Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/19/12 17:59
Chapter: The Plan

Ghoul,
And the Plot thickens. I know it was probably after this that Dean had to run and met up with Ted Tonks and Griphook. But what about Duds?
FoM

Reviewer: FriendofMolly
Date: 10/08/11 4:40
Chapter: The Plan

I am afraid this might be where Dean almost gets caught. But I am intrigued by how Dudders stepped up. Hopefully his parents aren't going to do something stupid. Very interesting.
FoM

Reviewer: lambtoslaughter
Date: 08/30/11 22:57
Chapter: The Plan

Well I really hope no one gets hurt!! I miss Vernon's jerk-ish but hilarious comments, but I'm enjoying the action. Also, I wanted to compliment your pacing... The characters are developing and growing at a realistic rate, and things aren't happening too fast or too slow, which is really nice. a lot of times author's either drag a plotline out, or reveal things / present character growth way too fast. Your story so far has been paced just right!! Can't wait to see what happens next! This is prob my fav HP fanfiction =)

Reviewer: OohButterfly
Date: 05/10/11 21:28
Chapter: The Plan

=D That's all I can say. I LOVE IT!!!! I like how Dudly is turning out to be not so bad... He really changed from 5th to 7th

Reviewer: hermyfan603
Date: 04/11/10 20:27
Chapter: The Plan

I absolutely love this story. This is definitely one of the best harry potter fan fiction stories I've ever read. The whole idea of following the Dursley's is fantastic. I really love how you've made the characters act. This is spot on to how Dudley would act, after seeing how he behaved in book seven. The plot matches up so well with the seventh. I really enjoyed reading it, and I can't wait for the next chapter.

Reviewer: TheColorsScarletAndGold
Date: 04/05/10 19:05
Chapter: The Plan

I love this! but i think that dudly would never have morphed into a wizard-lover so fast.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 04/04/10 6:55
Chapter: The Plan

Greetings!

It took a while for my brain to reboot, but as soon as I started reading, all the memories of the first ten chapters that I had read a while ago came flooding back. As I alluded in my last review, I adore this story and everything about it.

I love the way you spin this tale that is tense and gripping, yet you still manage to infuse small bits of humour to keep it fresh and loveable. One example of that is this:

“You nearly gave all of us heart attacks, sneaking up on front doors these days!”

Augusta just sounds every inch the forbidding woman here. Though Dean was by no means sneaking, and he was approaching the FRONT door, she still managed to make it sound like his fault, which to me is amusing.

I’m surprised that Dean is so civil toward Dudley, but you managed to make that make sense when you told how Dean’s own family had been afraid of him a bit after his first year, and they actually liked him. So, it was only natural for animosity to stem from the Dursleys, especially since they didn’t like Harry in the first place.

“I don’t imagine he would have mentioned us. We sort of treated him like dirt for his entire life. It wasn’t until he saved my life last year that I stopped hating him.” Dudley’s face turned red from embarrassment.

This is the part when I really started to believe that Dudley had truly changed. He not only acts like a civilised human being, but he shows remorse about how badly his family had treated Harry. This is leagues ahead of his ‘I don’t think you’re a waste of space’ from DH. This characterisation was made possible by your excellent work in the previous chapters, and it’s really nice to see this non-git side of Dudley.

Two this year, thought Dudley, plus Dean makes three, plus Harry makes four. “Was Ron the fifth?” asked Dudley, hoping he had done his math right.

Haha, I love this tiny detail of yours. It’s very reminiscent of Dudley counting his presents in I believe SS/PS, and he could barely deduce that he had two less presents than the year before. It just goes to show that, no matter how much he’s changed for the better, Dudley is still the same fat, stupid lump that he was before.

“You can take the bed,” Dudley offered. “You probably need it more than I do.”

Ooh, this shows a generous side of Dudley that I don’t think even he knew he had. It’s yet another sparkling example of how well you’ve managed to both develop Dudley’s conscience, sense of sharing, friendliness, and tolerance, but all entirely within the realm of believability. Very well done. ^.^

“But the pieces moved for Dudley, too?” she asked.

When I read this, I put the pieces together from earlier in the fic when the door or Augusta’s house closed after the ‘second wizard’ entered the front door. I had my suspicions then, and this all but confirmed them… you’re going to give Dudley powers. That is truly awesome, and I can’t wait!

“I will. When that Owl comes, I’m going with them.”

This is one of those times when you sit back in your chair and do the plummeting-off-a-cliff “Nooooooooooooooo!” If my calculations of the timeline are right, Dean is going to heartily wish that he’d never gone that day… poor bloke. I do, however, respect him to no end for his unwillingness to back down in the face of danger. You held true to his characterisation from the books, and a lot of humour fics tend to lose that.

Vernon droned on about his usual complaints. Somewhere between, “You’re brainwashing my family,” and “You-Know-Who probably doesn’t exist…”

See, this is why I totally love this piece! Even in the face of deadly danger and intrigue, Vernon still manages to be the same egotistical gas bag that he always was. Even Petunia has come around to the wizards, but not Vernon. Never Vernon. Last time I reviewed, I praised your Vernon to a pretty good extent, and that holds true now. I hold that you know Vernon Dursley as well as JKR herself, and that really shows in your writing.

But Dudley suddenly felt his body being pulled, contorted, and compressed; he gripped tightly onto Dean’s shoulder, for it was the only sense of direction he had. His lungs tightened and he was out of breath. Finally, his lungs opened up and he gasped a warm breath of air.

This bit of description is just so lovely. There aren’t a lot of instances in the books that showcase the feeling of Apparition, but this one holds true to those benchmarks. I really love how Dudley knew what was happening, but it didn’t make it any less pleasant. Also, though, this made me shut my eyes and just say to myself, “Oh, boy. Here we go.” This tells me that the next chapter shall be filled with shenanigans galore.

With one last exasperated look, Dean agreed and started towards the deserted department store, Purge and Dowse, Ltd., with Dudley, who was armed with nothing but a Skiving Snackbox, at his heels.

Oh, poor Dudders. He has no freaking idea what he’s getting himself into by going with Dean. The danger will be more real and harrowing than anything he’s ever faced, and that should scare him a lot more than it does, but here he is, trotting along into the den of vipers… idiot. I guess no matter how much he’s changed or how much nicer he is, Dudley will always be an idiot. If he had a speck of sense, he would have taken Dean up on his offer to take him back.

Characterisation continues to be the strongest part of this fic, almost to the point that it’s the driving force. Even if nothing was happening in this fic but them all sitting around in that little flat in France, doing nothing but eating and bickering, it would still be an excellent read. Your ability to take these characters and make them transcend their original selves – to become more than the sum of their parts, so to speak – is absolutely phenomenal. This is the reason that this story is so popular. Everyone wants to see the Dursleys in their full glory and wants to see him change into someone that we don’t have to hate.

Also, the way you’ve taken two flat characters with nearly no face time in the series like Hestia Jones and Dedalus Diggle is spectacular. Here are two people that I don’t know, but through the magic of your writing, they are like real people to me as a reader. They have identity, personality, individuality, as well as strengths and faults. It’s just really cool to see characters come to life like this, which is why I read a lot of Next-Gen.

I do have one small nit pick. Very small, but it did bother me just a tiny bit.

“Oh, of course, you don’t know! Alecto and Amycus Carrow, death eaters and Hogwart’s two newest professors!” Her voice was dripping with hatred and disapproval.

‘Death Eaters’ should be capitalised always. There were also a couple other instances where a Potterword was not correctly capitalised, but ‘Death Eater’ was the most frequent of all of these. As a writer myself, I know it’s difficult to know exactly what is and is not capitalised in the Potterverse, but there are great resources available. For instance, there is a LiveJournal community that actually specialises in cataloguing which words are capitalised, which are not, how they’re hyphenated, etc. I use it all the time, and the mods actually use this as sort of a submission bible, so whatever in here is what MNFF considers correct. I hope it helps.

http://community.livejournal.com/potterwords/

Overall, I still adore this story, and any update you provide will be met with high praise from me. Not many people are brave enough to tackle a character nightmare like the Dursleys and make us – gasp – almost like them. It’s like you’ve taken a small amount of ownership into their characterisations, and though they do belong to JKR, I just feel, as I read this, that there’s a secret little chunk of them that is solely yours. When I read the books and come across the Dursleys, this fic always comes to mind and how you portray them.

I look forward to your next update, and I really appreciate the amount of effort that it takes to do such a great job with knowing the characters and fitting all of this into the timeline. So, until next time…

Take care and happy writing!

Jess

Reviewer: Kiryn
Date: 04/01/10 21:30
Chapter: The Plan

What I want to know is if Dudley will have a chance to go to Hogwarts! That would be so cool!!! Please make it happen? And good job!

Reviewer: Hedwig_is_my_owl
Date: 03/31/10 10:38
Chapter: The Plan

Oh dear...I am so anxious to find out what happens. When will it be "revealed" for certain who the second Wizard was that made it through the wards? I already have my suspicions...

Reviewer: XxCourtneyxCeexX
Date: 03/28/10 20:07
Chapter: The Plan

oohh this is so good!! :O
Now this might sound stupid I suppose since 'Dudders' didnt see the dementor's in Harry's 5th year but is there a possibility that he's magical??

2 reasons -
The door would close after 2 magical people went through the door??
And the chess moved for Dudley..
Now,, also if he is magic he will be able to get through to st.mungos ;)
It'k be a really interesting turn if he turns out to be magic!! And please updare soon now because I love this story,, and also because this is a big cliffhanger for me im just dying to find out what happens next!! =D

Reviewer: GinervaPotter002
Date: 03/27/10 20:16
Chapter: The Plan

“I had to catch up with them,” Dead said exasperatedly.

Dead? LOL!

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 03/27/10 16:22
Chapter: The Plan

Oh dear, it sounds like this next chapter is going to be very exciting!! I am really excited for the next chapter :-)

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 03/25/10 13:30
Chapter: The Plan

Correct it was Dean. After finding out that the chess pieces are listening to Dudley, I believe Mrs. L is getting the idea that he may indeed be a wizard. I'd venture to guess because his parents hate magic so vehemently and taught him to do the same it took being exposed to witches and wizards and an idea that it wouldn't be such a bad thing to be one that finally allowed his magic to show up. I can't even begin to imagine what's going to happen at St, Mungo's. But I'm guessing Dean and Dudley are going to be the deciding factors that the good guys win.

Reviewer: bigtimer
Date: 03/25/10 9:39
Chapter: The Plan

loved it!! i'm so happy you finally updated, hopefully you'll be able to do it more often now. i love how dudley has changed so much. keep up the great story

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 03/25/10 8:57
Chapter: The Plan

If it turns out Dudders is a Wizard, I'm having a cow. And loving your story!!! ^_^

Reviewer: hermionegm
Date: 03/24/10 21:51
Chapter: The Plan

Hey, just wanted to point out that Mrs L says VOLDEMORT but nothing happens...a small slip for this great story...

Author's Response: don't worry, it's not a slip. ;)

Reviewer: ILoveHarry 3_14
Date: 03/24/10 21:14
Chapter: The Plan

This is so awsome. I absolutely love your story and I was so happy when I saw you updated. Maybe you can do another update before you head back to school? Thanks always for writing!

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 03/24/10 16:48
Chapter: The Plan

wow! I love it! I'm certain we're going to find out Dudley is a Wizard, and I anticipate a riotous scene at the hospital.

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like it! 

Reviewer: Ks11234rofl
Date: 03/24/10 15:38
Chapter: The Plan

I think it's going to be Dudley and dean run in there then an angry guard has ms. Longbottom, hestida, and Dedalus in ropes with a smug look on his face says something like even more huh. I'm getting a HUGE paycheck for this! And before he could fire the curse, Dudley crashes into him with the speed and weight of a football player, causeing the guard to pass out. That's what I think! Thanks

Author's Response: haha We'll see how close you are! Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: potterchassid
Date: 03/24/10 14:25
Chapter: The Plan

Dudley side-along Apparating!? It's hillarious, though you're threading dangerous OC territory here.

He surely matured, though. I wonder where they are.

Author's Response:

Dudley wasn't intentionally Apparating, so I think it's believable.  And this is somewhere Jo has taken us in the books before, try thinking of Order of the Phoenix! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES