemed to be getting a little much to be honest. It was getting tough to say the same thing in different ways! LOL! Thanks for the comments about having a view into Ms Rowling's mind. How sweet to say. I actually have the more 'adult-oriented' version on these chapters in my head but as I know the children I work with (grade 6) and my own children read these stories, I had to keep it clean. After all, it's just as easy to click 'yes I'm of age' as it is to click 'no, I'm not', right? I'm pleased you think my writing is a balance between readability for adults and young 'uns. Thanks so much for taking the time to review Sean! cj

Name: bondman007 (Signed) · Date: 05/10/08 12:06 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
*chants as if cheering on Superman* UP-DATE!! UP-DATE!! UP-DATE!!

Author's Response: I take it you liked it then. I'm doing my best to update asap. When my dh was in the hospital I was dying to write and now that he's out and things are slowly getting back to normal, I have a bit of time but I've been hit with the biggest writer's block. Very disheartening! It's lovely to know people are still anxious for the next chapters, though. cj

Name: lioness_of_magic (Signed) · Date: 05/06/08 8:24 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
More more more!!! I laugh whenever I read this fanfic and you really captured the characters personalities which makes reading your story so enjoyable. Your story, in my opinion, is the best fanfic dedicated to filling those nineteen years. Keep up the good work!!!

Author's Response: *blushes profusely* Thank you so much for your kind words. You sure know how to warm an author's heart! More is on its way - I need to get through an exam tomorrow night and then all my free time will be devoted to writing chapters 7 and 8. Thanks very much for reading and reviewing. cj

Name: alex_gough (Signed) · Date: 05/05/08 17:09 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
I really enjoy reading your story! It's quite enjoyable to read a well-written fanfic with proper grammar and good sentence structure for a change. Do update soon, I can't wait to find out what Harry's got up his sleeve for the unsuspecting bookshop keeper... =)

Author's Response: Thanks very much, I'm thrilled you find my writing to be well-written and grammatically correct. Honestly, I'm well-known as the grammar police in my circles. A former co-worker actually had a badge made up that said just that and used to flip open his blazer, revealing it, whenever someone made an error. We were the only two who found it at all humourous! I'm still working on the next chapter; with dh out of the hospital, I may get some more time to finish it soon. cj

Name: Hermy_Is_A_Witch (Signed) · Date: 05/04/08 14:35 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
Really really good!! can't wait for the rest. keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thank you Justine! I will certainly try and keep it up. Where in England are you? I was born in Nottingham and have relatives in London, Birmingham, Ormskirk, and Doncaster. Thanks for reading and reviewing. cj

Name: AurorInTraining (Signed) · Date: 05/01/08 18:02 · For: Chapter 2 - Muggle Studies
Very good, I think Ron should be a little more chivalarous. ;)

Best Wishes,

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! But wait, about Ron: are you being sarcastic, facetious, or serious? Help me out here. cj

Name: lola_lovegood (Signed) · Date: 04/28/08 12:37 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
haha this story gets better each time you (me or i or whatever) read it i love it

oh and about before of course i meant i didnt care either way sry if i was unclear
bye byes


Author's Response: I'm thrilled it seems to get better! And you were not unclear at all, my dear, I was just teasing. I wanted to pretend to cry! cj

Name: kat_wom (Signed) · Date: 04/28/08 6:00 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
great writing!! keep going:)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Khatijah! I'll certainly keep going; I want to know what happens next, too! cj

Name: lilstrywrtr (Signed) · Date: 04/26/08 13:50 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
i like it so far..... pls update soon!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying it. My hubby's still in hospital so writing time is still non-existent for me right now. Chapter 7 is almost done though. Probably not much longer and I can submit it. cj

Name: HPFanatic101 (Signed) · Date: 04/25/08 11:09 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
Definitely, your style is QUITE like JKR's
it was almost like I was reading her work!
Great job! But I have one question...
When's the next chapter??? We're dying here!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks Cordelia. I appreciate the kind words. The next chapter needs some tweaking before I can submit. However, my husband is in hospital right now, so he and my children are my priority at the moment. Thanks for reading and reviewing. cj

Name: Leahr (Signed) · Date: 04/24/08 23:04 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
Okay, I was right. This story is really good. Your writing style matches the real books better than most stories do, and your characterization is great too. I've already said I like your dialogue. Any errors are tiny. Definitely update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. You warm an author's heart. Again, I'm thrilled that you are enjoying my writing and believe the characterisation to be great. Oh no! There are errors? Not in canon I hope? I will update asap. My hubby is actually in hospital right now so I get no time to write. I'm hoping as he recovers I will have my regular routine back! Thanks again for reading and reviewing. cj

Name: Leahr (Signed) · Date: 04/24/08 22:14 · For: Chapter 2 - Muggle Studies
Wow, dialogue is really good, excellently realistic, which is really hard to pull off.
You also use a lot of Britishisms- I have no idea if you are British, but there are other airports closer to Heathrow that are small. Though we don't know where Hermione lives, Gatwick or some such is much closer than Manchester. Just a thought. I intend to keep reading this, I like it so far.
And I loved the line about Ginny commenting that Harry is good at housekeeping. He hasn't come anywhere near proposing but she seems to know what she wants already. Okay, I'm going to resist the urge to tell you more things I liked so I can go read the rest of the story now!

Author's Response: Oh wow. I'm thrilled you like my dialogue as I work very hard on getting it to sound realistic. I really detest dialogue that reads: Main character - Hello, . How are you today? I am fine. What would you like to do today?" It makes my teeth hurt just reading it! I hope it's good that I use a lot of 'British-isms'! Hmmm, am I British? I was born in Nottingham, emigrated to Canada at age 5, but still have all of my extended family living there. All I have to do to brush up on my British-isms is to phone one of my aunts or cousins! Hahahahahaha about the airports. The *only* reason I picked Manchester was because when I landed in England for a visit two years ago it was through Manchester. That way, if I did end up having a scene inside the airport, my description could be accurate! It could also have been in Birmingham as I spent time there as well when I crossed over to Ireland to visit a cousin. Just trying to keep it real! lol! I'm glad you like the Ginny line; I figured after all his practise having been forced to clean the Dursleys' abode, he would be quite good at it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! cj

Name: Avada Kedavra815 (Signed) · Date: 04/19/08 13:09 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
So hows chapter 7 going?

Author's Response: not good I'm afraid. family member admitted to hospital today. no writing for me! cj

Name: lola_lovegood (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 19:14 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
fine be that way don't tell me anything see if i care (i don't actually)
hope your week gets less busy or somthing like that oh well


Author's Response: What? You don't care? *sniffs sadly* I hope you just mean you don't mind either way. :) Thanks for the less-busy wishes. I'm hoping that this weekend I'll have some time to write the end of chapter 7 and start on 8 (which *gulp* isn't started). cj

Name: Sunny_Rainbow (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 17:40 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
Yuppers! Helped! I'm imagining the stones emerald for now though, because I like them and they're my birthstone.

Author's Response: Ooooh. Emerald. Pretty. cj

Name: Sunny_Rainbow (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 16:35 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
Okaay, then why did he change the stones? There I go asking a question you won't answer! :D

Author's Response: Hey again Megan. Harry's mother (in my brain) had a locket that he saw in his vault at Gringotts. He was going to give it to Ginny but has a better idea for it. He purchased a ring for Ginny at a Muggle jewellery store but didn't like the stones in it. He asked for them to be changed for a reason that will be revealed in a later chapter (when he actually proposes marriage). I didn't want anyone else to 'see' the ring before Ginny. She's the sort that would get annoyed with that. Did that help? cj

Name: Avada Kedavra815 (Signed) · Date: 04/18/08 11:01 · For: Chapter 1 - Summer That Year
and the award for Most Valuable Author goes to cjbaggins

Author's Response: Awww...you are soooo sweet. I'm blushing here. Thanks so much for your kind words. Stay tuned for the next chappie. cj

Name: lola_lovegood (Signed) · Date: 04/17/08 17:35 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
hello it's me how are you?, busy i expect
great chapter it was really good how you kept us all wondering what was harry planing good clifhanger too CANT WASIT TO READ NEXT CHAPTER SO HUUUURRRRYYYYY UUUPPPP..ahem okay anyway keep up you fabuloux work :D


p.s. is ginny gonna say yes cuz idk maybe she should or maybe she should waiy or maybe she should say yes but they not get married until after she graduates (did i spell that right) from hogwarts or 00h im babbling i'll stop now

Author's Response: Hi Lola. Yes. I'm very busy. I'm going out of my mind this week. With my night class, evening meetings, my kids badminton and basketball practices and games, preparation for my eldest child's Confirmation tomorrow night, not to mention my regular work schedule, I feel like my eyeballs are spinning! I soooooo want to finish chapter 7, there is very little to do on it, but it will be a little longer I'm afraid. I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. As to whether Ginny will say yes - *sing-song voice* I'm no-ot tel-ling! You'll have to wait and see... cj

Name: ginnyrulz13 (Signed) · Date: 04/17/08 9:15 · For: Chapter 6 - Errands
harry's getrting an aweful lot of "ideas",,, lol i like that bit about gringotts! i always wondered how they would treat him.

Author's Response: Isn't he? He's quite bright. ;) Glad you liked the Gringotts bit. I enjoyed writing it. Thanks for reading and reviewing. cj

You must login (register) to review.