Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Dobby Goes Home

Name: FriendofMolly (Signed) · Date: 05/15/13 22:14 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Hypatia,
I was thinking about Dobby so I searched this site for a story with him as the central character. This was terrific. It was just what I was looking for, Dobby in life was mistreated until Harry freed him, He still had a tough life. Finally he will see just how much he is loved and admired. He is overwhelmed until the Master greets him. I loved the ending,
Thank You,
FoM


Name: Nagini Riddle (Signed) · Date: 05/26/12 0:42 · For: Dobby Goes Home
This made me smile so much! And I did cry just a little. I noticed you borrowed some elements of the afterlife from Greek Mythology- why did you choose that? I'm just curious, because I'm really interested in anything Greek, and mythology is one of them. ;)
I hope one day that when I die, my homecoming will be as happy as this one! :)

Author's Response: I was actually surprised at how deeply Dobby's death affected me when I read about it, particularly since he doesn't even get much page space in the books. I'm trying to recall why I borrowed from Greek Mythology when I wrote this but it was a while ago. My best guess is that I wanted to incorporate some other ideas into the story's Christian-theme, particularly since in the HP universe there are issues like ghosts, phoenixes and Horcruxes. I mean, where did Fawkes go in that moment when he swallowed the Killing Curse? So, I tried to work that into it and I guess Greek Mythology seemed like the way to go at the time. I have always found the idea of the coins for the boatman interesting, sort of the idea that there is a price that needs to be paid. That, and I've always wondered why it's two coins. The typical numbers that we see in sotry and legend seems to be more like 1, 3 or 7.

Thanks,
Hypatia


Name: Arial Felchem (Signed) · Date: 09/19/11 8:05 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Beautiful story, I had tears in my eyes at the end! The idea of all the family members coming up and thanking Dobby was brilliant!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm really glad you enjoyed it! :)


Name: mlskojin (Signed) · Date: 08/02/10 19:58 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Well written. Dobby has always been one of my favorite characters. I am so glad that someone lead him to the happiness that he so richly deserves.


Name: balla (Signed) · Date: 07/24/10 23:38 · For: Dobby Goes Home
it gets better every time i read it. wonderful job


Name: Crazycow89 (Signed) · Date: 03/09/10 4:54 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Awesome story! The one thing I would like to ask is who the person Dobby has wanted to see all his life at the end of the story. There was no name...could it possibly be Harry???


Name: Poppy (Signed) · Date: 01/05/09 16:30 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Made me cry - what a wonderful tribute to Dobby!!


Name: lupins_girl2006 (Signed) · Date: 08/28/08 19:46 · For: Dobby Goes Home
R.I.P. Dobby. :( We will always miss the house elf that tried to save Harry Potter in his second year and almost killed him in the process, and yet you still became a hero. *tears*


Name: Binka Fudge (Signed) · Date: 07/06/08 17:58 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Beautifully written, I loved it, thanks for giving Dobby a wonderful new home.


Name: Malfoy_Star92 (Signed) · Date: 06/18/08 10:31 · For: Dobby Goes Home
This was really good. I'm a big fan of your fan your other work.


Name: montse (Signed) · Date: 05/27/08 4:01 · For: Dobby Goes Home
I cried over dobby's death when i read DH as well. Im glad you gave him the honors whe deserved... makes me feel less sad about losing this wonderful character.


Name: FriendofMolly (Signed) · Date: 04/21/08 23:04 · For: Dobby Goes Home
This was sooo sweet. Thank you for writing it


Name: Sunny_Rainbow (Signed) · Date: 03/25/08 15:55 · For: Dobby Goes Home
That was really good! I love Dobby! I'm glad you made him live on.


Name: harryfan4ever (Signed) · Date: 12/04/07 16:21 · For: Dobby Goes Home
That is sooooo sweet! This really made me feel better about Dobby's death and all the deaths of the good characters in the stories. You really have an excellent imagination.


Name: megan_grace1405 (Signed) · Date: 11/11/07 5:28 · For: Dobby Goes Home
thats beautiful! i was nearly in tears..Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)


Name: chrisj (Signed) · Date: 10/07/07 19:09 · For: Dobby Goes Home
How... Christian.

Author's Response: Thanks!


Name: DMTAT003 (Signed) · Date: 09/30/07 1:05 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Brilliant...excellent job.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :)


Name: RonandMioneForever (Signed) · Date: 09/14/07 22:36 · For: Dobby Goes Home
How brilliant. This brought me to tears. I love it.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for reviewing!


Name: mock_turtle (Signed) · Date: 09/12/07 23:20 · For: Dobby Goes Home
I love that bit about the knitting patterns. that is a perfect piece of nitpicky fan humor.

Author's Response: I couldn't resist. Dumbledore and Dobby both mention knitting and socks enough that I simply couldn't leave it out. Thanks for the review!


Name: Gin_Drinka (Signed) · Date: 09/12/07 19:41 · For: Dobby Goes Home
Aww...how cute...I wanted to check this out, cause I'm going to try for this challenge myself...it's very nice, and I like how 'lucius' showed up at the beginning. Mad it seem, I don't know, more real. Good Luck!

Author's Response: Thanks! Best of luck to you as well, I'll keep an eye out for your story. :)


You must login (register) to review.