Reviews For The Letter
Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 11/26/09 10:55
Chapter: Chapter 5

Nice chapter. I like the familey dinamics. George is defenetly a good uncle. Zabani, he seems liek a could be bad guy, I wonder what connection harry is thinking of. It seems cruel that James doesn't get to go to Hogwarts. Harry got to go even when Voldemort was chasing him. Arhh it is so unfair.

Reviewer: Clever Pseudonym
Date: 11/13/09 13:47
Chapter: Chapter 19

What an amazing story! I stumbled across this at 1AM and it kept me up until I finished with it, just amazing.

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 11/09/09 23:09
Chapter: Chapter 19

What a delightful read. I haven't accomplished a single thing I meant to do tonight, but I'm not a bit sorry. Certainly this is one of (if not THE) the best stories I've read in all of fanfictiondom. Thanks, and great job!

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 11/08/09 19:31
Chapter: Chapter 4

The conversation between Ginny and Harry at the beginning of this chapter was good.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 11/08/09 19:15
Chapter: Chapter 2

Harry and Ginny fighting. Already I like it

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 10/07/09 8:03
Chapter: Chapter 19

Wow = this story.

Start to finish, absolutely superb. Usually, when I leave details on what I liked/disliked, and so forth, but I'm actually speechless. Amazing character development, and I had the whole plot figured out by chapter 3, minus Wilkinson, and it was almost painful, waiting for Harry to put the pieces together.

Wow!

Reviewer: luinrina
Date: 06/21/09 10:23
Chapter: Chapter 11

I found this chapter to be another very interesting read. I especially liked how you brought in Ginny, and her interaction with Blaise. It’s obvious that he still fancies her, and that his feelings for her run deeper than the small scene in HBP lets on. Ginny herself has matured and found a calmer attitude. She no longer is the fiery girl but a caring and worrying mother. You made her a very well-rounded and believable character, and I really like that. It makes the connection she has to Blaise through that incident in her sixth year so much stronger.

What I also very much like is how Ginny is able to get Blaise to the point where he then helps Harry by telling him what he needs to know. It shows that Ginny is able to bring people to do what she wants, like I think she’s always been able to.

Where I doubted your flawless characterisation a bit at first was where Blaise got sentimental when Ginny showed him the pictures. I found it close to being overdone, but it isn’t when I take into consideration Blaise’s feelings for Ginny and that she is very close to him at that moment. I suppose even someone so calm-appearing like Blaise would start losing the mask he wears and show more of his deeper and hidden self.

All in all, another fantastic chapter that fascinated me from the first word to the last full stop.

Reviewer: luinrina
Date: 06/21/09 9:52
Chapter: Chapter 8

I loved this chapter. You have a talent of writing long dialogues that are interesting, gripping, humorous and at the same time serious, informative but still mysterious, not giving away anything of the plot. I can only applaud you. Dialogue often tends to become tedious to read if it’s too long, but it didn’t happen here. I can read this chapter over and over again without getting bored.

What I also admire is your characterisation through the dialogue. The way you let the characters speak and the words they use tell me a lot about Harry and Blaise. Especially with Blaise you managed to create a grown-up version of a very minor character we know from the books. The characteristics we learnt from Rowling shine through and are yet evolved to make Blaise an adult through and through.

Fantastic work.

Reviewer: inspirations
Date: 06/19/09 11:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hello, dear. Well, I read this story a while ago, but I remembered it when I was doing my character class over on the forums, and I’m pleased I got to look over the story again. :) I have to say, it was wonderfully written, and I seriously couldn’t leave my computer I wanted to know what happened next so much! Actually, come to it, I’m surprised I haven’t read your other stories. Anyhow...

You know, one of my favourite things about The Letter is the family dynamics you’ve got going. I mean, you have this enormous Weasley family, and they are exactly how I would expect them to be. Just so tight, close... I love the family gathering, and the small mentioning about why they don’t have them more often. Lol. I find it quite likely – imagine trying to squeeze them all into the Burrow on a rainy day.

My character for characterisation class is Hugo, so I was specifically paying attention to your characterisation of him. For the very few mentions he gets, I have to say you fleshed him out well. You slipped in little adjectives with him, which showed us his character. I mean, in the last chapter for example, Ron turns to him about the driving lessons – it shows that Hugo is the one who will stick up for his dad. That whole section portrays Hugo as trustworthy and honest. But in other parts of the fic, you show us different traits, too. Like proud of his father. I noticed things like this with the other characters, as well, and as somebody who really isn’t good with characterisation, it was lovely to see how you developed these characters so well – especially the lesser mentioned ones like Hugo.

When I initially read this story, I loved the plot you unfurled around Scrimgeour’s son, and Blaise Zabini and all that. How you pieced it all together is very well done, and so well written. I love how you build the story up, and give it such a fantastic climax until it winds back down to the lovely light-hearted ending.

I will definitely delve into one of your other stories when I have time and give it a review that comments more than just on the characterisation. Lol. –hugs-

Reviewer: jenhike
Date: 04/11/09 0:17
Chapter: Chapter 19

I just finished reading "The Letter" and it is just wonderful! A wonderful story and I just loved the interactions you had between Harry and Ginny - only JKR could have written better! Thank you so much for a wonderful story to satisfy my need for a Harry Potter fix!

Reviewer: DarkLunaP
Date: 04/08/09 10:51
Chapter: Chapter 1

This is amazing!
I love the way you portrayed the characters. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: AlexPotter
Date: 04/04/09 21:53
Chapter: Chapter 19

I stayed up till 4am to read this. It was absolutely amazing. I've recommended it to all of my friends. A job well done! x

Reviewer: Shades_Of_Gray
Date: 01/18/09 20:56
Chapter: Chapter 1

Great job! I love that part when James came running into the room, "As though flung from a slingshot" That's so funny...Also how I always imagined James!

Reviewer: MagEd
Date: 10/27/08 20:04
Chapter: Chapter 19

If I was a better person, I would have reviewed for each chapter as I read. Unfortunately, I was just too eager to keep reading! I'll try and make up for it by giving you a nice long review now. First and foremost, I have to say this is one of the best fanfictions I've read in a long, long time, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I don't read fanfiction as much as I used to, but I'm certainly glad that I saw this recommended over in the Hufflepuff forums and decided to give it a go.

You're characterizations of everyone are always spot on; I particularly liked the way you captured Ron and Hermione. I can imagine their house being a refuge for House Elves without trouble, and picturing it in my mind always makes me smile. I also loved Ron's affection for Rosie -- as crazy as Ron is, I'm sure he'd make an excellent father. (Oh, God, I've been so obsessed with Harry Potter for so long I talk about the characters like they're real people! Oh, well.)

I was also very impressed with the way you were able to intertwine a mystery that slowly unfolds and keeps readers on the edge of their seats with a plotline that centers on family, on Harry and Ginny's love for one another and their family. You definitely made their romance exactly as I pictured it. I agree that J.K. Rowing, much as I love her, ought to have put a little something more on Harry and Ginny SOMEWHERE in the seventh book, and this definitely helps make up for it. In my mind, this is canon.

While I'm spewing out this long review, I have to confess that I nearly started crying when Ted was in the Hospital and he and Harry were talking. I loved Remus and Tonks, and I think you managed to do them justice with your portrayal of Ted! The relationship he's formed with the Potters in this story is wonderful; it's no wonder I teared up!

In short, I have nothing but good things to say about this story. I usually like to offer constructive criticism, as I always appreciate it, but I really have nothing to add. This story is phenomenal as is. I didn't see any typos whatsoever, which never fails to impress me (on the rare occasion that it occurs!) Lastly, I have to say that I loved how it ended. Harry swinging Lily around and shouting "I'm Daddy!" in the train station is a perfect moment to picture, and definitely something Harry Potter, after his horrible childhood, deserves to be able to do! :)

Author's Response: Wow! I hardly know how to respond to such a glowing review. But you've definitely made up for a lack of quantity with quality. I hope you'll also read 'Great Expectations' which, though it takes place earlier chronologically, goes into greater depth and also provides the basis of future stories that I have planned. Thank you so very much. I am truly humbled and grateful.

Reviewer: Snowy Owl 73
Date: 09/16/08 22:26
Chapter: Chapter 19

This was an excellent story. Your writing is well in line with JKR herself. You have done her characters proud. Thank you for sharing your gift.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I really appreciate your comments.

Reviewer: overlord
Date: 08/25/08 23:47
Chapter: Chapter 2

Oh, well done. I was quite excited to discover that Ginny had played Quidditch and is now a columnist. You had me worried. Harry's bitterness has turned too. I'm quite pleased.

I also love the children. You've made them each into excellent characters. Though I haven't heard much of Albus. I really like that Hugo sticks up for Ron, it's so cute.

I like to say something negative for the benefit of the writer, and you've made it hard for me this time. But, does selling illegal potions really make Cormac McLaggen a dark wizard? It seems to me like he's simply a petty criminal. He hasn't got the brain to be a dark wizard.

Truly well done. I'll be reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Naw, I couldn't have Ginny be a hausfrau. You'll hear more of Albus later in the story. As for Cormac, his situation is a lot more complicated than it first appears. I tend to weave mysteries into mysteries, so you have to keep reading to get the full story. Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: overlord
Date: 08/25/08 23:01
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh, I love it. There's so much going on, it's got a lot of depth. It really paints a picture in the mind of the reader. I'm rather glad I stumbled upon this.

I am not, however, as pleased that you've made Ginny into somewhat of a housewife. And Harry seems a bit bitter.

I'll read the next chapter. You've certainly struck my interest.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. I'm glad your interest was piqued.

Reviewer: RC_2006
Date: 07/20/08 4:01
Chapter: Chapter 19

Amazing. Absolutely Amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: muggler180
Date: 06/01/08 22:56
Chapter: Chapter 19

it was such a good story one of my favorites

Author's Response: Thanks so much for all your reviews. I really appreciate them!

Reviewer: muggler180
Date: 06/01/08 22:42
Chapter: Chapter 18

aww such a happy ending

Author's Response: Yes, I'm a sucker for those!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
A Christmas in Azkaban by shadowkat678 3rd-5th Years
Hope is like a flickering candle. It can be snuffed out, but it can also be...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES