Reviews For Love a Duck!
Reviewer: bluesmile
Date: 06/21/11 9:35
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

Hey, I love this story so please finish it. I think I have figured out whats going on, why James is acting the way he is, and who the phoenix is but I still really want you to finish this... PLEASE ;) (btw I figured it out from the whole cat thing ;))

Reviewer: PoeticallyIrritating
Date: 01/13/10 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

I've never read/listened to/seen any of the incarnations of the Scarlet Pimpernel, though I do have a few friends who have an occasional fit of excited squealing about it. That aside, I'm quite enjoying this story. I feel sorry for Lily. I said "aww" (loudly, in a public-ish place) at whatever Snape said about tangoing and Gothic-Victorian costumes. Oh, and I want to KILL James.

Author's Response: Agh! I totally need to update this... I completely forgot about this story! Thanks so much for the review... but let's just say there's maybe a little more to James than meets the eye. ;-)

Author's Response: Agh! I totally need to update this... I completely forgot about this story! Thanks so much for the review... but let's just say there's maybe a little more to James than meets the eye. ;-)

Reviewer: SnoopyMarauderess
Date: 10/21/09 9:06
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated

Loved it! As I think I've mentioned before, I LOVED the 'I read the news today, oh boy' part, and Mister Mistoffellees, but I would like to in form you of something. Slovakia is a country by it self, now, but at that time, it would be joined with the Czech Republic to form Czechoslovakia. I would know. I'm Slovak. And may I ask how you came to be aware of our fine country?

Author's Response: Hmmmm.... wow, you're right. Maybe I should research these things.... I grew up with a map of the world taking up an entire wall of my foyer, so I had a lot of fun with world capitals and stuff when I was younger. ^_^ Thanks so much for reviewing!

Reviewer: SnoopyMarauderess
Date: 10/21/09 8:53
Chapter: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain

I loved this chapter, every single time I read it! This was my favorite bit:

Wow. He’s good, thought Lily.

Well, he’s evil, she reminded herself quickly, but I know what you mean.

Of course you do, thought Lily. You’re me. Incidentally, is this what they call ‘internal conflict’?

Snape cleared his throat politely, and Lily blinked.

I am really glad he can’t read minds, she thought.

Oh… wait…

Oh dear…

On a different note, you know how you said you didn't like Johnny Depp as Willy Wonka? Well, in the movie Help! in one scene, George is wearing an outfit that looks like the one Johnny Depp wore in Willy Wonka! And you know, if you like randomness, watch Help!
It's full of Beatles music AND Beatles randomness. I know, right?

Author's Response: Hahaha, thnak you! And I have to say, even though Depp DISTURBED me as Willy Wonka... I loved his outfit. I kinda ripped it off when I played the Mad Hatter in Alice in Wonderland. And I really do want to watch some of those Beatles movies... I've never gotten around to it somehow.

Reviewer: SnoopyMarauderess
Date: 09/20/09 11:52
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated

“I read the news today,” said James.

“Oh boy,” Lily replied absentmindedly.

It really was sad that James didn’t know who John Lennon was.

When I read that, I literally burst out laughing, because (1) it was super funny, (2) I, like you, love Harry Potter (especially the Marauders), the Scarlet Pimpernel, and the Beatles (although I'm more of a George fan).

Wow, that was long.

Author's Response: Thank you! I like this story, but for some reason I discontinued it... don't know why... oh well, maybe someday! Actually, I think George is probably my favorite Beatle. I like Ringo a lot, though, just because his name is Ringo.

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 07/20/09 22:17
Chapter: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

OH MY GOODNESS I REVIEWED THE WRONG STORY BY MISTAKE! THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO GO ON THE LONG DISTANCE EXTENDABLE EARS STORY!

wow...that's emberrassing. sorry. please ignore the below review.

Author's Response: That is totally okay. I've done stupider things! Many, many, stupider thing?

Reviewer: Hermiones_Therapist
Date: 07/20/09 22:15
Chapter: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

this is so sweet! and only Fred can irritate his brother long-distance like that.

Author's Response: I know whuch story this is supposed to be for...

Reviewer: CAPS_LOCK_ADDICTE
Date: 06/12/09 8:43
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated

Discworld refrence!!!! Gotta love Discworld...
I love this story. Do you think you'll update it sometime?

Author's Response: Thank you! I really don't know if I'll update-- I want to say yes, but I have SO many projects!

Reviewer: moony 4eva
Date: 11/03/08 15:02
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

I love this story so much! i try to say 'love a duck' in front of people, but i keep forgetting... though the other day i did randomly screamed 'MERLIN'S EARWAX!" in the middle of the cafeteria and ran out. Some people have avoided me since then...


Anyway, there's a funny song that I heard the other day called 'Days of the Phoenix' that reminds me of this. I can imagine the phoenix, whoever he/she is, sing it years later. The lyrics would suit it because it goes 'No one could see me...' really loudly. You should look it up. It's by AFI, the awesomest band ever.


I totally understand where James is coming from with the pudding thing. Today I just walked around saying 'jueve' (spanish for thursday, pronounced hoo-evay). I really annoyed some people!



Can't wait to read more!



P.S. I want Remus to be the phoenix so badly. But he wouldn't be allowed to eat cats... they're cute.

Author's Response: Thank you so, so much! I haven't gotten a review for this in millennia. Hopefully I WILL write more of this someday, because I'm rather fond of this story. Oh, and the word I've been walking around saying? "Piragua." Technically, I've been singing it. There's this musical called "In The Heights," and this random guy selling shaved ice (piraguas) walks around going, "Piragua, piragua, new block of ice, piragua!"

Reviewer: Firkant
Date: 09/07/08 7:20
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

When will you update?!?

Author's Response: I'm not sure. :-( I planned to write a lot this summer, but then the whole "Pride and Prejuiced Plums" thing consumed my time. But it is NOT abandoned.

Reviewer: herm_own_ninny13
Date: 07/28/08 13:41
Chapter: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain

Here's the last verse of shaving cream translated into Dutch and back:
And now, this here song has, the gebeŽindigd. I think it time am I would have stop with. As no matter which of you offended feel, Plak your head in a bucket of… SHAVING CREAM! Nice and clean are! Shave each day and you will look at always sharply!

I want to know how to plak my head.

Author's Response: Hahahaha! That s absolutely amazing. I should walk up to someone and say, "Oi, you! Plak your head!"

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/19/08 15:43
Chapter: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

P.S. One reviewer said they couldn't believe anyone, magical or not, had never heard of John Lennon. Just a thought, but what if John Lennon was actually a wizard? Perhaps a muggleborn so he knew how the music industry worked. Just a thought.

Author's Response: THAT WOULD BE AWESOME SAUCE! John Lennon also appears in "Long-Distance Extendable Ears," and Lily's a fan in that, too. Okay, you always have amazing ideas... really, really cool ideas.

Reviewer: Binka Fudge
Date: 07/19/08 15:27
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

I adore this fic, and at first i thought Dumbledore might be the phoenix, but then i wondered if there isn't a phoenix and if each rescue is just made by different members of the order. I love how you've captured Abe's personality perfectly. We see very little of him in canon, but this is exactly how I'd picture him. During the order meeting was the 'chair tilter' Sirius and the tired guy Remus? Sorry if thats a really obvious question. I think Lily is being rather dense, she's got to wise up. And it's refreshing to see that the Potter's aren't a happily married couple as is usual in fics. It was quite upsetting when Lily shouted at James for being so infuriatingly happy all the time, some people just can't cope with such difficult situations and resort to humour or they'll just give up, crawl into a hole and cease to exist. I also think he's trying to cover up the fact that he's watching her like a hawk because of her possible connection to the death eaters and he probably can't accept that he was so wrong about the woman he married. I'm really enjoying the rhyming slang words your death eater is coming up with and the high tea with Voldemort was very amusing. All of the adapted songs are brilliant too, and James' party pieces make me cringe, if i'd married him i'd refuse all party invitations, although it's very interesting to see him in a fic where he doesn't get 'hugged' constantly. Oh and that sandwich sounded disgusting, but you never know. I once saw a documentary that said many foods that you wouldn't dream of combining contain certain chemicals that are the same and so do work together. Not sure i'll ever try them though. I found your Snape very unique too, nice to see he's not always the tall, dark and reasonabley handsome potions master. Oh and Lily's thought about Snape being so different from Severus was very profound. I think my favourite of the verses you've begun and ended the chapters with is -
Oh, you were once that someone who I followed like a star
Then suddenly, you changed, and now I don’t know who you are.
Or could it be that I never really knew you from the start?
Did I create a dream? Was he a fantasy?
Even a memory is paradise for all the fools like me.
Now remembering is all that I can do
Because I miss him so when I look at you.
- It was just so sad.
I notice you've not updated this one for a little while, but it's going on my favourites so I don't miss a thing.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm personally rather proud of this story, hehehe. And I'm SO glad you complimented my Aberforth, because I love my Abe... he's my favourite part of this fic. ^_^ Yeah, you correctly guessed the chair tilter... I'm not sure about the 'tired guy,' that might've been anyone. Annd yeah, I'm a little mad at Lily, but hey, she's human. And it's based on a book/musical, and the character Lily is basd on is wildly flawed.

You have no idea how much fun I had writing this story. It's definitely what I'd call a 'zany madcap romp,' and gets more so toward the end. Glad you liked the Snape, too! I was a bit worried, because I'd never written Snape before (except in the Dark Lord's Blog!)

You should totally check out the Scarlet Pimpernel soundtrack. It's on iTunes if you want to hear 30-second samples. It's got two of my favourite actors, Terrence Mann and Douglas Sills (T.M. as the Snape character and D.S. as the James character), and the songs are catchy... though Marguerite (the Lily character) is a bit obnoxious. I'm planning to update this story at least once this summer... Chapter Six is really hard to get right, but I am not abandoning this fic.

Reviewer: x0BOO0x
Date: 06/10/08 15:19
Chapter: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

Heehee! Scarlet Pimpernel is one of my favorite stories. Keep up the great work! You make this site better!
~*BOO*~

Author's Response: OH MY GOSH! *falls down dead* Someone else who knows Scarlet Pimpernel? That's just awesome. (My icon on the forums is Chauvelin... labeled 'Chau-Chau.' Yeah, I'm lame.) Reviews from YOU make this site better.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/08/08 14:21
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

Ack! I'm so sorry! I didn't think that would happen if I mentioned Lily & James' death! *facepalm* here I go again. Umm... good story... yea... I'll end this review before I do anything else to upset people... 10000000000000/10. {Becca}

Author's Response: Hahaha, I was just kididng around when I freaked out about James and Lily; don't fear, I wasn't actually upset!

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/07/08 18:18
Chapter: Chapter 5: In Which Dumbledore Doesn't Pull a Fast One

James paused in pulling on his dress robes. “Why are you yelling ‘Dumbledore’ so much?” he asked. “I mean, I know, it’s a really cool name… sometimes I just like to yell ‘pudding…’”
^^And I randomly start yelling Ringo in the middle of the day. It's random and thats what I am. And I love the title of this chapter. It fits. OOOOOOOOH!!! I just realized something: James says 'love a duck' alot, and thats the title of the story! Does that mean... no, wait, I lost it. *sigh*

Oh no! How could Lily yell at James like that? Poor Shaving-Cream-singing-19-yr-old-not-gonna-live-for-more-than-2-more-years-James! I just realized that they only live til their 21! *sob* Anywayz, A Zizzelion and eleventy-ONE/10. That was a mouthful... {Becca}

Author's Response: WHY MUST YOU REMIND ME THAT THEY DIE?!?!?! *Runs off sobbing* At least their relationship recovers and they have Harry before they die...

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/07/08 18:08
Chapter: Chapter 4: In Which Lily Gets, If Possible, Even More Irritated

Remus looked slightly pained. “Ah. Were they, by any chance, singing ‘Voldy Got Run Over By a Hippogriff’?”

“Er, actually, ‘Frogs Go Pop’, ‘Roadkill Stew’, and that delightful Shaving Cream Song.”

Remus raised his eyebrows. “Once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and I miss it.”
^^haha! I figured out how to copy/paste!!!!! And I'm glad I did, because this was brilliant!!!!! And I thought that the Marauders and Lily found out about his 'illness' in 5th year to become animagi? Ah well. Fanfiction is a wonderful and sometimes noncanon-compliant (is that a word? I'm searching for one that means not canon thats fancy.).

James nodded thoughtfully. “We,” he said in a slow and contemplative voice, “should really get an air hockey table.”

“Do you know what air hockey is?” Lily inquired politely, being of Muggle stock and aware that a pureblood like James probably had no more idea of what air hockey was than of who John Lennon was.
^^How can anyone, wizard or not, have never heard of John Lennon and Air Hockey!! *gets not-so-delightful mental image involving both of the aforementioned Muggle things/people* Still, I like how James wants one and doesnt even know what it is.

“Maybe we should get a cat instead of an air hockey table,” said James. “Cats are cool. This one bloke in Slovakia got his jugular vein ripped out by his cat. Sirius told me.”
“I think we should name our cat something cool. Like Guadalupe. Or James. Or Balthazar. Or Jafar. Or James. Or Mister Mistoffellees. Or Tyrone. Or Mustapha. Or James. Yeah, I think I pretty much covered all of the cool names.”
^^Why would you name a cat after yourself? It's kinda cool, but in an egotistical kinda way (so sorry if anyone you know *or you* has a cat named after yourselves) and I also liked
“I read the news today,” said James.

“Oh boy,” Lily replied absentmindedly.

It really was sad that James didn’t know who John Lennon was.
^^The "I read the news today. Oh boy" isnt that from A Day In The Life from the magical *no pun intended* Sgt. Pepper's Album?

Lily picked up her notepad and her quill and yawned widely, starting her way up the steps alone. Her mind was full of so many thoughts that it hurt. She wished she could share them with James. After all, he had plenty of empty space available in his head.
^^Ack! Lily hates being married to James! I for one don't think it would be that bad... awkward... ah well, A Zizzelion and eleventy thousand/10.

Author's Response: I know the Marauders found out about Remus' furry problem in fifth year, but I don't think Lily was involved... because she wasn't really friends with those people at that point? But that might just be my opinion. Anyway, the idea is that there's a lot of stuff that James is keeping from Lily... yeppers... also, it's important. And with James not knowing air hockey or John Lennon ,if he did, I'd have to start having him knowing about Power Rangers and Jamba Juice, and then this would turn into the Dark Lord's BLog all over again! Yes, that quote is from Sgt. Pepper! HOOORAY FOR KNOWING!!!

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/07/08 17:55
Chapter: Chapter 3: In Which Snape Drives a Very, Very Hard Bargain

Nice chapter... I'm also fond of the three dots and italics. And is the Phoenix Dumbledore??? It sounds like him. And I loved Snape's comment about Lily being 'proud' of being Mrs. Potter'. I forgot how to copy and paste, so I'll just type without it. Was Sirius drunk? Because even he wouldnt ask is 'baguette' was a bad name unless he was drunk. It seems like a running theme with Sirius as well (something I hate, as he's my favourite character). 1000000000/10 again, and hopefully I remember how to copy and paste in the near future. {Becca}

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I love getting reviews for this... as for the Phoenix being Dumbledore, well, you'll see! *Is mysterious* Sirius is not drunk (and if he is, he's not PARTICULARLY drunk), but he's just goofing off with the 'what did you call me?' That's a quote from youtube's Smosh comedy team... I wanted to use it somehow. But Sirius and James are both acting silly in this story, and what they do is done intentionally.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/07/08 16:44
Chapter: Chapter 2: In Which No One's Actually French Or Happy

Oooooo! Very good chapter! I can picture this s actually canon. And I just have a suggestion: Are you familiar with the musical Jesus Christ: Superstar? In my religion class (the most fun class in my Catholic school, because the teacher rocks), my friend's sister goes to Nardin and they did a production of it. Julia got the DVD that Nardin made and we watched it in class. The songs are actually quite catchy and easy to turn into spoofs. Just a thought. By the way, 1000000000000/10 on this chapter.
{Becca}
P.S. It's cool that the only R-rated movie you got to see is Sweeney Todd. The only one I got to see was The Blues Brothers on HBO with my dad. It rocked.

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! I kind of enjoy this story, myself.. it's so zany, but so much fun to write. I love Jesus Christ: Superstar, much like nearly everything else by Andrew Lloyd Webber, but unfortunately, I've succombed to Michael Ball Syndrome. Michael Ball Syndrome is the term I've invented for when you love a musical, but then you hear the brilliant singer Michael Ball (who my OC B.C. Quinn looks exactly like) do a version of one of those songs, and then you can't stand to listen to the original version anymore. I can only hear him doing Gethsemane, "Vaults of Heaven" from Whistle Down the Wind, Raoul in Phantom of the Opera, Che in Evita, Marius in Les Mis, Edna in Hairspray, Fosco in Woman in White... the list goes on and on... so now I have trouble listening to songs from JC Superstar that aren't by Michael Ball.

Reviewer: ringobeatlesfan4
Date: 05/05/08 16:48
Chapter: Prologue: On The Streets Of London

Oooooooo! This was really interesting! Please post chapter 6... i think thats it... soon! I love it so far. How did you come up with the names? Their really exotic and amusing. Is that how you spell amusing? or is it a z... sorry, im unusually stupid today. 100000000/10
[becca]

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Chapter Six should come AS SOON AS the very last chapter of "Potter's Pentagon: The Truth." It's already written. I think amusing is spelled like that... no z... As for the names, I was sitting in history class when writing this, and we learned about a man named Desiderius Erasmus who was a Dutch church reformer. I didn't have names for my two characters, so I named them (what else?) Desiderius and Erasmus!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES