Reviews For The Letter
Reviewer: lyssa0128
Date: 12/02/07 22:57
Chapter: Chapter 19

Well, I'm not at all surprised that I loved the ending. I mean, each chapter was better than the last. And you truly did fill in that gap from the book exceptionally well. Keep writing! And once again, GREAT JOB!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your faithful reviews and all your lovely comments. They are very much appreciated. I hope I will hear from you again once my Christmas story is posted, which should be sometime in the next couple of weeks. Take care!

Reviewer: sly1184
Date: 12/02/07 21:55
Chapter: Chapter 1

absolutely wonderful story. just read the entire thing right now...it definitely is one of the best i've ever read. :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm delighted to know that you enjoyed the story so much.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 12/02/07 21:45
Chapter: Chapter 18

I love it! I can't believe its almost over. You've done such an amazing job, I can't say so enough. And the letter really does tie in well, you were right.

Author's Response: There's another letter in the Epilogue, but this time it's not for James. I'll be curious to know what you think of that one. Thanks for your kind words.

Reviewer: Forgotta
Date: 12/02/07 20:37
Chapter: Chapter 11

Ahh this is so solid! It rocks. Its cool how pretty much everything that you have happening is how I would imagine it. So far this seems like the perfect post DH ff!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you keep reading.

Reviewer: MoldueMiji
Date: 12/02/07 20:24
Chapter: Chapter 19

So cute. I just loved how everyone was teasing each other. Very good ending too. Like we say it in French :"La vérité sort toujours de la bouche des enfants" (Truth always comes from kids). I laughed a lot when I read the epilogue. Keep writing.

Author's Response: I'll have to remember that expression. And I agree with it! I hope my French, or rather Fleur's French, wasn't too awful in the Epilogue. I had a friend translate for me. I'm one-quarter French myself, but don't speak a word of the language beyond simple things like "oui" and "au revoir" and such. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I will definitely keep writing.

Reviewer: MagicalMaddie331
Date: 12/02/07 19:39
Chapter: Chapter 19

I'm so sad this is ending, but you've done something wonderful here in creating a brilliant story that can be enjoyed by everyone. The part about Ron taking driving lessons probably has nothing to do with this, but I found it particularly humorous because of the movie "Driving Lessons" Rupert Grint did. Brilliant job, I look forward to your next stories!

Author's Response: lol! I didn't even think about "Driving Lessons" though I knew that Rupert Grint had made that movie. I'm a little sad myself at the end of this story, but it's time to move on and I'm sure I'll be traveling down this road again soon (though I might follow Harry's lead and take the Underground if Ron is driving by then - lol!). Thanks so much for your faithful reviews. I'll try to get my Christmas story up soon and after that, who knows?

Reviewer: noviwanwife
Date: 12/02/07 18:17
Chapter: Chapter 19

Cassandra your story has truly been a blessing in my life. I loved every aspect of it. I loved the way you ended it with Harry's parting words, "I'm Daddy". I don't think Jo could have written anything better! I truly mean that. You understand the core of the man that and we watched grow from a scrawny 11 year old to a truly great man, who is great not only for his deads, but truly for his heart. Harry's most prized role would, with no question, be husband and father! You write Harry's and Ginny's relationship just as I always imagained it to grow and be. Harry's humble strength reminds me of Atticus Finch (and yes my all time favorite book ever is "To Kill a Mockingbird" closely followed by the Harry Potter series!). I look forward to reading many more of your fictions. If you ever need a "grown up" fan to bounce ideas off of please keep me in mind! You truly live up to your name. You "see" into these character's future like no other author I have ever read, short of Jo herself. We have a saying in Hebrew, "yasher koach" which means you go with strength (often said after one has an honor of being called up to the Torah), I wish you a "yasher koach" for a job extremely well done! I will miss your work!

Author's Response: I'm really at a loss for words, which everyone who knows me would tell you is virtually unprecedented. Perhaps all I can say is that, even if your review were the only one I received, it would be have been reward enough for the effort I put into this story. You overwhelm me, and I assure you that I will keep your offer in mind for bouncing off ideas. I do have a couple of other plot bunnies hopping (in addition to the Christmas story already started), the foremost being a full-length fic with Teddy as the central character which will require a lot more originality on my part as he is an undeveloped character from the series. However, he's grown on me in the course of writing this story (must be the blue hair - you gotta love a man with his own style!) and I'd like to get to know him better. I also have another Harry/Ginny fic in mind, a shorter, humorous piece dealing with the chaos that I imagine would have surrounded their wedding. Which of these will emerge first is anybody's guess at this point. In the meantime, however, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for your loyalty to this story and for your generous praise which means more to me than I can possibly express. Thank you so much, and I hope to be "corresponding" with you again soon. Shalom!

Reviewer: RagingTomato
Date: 12/02/07 17:24
Chapter: Chapter 19

As I've said many times before, I LOVE this story and I'm so sad to see it end. I missed all the suspense and cliffhangers from the rest of the story but I'm glad everything ended so well, as I knew it would from having read JKR's epilogue. You tied everything up so nicely and it was so great to see everyone together and happy. I like how you set up James teasing Al about Slytherin, too! I'm sure that went on much longer than we saw in JKR's epilogue. At first I wasn't too keen on your ending, but then I really thought about it, and I do love it. All Harry ever wanted was a family of his own, and it was so wonderful to see him so completely happy after hearing what Lily said. I will never think of Harry's adult life again without thinking of The Letter. Thank you so much for filling in the blanks for me and the rest of us who have loved every second of The Letter. Can't WAIT for your next fanfic!!

Author's Response: I knew from the beginning that those two words ("I'm Daddy!") would be the final words Harry would speak. Having started him out as a workaholic who neglects his family, it seemed only right to end it by having him realize that, in the final analysis, his most important role in life was that of Ginny's husband and James, Al, and Lily's dad. After all, no man ever said on his deathbed, "If only I'd spent more time at the office," right? At any rate, I appreciate your comments and I'm very glad you enjoyed 'The Letter.' I'll be working on my Christmas story ('To Hear the Bells Ring') which deals with many of the same themes as this story, over the next couple of weeks and hope you'll tune in for that one as well once I get it posted. Take care and bless you for all your lovely, thoughtful comments (and I still love your 'handle' - Raging Tomato!)

Reviewer: Potter_13
Date: 12/02/07 15:33
Chapter: Chapter 19

that was a really good story. the ending was really funny.

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Reviewer: LADY CALLIE
Date: 12/02/07 15:19
Chapter: Chapter 1

oh my gosh i fell in love with this story you are a great writer you could write just about anything!!!
i love it
Lady Callie

Author's Response: Well, I doubt I could write a physics textbook, but other than that. . . No, seriously, thank you so much for your comments and I'm really glad you enjoyed the story. I appreciate it.

Reviewer: Scrivenshaft_Quill
Date: 12/02/07 14:50
Chapter: Chapter 19

What a quality piece of writing! Well done!! (In my 'umble opinion, beggin' your pardon ma'am!).

A true pleasure to read coveying some real warmth and unity of the family groups, and the emotional rollercoaster they must have been on. A thoroughly good effort to wrap up the story.
Please keep on writing!! :-)

Author's Response: Your 'umble opinion' is greatly valued by yours truly. Thank you so much for your kind words. I will definitely keep writing and I'm sort of hooked on fanfics at the moment, so you can expect to see more stories from me in th future. I'm delighted you enjoyed this one. Thank you so much!

Reviewer: mag9
Date: 12/02/07 13:36
Chapter: Chapter 19

Thank you Cassandra for this enchanting journey. Apart from enjoying each and every chapter of The Letter, what really pleased me most is meeting a writer like you. God, did I like your canon fixation? Sure I did! How could I not?Even your OCs read like canon.
I cannot wait to read your Christmas one-shot.
On a side note, To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my all time favourites, too. Actually, it was the first novel I read in English, as a school project during my teens. Veeery looooong time ago.
I still remember trying to find out the meaning of Scout when the book was first assigned. Silly me !
Most of the time my memory is worse than Neville's, but after all those years (nearly 25) somehow I still can recite those two lines "Stand up Miss Jean Louise, your father is passing" and "Let the dead bury the dead this time, Mr Finch" whenever the book is mentioned. Mental ?

Take care!

Author's Response: Writers live for reviews like yours, you know. And I don't think your ability to remember lines from "Mockingbird" is mental at all. How's this for a spontaneous memory: "He gave us two soap dolls, a watch with a broken chain, a couple of Indian-head pennies, and our lives." The "Stand up, Miss Jean Louise" line is another one of my favorites. I can't believe Harper Lee never wrote another book, but after writing something like that, how could she possibly top herself? I'll be working on the Christmas story over the next couple of weeks and hope to get it posted soon. Meanwhile, thanks a million times for your delightful comments, and bless you for taking the time to leave such thoughtful reviews.

Reviewer: jenn508
Date: 12/02/07 13:28
Chapter: Chapter 19

Beautifully done, a wonderful story. You are now officially on my favorites list!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was a delightful journey for me and I appreciate you coming along for the ride. Hope to have something new for you to read soon.

Reviewer: FanFicFanatic12
Date: 12/02/07 13:18
Chapter: Chapter 19

Bravo! I followed the story from the beginning, and thoroughly enjoyed very chapter. I'm glad there's a fulfilling story to link those 19 years before the DH epilogue. Thanks much!

Author's Response: Thank you! *bows* It was a delightful journey and I'm really glad you enjoyed traveling along with me. I'll be working on my Christmas story ("To Hear the Bells Ring") over the next couple of weeks and hope you'll tune in for that one as well once I get it posted. Thanks again!

Reviewer: lunafredtonks123
Date: 12/02/07 13:04
Chapter: Chapter 19

OMG! I read the whole story before sending a reveiw, sorry, it was amazing! Were Ron and Hermione saying that Blaise reminded them of Snape? Who was it if it wasn't him? Sorry I get confused extremly easily,

so I can't wait to read the nest story you write, you are amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! KEEP GOING! :):):):):):):):)

Author's Response: Yes, Ron was implying that Blaise reminded him of Snape. There are deliberate parallels: both Slytherins, both potions masters, both have creepy, scary mannerisms, and both, most significantly, are enamoured of women they can't have. With Snape, however, it was a deep, passionate, hopeless love that he felt for Lily, whereas with Blaise it's more of a vauge attraction for Ginny. However, his prejudices (which Snape did NOT have) get in the way of his feelings and I can't see someone like Blaise Zabini sacrificing himself for anyone, Ginny or otherwise, the way Snape did. I'll be working on my Christmas story ('To Hear the Bells Ring') over the next couple of weeks and hope to get it posted soon. Thanks for your comments. They are appreciated.

Reviewer: arianna6
Date: 12/02/07 12:07
Chapter: Chapter 19

Great story! I really loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: FinnFiona
Date: 12/02/07 11:48
Chapter: Chapter 19

Oh, what a lovely little ending! Very heart-felt, I can tell--it really made me smile :) The parallels and attentions to JKR's works are more clear than ever, which is very nice--although I'd say again, don't be afraid to explore your own motifs and ideas, as I'm sure they'd be wonderful as well. Oh--and as to your earlier response, I agree--Ron and Hermione can't have had an easy time of it (though, neither, as you make clear, could Ginny and Harry), though I must admit I've always understood their relationship and seen its promise a bit more clearly than Ginny and Harry... Isn't it interesting how those things work out... JKR really does write for everyone, doesn't she? :) At any rate, please do write more--I'd love to read (and review ;) ) it!

Author's Response: I will almost certainly be exploring more of my own motifs if the plot bunny that's currently bouncing up and down rather annoyingly inside my head right now develops into something, because it's a full-length fic with Teddy as the central character. Since we know little about him via canon, I'll pretty much have to start from the ground up, but some of the things that came to me during this story will serve as the basis for it. Most of the people I talk to seem to like Ron & Hermione better for some reason. Maybe because they're quirkier and funnier (and therefore more "interesting" I suppose) whereas Ginny & Harry have more of an internal, "soul" connection which I personally find more interesting but I seem to be in the minority. There have been so many wonderful Ron/Hermione stories written, however, and fanfic writers seem to either ignore Harry/Ginny or fluff the poor things to death, turning Ginny into sort of a British Gidget, with a wand instead of surfboard. Anyway, I chose a Harry/Ginny focus for that very reason. Also because, as I said, I find them intriguing and there was such a lack of interaction between them in the books. Anyway, thanks for your comments. They are very much appreciated. Hope to hear from you again when I post my Christmas story (another Harry focus, BTW). Take care!

Reviewer: wyfan_64
Date: 12/02/07 10:20
Chapter: Chapter 19

great story, loved every bit of it

Author's Response: Thank you. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: lola_lovegood
Date: 12/02/07 10:07
Chapter: Chapter 19

YAY james got to go to HOGGYWARTS
horay

lola has been speaking in third person for some time (some times she does it without trying) it drives my mom CRAZY
not to metion my friens mom it makes dad laugh and my aunt loves it sooo lola will continue to speak of herslef in third person (it brings joy to my boring life)

anywho THIS IS TOTALY MY FAVE STORY
EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
YOU ROCK(lola dosent say that to everyone)
lola is sad it's over well knowing me i coud go on and on and on and on
but i wont im sure you've got better places to be so i'll leave you you with this
YOU ARE AWESOME AND YOUR STORY IS SO COOL I CANT EVEN SAY
*APLAUSE**APLAUSE**ALPAUSE*


~lola~

Author's Response: *Bows* Thanks for your very effusive review. Cassandra is very glad that Lola liked the story so much! (I think I'm with your dad - it makes me laugh too!). And I can assure you that I can think of no place I'd rather be than reading lovely comments like yours. Thanks for reading and for your faithful reviews.

Reviewer: Magik 13
Date: 12/02/07 9:59
Chapter: Chapter 19

Hey, loved the story sooo much! I spent evenings after I found your fic reading it and now I don't want it to be over. :'(
I like how you included the name meanings at the end, it's interesting to know about the connections between the characters and their names.

I hope you write another story soon. I'll be waiting!

Author's Response: I have mixed feelings about the end of this story myself. I'm glad you liked the name meanings at the end. I always enjoyed learning things like that about the HP series, so I wanted to incorporate it into my version as well. I will almost certainly be writing more fanfics, so stay tuned. Thanks for your lovely comments. They are very much appreciated.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES