Reviews For The Letter
Reviewer: Sporkface
Date: 11/22/07 1:46
Chapter: Chapter 16

Ohmygod, That was awesome :D
I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: More is on the way, hopefully very soon. Thanks for your review. It's really appreciated.

Reviewer: jess1z1
Date: 11/22/07 1:46
Chapter: Chapter 16

Another great chapter. Intense. Scrimgeour is such a lewwzer, lol! Just like Voldy, so blind! Victoire isn't gonna be pleased with Harry when she takes a look at Teddy. Oh, well, that's passion. I'm torn now that it's so close to the end. I'm dying to see what happens next, BADLY but also I don't ever want this story to end. It waiting for Deathly Hallows all over again, darn it. If your write more stories afterwards, though, I might not be so depressed *wink wink* It's what I'd tell JKR. But you be our saviour now!! Amazing writer you are!

Author's Response: I agree that Scrimgeour is a loser, but I think he's more of a sociopath than a pure psychopath like Voldemort. Scrimgeour is certainly self-serving (and very self-pitying) but probably not as hung up on taking over the world as Voldy was. Teddy actually plays a fairly significant role in the next chapter as well, as he has a bit of a "secret" that you'll find out about soon. I've made a good deal of progress on that chapter already, but still have a few loose ends to tie up before I can post it. Sometimes that goes quickly, sometimes I get hung up on a couple of minor plot points, but I'm hoping it'll be up soon. I really appreciate your very flattering words. Thanks so much for your review!

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 11/22/07 0:06
Chapter: Chapter 16

This kind of reminded me of Deathly Hallows, when Harry handed himself over for the sake of others. Except this time Ginny came with him and they had a better plan, and it wasn't sure death. But great chapter, nice cliffhanger at the end.

Author's Response: Glad you like the cliffies. Everyone else has been cursing me soundly for them, but what the heck, they keep people reading, right? Anyway, glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for the comparison, by the way. Any comparison to JKR is always flattering, as she is beyond awesome, in my opinion. Thanks for sticking with the story. More to come soon!

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/21/07 22:12
Chapter: Chapter 11

Ah! So many plot twists my mind is going to explode. Such an amazing story!

Author's Response: Well, don't explode! You've got a long way to go and, as the saying goes, you ain't seen nothin' yet! Glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/21/07 16:44
Chapter: Chapter 10

That's so cute! Lucky Ginny. Except for the part where her kids are in danger.

Author's Response: Yeah, that part would kinda suck, wouldn't it? (lol . . . though not really!) Actually, I think Harry thinks he's pretty lucky too. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 11/21/07 14:10
Chapter: Chapter 15

oh my god, i feel as if im there crying along with harry ginny ron and hermione, i want to help them look for their children. please keep writing and enjoy your family stuff. we dont celebrate thanksgiving in the uk, just trying to pluck up the courage for christmas shopping. keep writing thanx for keeping the hours filled

Author's Response: There's a "plan" to rescue the kids which you'll be able to read all about soon. But you're certainly welcome to help out if you like (lol!). Thanks for your kiind words. I will certainly keep writing and good luck with all your holiday shopping.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/21/07 13:13
Chapter: Chapter 9

The plot thickens! Thank goodness you've written so many chapters already, otherwise the suspense might kill me. By the way, have I mentioned how much I like that you use big words? It makes me feel smart when I know what they mean, and its very good for my vocabulary when I have to look them up.

Author's Response: LOL! I'm glad you like my "big" words. That's why God created the Thesaurus, I suppose. Thanks for sticking with the story. Keep reading.

Reviewer: imlikeginny
Date: 11/21/07 0:45
Chapter: Chapter 15

ur killing me here! i want to finish it so bad! i check everyday to see if you have posted anything new! so , i understand with the holidays but PLEASE try to hurry so my mind can stop whizzing around and b at peace!

Author's Response: I'm so sorry! I feel your pain, I really do. Actually Chapter 16 is coming along a bit faster than I thought it would and ought to be up soon. Hang in there!

Reviewer: m47h13u
Date: 11/21/07 0:08
Chapter: Chapter 15

I had to sign up just to give your story a review.

Let me start off by giving you a little bit of background information so you can understand my views.

I first read Harry Potter when I was about 14 or 15. At first I was pretty skeptical about me loving it, because if there is one thing I despise, it's reading. Amazingly I read through them all (in french mind you (I don't care what anyone has the say, the french versions are much better due to the languages infinite possibilities)). I really fell in love with the story, and how it made me feel. This was seriously the first ever piece of literature that hit me at an emotional level. When I finished DH not to long ago (there is a delay due to translation), I was happy with the way the Voldemort plot arc ended, but the whole ending at Kings Cross left me frustrated, and empty inside. The whole story had gone on on a day to day basis and now, in a few pages 19 years had flown by. I was demolished. This is the first time I've felt sad after something like this, because the chasm that the DH ending had left inside of me was so big, I didn't know how to fill it.

Then I remembered one of my friends saying she read lots of fanfic. I was never one for this kind of stuff but I said hey, what do I have to lose.

That's when I fell upon your piece of literature. I honestly can't express in words how much your story has fixed me. This is going to sound corny, but it almost seems like JKR wrote this. You do however pull off something she hasn't been able to, encounters of the affectionate kind. When I read your story I feel exactly the way I felt reading through the seven books. When you describe "love scenes" (these encompass anything from a discussion to kissing, etc), I feel you pull it off much better than in the books. The hole that DH has ripped inside of me is slowly healing do to mostly your writing and a bit of determination to get over it. I feel that it would be a crime to a) rush the rest of the story, it should take as many chapters as you feel it needs and b) stopping after this. I know you probably don't have a whole year to spend on writing fanfic, but I implore you to continue, I even suggest you write your next piece as a continuation from the end of DH.

Sincerely, I hope you keep at it because you're fantastic at this.

Author's Response: I am absolutely overwhelmed by your review and don't know quite how to begin responding except to say thank you so very much for your very kind and flattering words. Like you, I was left with a feeling of emptiness at the end of the HP series, not least because of my frustration with the notorious 19-year gap between the last chapter of DH & the Epilogue. Then I thought, if Jo isn't going to fill in the blanks I'll do it myself, and from that feeling this story evolved. I am indeed flattered by your comparisons to JKR, but in all fairness and modesty (and I don't think it's false modesty by any means) these are her characters and this is her world, I'm just visiting for awhile. She's really done most of the hard work for me by creating these wonderful characters in the first place. At any rate, I am very glad that you love my story so much, Chapter 16 is progressing much more quickly than I thought it would and actually ought to be up fairly soon. Thank you once again!

Reviewer: StormySkies
Date: 11/20/07 23:56
Chapter: Chapter 4

Aw, it was so sweet. I love the way you portray Harry and Ginny's future relationship, it's just the way I imagined it. Great story too but I do hope it doesn't get too similar to the same old rise of a new dark lord story. I'm sure it won't though and I really do like it so far.

Author's Response: No, don't worry. No new Dark Lords in this story. I'm glad you like it and hope you keep reading. Thanks!

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 22:41
Chapter: Chapter 8

Oh I was so right wasn't I? I mean, what kind of Auror is that neglectful without alterior motives? What's Harry going to make Ted do? I'm so curious!

Author's Response: There are some additional surprises in store that you probably won't have anticipated. I'm glad you're curious, so keep reading and you'll find out a lot more.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 19:15
Chapter: Chapter 7

That is quite the cliffie! Does Scrimgeour have anything to do with it? It sure seems like he does, trying to make Harry go on vacation and not following up on Attor and Blaise. It seems like he has something to hide. I can't wait to find out!

Author's Response: You'll just have to keep reading, won't you? Thanks for your reviews. They're very appreciated.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 18:36
Chapter: Chapter 6

I like your plot twists. I can't wait to see what Zabini is up to. And I've been trying so hard to think up the connection between him and McLaggen. By the way, its really cool how you drudged up two kind of random characters to write a fan fic. Its great.

Author's Response: In order to keep things canon, the minor, random characters are really all we have to work with as JKR killed off all the major villains, didn't she? LOL Anyway, thanks for your comments. I'm glad you're enjoying the story so much.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 17:35
Chapter: Chapter 5

Your characterization is amazing. It's so hard to write dialog, and you always do a fabulous job of it. I love reading it, it makes me laugh.

Author's Response: Actually, I find dialogue easier to write than just about anything else. Much easier than descriptive narrative anyway. I suppose that has something to do with the fact that I am a prolific talker, but not the world's greatest observer. I tend to be more auditory than visual. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 16:17
Chapter: Chapter 4

I love it, I love it, I love it, and I can't say so enough.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Glad you're enjoying the story.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 15:19
Chapter: Chapter 3

Oooo, it really did pick up. I really like that you gave Hermione a hyphonated name by the way. Most writers don't, and I always feel that's a bit out of character for her. And also at some point in your story you wrote trail instead of trial. I wouldn't mention it, but I was just like wicked confused for a minute.

Author's Response: Thanks for the correction. I've fixed that error now (I'd actually caught that earlier and thought I'd fixed, but I guess not). Yes, the excitement builds as the story goes on. Keep reading and you'll find that it picks up even more.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/20/07 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 2

Oh, he's such a good father! Poor Ginny having potentially life changing information sprung on her like that. I'm glad they sorted it out.

Author's Response: Yes, it would be a little disconcerting to find out your husband was considering an important political office and you were the last to know, wouldn't it. Harry is trying, though. Give him time, you'll see more of a transformation.

Author's Response: Yes, it would be a little disconcerting to find out your husband was considering an important political office and you were the last to know, wouldn't it. Harry is trying, though. Give him time, you'll see more of a transformation.

Author's Response: Yes, it would be a little disconcerting to find out your husband was considering an important political office and you were the last to know, wouldn't it. Harry is trying, though. Give him time, you'll see more of a transformation.

Reviewer: noviwanwife
Date: 11/20/07 8:08
Chapter: Chapter 15

Just had to write back and tell you how much I am still thinking about your story. The world of Harry Potter for me has always been one in which I can escape into, yet at the same time contemplate and take valuable lessons from in which to use in my life as a woman, wife, friend and especially mother! I have, as I am sure many die hard fans have too, felt like a major piece of something close to them is gone since DH came out. This story, and I hope more to come, fills that need to stay connected to characters that we have all fallen in love with. I truly could see all of this happening. As many fans have said, JKR could write years of novels of just Harry's adventures as an Auror, the next generation, Teddy, or any combination of the above. You have so helped to fill in the loss I think many of us have felt. I just wanted you to know that. I am thankful for your story (and yes I am a Yank and will be celebrating this Thursday!).

Author's Response: I am awed and humbled by your comments. Like you, I felt something was gone after reading DH, but the missing pieces at the end frustrated me so much that I wrote this fic to fill in the gaps to bring myself a little more closure. That you feel my story has re-connected to Harry's world is very flattering and I really, REALLY appreciate you taking the time to say what you have. I will consider writing more fics. Not sure if I'd do anything else as indepth as this (though I've learned never to say never) but have some largely undeveloped ideas for a couple of one-shots and/or shorter fics in the back of my mind. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, and thank you again for your very kind words.

Reviewer: DaisyMaeEvans
Date: 11/20/07 6:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

I sat down last night and read this entire story in one sitting. I couldn't stop till I was done! It's extremely moving and compelling. I can't wait till the next chapter!
-Daisy

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Love your moniker by the way (is there a Lil Abner somewhere in your life?).

Reviewer: RagingTomato
Date: 11/19/07 23:02
Chapter: Chapter 15

I know I already wrote in about this chapter, but I just went back and read your responses to my earlier reviews because I never realized you wrote back! My name comes from a high school english class, when my teacher was using vocab words in sentences. He used another word for nickname and said that my nickname is the raging tomato. No idea why, I don't have red hair or anything, but it stuck anyways. Just thought I'd let you know since you asked! And as always, I absolutely love your writing and I can't wait for the next chapter. You somehow include all these little details that JKR herself has always enchanted me with, I just love it. I honestly feel like this really happened before the epilogue in Deathly Hallows. I will probably never read the epilogue again without thinking of The Letter as what happened right before it. Keep up the great work and have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Author's Response: Your comments actually brought tears to my eyes. The reason I wrote this in the first place was out of a sense of frustration with the infamous 19 year gap at the end of Deathly Hallows. I figured that if Jo wasn't going to give us the information, I'd fill in the blanks myself, so I imagined what might have happened and it's actually been quite satisfying. But to know that something I've written has had a similar effect on someone else is incredibly moving. This entire experience has had an enormous impact on my confidence as a writer, which had suffered a serious setback as a result of an illness and a couple of professional disappointments. I'd started to think I'd lost my creative spark, but all the lovely reviews I've received with this story have restored my faith and I think I'll be able to keep writing with a lot more confidence now. Thank you so very much! And thanks for explaining your pen-name too. It was so unusual that I did wonder about it. Thanks again!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES