Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Love a Duck!

Name: KaileeA42 (Signed) · Date: 11/10/07 22:55 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
I can't even explain how much I love your stories. They are funny yet interesting, and just soooo well written. Now, I probably sound really creepish though. Anyway, on the part where someone said the Phoenix was a vampire, becasuse he could travel really fast. I just immediately thought of Twilight. So I was wondering if you had ever read it. Anyway, love your stories. Keep on being awesome. =)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! That didn't sound creepish, it sounded really nice and blush-worthy. As for the vampire thing... uh... haven't read Twilight. I tried reading it, but I just didn't like it, which is too bad, because everyone says it's the next Harry Potter. Maybe it's because I've never really cared for vampires (except for in Discworld, in which they're hilarious).


Name: Pendraegona (Signed) · Date: 11/10/07 19:58 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
Brilliant as ever. I think you did well rhyming things with "Phoenix," too, seeing as that's much harder than the classic, "They seek him here, they seek him there, those Frenchies seek him everywhere...Is he in heaven? Or is he in hell? Damn that Scarlet Pimpernel." *nostalgic sigh* *laughs at self*

I second the "want to see more of Sirius" comment. Will he be your Sir Andrew?

Snape was perfect. Chauvelin-y, in a distinctly Snape-ish way. There was was one sentence...um, beginning of the seventh paragraph, I believe, that was just a little unclear. Snape wasn't bothered by what about Dumbledore? His capture? His being the Phoenix (or so Snape thinks)? A word or two of clarification would help.

Again, brilliant job, and a definite day-brightener. I'm looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: How did I not answer this review earlier? Hahahaha, I copied the 'doggerel quatrain' onto my friend's locker this morning. As for Sirius... well, you'll see.
I've always thought Snape reminded me of Chauvelin, especially after DH. As for the Dumbledore thing, I think what I was trying to say was, Snape frankly doesn't care about what happens to Dumbledore... he mostly just cares about Lily. So, he doesn't really care about Dumbledore in general.
Glad you liked it! AND IT WAS SOOO HARD TRYING TO RHYME 'PHOENIX.'


Name: PadfootnPeeves (Signed) · Date: 11/10/07 19:50 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
hey, i just realized something! love a duck rhymes with what the- um, i think i'll stop there :~)
oh and so this isn't spammy or hammy or jukebox jammy... this is a wonderful fic and i hope dumbledore gets his toothbrush!
~Padfoot

Author's Response: Hmmm... someone told me it was a euphemism for 'mother...' um, I think I'll stop there. But I just got it from hearing my friend's mom say it, and it made me laugh like an idiot.
Thanks very much! (And I giggled when you said 'jukebox jammy.' The toothbrush thing was stolen from JK Rowling's original plot outline of OotP... don't tell her!)


Name: PadfootnPeeves (Signed) · Date: 11/10/07 19:35 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
It's not Dumbledore, is it? Anyways, loved the chappie, and I liked how Lily blew up at James (sounds weird, i know) and how she named her conscience... sounds like soemthing I'd do... i'd probly name it Sirius or something :)... anyways, i love using the three!!!s too, and i hope Lily doesn't die! well, that was dumb... obviousdly she dies, but i meant in yourt story :)
~Padfoot
PS- is their gonna be more Sirius soon?

Author's Response: Thanks! As for whether it's Dumbledore... you'll see. ^_^ I love using lots and ots of exclamation points! YAY!!! There will be more Sirius, and soon... that's all I'm going to say. You see a lot of him toward the end of the story.


Name: Helios Sol (Signed) · Date: 11/10/07 18:42 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
A good chapter. I translated online "La Tęte Du Porc" and got "Her Tte Any Hog" which makes no sense. What did you have it as? I think I spotted a typo in "oesophagus" as well, unless it's a body part I'm unaware of, which is completely reasonable to guess. If i didn't say in another review, I like your portrayal of Aberforth, especially as you can be even more accurate after hearing him in the book. 10/10

Author's Response: La Tęte Du Porc is bad pidgeon French for "The Hog's Head." It's not supposed to be grammatically correct, 'cause Aberforth can't speak French, either!
Mmm... I don't know if 'oesophagus' is a real word.. but British English tends to put the letter 'o' in front of every 'e' word, like 'oestrogen' and 'diarrhoea,' so I figured I might as well stick and 'o' in front of it.
Aberforth is one of my favourite characters to write. I started writing this story after DH, and I don't think I would have even thought about putting Aberforth into the story if it weren't for that book. He's so awesome in DH...


Name: Ankh of the night (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 20:02 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
Even though it's not a humor fic, this chapter cracked me up into a million pieces!
HUUUUZZZZAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I did seriously consider putting it in the humour category... but then I decided to stick it here, because Marauder stories are expected to be funny anyway, and this story is too different from The Dark Lord's Blog for me to put it in humour.


Name: PadfootnPeeves (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 17:11 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
Wait- why does nobuddy trust Lily? i dont get that... i just might be dumb, of course ^_^... i love how james has the attention span of a fish- its hilarious! i wish Lily would tell him whats wrong... and i think he's the Phoenix... or your just making it seem like that so everyone gets the wrong impression... or it really is him and you just want everyone to get all confused... anyways, cant wait for next chappie!
~Padfoot

Author's Response: No one trusts Lily because they know it's because of her that Mary MacDonald died, though they're not about to confront her with that. And she doesn't know they know, so she hasn't told them that Snape tricked her.
As for James... you shalll seeee!


Author's Response: Incidentally, when I write James in this story, I imagine Van (dimwitted teenaged husband) from the TV show "Reba."


Name: full_of_nargles (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 16:35 · For: Chapter 2: In Which No One's Actually French Or Happy
Great fic! I love your characterization. Poor Lily.

Author's Response: Thanks! I do feel sorry for Lily.


Name: Helios Sol (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 14:25 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
I liked it. Two things: Ogg. Who is he? Is it referencing the gamekeeper in Molly Weasley's Hogwarts career? Or something out of The Scarlet Pimpernel?
Two: The name Balthazar. Where did you get it? There's a great series with a character named Balthazar. It's calledThe Death Gate Cycle. I highly reccomend it. 10/10

Author's Response: Well, Ogg is a random last name I picked, but it's also a Discworld reference... because the next chapter has a song called "A Wizard's Staff Has A Knob On The End" from Discworld, and it's sung by a character named Mrs. Ogg. And in this story, James sings it at the Oggs' party... myesss...
I got the name Balthazar from a short film by Neil Cicierega (Potter Puppet Pals guy) and Ryan Murphy called "Balthazar the Elephant," which I find terribly hilarious, though James's whole speech about 'cool names' came from Smosh.


Name: Luna_Lovegood11 (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 12:02 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
HAHA!!!!! heh, i had an idea that this whole James-is-nuts is just a side plot and really has nothing to do with the story, and the reason James is nuts will be, like, the last thing in the story. but this chapter proved me wrong. it gave me chills to read about his icy glare. i think james suspects lily, like everyone else. i was like "no lily, dont do that! it eeeevvvvvvviiiiiiilllllllll!!!!!!!!!!" when she made her plan. GO REMUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! id better stop rambling now. Love a duck!

Author's Response: Thank you! Remus is teh awesome, yesss? As for your theory... well, you shall see! (I feel bad for Lils, though.)


Name: Pendraegona (Signed) · Date: 11/06/07 9:08 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
This is such a fantastic fic! I haven't read "the Scarlet Pimpernel" in such a long time, and haven't seen the movie in longer. Now I don't know whether I want to go check out the Scarlet Pimpernel book or reread all the HP books again.

Is "Love a Duck" the Phoenix-version of "Sync Me"?

Author's Response: Fwahahaha, thank you! "Love a duck" is indeed the equivalent of Sink Me/Odd's Fish/Odd's my life/Lud love me/take your pick. (Don't you love Blakeney-isms?)


Name: PadfootnPeeves (Signed) · Date: 11/05/07 18:00 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
i didnt like this at first, but now i do! i think james& sirius r abit OOC, but i dunno... cant wait for chap.4 !!!

Author's Response: Oh, good, I'm glad you like it now! James and Sirius are OOC because... well... *giggles* there's actually a reason for it, but I don't want to give away the plot. I'll just say for now that they don't trust Lily.


Name: zamora (Signed) · Date: 11/02/07 18:36 · For: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain
that shaving cream song....best song ever. *here is an award for miss. impaler, for comming up with the best song ever about shaving cream*

Author's Response: Hmmm... thank you... but I didn't make up the song, I'm afraid. It's a Boy Scout song. This is what I get for having a Boy Scout brother.


Name: zamora (Signed) · Date: 11/02/07 18:21 · For: Chapter 2: In Which No One's Actually French Or Happy
hahahahahhaahahahaha shaving cream briliant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ahahahahahahahahah!
i could so see james singing that! hahaahahahahahahaha. *falls off chair* oops....

Author's Response: I hope you're all right! Hahaha, thanks! I could see James singing that, too... which is why I made him. ^_^


Name: zamora (Signed) · Date: 11/02/07 17:32 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
Erasmus’s jaw dropped. “What in the name of Merlin’s wrinkly–”

hahahahahhaha ur so funny i love to read ur stories!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u rock! keep da good work up! dont let me down!


Author's Response: Oh, wow, thanks! I'll try not to let you down! And I do have fun writing about dirty old men, myesss.


Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/02/07 15:21 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
*shakes head*

It's not in my Bulk Folder. Maybe you typed the address wrong? If yo ulost it, just PM me and I'll resend my address.

NOTSPAM: This was such an original idea for a fic!

- Katie

Author's Response: Hmmmm... *strokes chin* I'll try to send it again in a few minutes from my own email address and see what happens.


Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/02/07 5:43 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
Um, no, you didn't send this one to me, I'm afraid.

Of course I'll still beta it! I'm not *that* evil, you know.

NOT SPAM: Love this fic! Can't wait for Chapter 4!

- Katie

Author's Response: Are you sure?? I sent one about a week ago with the subject line "I'm sending this from my dad's email address" because mine wasn't working. Maybe your compooter blocked it as spam?


Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/01/07 23:32 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
I hate to submit a review on an unvalidated chapter, but...

You know, if you didn't want me to beta this anymore, you could have just said so. It wouldn't have hurt my pride (and feelings) as much.

- Katie

Author's Response: I'm sorry! I forgot whether or not I sent it to you! (Did I?) I was just thinking, "Oh, Long Distance Extendable Ears and Lord Voldemort the Musical are accepted... might as well submit something new now that the queue is cleared. Ooh, I'm done with the next chapter of Love a Duck, might as well submit that."

If the chapter is accepted, can you still beta it so I can edit it and make my chapter better?


Name: SibbySue (Signed) · Date: 11/01/07 17:14 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
would that be an african swallow or european swallow...or 2 carrying it together...hmmmm

ah, a "billowing cloak of darkness" I think I need one...i've always been jealous of snape's and how he gets to stalk around being all menacing and billowy ...on to chapter 2!

Author's Response: Hahahaha, you've caught my reference! I hope you like Chapter 2.


Name: James Jameson (Signed) · Date: 10/27/07 20:59 · For: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain
hehe i like the way that guy whose name starts with an E *blushes* talks!

Author's Response: Erasmus? Weird name, yes. Sometimes I have to think hard to remember it, and I invented him! It's insanely fun to make up his dialogue, though. Oh, and thank you for all of your reviews! They were much appreciated!


You must login (register) to review.