Reviews For The Letter
Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 11/26/07 0:50
Chapter: Chapter 17

And that is why I love Hermione. She would figure things out like that. As for Teddy's power, I've never heard the werewolf thing before, But I think I like it. It makes a lot of sense in the only way a Harry Potter Story could. more more more! please : )

Author's Response: Yes, and Rose is Hermione's daughter for sure, isn't she? The reason you've never heard of anyone with Teddy's "unique" ability is because it's something I made up. It's based on Remus's comments in DH that he feared his unborn child would inherit somethng from him, and a really wonderful fic I read on another site about the lingering effects Bill Weasley experiences as a result of his own attack. But attributing it to Teddy's metamorphmagus power is my own spin on things. Unusual, but useful, at least in this situation. Thanks for your comments. They are appreciated.

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 11/26/07 0:35
Chapter: Chapter 16

I can hardly stop reading to take time to review! Excellent plot progression. Normally a story with large blocks a text turn me off, but your paragraphs are relevent and flow very nicely. Great work!

Author's Response: With a story like this, where there's so much history that everybody knows about, large blocks of text are kind of inevitable. I'm glad you found them interesting enough to get through it all, though. Thanks!

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 11/25/07 20:13
Chapter: Chapter 10

Great chapter! 10/10

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate it.

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 11/25/07 18:06
Chapter: Chapter 8

I am so confused. I going to re-read the chapter to see if that helps........... nope. I can't wait to see it unravel!

Author's Response: Keep reading. It'll all become clearer as you go along. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: giftedmessenger
Date: 11/25/07 17:53
Chapter: Chapter 17

another excellent chapter! cant wait for the next! keep going and i cant wait to see what ur imaginatin spins out for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. I'm working on Chapt. 18 now, but want to make sure I've got all my t's crossed and i's dotted, so I'm taking my time with it a bit more than the others. It wouldn't do to botch it all up at this stage, would it? Thanks for your review. I'll get the next update posted ASAP, I promise.

Reviewer: noviwanwife
Date: 11/24/07 22:21
Chapter: Chapter 17

Okay, I really should go to bed since I am so tired and can't seem to get all my thoughts down into one review! Here are some more comments. I am interested in how no one noticed the blast in the cave. Is there more to that than meets the eye?

I just reread your last paragraph and I was just so moved. One of the things I have loved most in this series was Jo's unwavering faith in the power of love. I have always found that profoundly touching and inspiring. I remember this first time I read POA and I cried my eyes out at the end. I truly felt only a mother could write this story. Probably one of the greatest themes any author could promote in literature is the importance of all types of love and the priceless value of our relationships in this world. What I love about this story is it's focus on more adult love. The series, by virtue of starting out with children and aging them into adolescence, has never focused on adult romantic love; it would not have been appropriate. What is wonderful with your work is the continued growth of the characters we know so well and seeing another dimension to them that, unfortunetly, we will never be able to fully explore except through the works of such talented people as yourself (that is unless Jo suprises us, but somehow I don't think that very likely). I would love to see you explore Ron and Herimone's marriage as well as more glimpses into their parenting roles. But being the huge Harry/Ginny shipper I am (and have been for many years) I would be more than content with more snapshots into their lives. They are both outstanding, complex individuals who truly complete each other (if I can steel that line from Jerry Mcquire!). This truly is one of the most serious, and mature stories I have ever read on these fanficition sites. You should feel quite proud! I have a long list, as I am sure many of your fans might, of moments in these characters lives we would like to see told through your eyes: Harry's hysteria when Ginny get's injured that acts as the catalyst for their engagment, Ron punching out Cormac which leads to his and Hermione's subsequent engagement, any of the children's births, etc...The possibilites are endless, and frankly much better suited to be sorted out by more creative minds like yours!

Author's Response: Gracious! Where to begin? First of all, yes, there is more to the blast in the cave than meets the eye. You'll find out about that in Chapt. 18, which will probably be the longest chapter to date. I've already started it, but really don't want to muck everything up at this stage of the game, so it may be a little while before I can get it posted. As for the last paragraph of Chapt. 17, I was a little teary-eyed when I wrote iit and had a hard time reading it out loud to a friend over the phone afterward. I'm with you 100% on the "love" theme in the HP series. That was my favorite part too, and I felt obligated to continiue it in some form with this story. I don't know that I'd attempt a Ron/Hermione fic, primarily because I'm not sure I get their relationship (they are SO different, I don't know they make it work!) but there are a lot of good stories out there about them already, which is one of the reasons I chose to focus on Harry & Ginny. The best fanfic writers either ignore H/G as too dull and uninspiring, or fluff them to death with such sappy scenarios it's a wonder they don't all expire from diabetic comas. I have, however, thought about writing a story describing Harry & Ginny's engagement, including the Quidditch injury that finally lit a fire under things (in my world, at least). As for the children's births, I have already started a Christmas story that deals at least in part with the birth of James which occurs (in my imagination) shortly before Christmas. This is a story that I've promised to the Reviews Lounge on FanFiction.net, but I plan to post it here too. It's just a one-shot, but I already have a title. It's called "To Hear the Bells Ring" so if you have me on your author alert list, you'll be notified when it's posted here. You can also check it out on the other site as well - I use the same name there only it's Cassandra's Cross rather than Cassandras Cross as it is here. Thanks so very much for your beautiful, detailed, incredibly thoughtful comments. I adore reading your reviews and hope to see many more in the future!

