Reviewer: bellatrix_weasley
Date: 09/27/13 15:02
Chapter: Act 2

Wow. Just wow. This is amazing. I listened to the soundtrack of Les Mis while reading this, and I want to someday put on a production of it. A few of the parts may be a bit tricky, though. You didn't leave out anything! Not even the Wedding Chorale. This must have been so difficult to write, because it is so amazing. When Neville sang Gavroche's part in "The Attack on the Ministry/Javert at the Barricade" - Oh yeah! Neville is awesome! This is so - perfect. Fenrir Greyback is portrayed very accurately, and so is Bellatrix. Fenrrir is absolutely VULGAR. I also love how it ends with Peeves. I LOVE his "We did it, we bashed them..." thing. This is SO wonderful!

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/09/11 15:39
Chapter: Act 2

Hello,

Another fantastic musical spoof... Once again I am totally amazed at how you managed to fit your own lyrics into these songs...

I really liked the comparison you drew between Merope and Fantine, I'd never really thought about it before, but they are actually quite similar.

I loved "Scars" (Stars), it was funny and yet you really got into Voldemort's head in that one.

Your portrayal of Snape was really interesting too, I'm glad he had a reasonably big part because I think he's quite important.

Another thing - loved that you put Peeves' song in! That was really clever.

So anyway, once again I have no constructive criticism... this was simply amazing and I could completely imagine it all in my head. Great work :).

~Katrina

Reviewer: bellaminx
Date: 03/23/11 8:35
Chapter: Act 2

I have to this was really inspired and you did an amazing job of combining the two. I adore les mis but have to admit when I first saw the summary a little WTH passed my lips- I am so glad I clicked and read as it was throughly enjoyable.
Being the massive geek that I am I listened to les mis as I read along- in parts you had it done right to the last syllable. Made me realise just how much work you must have put into it. Excellent job!

Reviewer: James B Stigma
Date: 02/24/10 23:06
Chapter: Act 2

Excellent! I love Les Mis, I love Harry Potter. This was a great combination of them. I sang all the songs as I read it. Excellent work. Looking forward to more musical Harry Potter adapts. Perhaps you might look into using "Chicago."

Author's Response: Thank you SOO much! And Chicago is actually a plan of mine, though I still don't have an idea for ihe plot.

Reviewer: sasquatch223
Date: 08/09/09 1:05
Chapter: Songs From Act One

I made an account just to say how awesome this is. (I've also read your other stuff; I particularly enjoyed The Dark Lord's Blog and Voldemort: The Psycho Dark Lord of Hogsmeade.)

I see from one of your review responses that you've read Les Miserables the book, aka The Brick. Was it difficult to get through? Did you skip any of the digressions? (I'm just wondering as I'd like to give the book a try sometime.)

I apologize for not having much to say about your actual work. It is just too awesome for words.

Author's Response: Oh wow, thank you so much! I think the Psycho Dark Lord of Hogsmeade is probably my best musical spoof, so thanks for the compliments! Yep, I've read the brick five times (three different translations). I'd actually recommend the Fahnestock-McAfee translation, because even though I think the Wilbour translation is much better, it doesn't provide translations for the French parts, and if you don't speak French, that is really confusing! But anyway, it was really, really hard for me to get started reading it, because the first 58 pages are all about the bishop and his life story (I'm not kidding.) After I got past the bishop, I couldn't put it down. The first time I read it, I finished it in two days! (But I didn't do anyyything else those two days.) I did skip the huge section on Waterloo and went back and read it after I finished the book, though... don't tell anyone! When I reread the book, I sometimes skip the part about the bishop and a few of the other really long digressions. I think you'd like the book. It's surprisingly funny and entertaining... and it's really cool to see which bit corresponds to which song. Some of the characters are wildly different from how they're portrayed in the musical (especially Eponine and Enjolras.)

Reviewer: Cedrics Lover
Date: 07/06/09 12:49
Chapter: Songs From Act One

That was so amazing!! Our school did Les Mis this year, so I was singing along to all of the songs...absolutely hysterical!

Author's Response: Thank you! And I am so jealous... my high school did Les Miserables THE YEAR BEFORE I CAME. Now I will never have a chance of being Madame Thenardier!

Reviewer: phoenixfliesatmidnight
Date: 06/27/09 11:02
Chapter: Songs From Act One

I can't believe it took me to today to read your musical parodies. I have to agree (? I can't remember if it is two g's) with you about Les Miserables being one of the greatest musicals ever. If I liked Les Mis, I loved your parody even more!

Author's Response: Phoenixfliesatmidnight, it was awesome of you to read my parodies! I love Les Miserables so much, and I've seen it three times, so I figured I should write a parody!

Reviewer: The_Dream_Team
Date: 04/01/09 17:38
Chapter: Act 2

o mi god! I luv u 4 makin this!!!!! U r amaze and this is sooooo amazin! I am obsessed w/ les mis and i hav it on my ipod and hav read the book! U did such a good job with the songs and i got so in the mook and blasted my ipod and sang along to the songs w/ ur lyrics! U r gr8 and thank u 4 makin the best musical and the best series come 2gether! u rock my world!!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I am obsessed with Les Mis, too, in the best possible way. I've read the book and I think I have three versions of the cast recording... so glad that you liked it!

Reviewer: Amanda Vega
Date: 12/07/08 23:53
Chapter: Act 2

You broke acts wrong. It breaks after One Day More [: But pshh, just a technicality.

Please, I beg you, Eponine is not to be sung by anyone but Eponine! She wins too much to be anyone else >.< Especially James and Snape, and I mean, there’s nothing wrong with them, but I cannot sing like James and Snape and Voldemort can, really. Just Eponine xD So good job, there, Shmergo my dear, but ARGH I have to go sing the real songs now!

You did justice to my favourite song, though (On My Own, although it’s extremely closely followed by A Little Fall of Rain, except I have no one to duet with but myself xD and also Empty Chairs at Empty Tables – so as you can see, I can’t pick favourite songs). Voldemort soliloquy is always amazing, and it fit spectacularly well [:

D.A. Six/Neville as Gavroche is so much less disturbing than Volders, here!

I LOVE DUMBLEDORE-MARIUS. That was frankly awesome [:

FENRIR:
Here’s to pretty girls I ate in their beds.

-- That might have made my day, there.
And poor Severus, missing Lily like that!

I really loved Empty Chairs. It actually ties in really well with both stories, and I can very much imagine things actually happening that way! So yeah, that was probably my favourite.

The way you tied in Peeves’s song at the end was remarkably clever – good job! – although I can’t seem to make it fit in with the original song, heh.




P.S. – The Tenth Anniversary Concert is my absolute favourite of most of them, too! I own a two-disk set of the Original London Cast, but I still get on Youtube to watch the concert versions [:

Author's Response: I know the Act break is wrong, but I wrote this when I barely knew anything about Les Mis and only had the tape-- and so I did this like Side One and Side Two of the tape. *Shrug*

That's funny, Eponine has never been a character I've been fond of. I guess it's just because I'm really different from her, and I've never really been all that fond of her songs. I've always liked Javert's songs the best. I guess that shows how different Les Mis fans can be. Glad you liked "Drink With Me"-- I had fun with it.

I like a lot of the performers on the OBC, too, but I LOOOOVE Michael Ball on the TAC soooooo much! And David Bryant on the OBC is icky! And I love getting to see everyone in their costumes. I also have the CSR, which is good because it has every little bit of the show, even if not all of the cast is perfect, and some parts of the Original London.

Reviewer: Amanda Vega
Date: 12/07/08 23:32
Chapter: Songs From Act One

I don't know how I never spotted this before! As a Self-Professed Les Miserables Addict (the book, too xD), I am ashamed of myself.

First off, I think the subject matter fits really well with this one - doesn't seem so forced as maybe some other of the spoofs.
Besides, life story? It matches up, lol!

I sung these out loud, which was slightly awkward, but it's 12:30 and hopefully no one heard [:

Your "I Dreamed A Dream" is classic. I will never, ever, ever forget that stunning originality, not to mention the rhetoric used. Absolutely beautiful! -wipes tears from eyes-
/sarcasm!

Voldy singing Gavroche's lines was, I must say, a little disturbing. Especially since the voice I sing those lines in actually works for them both! >.<

Green and Red had me aww-ing out loud for poor Severus ]: Very clever.

Act Two review is currently pending [:

Author's Response: I am glad that you liked this, because I wrote it when I first got introduced to Les Mis. So I only had the OBC on casette tape, and I barely knew anything about the show. I now know the entire musical by heart, so I'm slightly embarrassed by some of the awkwardness in this one. (And yeah, "I Dreamed A Dream" was kinda lame, I'm sorry about that.) The Green and Red one was probably my favourite in this act, though.

Reviewer: Woolfman
Date: 08/29/08 3:42
Chapter: Songs From Act One

You have serious talent for this stuff!
My dad was stage manager for the London production in 1995, and he loves this as well!
Great to see my favourite book and my favourite musical combined so expertly!
Well done!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh, thanks so much! Les Miserables is my favourite musical, too (tied with Spamalot), and I'm really kind of obsessed... this spoof is only for the OBC soundtrack, but I can sing my way through the entire show, and I own four soundtracks... and I even belong to a Les Miserables website. It's so cool that your dad worked for the London production. I'm going to see a regional production of it (not on Broadway, but still professional) this Saturday, and I'm really excited, because before now, I've only seen it at high schools and illegal bootleg videos on youtube!

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 07/14/08 20:52
Chapter: Songs From Act One

I'm not sure what version I got, only that it's the original London cast, along with all my Phantom songs. All I can say, though, is that you didm a brilliant job spoofing it! {BeccA} P.S. And my mom never heard it, so I made her listen to it. And she, even though she's not fon dof fanfics, said that your spoof of it is really good!

Author's Response: Ahhh, the origianl London cast has Michael Ball when he was like twenty-two years old. He was still good, but he sounded really young and his voice didn't have the power, gravity, and technique that it developed later-- Michael Ball's one of the few singers who improves with age. But he's still my favourite male voice (closely followed by Terrence Mann). And tell your mom I said thank you so much! My "Empty Chairs" spoof is not one of my best because it's so close to the original, but I'm glad she likes it.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 07/14/08 20:31
Chapter: Act 2

I just bought Empty Chairs at Empty Tables off iTunes, and am singing to it with the spoof words. Wow, what a sad song. It was a perfect DH moment to do it it, too!!!!! Now I have to get my mother to take me to Les Mis, Wicked (which my friend said was really great), and the musical (not movie) of Phantom of the Opera. {BeccA}

Author's Response: I absolutely LOVE "Empty Chairs At Empty Tables." What version did you get? If it's from the Tenth Anniversary Concert, that's the BEST version available. If it's not that version, get on youtube and type in "Empty Chairs At Empty Tables." You can't see Les Mis on Broadway anymore, but you can see the entire tenth anniversary concert of it on youtube-- mistyaho uploaded the whole thing. MICHAEL BALL IS MY FAVOURITE. (And he looks exactly like B.C. Quinn!)

Reviewer: Ankh of the night
Date: 06/13/08 5:47
Chapter: Act 2

I think you wil be pleased to hear that yesterday my friends and I started singing, "Do You hear The People Sing?" or whatever it's called. Um, good story.
-Ankh-

Author's Response: Hehe! Today was the last day of school, and Aku and I dressed up like French Revolutionaries, and we (and a bunch of other Crows' Nest members) stood in the hallway singing at the top of our lungs.

Reviewer: x0BOO0x
Date: 06/10/08 15:21
Chapter: Songs From Act One

Stupendiferous! This is my favorite musical, and going all Voldy with it was a great move. Do you actually write songs? If you don't, you might like to try it. You'd be great, I bet.
~*BOO*~

Author's Response: Okay, you are too good to be true. No way I ran into someone else who likes Harry Potter AND Les Miserables AND Scarlet Pimpernel! You must be my secret twin! I don't really write songs, but I'll let you in on a secret (not really a secret, because I'm now posting this for all the world to see... but still)-- I'm working on a full-length musical of Shakespeare's "Macbeth," with dialogue and everything, and I have a musical of "Pride and Prejudice" in the works. A school in Canada put on my show, "Hogwarts Musical" (actually ,they're performing it today, I think), which got me REALLY excited! When I grow up, my dream's to be a librettist for musicals/Disney movies. That'd be the best.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/09/08 20:22
Chapter: Act 2

Great job! I liked the entire thing. I really liked how you did Voldy's like in musicals, and I thought that all of them were brilliantly written, especially this one. I loved Empty Chairs At The House Tables. It was so sad and emotional, and even though I didn't know the tune, I sang along w/ it (I was pretty good, might I add. Better than before, at least.) So, I leave Lord Voldemort: The Musical with a ASPLODING (love that word) Ten Kajilliondy six/10. (Uh, that's the weirdest number I've evr said.) {Becca}

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I've never been giving an ASPLODING Ten Kajilliondy six/10 on anything before! And all of the Les Mis songs (including "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," which is GORGEOUS and beautifully performed) are available on youtube-- the user Mistyaho has posted the entire DVD of the tenth anniversary concert. And yes, the guy who sings "Empty Chairs at Empty Tables," among many other songs, is Michael Ball, one of my very favourite performers... B.C. Quinn from Pride and Pre-Juiced Plums looks exactly like him as he is in the Les Mis concert.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/09/08 20:12
Chapter: Songs From Act One

Ooooo. Good one. I've never seen Les Mis, but I'll at least get the soundtrack or somethin now. Great job. 10000000000000000000000000000000000000/10 {Becca}

Author's Response: Fwahaha, Les Mis is great, but you don't need to buy a soundtrack (even though I own three-- Original Broadway, Tenth Anniversary Concert, and Complete Symphonic Recording, and part of a fourth one, the original London), because there is a DVD of the Tenth Anniversary Concert that mistyaho posted on youtube. I'm actually going to see Les Mis today! I'm vewwy excited.

Reviewer: undesirable_number1
Date: 05/02/08 19:08
Chapter: Songs From Act One

WOOOWIE! I love this! I'm not that familiar with Les Mis., but I now I really want to find the soundtrack! The songs from Act One with Merope are beautiful, and I love A Heart Full of Love. The Finale is great too. Your brilliance has caused my mind to ASPLODE. *giggles*

Author's Response: JOY JOY JOY!!! I almost never get reviews from this! If you go to youtube, mistyaho has the entire tenth anniverary concert DVD of Les Miserables uploaded... with the FABULOUS Michael Ball, one of my musical theatre idols. Les Mis is one of my absolute favourite shows... I own three different soundtracks of it because I'm pathetic.

Reviewer: helz_belz
Date: 04/08/08 6:01
Chapter: Songs From Act One

Really good. Hilarious in some parts then sweet in others.

I must say i do like the Snape/Maris bit when he is singing Green/Red. Very well written.

I love les mis and harry potter. I also love your funnylyness.

Yes I know that is not a word.

Author's Response: Wow! I hardly ever get reviews for this story! Thanks so much! It's not often that I run across someone else who loves both Les Mis and Potter. And funnylyness should DEFINITELY be a word.

Reviewer: Pick Up A Potter
Date: 02/10/08 6:14
Chapter: Act 2

One complaint, what happenedto the song little people. I had an audition for Gavroche in the West End and had to sing that song. Almost got through as well.

But my favourite was easily 'Do You Hear The People Sing?'

Author's Response: Oh my golly George! I rarely get reviews for this.

Unfortunately, they CUT the song Little People when Les Mis made the transition across the pond to Broadway. In fact, they cut a good deal of Gavroche's part, which is awful because Gavroche is my favourite character from the book. However, that song in the Department of Mysteries does have a verse or two of Little People, becasue they didn't cut the reprise when they cut the song. (?)

Congrats on trying out on West End! That is incredible. I've always wanted to play Mrs. Thenardier, though not on any scale as big as West End or Broadway!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
Do Over by Jeograph 6th-7th Years
Harry plods toward his death, toward the Dark Lord to give himself up, to make...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES