Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 09/24/07 22:57
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

This has been my favorite chapter so far!!!! I loved the scene with Malfoy calling Hermione a mudblood it showed a braver side of Neville the way he tried to curse Malfoy and then Ron comes in curses Malfoy I loved how he stood up for her!

Author's Response: I just loved the image of Neville instinctively trying to curse Malfoy and getting the spell wrong! It was time Ron stepped up. He doesn't appear much in the next few chapters, so it was important he got a moment here.

Reviewer: DMTAT003
Date: 09/23/07 19:59
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

Neville felt himself being pulled to his feet. It was Hermione who had come over to lift him up. She turned on Malfoy, anger in her eyes. “You leave him alone, Malfoy,” she snarled. “He’s ten times more than you’ll ever be."

The quote sounds familiar.

Author's Response: Yeah, I left it out of book 1, but I couldn't resist putting it in here. Hermione actually underestimates Neville, giving him only ten to Harry's twelve, but she says it straight to Malfoy's face, which is the important point.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 09/23/07 15:48
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

wow...I wonder who has the diary. I really like how Draco ended up with the slugs instead of Ron. Lockhart's fantastic! Superb. Update soon!

Author's Response: Fortunately Ron has a working wand this time, having avoided any car-tree related incidents! I'm glad you like Lockhart, I was worried about him. I found him hard to write for and I'm afraid his appearances may be fairly limited.

Reviewer: I_solemnly_swear
Date: 09/23/07 14:56
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

That would scare me too! And I'm glad that Ron and Hermione are being friendly with each other, it would be sad if this wasn't a canon shipping story. But then again, I could never know. Only you know, and that is what keeps me reading. Well, that plus, I can't wait to see what happens in part 3!

Author's Response: Ron and Hermione's story still has more fraught moments to come! I enjoy keeping people guessing, it's half the fun of the original books and if I can do the same with these stories I will feel I've succeeded!

Reviewer: KDTheRavenclaw
Date: 09/23/07 14:32
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

This story is great. love it!

Author's Response: Thanks! Keep reading!

Reviewer: TedLupin32
Date: 09/22/07 16:50
Chapter: Whispers in the Dark

Need more!!!

Author's Response: More coming!

Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 09/18/07 16:00
Chapter: The Closed Barrier

Another wonderful chapter!! I'm rally looking forward for him to start his classes and all of the chamber of secrets stuff to begin. I noticed that Neville felt very uncomfortable around muggles is that going to be significat in this book?

Author's Response: Neville is uncomfortable around strangers generally, but yes, he is still unsure of Muggles. The more he learns, the more he changes, as you will hopefully see.

Reviewer: Pottergirl
Date: 09/16/07 18:51
Chapter: The Closed Barrier

There was something faintly ludicrous about the sight of Professor Snape standing, dressed in his customary long black robe and with his blank scowl etched on his face, in such a Muggle setting as this. Several Muggles around him gave him strange glances but he acted as if he saw none of it.

I can imagine Snape on that platform, and how funny he looked comared to everyone else. *snicker* LOL 10/10

Author's Response: Snape is perennially out of place, even among wizards, but especially amongst Muggles. It would be just in his character to completely ignore how absurd he looked, and it was an image I had in mind from the beginning when I first came up with this chapter.

Reviewer: I_solemnly_swear
Date: 09/16/07 18:10
Chapter: The Closed Barrier

Great! I was thinking about how they were going to get to Hogwarts without a flying car, hehe. That was a good alternative. Yay Snape! I love Snape!

Author's Response: I figured Ron solved the problem in a Ron-like fashion, so Hermione would solve the problem in a more sensible, Hermione-type fashion. Snape is always great fun to write. He has hardly anything to do in this book, so I thought he needed a mention.

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 09/16/07 17:37
Chapter: The Closed Barrier

Dumbledore trusts Snape. I think that's the first time you have him say that aloud to Neville. I liked this chapter and the way they got to Hogwarts. I agree with Neville, trains are very boring. After I checked my e-mail I was just browsing the site and saw that you updated since I checked my inbox ( two seconds earlier, not even) and was sooo happy. Update soon! I love this.

Author's Response: I only just checked back here myself and there it was! Yes, Dumbledore trusts Snape. The question is why? A better question is should he? This is a different world after all. Oh and yes, I think this chapter may have been influenced by years of frustration with the quality of the British railway system!

Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 09/10/07 14:44
Chapter: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys

Yay!!! Sirius LOL Finally one of the maruaders made an appereance! Great chapter did I get the impression that Ginny liked Neville?

Author's Response: See below.

Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 09/10/07 14:43
Chapter: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys

Yay!!! Sirius LOL Finally one of the maruaders made an appereance! Great chapter did I get the impression that Ginny liked Neville?

Author's Response: Sirius' appearance is a little teaser for book 3, in which he appears prominently. This will be his only appearance in book 2. As for Ginny, I'll leave that for you to decide for now!

Reviewer: I_solemnly_swear
Date: 09/09/07 11:59
Chapter: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys

Yay Sirius! I love Sirius! But who got the diary? Are the ships all going to be canon? Why was Sirius there instead of James or Lily? So many questions, so long to wait for them! I love this story!

Author's Response: So many questions indeed, but when you're retelling JK Rowling stories, you can't have it any other way!

Reviewer: NorthernLights
Date: 09/09/07 10:54
Chapter: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys

I had a feeling that Harry's being watched by Sirius, but I do hope that his parents didn't end up like Neville's parents in JK's version. That would be very sad, hearing about James and Lily like that. But, I really loved this chapter, especially the brawl, very Sirius-like to start it! Update soon!

Author's Response: I'm afraid I can't tell you anything about James and Lily yet, but I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter. This was a tough one to write, something like half a dozen character introductions and a few important details needing to be set up. Next chapter in the queue!

Reviewer: omega13a
Date: 09/09/07 1:19
Chapter: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys

I knew it! Harry is with Sirius. Anyways, I'm guessing we'll have to wait till book 4 or 5 to find out what happened to Harry's parents?

Author's Response: Actually, it'll probably be hard to keep where they are out of book 3, but you won't get the full story until book 4, no.

Reviewer: Little Miss Potter
Date: 09/08/07 8:34
Chapter: The Lonely Summer

DAMN YOU! I was going to write a story exactly the same as this! But great minds think alike i suppose and now i know that im not the only one that thinks Neville instead of Harry would be a cool idea

Author's Response: I'm sorry I beat you to this, but I'm sure there are plenty of good ideas out there, and I hope you like how I've written this!

Reviewer: smackyy
Date: 09/03/07 13:48
Chapter: A Muggle Home

I really liked this chapter I loved how you've portrayed Hermione's parents. I can't wait for the next chapter and for them to go back to school.

Author's Response: There's one more chapter yet before the return to Hogwarts. Look out for chapter 3: The Weasleys versus the Malfoys (submitting now!), there's a lot of character introductions as well as a potential surprise in store!

Reviewer: Prof M McGonagall
Date: 09/02/07 21:52
Chapter: A Muggle Home

Another excellent chapter. I really appreciate the character development you put into it.

Author's Response: Thanks. Neville has a lot to learn in this book, and this is just the beginning.

Reviewer: Ryan the Wizard
Date: 09/02/07 20:10
Chapter: A Muggle Home

Once again, congratulations on another excellent chapter. The conversation between John and Helen at the end of the chapter was really insightful, and it sounded to me like something that JKR would've definitely wrote if she had that kind of a situation. I'm looking forward to how you interept all of Harry's situations and fashion them into Uniquely Neville.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I tried with this chapter to really set up the journey Neville would take in Book 2. It's about confronting his own limitations and learning about the troubles in the world. I hope you enjoy it.

Reviewer: DMTAT003
Date: 09/02/07 11:47
Chapter: A Muggle Home

That’s a legacy of fear, it encourages hate groups. You see it all over the world among minorities. Remember Helen, a few abilities aside, they’re exactly the same as us. Never forget that, or we’ll lose touch with our Hermione. We know she’s special, but it’s nothing to do with the fact she’s magical. It’s because she’s brilliant.” t

That quote is very thought provoking. I'll definately want to keep reading this story, will be looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I liked writing that paragraph too. I think it touches at the heart of what JK Rowling is saying with the Death Eaters and pure-blood oppression. I figured Hermione got her sharp insight and sense of justice from her father.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES