Reviews For The Cause
Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 04/29/09 22:37
Chapter: A Victim

I think marty is getting a little crush. My oh my this si getting interesting

Author's Response: I think you might be right ... although if you asked, I'm sure she'd tell you her interest is spurely psychological.

Reviewer: Fiffer Haliwell
Date: 04/29/09 22:26
Chapter: Trendsetters

I love this story already. MArty is too cool a girl. ANd the remus in this story is so lovable. I love the way you developed characters

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! Marty is totally cool, I love her. And thanks about the characters, because they're my favourite part of writing! =)

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/16/09 20:16
Chapter: The Plight of the Pixie

My sincere condolences. It was hard enough to lose Mom in my mid 40's. I can't imagine what it would be like to have lost her when I was a teenager.

Author's Response: Yeah, well, I'll be okay. Thanks for your concern.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/15/09 19:52
Chapter: The Plight of the Pixie

No, you're not predictable, it just seemed like a natural progression with them having been friends for years, losing her sister and then staying at his house.
I unfortunately do speak somewhat from experience. 14 yrs ago I lost my husband to cancer before our 1st wedding anniversary. Three years later I lost my mother. The combination took a few years to recover from.

Author's Response: I'm very sorry to hear that, I recently lost my Mum too. Like I said, if I was writing this now, some things would be a lot different.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/14/09 23:24
Chapter: Pumpkin Juice

Fantastic last chapter. Wrapped up very believeably. I am going to read the other stories you've written on MNFF.
What world are you writing in and is it on any site I can access? I'd like to take a read and see if it interests me. I like all kinds of fantasy.
Thanks for your hard work in writing this story.

Author's Response: Believe me, it was my pleasure. Unfortunately, the things I write now aren't on any website, they're just original fiction that - if I can't publish the real way, which I doubt I can being only seventeen - I'd rather keep to myself. But by all means, read the other stuff I have on here. My only warning is that The Cause was the last thing I had published, and therefore (in terms of the writing at least) probably my best. Anyway, thank you very much for all your reviews, I've really enjoyed reading them, and I also hope you like the other things too ... even if, nowadays, I'm the first to say that they aren't nearly as good as I'd like.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/14/09 22:40
Chapter: Passing Phase

I see great minds think alike. You said at the beginning of this chapter what I said in the review of the last. You've done a great job with your characters. They all seem very real, and the "girl talk" is what you'd expect from most girls that age. I'm more with Marty and missed the whole teenage angst/love thing, I was into exploring the woods with my dog, having guys as friends, and thinking the girls who were whispering and giggling were nuts. James is adorable when he's being an idiot. Sirius is just adorable. Remus is just wonderful. Peter is just a rat. I will be sad that the next chapter is the last.

Author's Response: Well, I have to say I'm probably somewhere in between, although I haven't had any teenage love-angst for a few years. Thank heaven. It was certainly all a big waste of time. I'm really pleased you like the characters, because you seem like a really smart person so it means even more. I hope you enjoy the last chapter too!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/14/09 21:29
Chapter: Uncle Morris

I was wrong. I thought maybe Aunt Tabby had decided to marry Garfield and wanted Marty to stay at the Lupin's while she was on her honeymoon. Working at Taffy's is going to be much worse. She's going to have to face the place where she saw her Mom killed. That's going to be pretty dramatic. She is going to have to face it, and now is better than later even if she doesn't think so. I'm also sure the guys would be willing(with a little push from Remus)to stop by over the holiday's to visit and give her a little break now and then. Maybe one of them, Remus?, would even help out a day or two. Long as it's not near the fullmoon. Maybe they'll all take turns. But she does need to do this, face her problem/fear, or she'll be hiding from everything the rest of her life.

Author's Response: Well, originally Aunt Tabby was going to marry Garfield as well, but somehow that never quite made it into the story. Am I so predictable? =) You seem to be a really intuitive person, and I'm glad you understand the characters (and what a big deal this is for Marty) so well. And if you're speaking from experience, then all I can say is that I'm very sorry to hear it.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/14/09 20:01
Chapter: The Plight of the Pixie

Yes they are all very loveable. My understanding and observation are from many, many years of watching people and reading at least two libraries worth of books. Plus I became an aunt the first time at the age of four and am now a great-great aunt.

Author's Response: =)

Author's Response: =)

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 23:25
Chapter: Most Indubitably

This was another really fun chapter. I'd be just as excited/happy to help/work with the Marauders as Marty is. And she's doing it more for Remus than the rest, though I'm not entirely sure she realizes this. They are both skirting around the boy/girl thing because neither of them expects anything like that in their lives. Lily is starting to reconsider her relationship with James. According to canon they start dating in 7th yr, and it would take Lily quite some time to reconsider her feelings towards James.
Aunt Tabby wants to know if she can spend the summer at Remus' again?

Author's Response: As always, your character analysis is dead on. It's very cool, and I'm pleased what I was writing seems to make sense, not only to me, but to others as well. So thanks very much!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 22:56
Chapter: Fainty McPassOut

ROTFLMAO! The innuendo, sarcasm, humor, and just plain fun are great. Marty being Marty on drugs. I've reacted like that a time or two. But then I am cynical, sarcastic and have an extremely sick sense of humor.

Author's Response: =D I'm very glad you enjoyed it! I can't say I've acted like that under the influence of medical drugs before, so I was never entirely sure about that part, but I'm glad it seemed to turn out okay!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 22:29
Chapter: Intolerable Apathy

Actually sounds like some 14, 15, and 16 yr old boys I've known. They all have totally weird conversations like that. Luckily most of them don't know what they're saying actually is supposed to mean.

Author's Response: =D Yeah, that was all written very much from experience of boys I know. It always makes me laugh, even when I know it probably shouldn't ...

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 21:45
Chapter: Very Bohemian

I did enjoy it. Making the guys realize there are consequences for your actions was a good thing. Now life can get back to what passes for normal at Hogwarts.

Author's Response: What PASSES for normal, yes, almost. I'm very pleased you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 21:08
Chapter: Paginate

The only other time remember them feeling at all guilty is after Marty's Mom died and Remus reminded them of what they had said to her. That was only a few months back. They still feel invinceable and always in the right. After all they are 16. I'm thinking Sirus is so used to hearing horrible things from his family and letting them bounce off that he thinks everyone does that. He'll learn, hopefully. James and Remus feel guilt quicker about some things. Peter, I don't think even he has a clue. He just follows the other three around.

Author's Response: Hey, you really understand these characters well! I'm glad, because despite their many faults, I really like them, and I think that just makes them all the more loveable, don't you?

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 20:46
Chapter: Asparagus

I knew Marty would accept Remus "furry little problem". And James once again proves he still has a lot of growing up to do. Well they all have a lot of growing up to do, they are only 16 after all.

Author's Response: Bless. Of course, there should never have been any doubt about Marty's reaction, but you're right. A lot of growing up.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 0:33
Chapter: The Trust Test

Great chapter. Marty being who she is wasn't connecting the dots because she wasn't looking for a connection. When she saw them outside and realized it was a werewolf she was so concerned for their safety she wasn't thinking coherently enough to connect the dots. I'm guessing she is now really going to mother hen Remus. At least he didn't just have to tell her because she noticed them disappearing.

Author's Response: Aw, you seem to really understand Marty, and I'm glad. No matter how much she tries to be knowledgable, she can so often miss what's right in front of her eyes. Which, now that I think about it, reminds me quite a bit of myself ... thanks for reviewing, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/13/09 0:12
Chapter: Hapless Slytherins

Things never go that well at Hogwarts. It's a school filled with hundreds of magical kid's and that would make it a pretty dangerous place. Well maybe not dangerous, but definitely not safe. Marty was definitely right about what she said on the train. Her dorm mates pretty much proved that. I'm with the guys on this one. I'm female but never could understand or put up with how teenage girls think and act. I've always been much too cynical. And now I'm well over 50 but never intend to actually grow up.

Author's Response: You're absolutely right about teenage girls, and I am one! Most of the time, we drive me crazy. So I don't think that makes you cynical at all! As for not intending to grow up, I very much hope to keep your philosophy the rest of my life!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/12/09 23:46
Chapter: The King of Diamonds

Or an Indiana Jones story? Another good chapter. Marty is being pretty typical about not wanting to face her loss. She doesn't realize she and her aunt need each other to get through their grief. When she gets back to school she'll be busy and won't have to think about it. Delay is not necessarily a good thing, but can make it much worse when you finally do have to face it. But that's not what your story is about.

Author's Response: Possibly an Indiana Jones story ... anything adventurous with a quest, basically. Your analysis of Marty's reaction is spot on, but you're wrong about one thing ... that is partly what the story is about.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/12/09 23:03
Chapter: Pastimes

'Course you finished this some time ago. I just found it a couple days ago and started reading, so my reviews/comments aren't going to have any impact. But, they're fun to write anyway.
Nice chapter. I could see the Marauder's doing exactly what they did. And Marty being Marty would do exactly as she did and ask to stay. She reminds me of Luna, and I like Luna a lot. Though I do want to be Sirius when I grow up.

Author's Response: I would LOVE to be Sirius! =D Trust me, getting reviews is fun for me too, even if the story is already finished. I'm glad you seem to be enjoying it!

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/12/09 21:52
Chapter: Hide-And-Seek

Losing a loved one is not an easy thing. I would worry if you'd didn't write her being upset, confused, lost, crying, etc. Not a criticism of your writing, but I'm guessing you have not lost anyone close to you in death. I'm glad.

Author's Response: When I wrote this, you're right, I hadn't. If I was writing it now ... let's just say this particular aspect of the plot might be a little different.

Reviewer: captburke
Date: 02/12/09 21:30
Chapter: The Annexe

War is hell, so is being a werewolf I bet. Your writing is excellent as far as I can tell. It's keeping me interested, and every chapter can't have every character. That would be pretty obnoxious I think.

Author's Response: Obnoxious? You think so? Perhaps. I'm very glad you're enjoying the fic, thank you very much for the reviews!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd Professors
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES