Reviews For No Other Way
Reviewer: moldy999
Date: 12/19/07 16:44
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

can hermione and tiff. get into a massive fight which ends up with hermione cursing tiffs eye out lol

Author's Response: Well, I can't promise that, but Hermione and Tiffany do have a confrontation in Chapter Four, so watch out for it! Thank you so much for reviewing, I'll be getting the next chapter back from my beta at the weekend, so it should be up ASAP!

Reviewer: moldy999
Date: 12/19/07 16:43
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

PUT THEM BACK TOGETHER NOW *SETS BIRDS ON YOU* MY FAVE COUPLE AND U PUSH THEM APART SAY THE BRIDE GETS POISONED AT THE WEDDING AND DIES SO HERMIONE SHOWS HER UNDIEING LOVE TO RON AND SHE TURNS BRIDE sorry im over-reacting but this bride sounds like lavender and you do realise i would like lavender to drown or get blown up or NO tortured then killed hah *moans*

Author's Response: Sorry! *dodges birds* I'm afraid Tiffany doesn't get poisoned, I'll tell you that - but what happens, I can't tell you, whether Ron and Hermione get back together or not - you'll have to read on to find that one out! Tiffany isn't really that much like Lavender - she's more genuine, I think. But there's a bit more about her in the next few chapters - which are coming very soon! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: HermioneGronaldW
Date: 12/08/07 23:42
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Like the story alot! You have to update soon! more like LOVE the story

Author's Response: Thank you! I should be getting the third chapter back from my beta this weekend, so I'll put it up then =)

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 09/30/07 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

I...like this story! I almost never read Ron/Hermione, but I recognized the author name and figured I’d give it a shot. Your characterization is very good and I love the interactions between the characters. Going chronologically through the parts I loved...

Ron probably thought he was being so sneaky in dividing up the names the way he did, but Harry caught on, didn’t he? I liked how he was (justly) miffed by it, and loved the line “whilst Ron had been fed brownies, Harry had been forced to make a quick escape from a rather accurate string of them...” I thought it was in-character for Harry to mention Krum the way he did and to take pleasure from Ron’s “hundred and one reasons.” And, of course, it was in character for Ron to maunder on and on about how he hated Krum.

I liked how you didn’t have to actually say anything about the way Hermione felt about the wedding: the fact that the invitation was untouched on the table gives the reader all they need to know.

I liked the little three-way interaction between Ron, Mrs Weasley, and Hermione. I especially loved the grammatical interchange – it was obvious they’ve had this discussion before. Also in this section are the little details that give so much to a story – for example, when Mrs Weasley goes to “rescue” dinner. And also, of course, I liked the way that Ron never got over his habit of treating Hermione like his girlfriend – “pick you up at eight?” Hee.

The things I’m going to be picky about in this chapter are not glaring typos or really bad grammar that I can’t stand to look at, just things that I’ve learned to notice that you might like to be aware of in future.

First of all, this line here: “I’m so glad you decided to stop by, dear, even if it is only for a few hours,” Mrs. Weasley smiled as Hermione bit into her baked potato. This is a habit I still haven’t broken, the usage of non-verbal words as the action when someone is speaking. “Smiling” is not an act of speech. I don’t know of any physical way that someone can simply smile and be heard. If you want, you could trade out the comma at the end of the dialogue with a period and simply make the following sentence its own independent thought – it’ll be pretty clear that it was Mrs Weasley talking. Or you could use a word like “said” or “remarked”, i.e., Mrs Weasley remarked, smiling as Hermione....But as I said, this is a pitfall that I often fall into and I don’t blame you if you don’t ever get around to taking my advice.

And then this one here: ”...Harry said something about decorations?” Ron squirmed slightly, and Hermione realised that she might have come off a bit more frosty than she had intended. It was really confusing to me to figure out who was talking, because you mentioned Ron first after the quotation marks. You should probably either mention Hermione first or make it a different paragraph. Just to lessen the confusion of poor ADD and OCD readers like myself.

But anyway, that’s all the criticisms I had for this chapter! I’m pretty excited to see what happens next. I mean, obviously something’s going on with Ron, and I want to find out the way that unfolds.

Author's Response: Leslie, thank you so much for this lovely review! You totally made my day! *huggles* Thank you! And I can't say how pleased I am that you like it, despite the infamousness that can be Ron/Hermione! *giggles* Yes - Ron definitely planned that, even if subtlety isn't exactly his forte! Of course he's still a bit raw about Krum - unluckily for Harry who has to hear about it all - although he'd rather eat slugs again that admit it to Hermione!

I'm particularly glad that you noticed and understood how Hermione felt about the wedding, as I did feel that not saying anything would say much more - but I was a little worried that reading it, it might not translate as well, so I'm happy you liked that! Especially as I really feel that Hermione's feelings on the wedding are such a big part of this story, it's good to track them through the chapters.

The interaction between Ron and Hermione is another thing I'm so happy you picked out, as I'm always worried about not getting it right, as with those two especially it has to be just on beat - as it does reveal a lot about the characters and the past bit that we haven't seen - between school and the present. =)

Oh, thank you for pointing out those things, Les! As I actually didn't know that, and it will definitely be useful for the future =) *giggles* It'd be interesting to hear what a smile would be like though! I'll go and change those things in a minute =)

I really hope that you carry on reading, as I'm just dying to hear what you think of the rest, especially the end! Thank you so much for this lovely review, and for deciding to read this in the first place! *huggles*

Reviewer: baldy voldy
Date: 09/30/07 11:40
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Ends with a cliff hager

Author's Response: *giggles* If you think that's a cliffhanger, you should read some of my other stories! But don't worry, all will be explained in the next chapters.

Reviewer: baldy voldy
Date: 09/30/07 11:39
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Ends with a cliff hager

Author's Response: ...does it?

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 09/29/07 20:26
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Ooh, very good!

“Ron, I was joking!" Harry admitted, interrupting Ron's hundred and one reasons Krum was a danger to national security and so should be forced to leave the country immediately - and being so well respected in the Auror community wasn't Harry the perfect person to enforce it? "She’s not marrying anyone, let along Krum! I don’t think she’s even seeing anyone at the moment, but I could be wrong. Not that you should care anyway, you’re getting married in a fortnight!"

A couple things with this excerpt. 1.) Ron's one hundred and one reasons. This is optional, but I think it sounds a bit more professional. 2.) That whole idea was hilarious! And the end where Ron says that Harry would be the perfect person to kick Viktor out of the country really added to it! 3.) let alone Krum

I love the little grammatical exchange between Ron and Hermione! Tee hee, very cute. :D Keep up the good work! Best wishes! :D

Author's Response: Thanks for pointing those errors out - I'll go change them as soon as I get a minute. =) I'm really glad you enjoyed this chapter, especially the exchanges between Ron and Hermione, as their interaction is what I most enjoy writing. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing - next chapter should be up soon!

Reviewer: Hermione Clone
Date: 09/28/07 16:06
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Great job! Can't wait to meet Tiffany, and to see Hermione meet her.
Update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! We get to meet Tiffany in Chapter 4, where we see quite a lot of her - and where Hermione also meets Tiffany for the first time - inniciated by Tiffany, I will reveal! I'll be pretty interested to see what you think of Tiffany actually...

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 09/25/07 19:46
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Quick Reactions

Lol, the comment about national security was really funny. I like this story so far, can't wait to see more of it.

Author's Response: *grins* Yes, Ron never can truly forgive Krum, can he?! More shall be coming soon, thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: Gin_Drinka
Date: 09/25/07 19:36
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

Ooh, I like this. Very realistic and I like the characterisations....nice.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so pleased that you're enjoying it =)

Reviewer: I_LUV_MOONY
Date: 09/19/07 21:00
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

Ah poor Hermione.

Well, this definitely has a good beginning; I want to stick around and find out what happens. Poor Harry, being roped into wedding planning. I have two favorite quotes:
"Because if you leave my sister - and my niece, come to that - I will personally rearrange your face. But I won’t kill you then, as it would be much more fun to see the stress of planning your next wedding kill you. So either way, you’ll be disfigured and dead. So, just don‘t do it! Okay?” Harry laughed as his friend babbled on, saying something about lists and a white dress (or maybe fists and fight stress).

Who doesn't love Ron's ranting? Were I in Harry's situation, it would've taken me a bit to digest all of that. It definitely sounds like something Ron would say.

...his Seeker reflexes at the ready to catch any flying objects that might be launched at him, just in case. He hadn’t forgotten the birds.

This one made me laugh. A very clever line.

Well, all in all, a great start. You're a wonderful writer, and I can't wait to see how this story goes. Best wishes! :D

Author's Response: Oh, I know, how terrible must that be, to be Hermione and to hear that? But is the worse yet to come - or is there sunshine on the horizon? You'll have to read on and see...!

I'm really glad you liked the beginning here, as I always find the first chapters the hardest to write, so it means a lot that it's roped you in! I know - I can't say I was envious of Harry either! *giggles* I'm also glad that you enjoyed Ron in this chapter, as I really enjoyed writing him in this fic. The humour I think is an important part of any fic, so I'm really happy it got through here, for as you've seen, it isn't all smiles, so it's good to have some laughs when you can.

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, it really does mean a lot to me =) The next chapter is in queue, so hopefully should be up soon!

Reviewer: Lil_Weasley_Girl
Date: 09/18/07 20:50
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

i love this story!!! it is sooo soo good!! i really want to see more!!! A++ Baby!!! KEEP IT UP!!! :) --

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm really glad you're enjoying it so far! The next chapter is in queue!

Reviewer: num
Date: 09/12/07 8:03
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

This is a great story! I don't read much R/Hr, but this is really interesting. I loved the way Hermione and Ron talked about each other to Harry!

There are some little thigs that don't quite add up... like why wedding invitations would be sent out so close to the wedding (even given Ron's organisational levels!), but you know what? I don't even really care, because this story has totally captivated me. I can't wait for the update. Incidentally your summary is great... that was what drew me in!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm flattered that you chose this story to read as one of the few R/Hrs that you do - and I really hope that you'll continue (as *whispers* I actually think that the ending is the best bit!).

Yes, Ron and Hermione amuse me too in how much they try to act like they don't care - the fact is they try so hard to prove that they don't makes it obvious that they do care.

About the wedding invitations, it wasn't
all of them that hadn't been sent - only a few, such as Hermione and some other people they felt they ought to invite but didn't really want to - or couldn't face telling, in one case... There weren't too many on the list - (as Harry notes in the next chapter) just some of Ron's ex-girlfriends and a few eccentric relatives they felt the wedding would do better without, but they had to invite to keep good relations - but were being sneaky, as they hoped it would be too late notice. (Unluckily, in most eccentric relatives' cases, it wasn't!) But yes, you're right - the majority of the invites went out earlier. This was just last minute things, like contacting those who hadn't replied as well.

*giggles* I'm glad you don't mind anyway though! And I'm absolutely thrilled that this story has captivated you, as to be honest it's my favourite so far. Praise for the summary must go to my wonderful beta Kate (ms weasley), as she edited and rearranged it so that it made sense! (However, that quote I've had written down for so long, so it feels lovely to finally see it up there now!) I hope you keep reading until the end, as I'm really looking forward to hearing what you think of it (and subsequent chapters), thanks for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: Verity Calamity
Date: 09/11/07 15:45
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

Wow, this is a really good story. I love the way you played out Ron's wedding, and to whom he was actually marrying. I'm glad you broke free of the common R/Hr ship and, chose to go in a more creative direction. Thoguh I have a feeling some old flames may arise further into the story. I may be wrong but, alas I'll just have to red and see. Anyway, great story, keep it up. :D

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm so pleased that you think so! Yes - I didn't want the reader to be sure at first whom Ron was marrying, but I suppose the summary kind of gave that away anyway!

I must say that I'm thrilled that you think (and like!) how this story is different to most R/Hrs, for as I love the ship so much, I do want to be different, to explore different ways their relationship could have gone. As to whether you're right or wrong about old flames - you're absolutely right in that you'll just have to read and see! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, next chapter should be up soon!

Reviewer: RemusLapin
Date: 09/11/07 15:07
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Spreading The Joy

Poor Hermy


Author's Response: *nods* Poor Hermione indeed!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES