MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Love a Duck!

Name: Mser22 (Signed) · Date: 12/29/07 21:50 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
How cool. My brothers pull fast ones alot. but not tricks. i really thought you were talking about OTHER bodily functions. Here's a joke:
Shirley's Makeover

A woman named Shirley was from Beverly Hills. One day, she had a heart
attack and was taken to Cedars Sinai hospital. While on the operating
table, she had a near-death experience. She saw God and asked, "Is this
it?" God said, "No, you have another 30 to 40 years to live." Upon her
recovery, she decided to stay in the hospital and have collagen shots,
cheek implants, and a face lift, liposuction and breast augmentation. She
even had someone dye her hair. She figured since she had another 30 to
40 years, she might as well make the most of it. She walked out of
Cedars Sinai lobby after the last operation and was killed by an
ambulance speeding up to the hospital. She arrived in front of God and
said, "I thought you said I had another 30 to 40 years?" God replied,
"Shirley! I didn't recognize you!"

Author's Response: Hehehehe... that's really funny. ^_^ I'll have to remember that one. My favourite joke is the "Don't step on the duck" joke.

Name: Firkant (Signed) · Date: 12/27/07 15:13 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
Who is that blasted Phoenix?

I think I know who it is :D Mwhahaha :)

Come on, prove me wrong !

Author's Response: Ooooh, we shall seeeee! (I will update after break.)

Name: KaileeA42 (Signed) · Date: 12/07/07 17:20 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
YAY! I started reading the Scarlet Pimpernel and am starting to connect it with this story so I am re-reading the whole thing! I love your work as always and please update soon!+)( I think i have a sirius brain problem! Everytime I try to type a smiley face I do teh above) =)

Author's Response: Hahaha, I have smilie issues, too. It's cool about Pimpernel! I hope I did a good job of updating the storyline.

Name: Looney L (Signed) · Date: 12/06/07 19:32 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
I tried the kechup-swisscheese-bananana-and-marshmallow ssandwitch.
it was gross vile and dissgusting!!!
have you tried it???


Name: cat and otter (Signed) · Date: 12/06/07 6:35 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
really good, but please upd8 soon!

Author's Response: Thanks-- I will try and update, but I'm SO BUSY! I love this story, though...

Name: harryfan4ever (Signed) · Date: 11/30/07 23:01 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
by the way... that list thing... that's not mine... It was a quote from a list that I probably got wrong (but I got the gist of it across right =D)

Author's Response: Ah, that's okay, I thought it was funny!

Name: harryfan4ever (Signed) · Date: 11/30/07 22:59 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
Oh. . . my. . . goodness (because I never know if I should say "Godric" or not since I'm not in Gryffindor but Hufflepuff (which oddly enough was what my class was at last year's closing rally at school (it must be fate or something))) Wow... too many parentheses. . .

Anyway. . .this story is AWSOME!!! It combines humor and suspense in just the right way. James is a bit too . . . um . . . strange for my liking. AND WHERE DID YOU GET THAT "FROGS GO POP IN THE MICROWAVE" (or whatever it was) SONG FROM BECAUSE THAT'S JUST CRUEL TO THE POOR FROGS!!!

(shudders at the horrible images that played when I read that. . . ugh. . .)

But I still really liked it. . . and I especially liked the little list that Lily was writing on her napkin. I swear that is just like some very funny lists I found

Here's one from a top 10 things I hate:
People who say, "It's always in the last place you'd look" WELL OF COURSE IT IS!!! I mean who goes on looking for something after they've found it? Are there people who do that? If so who are they?

(I might have changed it a little)
The list really made me laugh!! Keep up the good work and I hope to see more chapters in the future. =)

Author's Response: Hehehe, I'm in Hufflepuff as well! And I know exactly how you feel about parentheses!

I'm so glad you liked this story! Oh, and as for James... he has motivation for acting the way he does, 'acting' being the operative word. I got the Frogs Go Pop song from my brother's Boy Scout troop. It was the most disgusting and annoying song I could think of! (I love frogs and have kept several as pets.)


Name: Narcissa de Noir (Signed) · Date: 11/30/07 7:06 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
PLEASE update soon, it seems like it's been so long! I love this story so much, it's really original and probably one of the best fic's I've ever read. You're a great writer and really funny as well, keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Oh dear, it has been too long. You see, I am no longer allowed to use the computer on weekdays, so it's hard for me to find the time to type my story! Chapter six will be exciting, though.

Name: Heiress_of_Insanity_ (Signed) · Date: 11/21/07 16:37 · For: Chapter 2: In Which No One's Actually French Or Happy
Bonjour, Madmoiselle! Parlez vous Francais? Non? *looks up French word meaning 'Excellent', 'Wonderful', or 'Good.' Satisfaisant! *hastily tucks away French-English dictionary*

I must not have added this to my favorites. *shrug* Then I saw it and there were four more chapters updated!

Do Boy Scouts really sing those songs? I've never heard any of them, but they're all adorable! *starts to sing 'Frogs go Pop'*~


Author's Response: HOORAY FOR SPEAKING ABSOLUTELY NO FRENCH! I love many musicals taking place in France, though-- Scarlet Pimpernel, Les Mis, Beauty and the Beast, Phantom of the Opera... seriously.

Well, actually, I taught some Boy Scout friends of mine in my brother's troop the Shaving Cream song after hearing they didn't know it, but I learned the Shaving Cream song on a Boy Scout songs website, so apparently only some Boy Scouts know it.

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 11/19/07 20:19 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
Book 7 references galore! I love it! Along with all of the writing humor. Honestly, I should not be this amused with jokes about English.

Author's Response: Thank you! I had to write a story at some point with a writer as a main character... I really wanted to get into Lily's head and portray her a little differently than most of the Lilys you see in fanfiction.

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 11/19/07 18:10 · For: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated
She doesn't know about Remus's condition? Makes sense I guess, its not like James is sharing secrets at the moment. And why is this story not in the humor category? Its hilarious! I laugh so hard every time I read it. Seriously though. Although it may just be that I'm a bit of a grammar geek. But still. I love this story!

Author's Response: Yeah, Remus's condition will be important later on, so Lily couldn't know. *High-fives my fellow grammar geek* It's not in the humour category because it's so different from the Dark Lord's Blog, and I don't really want the two compared... plus I've always dreamed of putting a story in the Marauders category!

Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/16/07 22:09 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
Psychic Mind Connection? Perhaps. . . .


. . . .

. . . .

. . . .

. . . .


Er, I meant three. . . right. . . .

'Fglad' has three definitions:

1) to be glad with a Transylvanian accent

2) a typo made by Schmergo

3) a rare species of turkey that is found only in Brazil that tastes delicious, but only when cooked in rosemary and barbeque sauce, and has rather sharp teeth and claws that tend to rip peaceful villagers to shreds from time to time

See, THIS is what happens when I drink a French Vanilla Frappuccino! I get random and hyper and I'm singing at the top of my lungs and oh my Godric is that something shiny???

*wanders off*

- Katie The Hyper

Author's Response: Hahahaha.... I actually did guess three... Now I'm imagining an accent that fputs 'f' fbefore fall fof ftheir fwords....
I kind of would prefer if you didn't just leave spammy reviews, though... not because I don't enjoy them, but because the mods get annoyed.

Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/14/07 21:25 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
NOT AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, so MNFF must seriously hate me. I'm terribly sorry about all this, but here is the rest of the review:

*giggles* I kind of agree about the lavender thing (the guys I know only smell like Axe (EW.)), but GARLIC? EW. Good to eat, bad to smell like, in other words.

“No, no, this is a sherbet lemon, which is a sort of sweet and not dangerous at all, except for possibly causing dental trouble. I don’t quite see how it can be confused with a wand.” HA! Sherbet lemons are actually a bit sour to me, but then, I could be eating a different brand.

I must say, you have Dumbledore perfectly in-character this entire chapter. All of his lines and actions are things that seem EXACTLY like things Dumbledore would say and do. Congrats on an excellent job there.

“Why are you yelling ‘Dumbledore’ so much?” he asked. “I mean, I know, it’s a really cool name… sometimes I just like to yell ‘pudding…’” HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!! That not only was incredibly hilarious and in-character, but it forcefully reminded me of my one friend who randomly shouts “DEATH,” even though he’s ANYTHING but emo. It’s really funny, actually. Never fails to get me laughing.

Methinks I have trouble staying on topic. . . .

Wow, said Lily’s conscience, who she’d decided to name Katie after her editor. You’ve reached new lows. 0_0

You actually put me in here. For some reason I thought you were kidding. . . . but, anyway. . . . *Ahem* THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU! You have quite seriously made my day with this!

The scariest thing is that I kind of sound like that when I’m searching for typos. . . . (And by the way, you’re missing a period at the last line of your summary. What, I’m a nitpicker.)

Babies were born, old men died, a cat cried out in the distance (probably because someone threw another rock at it), a tree fell in the forest, and Mrs. MacGinnis next door yelled at her creepy son for bringing more dead polecats into the house. You know how people (like me) are always telling you that you have a unique, amazing writing style? THIS IS ONE OF THOSE TIMES.

Putting in a sentence like that laced with humour and fact is one of those little nuances of yours that makes me think “Oh, Schmergo wrote this!” as soon as I see it. ‘Tis very unique, and very creative, and very other adjective that I have forgotten at the moment. ^^;

It was the kind of rock too large for kicking. He heard his toe bones crack. OUCH. Breaking your toe hurts! (I, um, kind of ran into a metal desk last summer and broke two of my toes. Just goes to show hoe graceful I am. *rolls eyes*) Poor Snape! Why are you so mean to him, eh? I know he’s the Chauvelin Villian Dude in this story, but still. . . .

‘Happy’ went on the list of other unSnapely words like ‘shampoo’ and ‘lederhosen’ and ‘kitten’ and ‘lollipop’ and ‘karaoke’ and ‘tango-dancing with Lily under the moonlight wearing matching Gothic-Victorian costumes.’ Another fantastic example of your brilliant writing prowess. (I like that word. For some strange and unknown reason, it reminds me of ‘The Lion King,’ which I just finished watching. (*EMO SOBS for Mufasa*)) That last one gave me the most hilarious mental image in the History Of Ever.

Basically, once again, you’ve outdone yourself. Another excellent chapter, another fit of laughing from me, another plot point to contend with, another song spoof, another long review, and another terribly long sentence that I’m going to stop writing now.

- Katie *sings LOUDLY to ‘Falcon In The Dive’*
*gets strange looks from family*
*shrugs and continues singing*
*uses WAY too many asterisks*

Author's Response: Yeah, they are sour... I take these vitamin C lemon drops to keep my voice in good shape... I really like them.
I think I sometimes yell 'DEATH' too... it's just kind of a funny thing to do.
Katie the Conscience will definitely reappear!
The funny thing is, that sentence you said was so original appears in one of my other stories, "Oh No, Nott Again." My mom pointed out that I reused it... at least I came up with it myself.
I am mean to Snape because at this point he needs redemption! BAD SNAPERS.
I JUST REWATCHED THE LION KING TWO DAYS AGO!!! HAVEN'T SEEN THAT MOVIE IN SO LONG... AND YOU BRING IT UP RIGHT WHEN I WATCH IT! We have, like, some kind of psychic mind connection! Scar is my favourite Disney character of all. The word 'prowess' might remind you of Lion King because I think the Cowardly Lion from Wizard of Oz says it.
I'm so fglad you liked this!

Author's Response: "Fglad?" What the Nifleheim is that?

Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/14/07 21:22 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

I had a page-and-a-half long review for that, AND MNFF CUT ME OFF!


Here's the rest of the review:

I kind of agree about the lavender thing (the guys I know only smell like Axe. >.

Author's Response: AGABLAAAAAAH!

Name: harrypotterfangirl21 (Signed) · Date: 11/14/07 21:18 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
MNFF MAKES ME MAD. There, I said it.
I added this story to my Favourites List, and I DIDN'T GET THE EMAIL when it was updated! BLEH. So, this review’s a little late in coming. . . . Sorry about that. ^^;

First of all, AHOHEMGEE, “Where’s The Girl” is my favourite song from this musical! I like pretty much all of them, but that’s the one that I listened to for about an hour straight last night — that, and “Falcon In The Dive.” (Terrence Mann is amazing, no? Though I also really like "Madame Guillotine," "The Riddle," "Into The Fire," and "Only Love.")


Aberforth was of the great belief that this was highly unnatural. The only herb that real men should smell of was garlic. *giggles* I kind of agree about the lavender thing (the guys I know only smell like Axe. >.

Author's Response: BLEH. I really hate it when that happens, it happens all the time! We seem to like the same chapter!

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 18:00 · For: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain
I could not stop laughing during Lily's conversation with Severus. I didn't really like how mean you made her towards him, and how indifferent he seemed towards her. They were extremely close friends after all. But still, it was sooooo funny. I expecially liked the lines about the beta readers, and Lily liking italics.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad I made you laugh. Now, they're acting very cold toward each other because Lily's mad that Snape killed Mary MacDonald on HER advice, and Snape is acting indifferent because he's an Occlumens and he feels like he has to fulfill the role of a Death Eater. You do see more of Snape's feelings later.

Name: Ankh of the night (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 17:00 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
gah! the un-snapely list was funny!
but seriously, can you picture snape saying snapely?
*laughs maniacally at mental image*

Author's Response: Hehehehe... and can you imagine Snape saying 'fluffy bunny?' Or 'kitty-cat?' Or 'I'm a Barbie Girl?'

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 15:06 · For: Chapter 2: In Which No One's Actually French Or Happy
I had no idea there was a musical. I really want to see it now, I absolutely adore the book.

Author's Response: LOVE the musical. It's not on Broadway anymore, but there's plenty of Pimpernel stuff on youTube, and iTunes has the soundtrack. (You can also read the complete libretto somewhere on the internet.) The musical deviates A LOT from the original plot of the book, but I really like it. It's hilarious.

Name: lovely_witch (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 14:49 · For: Prologue: On The Streets Of London
I was so excited when I saw the summary for this story, I was thought it sounded like The Scarlet Pimpernel, and then I got to the end and you said it was and I was sooo happy. I love that book! And Monty Python too, I liked the reference.

Author's Response: Thank you! It's so cool that you've read the book! (Monty Python is my favourite thing...) I guess it'll make it a little predictable seeing as you know the basic plot structure, but I think you'll still like it.

Name: Luna_Lovegood11 (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 9:58 · For: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One
haha, i love how this story is very dark, but its got those little snippets of humor in it that make it lighter. i can only pick out two mistakes: you spelt esophagus wrong, and you went what he what he in the snape monolouge. great chapter otherwise, it had me crackiing up. ooh, we're getting to the bottom of james's craziness! i think... anyway, update purleez!!!

Author's Response: I'm gonna have to check those mistakes! (Though I'm pretty sure 'oesophagus' is British for 'esophagus.') Glad I made you laugh! I like to combine darkness and ridiculous farce!

You must login (register) to review.