Reviewer: harry3gin
Date: 11/24/07 22:09
Chapter: Chapter 17

Great chapter. I love that Ginny & Hermione are on the same page - and that Harry isn't doubting them. Great job!

Author's Response: Harry wouldn't doubt them, would he, after what he's seen? It was the power of a mother's love that saved him from Voldemort, so he'd be the last person to doubt that power when he saw it in his own wife. Thanks for your comments. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: noviwanwife
Date: 11/24/07 21:36
Chapter: Chapter 17

I thought of another comment after I sent off my last review. I love how Ginny saves Harry! She is no damsel in distress, and his comment to her afterwards was great! I can't wait for the reunion with the kids! I am going to be so sad to see this story end.

Author's Response: Yes, one thing I was absolutely determined on with this story, and that was that Ginny was going to kick some serious you-know-what. She was pushed way too much into the sidelines in DH, and I hated seeing her so meek and accepting, especially after the fiesty, spirited girl we caught a glimpse of in HBP. So, no, in my mind, Ginny is no damsel in distress. She is Harry's true partner in every sense of the word, and frankly, I don't think Harry would have it any other way!

Reviewer: noviwanwife
Date: 11/24/07 21:25
Chapter: Chapter 17

Very clever, very clever indeed! I love what you did in this chapter and I love the whole part about mother's intiution and love; very good combination of the emotional and action adventure. However, I have a question. I am assuming that Ron's deluminator is stilled charmed to somehow always track Harry? That is how they were able to find him, they just added the extra charm of the voice recognition, is that correct? I was a tad disappointed with your plot point of the anti-apparation wards put into place; I would have thought Harry would have realized that and anticipated it. That is the only thing I find a little of a stretch here. I love that the kids were clever enough to escape. I would not have expected anything less from Ron, Hermione and Harry's kids! Teddy's unique ability was a nice added (and very believable) touch!

Author's Response: I don't know that the Deluminator was originally charmed to track Harry. If you'll recall from DH, it responded to Ron's name, but it was Hermione who uttered it, though she was with Harry at the time. The way I'm figuring, in the years that have gone by since Ron first acquired the Deluminator, he's learned a couple of things about it and added a few touches of his own. The way they rigged it up was that it was charmed to respond to Harry's voice specifically calling out for Ron. That was the signal they'd worked out in advance. As for Harry neglecting to consider the possibility of an Imperturbable Charm, it was a simple oversight on his part and proof that, as good as he is, he's not infallible. I didn't want the whole thing to come off too seamlessly as it wouldn't have seemed realistic (though since we're dealing with fantasy here, realism might be a moot point). The plan was so bloody complex and convulted to begiin with, and let's face it, Harry was tired, he was worried about his kids, it was all very last minute. . . there had to be at least one glitch, right? That's the way I worked it out anyway. Also, as a literary device, it adds to the drama to ahve something go wrong, so there you have it. Hope that makes a little sense to you. Teddy's ability was inspired by Remus's comment in DH, as well as a wonderful fanfic I read on another site about Bill's "lingering effects" from his attack by Greback. Teddy's really grown on me throughout this process. I'm considering another story with him as the focus, but I haven't decided yet. At any rate, I really appreciate your very thoughtful review. I hope I've answered your questions, but if not, shoot me a PM or post another review and I'll respond either way. Thanks!

Reviewer: Anya Black
Date: 11/24/07 18:43
Chapter: Chapter 17

Ahh sweet! I'm really not sure my mom would be able to know if I was alive if I got kidnapped, but it seems so nice in a story :]
Happy updating (ahem),
Anya ;]

Author's Response: I think you'd be surprised at the things mothers know that kids don't know we know! (?) At any rate, thanks for your comments. I'll get the next update posted soon, I promise.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/24/07 17:15
Chapter: Chapter 17

I love it! Thank goodness it was posted so soon, that was not a very nice cliffie you left us with last time. It's amazing that its almost over. By the way you added an extra we when Teddy suggest that they should search the woods.

Author's Response: Thanks for letting me know about the typo. I'll get that corrected ASAP. Thanks also for your comments. I'm already at work on Chapt. 18, which is going to be fairly lengthy, I think, and will try to get it posted soon.

Reviewer: sophiewalpole
Date: 11/24/07 17:02
Chapter: Chapter 17

a mother just knows these things, they know their children and whether they are safe or have died and gone to live the angels. this is by far the best chapter emotionally, please keep them alive, and keep the chapters coming, dont finish on just this story follow it on please

Author's Response: Yes, I think a mother does know things like that. I'm a mother myself and I tend to sense when things aren't quite right with my son, even though he's grown up now and often very far away. I'm sure that in some capacity I'll continue to write fanfics. I'm sort of hooked and not sure I actually can stop, and reviews like yours certainly feed my "habit." Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I appreciate it.

Reviewer: RagingTomato
Date: 11/24/07 16:59
Chapter: Chapter 17

This chapter is great, I love it! I love that everything did not go perfectly according to plan (the whole imperturable charm thing) so it wasn't all too neat. I love that Hermione realized where the children had gone because she knows her daughter so well. Rose really is Hermione's daughter! I also really like that Hermione and Ron especially, but everyone else too, were involved in the rescue all along. I'm glad it wasn't just Harry and Ginny, as much as I love them. You did a really nice job of continuing the theme of allowing your friends to help you, which Harry finally learned to do in Deathly Hallows. And once again, that quick Harry-Ginny "normally I love this position..." was a nice touch of humor. I actually laughed out loud a bit when I read that! You really are a wonderful writer. Originally I thought, how hard could it be when you're handed the story and all the characters by JKR? But it's not that easy, not at all. You have to have imagination and talent to build on the story JKR has handed you, and that's what you've done. You have the imagination and the talent, and I would gladly read anything you've written. I hope you continue writing after The Letter comes to an end (which I am incidentally dreading...) Can't wait for Chapter 18!

Author's Response: I liked the "Normally I adore this position" line myself. And Harry was tied up too. Just think of the possibilities! lol! Of course the rescue would have to be a group effort in Harry's world. Love was such a central theme in the books, not just romantic love (which we saw precious little of in the series) but love between friends and another really huge one, the love between parents and children, or more specifically between mother and child. Yes, it is certainly easier to use already established characters, but a few of the peripheral characters, such as Zabini, McLaggen, even Teddy Lupin, needed some development as they were barely mentioned in the series. Actually, Teddy has grown on me through this process. I hadn't intended making him so prominent but I'm thinking of doing a story with him as the central character and titling it "The Furry Little Secret" or something like that. We'll see how it goes. Anyway, thanks so much for your detailed and very thoughtful review. It is, as always, deeply appreciated.

Reviewer: laydee_potter
Date: 11/24/07 16:50
Chapter: Chapter 17

I have been following this story from the start. I think its amazing. The events show that even though Harry saved the wizarding world, and lost his mum, his dad, Remus, Sirius and Dumbledore, things can still hurt him even more. Great story!

Laydee_Potter

Author's Response: Life keeps hurting, no matter how much you've been hurt in the past, and once you have kids, that's hurt on steroids. Fortunately, it's also joy on steroids, so it's kind of a trade-off. Thank you very much for your kind words.

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 11/24/07 16:26
Chapter: Chapter 17

Did I ever mention how perfect this story is? Because it is perfectly perfect in every sense, and it's exactly the characterizations and actions that I imagined happening after Deathly Hallows. Brilliant job!!

Author's Response: I'm going to have a hard time getting my head through the door after reading comments like yours. But I do appreciate it, very, very much. Thank you!

Reviewer: in love with harry
Date: 11/24/07 16:13
Chapter: Chapter 17

please please keep wrighting
cant wait

Author's Response: Thank you! I will keep writing. Actually, I'm sort of addicted now and don't think I can stop. Your readership and comments are deeply appreciated.

Reviewer: mag9
Date: 11/24/07 15:30
Chapter: Chapter 17

Last paragraph of this chapter depicts the whole love theme in the series even better than Rowling herself did. Bravo!
I must admit that my true and only HP universe couple has always been and will always be Ron and Hermione.
I'm not one into reading Harry/Ginny based fanfics. I find them boring as a couple in fan fics because of the clichs (ie. unexplainable mind connections between the two and/or one or both of them having sudden ultra powerful magical talents) and I mostly avoid reading about them.
But thanks to your immense talent, this story, even though it only shows us the interaction between Harry and Ginny as a couple, is far from boring. It's thrilling and both Harry and Ginny's characters and their relationship are plausible.



Author's Response: I like Ron & Hermione too (they're certainly a lot quirkier and so, by definition I suppose, more interesting) but I chose Harry & Ginny precisely because they're either ignored by serious fanfic writers or fluffed half to death by the less serious. Also, I read a post-DH comment by JKR that said, "Harry and Ginny are soulmates with a passionate connection." I don't think we saw much of that in the books, which is why I decided to do my humble bit to show what I've always felt about these two. It's very gratifying to know that even among diehard "Harry & Ginny are boring" people, I've managed to give them a little credibility. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 11/24/07 1:43
Chapter: Chapter 4

Wow, this story has so much depth that thought put into it. I feel honored to read it. thank you

Author's Response: I feel very honored that you're enjoying it. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: I lovesmesomeHarry
Date: 11/23/07 23:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

oooo Nice begining! I'm excited to read the rest!

Author's Response: Keep reading. It gets better as it goes along, I promise. Thanks for your review.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 11/23/07 23:06
Chapter: Chapter 16

Thank you so much for writing this story! It's been amazing to read. Please, please, please update soon, I don't know what to do now that there are no more chapters already posted.

Author's Response: I just posted Chapter 17. The mods still have to verify it but they've been astonishingly quick lately. If they remain true to form, it'll be up very soon. Thanks for sticking with the story. I really appreciate your faithful reviews.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES