Reviews For Shades of Grey
Reviewer: Taki-Maki
Date: 06/24/11 4:21
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I really loved the story, and I'm totally going to add it as a favorite now. I know you'll keep writing good stories, you already are! ^__^

Author's Response: Awww. Thank you, dear =]

Reviewer: Finest Firewhisky
Date: 11/11/09 14:42
Chapter: Shades of Grey

Really well done, it's such a rarity to find a retrospective one-shot that's bittersweet but avoids the angst-fest. I love how you push Draco towards redemption without tipping him into it, too many people overdo the change and have him out of character. Your Draco was subtle and very well written. The end was sublime.

I'm a new MerMuggle, how would you feel about me reading this for my first audiofic?

Author's Response: Oh wow. I wish I had read this review a long time ago. If you're still interested please let me know. =] It would be an honor to have my story read by a MerMuggle. On another note, I'm glad you find Draco subtle and well-written. I was going for a redeemed Draco without the OOC behavior that I often see. I'm pleased it came across as such. Thanks for reviewing. =]

Reviewer: Tater
Date: 05/14/09 14:59
Chapter: Shades of Grey

This was an awesome story. I really like how its from the point of view of Draco seeing as how he is my favorite character....

Author's Response: He's my favorite character too. =]

Reviewer: XhayleeXblackX
Date: 11/14/08 10:33
Chapter: Shades of Grey

Hello, oh Ebil One,

This was such a lovely little read. I really liked the first person view here, and I doubt the story would have had nearly as much power had it not been from this view. It really felt like I was reading something that Draco wrote, and I loved that.

I grew up a spoiled child, brought up to believe I was superior than those more unfortunate than I, whether due to blood-status or wealth was insignificant.

Oh my goodness, right away, with just this line, I could tell that this story was going to be brilliant. You have his character down pat just in the first sentence! I really loved that and thought that this was just an amazing beginning to the story. It showed that not only did Draco not deny who he was, but that he had matured because he could admit it, all in the first line. :)

My father was nothing but a shell of the man I once looked up to

I really liked this line, mainly because it’s a similar view of how I see Draco thinking of his father at that time. But I also think that the simplicity of the line gave it more power and assertion in the paragraph.

I was a lost and broken child at the age of seventeen; fragments of a person I was never meant to be, but always thought I could become.

Can I just say that I loved the diction in this? The word choice was just great here.

-- spoiled beyond repair.

Amazing. That’s all I can say about this.

Father always said I coddled him, and mother would sadly stare at me with a knowing smile. I’d scowl at father, and nod at mother before carrying off my child to his room at night.

I really liked the characterization here. Not only do you have Draco in a believable manor, but Lucius and Narcissa are also beautifully in character, without actually being a part of the story as a whole.

Divorce briefly flitted through my mind for several months, but let it go because Malfoys don’t divorce – they have affairs. But I didn’t have it in me.

This was just a ‘wow’ moment for me because it was so seemingly easy to believe. I can really picture that being a part of the Malfoy heritage, and I really can’t see Draco being able to do so. Also, the fact that you had him ask for another child was so adorable and I just wanted to hug poor Draco. It was a great touch to the story.

This was also a very cute moment:

It warmed my soul to hear him ask for advice on girls at the age of fourteen, and it concerned me when he asked about contraceptive charms when he was sixteen.

As Scorpius kisses his wife, I thank all the higher entities that I didn’t take my life the day before my wedding.

Can you say a shocking, but fitting ending? Because that is totally what that was. It was such a sadly, sweet story. I also like the nice little touch at the end with Scorpius marrying Rose, and thought that the line about Ron not taking it as calmly as Draco had was very fitting of his character.

One little nitpick:

My child, whom I wished wouldn’t follow in my footsteps, and choose his own path in this world made up of shades of grey, had only me as a guidance so I learned to live again.

The comma before the ‘and’ isn’t really needed, I don’t think. It through the sentence off for me and I had to reread it a couple times to understand what Draco was trying to say.

Otherwise, I think this is quite possibly the best character study of Draco that I have ever read. I really truly adore his character, and I can be quite picky about his characterization, but you have left me in awe. I did not find one instance where I thought that he was mischaracterized.

Great work, my dear, please keep it up!

-Haylee

Author's Response: Oh wow! What a lovely and glowing review! You flatter me too much! It makes my ebil!ego grow exponentially. XD Thanks Haylee! -hugs- Thanks for your nitpick and noticing my love for Draco's character. It makes me giddy to know that I have him down pat.
~Ritta

Reviewer: magic_pen
Date: 11/05/08 16:14
Chapter: Shades of Grey

aww....*almost crying* I love that last paragraph!

Author's Response: -hands you a tissue- Thanks for reading! XD

Reviewer: BKL8008
Date: 11/01/08 22:20
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I've never read a story about Draco doing any soul-searching before, and this is so well done that I doubt that I go looking for another. Perhaps it is because I can relate to the feelings described for the baby upon his birth. Excellent read.

Author's Response: Wow! I'm flattered that you think my soul-searcing!Draco is worthy enough to not look for others. Thanks for your lovely review!

Reviewer: suzyfloozy
Date: 10/26/08 9:41
Chapter: Shades of Grey

This was a great fic. It rings true to me that Draco perhaps did marry just because he had to, not for love. Also it seems fitting that he brings his son up in a way he never was, loved and wanted.

Author's Response: XD Thanks so much for your review. I always imagined that Draco would learn from his mistakes and redeem himself through his son.

Reviewer: msbigbad
Date: 10/26/08 7:56
Chapter: Shades of Grey

Oh I loved thisstory. The way you showed his transition from who he was to this great man that he finally becomes was flawless. I loved that his son was what saved him. He could have easily became a mirror image of his father, but instead he rebeled and wanted more for his son. Really great charcterizing. I loved the part about Ron not taking the engagement very well. That cracked me up. This story is def. going into my favs.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed it! =]

Reviewer: evester
Date: 10/19/08 14:57
Chapter: Shades of Grey

Hello! Lovely job on this fic!

Robbed of true familial love until the cold fear of death and harsh reality of war grasped my parents by the throat and they became true parents; protecting not only a legacy of Malfoys’, but their only child. And for once, we became a family during that pitiful time of existence that the Dark Lord reigned from Malfoy Manor. My father was nothing but a shell of the man I once looked up to; my mother was the glue that held us together during that time of distress and trial.
I really liked this line- I think it emphasizes the irony of Malfoy's situation very well. All those years that he spent as the arrogant spoiled boy didn't mean as much as those few months that his family actually had to spend together, and the irony that in times of distress, it is not his arrogant, aggresive father that held them together, but his mother. I liked this part in the book, that the Malfoys became more human in that part of DH, so good job reflecting that here.

I was a lost and broken child at the age of seventeen; fragments of a person I was never meant to be, but always thought I could become.
Hmm, while this was a really good line, I was a bit confused by the end of it- do you mean being a DE? As in he always thought he could become a Death Eater, but now he's only a fragment of one?

I loved the description of Malfoy's relationship with Scorpius, it's very realistic and I liked how you brought out all of Malfoy's feelings, the dark ones and the proud ones, and the happy ones - it makes it that much more well-rounded.

Overall, this is a lovely 'shot about how Malfoy must have been feeling- it's very realistic and I think you've done a lovely job!

Author's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, Evester! XD I don't know exactly what I meant by that line, it was more poetic than anything, and it flowed. It is actually one of my favorite lines of the story.

Reviewer: ginny_tonks7
Date: 09/21/08 18:41
Chapter: Shades of Grey

This is a great story, written really well too. Totally follows the true character. Keep writing!

Author's Response: I shall keep writing! XD Thanks for the encouragement.

Reviewer: FireboltCrasher
Date: 09/15/08 15:32
Chapter: Shades of Grey

So, Draco did regret some of the things he did. I really liked this fic; I hope you write more.

Author's Response: For this fic? I doubt it. But I have written many more stories =] I'm glad you liked this. Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: lovely_witch
Date: 09/14/08 10:44
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I really like this story, although it's a bit strange to read because it's all introspective description. Still, you did a very good job.

Author's Response: "introspective description" I like the way you phrase it! Lovely. Thanks for reading!

Reviewer: CrystalM
Date: 08/29/08 14:47
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I love it! There's a certain justice to the way Draco's story develops, but a terrible sadness all the same. I was happy that he was able to find himself again and to throw his soul into loving his son, and that he was able to raise Scorpius to be everything that he wasn't. A beautiful ending for a very broken beginning.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!

Reviewer: liquid_silver
Date: 08/28/08 22:19
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I love it! Draco's behavior was perfect; exactly how I'd imagine he would act if his eyes were suddenly opened to what a spoiled brat he'd been. And his eventual acceptance of Scorpius and Rose's union was flawless. Draco's changed so much, yet he's still retained his original character. I give it four stars!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: lucilla_pauie
Date: 08/21/08 12:09
Chapter: Shades of Grey

O, Ebil One, I henceforth entitle you also as the Goddess of the Dragon. You know the Dragon so intimately, and so irrevocable are the truths you speak about him.

*sigh* Shades of Grey should be broadcast in the whole fandom as THE best Draco-centric story Post-DH. I'm so glad it is featured. And I'm so glad you wrote it.

"...the cold fear of death and harsh reality of war grasped my parents by the throat and they became true parents; protecting not only a legacy of Malfoys’, but their only child. And for once, we became a family during that pitiful time of existence..."

*nods fervently, awed* Up to this point, I have only ever read the Malfoys as either quite-affectionate-in-private,really or detached-and-sneeringly-devil-may-care. But in the few sentences above, you have succinctly pointed out how their relationship must truly be. For yes, status and wealth and preserving that status and wealth may well have distracted them at the same time as blinding them to the egregious distraction.

"I had helped the war progress in only one summer." My Godric, see where I come from dubbing you Goddess of the Dragon? The 'despair and desolation' Draco must have felt over this has never before been rememebered, realized or written in the many fics I've read. And believe me, I've read countless Draco/Dramione fics.

Usually, I shy away from Dark/Angst, AND expository fics like this. But you reeled me in with 'spoiled child', kept me riveted with 'a traitor and a coward' and rendered me in devoted thrall with 'took my first breath of life at the same time my own child did'. Now, I'm not gonna lie, I'm a hopeless romantic who wrote a Draco/Astoria fic and I was dismayed a little that in here, too, Draco is in a loveless marriage, but your own brand of romance-- love between father and child-- satisfied me without snag. Though you never mentioned it, it's there between the lines, that colors have erupted in between the shades of grey while Draco relished raising his son.

Toward the last paragraphs, I was biting my lips to keep from cooing. Bittersweet, this. I'm really so glad you wrote it. It's food for more fiction for us less enlightened about the Dragon, Goddess.

*bows*
~Joanna

Oh, and of course, I can only be gushing like this because your writing is so flawless I am able to concentrate on the emotional compass of the story. So kudos on that as well.

Author's Response: Wow Joanna! You truly flatter me! The Goddess of the Dragon it is! XD Thanks sooo much for your lovely review! I love Draco and I try to do him justice. And the case of this story...some redemption.

Reviewer: teryakinoodle
Date: 08/19/08 3:31
Chapter: Shades of Grey

That was such a sweet story! Really well written, and, finally, some redemption for our blond haired friend :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! XD

Reviewer: MithrilQuill
Date: 12/06/07 17:47
Chapter: Shades of Grey

I came to your author profile with the vague idea that I really need to start reading some of your fics, especially since you made that lovely banner for me and you totally deserve a treat in return. I am actually shedding tears. This was a treat for me and not the other way around! *huggles*

Author's Response: Thanks MQ! I'm glad you liked this story. It's one of my favorites to have written, I know that much. And yeah. -squishes-

Reviewer: Katie_Potter
Date: 10/15/07 14:56
Chapter: Shades of Grey

aww... me loves it

Author's Response: Thanks XD

Reviewer: purplerose
Date: 08/23/07 13:48
Chapter: Shades of Grey

This is great im glad Draco saw the error of his ways and that his son turned out to be a good person. Well done, great story.

Author's Response: Thanks so much. XD

Reviewer: radishearrings3
Date: 08/16/07 20:07
Chapter: Shades of Grey

Wow, that was really good! I've never read a Canon!Draco story before, (Which kind of says something about the Harry Potter fandom, doesn't it?) nonetheless one as good as this one, and I really liked it! It doesn't display Draco as some 'dream guy' *Tries not to be sick* or even someone whose 'really a good person underneath all the snottiness, and that's just a cover up', but the real Draco. I'm really glad you didn't try to read between the lines or make things better then they seemed for Draco, and I really liked that!

I also loved the way your sentences flowed, and how everything seemed to make sense. Except for the last sentence, although it does show that he's glad he stuck with life just for his son's sake. There isn't any mention of him having suicidal thoughts before his wedding day, even though he seemed unhappy. That is my one and only nitpicky kind of complaint about your great story! Great job and good luck writing more!

Author's Response: I've never written a canon!Draco story before this one. I'm glad you like it for what it was - I never liked Drco as a 'dream' guy or 'Slytherin Price' o.0
It literally made me sick to my stomach to read that phrase ten-thousand times. I like the real Draco - flaws and all, and I felt he deserved some real redemption. This is one of the strongest pieces I've written, so thank you for noticing. As for the suicide, that's true. That last sentence is a bit odd (even I'll admit that) but it seemed right to me. He didn't have suicidal thoughts in the story because I assumed it could be inferred but perhaps not.Lol. Thanks for your review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES