Reviewer: pokethedevil
Date: 11/06/07 0:44
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

This is so great.
You know, I've realized that there is so much for me to write. I only recently entered the world of fanficiton and times like this make me feel like I've limited myself to a box. >.<
I probably shouldn't do that...
Anyway, this was just ... great.
You've touched a common topic here and turned it into something so creative and unique. I love the whole idea of the thing
As for me...
PLOT BUNNIES, HERE I COME!!
Lol.


Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad that you enjoyed it. :) Have fun chasing those plotbunnies! :D --Tash

Reviewer: JustLikeHermione77
Date: 10/19/07 15:03
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

aww.... *sniff* I MISS FRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: Angela_Prongs
Date: 10/10/07 17:23
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Tash! *tackles* How come you never told me you write so well? *pokes*

I'm actually surprised at how much I loved this! I was just as confused as Fred at the beginning, funnily enough. I was sort of hesitant about reading it, because I found it through your banner on the forums. I didn't even look at the summary. But it was fantastic!

I like the idea of Fred having to let George into his heart. I'm a teensy bit confuzzled about one thing. Why couldn't George be let in? Was it because Fred resented him a bit for leaving him? Was it because it just wasn't time?

I'm very impressed and I hope to see more. *huggles* Awesome story! Happy writing!!

Author's Response: Angela! :D I'm happy that you decided to read it anyway despite your initial doubts. (and I've discovered that people actually click banners. hehe) Yeah, Fred couldn't let George into his heart because he had grown to be slightly resentful of him. Glad you liked it! :D *huggles* Tash

Reviewer: Phoebe Gruzelier
Date: 10/07/07 4:56
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

It was nice seeing Fred's 'waiting room' for George. The confusion after death was realisticaly done - the hazyness and difficulty remembering much.

The jumble of meomories, plus the bits with George talking to him, really added. This wasn't your typical 'your favourite character has just died so you write a completely pointless story about them going to heaven and being re-untited with parents/lovers/children/relatives/friends etc.' This was a new take and seemed to have a proper purpose to it!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you liked the way I portrayed the afterlife. I've seen too many post DH fics where dead characters go to King's Cross where they wait for everyone they've ever known, seemingly. O.o Thanks for the review. :D

Reviewer: obsessed_with_jo
Date: 10/04/07 18:03
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Let me start off by saying I loved this. It was sweet and sad and funny all at the same time. I think it was very appropriate that Fred and George tackled the afterlife together. It seemed so unnatural that Fred died while his twin went on living, and I think your fic captured and addressed that very nicely.
I liked how you portrayed Fred's life after death...or, well, his time waiting for George. I thought it was interesting how normal the entire situation was for him, and how he discovered more about the end of his life and why he was there as the story continued. I loved the entire "you have to let me into your heart" aspect of the piece; very well done =]
Great job! Good luck in the challenge!


Author's Response: I think that after you realise you're dead, you don't really expect things to feel normal anymore. :) I'm glad you liked the story. :)

Reviewer: chasing_willow
Date: 10/02/07 22:02
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

You did it.
You made me cry.. In the book when Fred died, he died among dozens of others, he died and that was kind of -it-.
It never really sunk in.
I loved your language ("senile old dingbat" especially) and the little remarks the twins would indeed be likely to utter (like the "your heart, mind or buttocks" business - George's mentioned his left buttock being "never quite the same" after papa Weasley reaction to them almost swearing Ron into an Unbreakable Vow).
But why can't he leave the room if he's about as immaterial as any ghost would be? Just hasn't gotten his closure to move on? I suppose it makes sense - they did everything together, passing on should have been as well.
*sigh*
Poor twins.. we'll miss them.
-- Jenya

Author's Response: He wasn't a ghost, as I think ghosts in the magical world are souls that have returned to the earth. Fred's waiting room wouldn't let him out until George arrived, and by that time Fred had grown slightly resentful. But he got over it. :)

Reviewer: FaunaCaritas
Date: 10/01/07 2:42
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

That was awesome! You had some really original ideas. I loved the fact that George had locked Fred away in his heart until they could take the journey into the afterlife together.

My favorite part of the whole story was the last line. By saying nothing you say everything!

Quote: "He shut his eyes contentedly and when he opened them again, the room at the Burrow was gone." Leaving the story that way means that the reader's imagination can take flight!


My criticisms: I wasn't really clear about were Fred was that whole time.... I know I said before he was locked in George's heart, but that was just my best guess. I wasn't sure if that is what you meant. I would suggest clarifying what happened by making their conversation in the last scene a bit easier to understand.

I think you could also use one or two more instances of George 'speaking' to Fred-- just so that it is (again) easier for the reader to slowly catch on to what is happening. I also felt like George would think about/talk to 'dead Fred' quite a bit... they were twins. And wouldn't Fred try to talk back? Once Fred realized what was going on wouldn't he have tried to talk to his brother, albeit in a singular manner. People sometimes say they can sort of hear their loved ones talking to them in their heart after they are gone......

I have rambled unintentionally into speculation. Ahm. *closes eyes briefly, opens again* I am better now.

Bravo and best of luck in the challenge, fellow 'Claw! I liked your story very much.

Pax.
~Fauna



Author's Response: Well, I was actually sort of half-hoping that people would come to their own conclusions about why Fred was locked in the bedroom. But I think what I had in mind while I was writing is that he was locked in the bedroom because he was waiting for George, so I think your speculation works. :) I think I have a bad habit of not explaining myself fully epsecially in stories such as this one which leads to reviews saying that people found it confusing. It's something I've been trying to work on lately. :) Thanks for your review! :) Tash

Reviewer: mspadfoot89
Date: 09/21/07 8:21
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Aww, this was such a nice story! Believe it or not, it totally gave me the closure I needed after Fred's death. It seemed unnatural for Fred to die without George, and now that I stop and think about it, it would seem even more unnatural for him to live the afterlife without George.

I have to say, to me, this fic made perfect sense! It was sweet, not overly fluffy but more bittersweet. I love the little bits of humour mixed in here and there--you certainly have a knack for grasping the twins humour, yet making it seem original. I loved it! Another thing I really liked was the way Fred was able to hear George's thoughts. For me, it was like the twins' bond was so strong, not even death could severe it. I wonder if it could work the other way around, if George could hear or else feel, some of Fred's thoughts and emotions. It's an interesting thought, either way.

Overall, a very nice job, and a very worthy addition to the Ravenclaw entries! Seems like a winner to me!

~Emma

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked the humour, it took me a little while to get it right--the original didn't have that much and when I was rereading it the last time before I placed it in the queue, I was thinking that something was missing. :D I'd like to think that Fred and George are together in the afterlife, united again. :) Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Phia Phoenix
Date: 09/18/07 4:26
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Darn it, Tash, you stole my idea! Of Fred having to wait for George before they could move on! Although, the bedroom at the Burrow was a great idea, and I'd never have been able to pull of the funny bits that well. But, you managed to put in the confusion, boredom, and to some extent, desperation that Fred felt while he was stuck in there, without dumping it all in one load. You did it... subtly. And I'd never be able to do it like that. I am so glad I'm not entering in this category of the challenge! I wouldn't stand a chance!

Grr. Another review without any constructive criticisms. Oh well, some wow-oh-my-gosh-that-was-so-good type reviews can be nice sometimes, right?

Love Phia

Reviewer: red haired mom
Date: 09/13/07 12:49
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Wow, first I really have to say WOW! That was wonderful. You hit all of the notes, sweet, funny, poignant, sad, side holding hilarious, and most of all touching.
Through the entire thing, I couldnít stop to write down my thoughts as I usually do. I had to keep reading, and I have to say, other than a couple of very small typos, it was so very well written, and if I wasnít entering into this category also I would say it should win first place. *grin* Having the entire thing consist of him waiting for George was brilliant, and when they were together again, hilarious. It is definitely a wonderful story, and a great entry on behalf of Ravenclaw. Letís see if we can take first and second together!


Author's Response: Oh wow, thanks for the review. :D This story is one of my favourites because I personally enjoy happy endings--you're doing Hedwig right? I'm hoping your entry gets validated soon, it sounded really interesting when I heard about it. It must be fascinating to write about the afterlife of a bird :D Thanks for the lovely review :) Tash

Reviewer: remilupin
Date: 09/08/07 7:34
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Hi,
I really liked this. I know most of HP fans have been wondering what would become of George without Fred, so this story is a very nice twist.
I especially love your tagline, that death had to be more exciting than an uncluttered bedroom, and your last para made me smile - great image having them leave the burrow together towards the next great adventure.
The only comment is that for me, it came as rather a shock that Fred was locked in the bedroom all that time because he had closed George out of his heart. With the exception of one para, I didn't get that sense. Prior to that para, I didn't get the sense that Fred felt resentment or bitterness or had "closed" George out in anyway . I thought for the most part just very confused by his predicament. My shocked reaction is probably what you were going for, in which case you succeeded :)
I enjoy your writing and look forward to reading more.

Author's Response: Ah, the reason that Fred couldn't leave the room is because he was waiting for George. When he started feeling a bit resentful, that is when George showed up and couldn't come in. Hope that cleared things up a bit. Thanks for the review! :)

Reviewer: phoenix_fille
Date: 09/07/07 19:56
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Awww, that was really sweet. I was rather annoyed that Fred's death didn't really close in the book. Good story.

Author's Response: Thanks :) I'm glad you liked it.

Reviewer: fizzingwhizbee_2
Date: 09/07/07 18:37
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Wow. Not mytake on after life, but good.


Author's Response: That's what I like about afterlife fics--everyone has their own take on it :)

Reviewer: pwcapone
Date: 09/07/07 13:35
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Did he have to wait in that room for eighty years til George died? That stinks, but at least they ended up together again. Great story.

Author's Response: Yep, it might have been a little longer than 80 years, but time moved a little differently for Fred.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 09/07/07 10:49
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Excellant!

Reviewer: KDTheRavenclaw
Date: 09/07/07 9:23
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

This was a great story, not overly sentimental or anything. I've been really sad since J.K. killed Fred; thanks for making me feel better!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. :) I've never been good at writing sentimental or angsty fics, so I rather like this one...

Reviewer: snpdrgn
Date: 09/07/07 9:14
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

This was a really great story. Sad, but very happy also. : )

Author's Response: I like happy endings :)

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 09/07/07 8:44
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

Very nicely written chapter. I still can not believe that J.K.R. killed off Fred. You just can't have "Gred" without the "Forge"!!! Loved it!

Reviewer: sly1184
Date: 09/07/07 8:26
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

That was wonderful.

Reviewer: num
Date: 09/07/07 7:58
Chapter: The Bedroom at the Burrow

That was beautiful. Really well written with a wonderful gentle tone.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES